Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This handbook is intended to increase the knowledge of dental students, residents, and fellows and dental hygiene students about obesity prevention, nutrition, and nutrition counseling for children. The handbook provides an overview of childhood obesity and its consequences, recommendations that support optimal oral health and healthy weight in children, and tools that oral health professionals can use to support childhood-obesity-prevention efforts.

Contact: Temple University, Kornberg School of Dentistry, 3223 North Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19140, Web Site: https://dentistry.temple.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Nutrition, Nutrition counseling, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Training

Annotation: The goal of this training is to equip oral health professionals with the skills and knowledge they need to provide nutrition counseling for obesity prevention in pediatric dental settings. The training consists of two modules. Module 1 focuses on obesity as a disease and discusses the following topics: contributors to and consequences of childhood obesity, a common-risk-factor approach to childhood obesity and tooth decay, and a socio-ecological framework for obesity risk. Module 2 includes three case studies focusing on a child healthy weight and nutrition screener, assessment of height and weight, and communication with patients about nutrition and healthy weights for children.

Contact: Temple University, Kornberg School of Dentistry, 3223 North Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19140, Web Site: https://dentistry.temple.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Body weight, Counseling, Nutrition, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Training, Weight management

Annotation: These guidelines are designed to assist case managers in improving the nutrition, physical activity, and healthy eating practices of adolescent clients. Topics include adolescent nutrition, infant feeding, nutrition and physical activity screen, calcium, iron, folate and folic acid, fruits and vegetables, body image and disordered eating, weight management, physical activity, and vegetarianism. Contents include handouts for motivational counseling and education with adolescents.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, California, Case management, Counseling, Dietary guidelines, Food consumption, Food habits, Health education, Motivation, Nutrition, Physical activity, Screening

Annotation: This guide provides step-by-step instructions for creating a school health improvement plan. The guide is designed to help communities identify the strengths and weaknesses of school policies and programs for promoting health and safety; develop an action plan for improving student health and safety; and involve teachers, parents, students, and other community members in improving school policies, programs, and services. Contents include instructions for site coordinators, eight self-assessment modules, and an action planning component. Topics include school health and safety policies and environment; health education; physical education and other physical activity programs; nutrition services; school health services; school counseling, psychological, and social services; health promotion for staff; and family and community involvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Downloadable, Printable Version
• Customizable Online Tool

Keywords: Assessment, Community action, Community participation, Elementary schools, Environmental health, Family school relations, Health promotion, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical education, Policy development, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning, Safety, School age children, School counseling, School health, School health education, School health services, Social services, Students

Annotation: This guide provides step-by-step instructions for creating a school health improvement plan. The guide is designed to help communities identify the strengths and weaknesses of school policies and programs for promoting health and safety; develop an action plan for improving student health and safety; and involve teachers, parents, students, and other community members in improving school policies, programs, and services. Contents include instructions for site coordinators, eight self-assessment modules, and an action plan component. Topics include school health and safety policies and environment; health education; physical education and other physical activity programs; nutrition services; school health services; school counseling, psychological, and social services; health promotion for staff; and family and community involvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Downloadable, Printable Version
• Customizable Online Tool

Keywords: Assessment, Community action, Community participation, Environmental health, Family school relations, Health promotion, High schools, Middle schools, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical education, Policy development, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning, Safety, School age children, School counseling, School health, School health education, School health services, Social services, Students

Annotation: This webinar, held on December 12, 2013, discusses strategies for improving nutritional guidance for children and adolescents. Contents include 1 video, along with the webcast agenda, speaker biographies, presentation slides, and additional resources. Topics include the importance of good nutrition in childhood; a brief overview of federal efforts to support improvements; the origins of the Healthy Generation Benefit pilot, a multi-sector partnership to provide effective nutrition support for children who are overweight; and a health plan experience participating in the pilot, with considerations for providing coverage for nutritional counseling. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Multimedia, Adolescents, Body weight, Children, Federal initiatives, Financing, Nutrition counseling, Pilot projects, Program improvement, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professionals provides information about counseling women regarding nutrition and exercise during the 4- or 6-week postpartum visit. The fact sheet discusses dietary recommendations based on The Dietary Guidelines for Americans, including information about fish consumption, alcohol, and caffeine. Also included are guidelines for postpartum weight loss and excercise, including guidelines for women who had a cesarean delivery.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Caffeine, Counseling, Nutrition, Physical activity, Postnatal care, Reproductive health, Weight loss, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist health professionals in counseling women during the postpartum period. The guide addresses three areas of concern: (1) diet, nutrition, and exercise; (2) postpartum mental health; and (3) sexuality and contraception. Each section includes a checklist of counseling points that the health professional can discuss with the patient, as well as a discussion of related health issues. The guide concludes with a reference list and a chart of contraceptive options for U.S. women in the postpartum period.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Single copies available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Contraception, Counseling, Diet, Exercise, Mental disorders, Mental health, Nutrition, Postpartum care, Sexuality, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines standards of practice for individuals certified by the International Lactation Consultant Association to assure quality practice and service to clients, families, and other health care professionals. It address four areas: (1) professional responsibilities, (2) legal considerations, (3) clinical practice, and (4) breastfeeding education and counseling.

