Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief outlines approaches for Medicaid policymakers to implement or evolve nutrition benefit strategies for Medicaid members. It focuses on three key approaches: refining CMS-defined interventions to better meet member needs, ensuring interventions are culturally appropriate and member-centered, and defining standardized eligibility criteria to maximize impact and decrease administrative burden. The document provides examples from various states' Medicaid programs, including approved and proposed 1115 waivers and In Lieu of Services (ILOS) policies. It highlights the importance of addressing the full range of food needs, from food security to instrumental food, and discusses strategies for ensuring food quality, choice, and cultural appropriateness. The brief also includes a table comparing eligibility criteria across different states and population groups.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• PDF

Keywords: Medicaid, Nutrition and food, Policy development

Annotation: This 4-part resource provides background information and definitions of rapidly-changing food and nutrition security terms, offering insights into the origins of terms and underscoring the power and importance of terminology. Included is a table with terms and definitions used by national food, nutrition, and health programs and organizations.

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org

• Link

Keywords: Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Language, Nonprejudicial language, Nutrition and food

Annotation: This web page describes the child nutrition programs provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture to help ensure that children receive nutritious meals and snacks that promote their health and educational readiness. The site describes how the pandemic affected USDA child food programs and provides links to annual reports that summarize the food and nutrition assistance program landscape. Information on the following child nutrition programs is included: National School Lunch Program, School Breakfast Program, Child and Adult Care Food Program, Summer Food Service Program, and After School Snacks and Meals.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, Food insecurity, Nutrition and Food, Prevention, Public assistance, School based programs

Annotation: This report describes the social determinants of health (SDOH) and the ways in which health inequities can be mitigated to achieve better health outcomes. Housing, food and nutrition, transportation, social and economic mobility, education, and environmental conditions are among the contributing factors addressed. Evidence-based interventions and descriptions of federal programs that address SDOH are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 415F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-6445 Secondary Telephone: (202) 690-7858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://aspe.hhs.gov/

• PDF

Keywords: Economic factors, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Housing, Nutrition and food, Social factors, Social services, Socioeconomic factors, Transportation

Annotation: This publication examines the history of dietary guidelines for Americans and the cultural biases that may have influenced their development. It explores the evolution of the dietary guidelines; addresses claims of racism within the guidelines; and examines whether the current guidelines are culturally appropriate and free of racial bias.

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org

• Link

Keywords: Cultural sensitivity, Dietary guidelines, Health equity, Nutrition and food

Annotation: This handbook is intended to serve as a ready reference for practicing clinicians on the requirements and metabolism of specific nutrients, methods of assessing nutrition status, and the nutrition support of healthy infants, children, and adolescents, as well as children with acute and chronic illness. Topics that arise frequently in pediatric practice, such as breastfeeding, the impact of diet on long-term health, the use of fast foods and vegetarian diets, food technology and novel foods or ingredients that may become available to consumers, and food labeling are also covered in individual chapters.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-816-3.

Keywords: Acute diseases, Adolescents, Child health, Child nutrition, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Food, Food labeling, Food preferences, Infant nutrition, Manuals, Nutrients, Nutrition assessment, Nutritional status, Pediatrics, Technology, Vegetarianism

Annotation: This revised manual is intended to help child care providers provide children with safe and healthy food and meet nutrition standards. The manual discusses the following topics: (1) keeping everything clean and safe, (2) using foods that are safe to eat, (3) storing foods safely, (4) planning to meet children's nutritional needs, (5) promoting pleasant meals and snacks, and (6) helping children and families learn about food. References are included. The manual includes three appendices: (1) Caring for Our Children standards, (2) community resources, and (3) resource list. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Training Institute for Child Care Health Consultants, University of North Carolina, Department of Maternal and Child Health, 116-A South Merritt Mill Road, CB# 8126, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-8126, Telephone: (919) 966-3780 Fax: (919) 843-4752 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nti.unc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care centers, Family child care, Food safety, Health and safety, Nutrition, Out of home care, Standards

Annotation: This brief outlines a range of organizational practices and public policies being considered to improve the built environment in support of healthy eating and regular physical activity. The brief begins with a description of key characteristics of the built environment and how they affect eating and activity behaviors. It then outlines three target areas -- active transportation and public transit, activity-friendly recreation environments, and land use planning -- and provides a general overview of the breadth of strategies and federal policies to effect the change. The brief also highlights political opportunities, primarily at state and federal levels, that promote increased levels of physical activity and healthy eating in communities.