Contact: International Lactation Consultant Association, 2501 Aerial Center Parkway, Suite 103, Morrisville, NC 27560, Telephone: (919) 861-5577 Fax: (919) 459-2075 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilca.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Lactation, Lactation specialists, Nutrition counseling, Professional education, Professional training, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward health professionals and educators on nutrition and adolescent pregnancy, focuses on the biological, psychosocial, and cognitive changes that begin during puberty and continue through adolescence, which directly affect nutritional status and nutrient needs. Topics include adolescent growth and development; understanding adolescent eating behaviors; nutrition needs of adolescents; nutrition, screening, and intervention; nutrition education and counseling; promoting healthy eating and physical activity behaviors; the overweight adolescent; the underweight adolescent; iron deficiency anemia; hyperlipidemia; hypertension; eating disorders; body image and adolescents; diabetes mellitus: type 1 and type 2; reproductive health issues; sports nutrition; vegetarian eating patterns; and adolescents with special health care needs. Some of the information is presented in tables. One appendix containing a list of food sources of vitamins and minerals is included.

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents with special health care needs, Body image, Diabetes mellitus, Eating disorders, Food habits, Health promotion, Hyperlipidemia, Hypertension, Intervention, Iron deficiency anemia, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Nutritional requirements, Nutritional status, Obesity, Physical activity, Puberty, Reproductive health, Screening, Sports, Underweight, Vegetarianism

Annotation: This book focuses on clinical application of current knowledge on adolescent pregnancy emphasizing assessment, management, counseling approaches, and strategies to promote dietary change and adequate weight gain. It is written for health professionals and educators involved in the care of pregnant adolescents. Topics covered include adolescent development, nutritional needs and eating behavior, nutrition assessment, interviewing, counseling, prenatal education, and postpartum care.

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHM035.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Eating behaviors, Feeding disorders, Interviews, Nutrition, Nutrition assessment, Postpartum care, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant adolescents, Prenatal education

Annotation: This textbook presents information on recent developments in the role of nutrition in women's health prior to, during, and following reproduction. It includes chapters on the promotion of maternal and infant health; nutrition, fertility, and family planning; the foundations of research in prenatal nutrition; energy and vitamin needs and mineral needs during pregnancy; lifestyle concerns during pregnancy; nutrition assessment and guidance in prenatal care; the management of pregnancy complications; working with pregnant adolescents; lactation; milk composition, and the promotion and support of breastfeeding.

Contact: Nutrition Counseling Education Services, 1904 East 123rd Street, Olathe, KS 66061-5886, Telephone: (800) 445-5653 Secondary Telephone: (314) 872-8370 Fax: (314) 432-1380 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mosby.com $39.00 plus $5.50 shipping and handling; prepayment required. Document Number: ISBN 0-8151-9522-2; Item no. 1885.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Pregnancy complications, Pregnant adolescents, Prenatal nutrition, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This manual outlines a two day workshop primarily designed to train field supervisors and community health workers who are trained to weigh young children as well as to chart and interpret their growth on improving their interpersonal communication with clients. It describes a set of six sessions, each of which includes: 1) title, 2) estimated time, 3) behavioral objectives for participants, 4) materials, 5) recommended activities, 6) objectives checklist, and 7) notes to the trainer. The manual also explains to trainers the logistics of preparing and conducting the workshop, how to adapt the manual to meet the group's needs, and provides some sample resources for activities and questionnaires.