Contact: Convergence Partnership, PolicyLink, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 303, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 663-2333 Fax: (510) 663-9684 E-mail: http://www.kintera.org/site/lookup.asp?c=fhLOK6PELmF&b=3930101 Web Site: http://www.convergencepartnership.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Communities, Food habits, Low income groups, Nutrition, Physical activity, Public policy, Urban environment

Annotation: This manual is intended to help child care providers offer children healthy, safe foods that meet the nutrition standards presented in National Health and Safety Performance Standards: Guidelines for Out-of-Home Child Care Programs. Chapters cover cleanliness, ways to ensure that foods are safe to eat, planning to meet children's nutritional needs, promoting pleasant meals and snacks, and helping children and families learn about foods. Appendices contain lists of resources and materials for centers and for parents. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHI085.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care centers, Family child care, Food safety, Health and safety, Nutrition, Out of home care, Standards

Annotation: This report summarizes data from a study of the Child and Adults Care Food Program (CACFP), a federal program that provides meals and snacks in child and adult day care facilities, including family and group day care homes, Head Start centers, and some child care centers. Topics include characteristics of participating homes and centers, characteristics of children and their families, meals and snacks offered by and consumed by CACFP providers, and nutrition knowledge and practices of CACFP food preparers.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child and Adult Care Food Program, Child care, Child nutrition, Federal programs, Reports, Statistics, Supplemental food programs

Annotation: This volume chronicles the scope of the nutrition efforts of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) in the areas of nutrition research, nutrition services, nutrition education, nutrition status monitoring, food safety and quality, and international nutrition concerns.

Contact: Internet Archive, 300 Funston Ave., San Francisco, CA 94118, Telephone: (415) 561-6767 Contact Phone: (202) 472-5308 Fax: (415) 840-0391 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.archive.org Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS 83-50203.

• Link

Keywords: Department of Health and Human Services, Food safety, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, Nutrition services

Keywords: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, Association of State and Territorial Public Health Nutrition Directors, National conferences, Nutrition, Public health nutrition, Supplemental food programs

Annotation: This guide describes general factors that should be considered in the formation of an advisory council and the development of operating procedures to meet the needs of a state or local agency operating a Special Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) or a Supplemental Food Program (CSFP). The guide discusses the objectives of an advisory council, relevant issues to address, the purpose and responsibilities of the council, membership, officers, meetings, and administration. Appendices include a sample letter requesting membership nominations, biographical information form for nominees, and a sample notice of a council meeting.

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Advisory committees, Food services, Local initiatives, Nutrition programs, Program management, Special Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children, State initiatives, WIC program

Annotation: This book presents standards which are the framework for incremental improvement in community health status in the United States through preventive health service programming. The intended hallmark of these model standards is flexibility. The preamble spells out in detail the background, concepts, scope, definitions, and uses of the standards. The standards cover air quality, chronic disease control, communicable disease control, dental health, emergency medical services, family planning, food protection, genetic disease control, health education, home health services, housing services, injury control, institutional services, maternal and child health, noise control, nutritional services, occupational health, primary care, public health laboratory, radiological health, safe drinking water, sanitation, school health, solid waste management, surveillance and epidemiology, vector and animal control, and waste water management.

Keywords: Air pollution, Animals, Child health, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Communicable diseases, Emergency medical services, Epidemiology, Family planning, Federal government, Food safety, Genetic disorders, Health education, Home care services, Housing, Injury prevention, Maternal health, Nutrition services, Occupational safety and health, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public health, Public health services, Radiation, Sanitation, School health, Standards, Water pollution

Annotation: [This report summarizes a national study to assess the knowledge, practices, and opinions of the homemaker regarding food and nutrition. The report describes the household sample design, data collection procedures, and results from the household survey conducted by Crossley Surveys, Inc., New York, under contract with the Consumer and Food Economics Institute, Agricultural research Service. A copy of the survey is provided in the appendix.

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Data collection, Interviews, Families, Nutrition and Food, Nutrition surveys

Annotation: [in process] This is an outline of a panel discussion prepared for a seminar jointly sponsored by the D.C. Home Economics Association and the D.C. Dietetics Association on "Newer Approaches to Raising Dietary Levels, held between Jan 15-March 25, 1969. Written from the "viewpoint of a practitioner of public health nutrition, " the outline contains nine bulleted discussion points that emphasize the importance of cultural and economic practices in choices related to diet, food, and nutrition. The submission was prepared by U.S. Children's Bureau, Nutrition Section health practitioners.

Keywords: Cultural barriers, Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Diet, Food habits, Nutrition and Food

Annotation: This report summarizes the progress made in collective efforts to increase the use of donated foods to improve the nutrition of expectant and lactating women. Included are details of activities spearheaded by the U.S. Children's Bureau and the Department of Agriculture in regions and states across the country, including Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, New York, Maryland, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Texas, Arizona, California, Oregon, Nevada, and Washington state. Also provided is a summary of the major types of activities (including joint meetings held), specific actions planned or taken, and areas where additional work needs to be done to improve the distribution and use of donated foods among low-income pregnant and lactating women.

Keywords: Commodity Supplemental Food Program, Federal programs, Food and nutrition, Food service, Low-income groups, Pregnant women, State initiatives

Annotation: This collection of reprints from the journal, Pediatrics, discusses screw caps for baby food jars, vitamin E in human nutrition, nutritional adequacy of infant formulas, vitamin D, lists of readings on feeding and nutrition for physicians and parents, factors affecting food intake, vitamin D intake and the hypercalcemic syndrome, prepared infant formulas, protection of the infant diet, public health nutrition services for children in the United States, a memorial of Robert R. Williams, vitamin B 6 requirements, compulsory testing of newborns for heredity metabolic disorders, national nutritional survey of preschool children, the absence of vitamin D in nonfat dry milk, nutritional management in hereditary metabolic disease, baby food as special dietary foods, proposed changes in Food and Drug Administration regulations concerning formula products and vitamin - mineral dietary supplements for infants, and the relation between infantile hypercalcemia and vitamin D.

Keywords: Child safety, Food and Drug Administration, Genetic screening, Hyperglycemia, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Metabolic disorders, Nutrition surveys, Pediatrics, Public health nutrition, United States, Vitamin B 6, Vitamin D, Vitamin E

Annotation: [This memorandum describes a new supplementary food program for low income groups with medical needs that place them at high risk of malnourishment. The program is described as an addition to the Food Stamp and Commodity Distribution Programs for families, and the criteria for participation includes both a medical and financial component. Educational materials to be developed by the U.S. Children's Bureau in conjunction with the new program are also described. Available to independent researchers upon request.

Keywords: , Eligibility, Families, Federal programs, Low income groups, Nutrition and food, Supplemental food programs, Vulnerable populations

Annotation: This correspondence addresses the lack of adequate food subsidies for low-income families with medical complications who receive financial assistance in Puerto Rico. Included is a letter from a social worker describing in detail one of her cases in the Caribbean U.S. territory that illustrates the inadequacy of the existing public assistance program in meeting the nutritional needs of recipients. The original letter and subsequent memoranda are addressed to U.S. Children's Bureau consultants and Nutrition Section staff. Available to independent researchers upon request.

Keywords: Families , Low income groups, Nutrition and food, Puerto Rico, Welfare programs