Contact: FHI 360 , 359 Blackwell Street, Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701, Telephone: (919) 544-7040 Contact Phone: (202) 862-1900 Fax: (919) 544-7261 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fhi360.org $4.00.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Communication skills, Developing countries, Growth monitoring, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Nutrition promotion, Training materials

Annotation: This directory lists 112 federal programs and 35 federally supported clearinghouses and information centers whose activities are relevant to school health. Each entry provides information on the area of emphasis, target groups, program profile, materials, and information contact.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol use, Child development, Child nutrition, Children, Clearinghouses, Comprehensive programs, Counseling, Curricula, Driver education, Federal government, Federal programs, Health and safety education, Health promotion, Media campaigns, Nutrition programs, Physical fitness, Resources for professionals, Safety, School based clinics, School counseling, School health, School health programs, School health services, School nursing, Substance abuse, Training, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This was a comprehensive breastfeeding promotion program involving both the public and private sectors of the medical community. The activities and materials provided in the Tennessee Department of Health and Environment's Breastfeeding Promotion: A Handbook for Public Health Professionals have been employed to increase the incidence and duration of breastfeeding among low-income women in five rural counties. Individual and group counseling, networking with the private sector, peer counseling, participant incentive programs, and a community awareness program have been implemented. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103308.

Keywords: Blacks, Breastfeeding, Low income groups, Mothers, Nutrition, Peer Support Counseling, Rural Population, Urban Population, WIC Program, Women

Annotation: This breastfeeding promotion manual was developed to provide a useful guide for implementing a successful breastfeeding program and to serve as a practical tool for the health care professional. The manual provides a plan for action when setting up a program to improve breastfeeding practices, ideas for overcoming barriers to breastfeeding promotion, and steps for gaining broad-based support particularly in working with the medical community. The actual program of care in this project, which was used in Montana by almost 1000 women, is described in detail. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Community Nutrition Resource Center, P.O. Box 4511, Butte, MT 59702, Telephone: (406) 782-2386 Contact Phone: (406) 723-6387 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Assessment, Breast care, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Counseling, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition programs

Annotation: This resource guide for health professionals is designed to support nutrition counseling for well infants, children, and pregnant and lactating women in public health clinics, WIC programs, and medical clinics specializing in pediatrics, obstetrics and/or family practice. The manual includes recommendations and practical advice for common nutrition problems, sample menus, diet assessment tools, diabetic exchange lists, growth failure check lists, cardiovascular risk factors, patient-oriented visual aids, and materials for use in counseling. References are provided for each section.

Contact: Tri-County Health Department, Nutrition Division, 7000 East Belleview, Suite 301, Englewood, CO 80111, Telephone: (303) 220-9200 $35.00.

Keywords: Children, Clinics, Educational materials, Infants, Lactation, Nutrition counseling, Pregnant women, WIC Program

Annotation: This report provides a descriptive study of the nutritional resources and dietary practices of young, pregnant, African-American and Puerto Rican women with low incomes living in New York City. The report identifies factors that are determinants of these women's ability to profit from dietary counseling and treatment. The report describes the study methods, subjects' general characteristics, subjects' obstetrical history, and subjects' nutritional resources and dietary practices. A summary, conclusions, and references are included Statistical information is presented in tables grouped together at the end of the report.

Keywords: Blacks, Diet, Low income groups, New York, Nutrition, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Pregnancy, Puerto Ricans, Treatment, Women', s health

Annotation: The purpose of this guide is to help nutrition educators working with food assistance and other programs with a nutrition component better address the nutritional concerns and unique nutrition education needs of Native Americans. It is written primarily as an aid to understanding the cultural characteristics and basic health and diet-related problems of Native Americans to promote more effective nutrition counseling and community nutrition education. The guide contains sections on background information, suggestions for counseling, and resources for nutrition education.

• PDF

Keywords: American Indians, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist in planning and implementing workshops in nutrition counseling. It is intended to be used by educators in nutrition-related areas, or by anyone else interested in organizing a workshop. Volume I provides step-by-step procedures and strategies for developing a nutrition counseling workshop tailored to the needs of a local audience and the resources available to the organizer. Volume II is a compendium of specific descriptions of workshop sessions based on those found to be successful by the authors. Also included are a variety of sample handouts, lecture outlines, and similar materials which may be used in developing a workshop.

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library v. 1 available from Hathitrust via participating libraries. Document Number: NIH 84-2661.

• Vol. 1

Keywords: Educational programs, Nutrition counseling