Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This training course is intended for pediatric nurses. This document contains information about advanced pediatric life support; topics include the difference between pediatric and adult patients; seizure management; triage; practice cases; and stabilization and transfer. Handouts and a course evaluation form are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Southern Region Emergency Medical Services Council, 6130 Tuttle Place, Anchorage, AK 99507, Telephone: (907) 562-6499 Fax: (907) 562-9893 Web Site: http://www.sremsc.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Pediatric nursing, Training

Annotation: This manual for school nurses and other school health personnel provides recommendations, resources, and guidelines for coordinated school health practice and programs throughout Rhode Island. Topics include the role of the school nurse and school administrator; state statutes, regulations, and requirements; health services including dental screenings; and healthful school environment including statewide bullying policy.

• All Model Guidelines
• Bullying

Keywords: Guidelines, Models, Program coordination, Rhode Island, Role, School health programs, School health services, School nursing, School safety

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

Annotation: This brief for state health departments highlights examples of school and hospital partnerships to improve children's health, and how state school health and nursing service personnel can support their collaboration. Topics include the importance of school and hospital partnership in managing chronic health conditions in schools, how health department involvement in a hospital community health needs assessment process can help to strengthen school and hospital partnership, and opportunities to strengthen school and hospital partnership through Medicaid. Additional contents include examples of school and hospital partnership in Massachusetts, Ohio, and Texas; and descriptions of key resources.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Hospitals, Medicaid, Needs assessment, Nursing, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, School health services, Schools, State health agencies, State programs, Students

Annotation: This document describes a project to collect and report population-level data to support the health of school-aged children and the impact of school nursing. Topics include data points; the process of developing a uniform data set, and data use. Step Up & Be Counted! was a 3-year data initiative (2014-2016) that was a joint venture between NASN and the National Association of State School Nurse consultants. The National Uniform School Nurse Data Set was created with 15 data elements, and data was collected from 39 states, some with 1 school district reporting and other states with 100% of the schools reporting data into a national data portal. It has been succeeded by a new initiative called "National School Health Data Set: Every Student Counts!".

Contact: National Association of School Nurses, 1100 Wayne Avenue, Suite 925, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 821-1130 Secondary Telephone: (866) 627-6767 Fax: (301) 585-1791 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nasn.org Out of print.

Keywords: Data collection, Program descriptions, School age children, School based management, School health, School health services, School nursing, Students

Annotation: These case studies highlight the work and accomplishments of state health agencies in Massachusetts and Missouri related to addressing chronic health conditions in the school environment. Topics include collaborating with health and education partners; strengthening school nursing infrastructure and health services, including oral health care; identifying and tracking students with chronic health conditions; and meeting management and care needs of students with chronic health conditions.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease management, Massachusetts, Missouri, Public health infrastructure, School age children, School health services, School nursing, Schools, Special health care needs, State health agencies

Annotation: This manual is designed to help school districts improve the health services they provide to students. Contents include a school-health-services assessment tool; injury and illness protocols; sample policies and procedures for emergency nursing services, concussion management, managing and preventing acute reactions to foods in the school setting, and medication administration; and nurse procedures. The manual also contains instructions for unlicensed assistive personnel on hand hygiene, oral care, feeding, transfers, and diapering for students who need such care at school.

Contact: Wisconsin Public Health Association, 563 Carter Court, Suite B, Kimberly, WI 54136, Telephone: (920) 882-3650 Contact Phone: (414) 875-7257 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: teresa@badgerbay,co Web Site: http://www.wpha.org Available from the website.

• School Nurse Procedure Manual (mobile Website)
• WISHeS Project Resources

Keywords: Assessment, Disease management, Disease prevention, Mobile applications, Nursing services, Oral health, Patient care management, Patient care planning, Protocols, School based management, School districts, School health services, School nurses, School personnel, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This brochure describes The CaCoon (Care Coordination) Program, a is a service for families with children who have (or are at risk of having) a chronic health condition or disability. The brochure describes the various types of CaCoon services offered by public health nurses who are specially trained to care for children and youth with special needs. It explains how CaCoon nurses can provide screening services within the state and help families find information, locate financial assistance, and make referrals to early-intervention services and community resources. It describes who is eligible for CaCoon and where to turn for additional information on the program. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Oregon Center for Children and Youth with Special Health Needs, 707 South West Gaines Road, Portland, OR 97239, Telephone: (503) 494-8303 Secondary Telephone: (877) 307-7070 Fax: (503) 494-2755 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ohsu.edu/xd/outreach/occyshn Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Early intervention programs, Family support services, Models, Nursing services, Oregon, Spanish language materials, State programs

Annotation: This document provides nurses working in school settings with a set of emergency care guidelines that they can use when delivering care to ill or injured students. The document discusses pediatric educational recommendations for health professionals, assessment, and triage. Detailed protocols for managing a wide variety or emergencies are presented. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Illinois Emergency Medical Services for Children, Loyola University Medical Center, Building 110 Lower Level, 2160 South First Avenue, Maywood, IL 60153, Telephone: (708) 327-3672 Secondary Telephone: (708) 327-2556 Fax: (708) 327-2548 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http:/www.luhs.org/emsc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Assessment, Child health, Emergencies, Emergency medical services, Nursing education, School health services, School nurses, Training, Triage

Annotation: This compendium provides information for nurses caring for women, infants, and families in any setting: hospital, birthing center, ambulatory care, or home. This revised reference manual provides evidence-based information and guidelines for postpartum care, and addresses the physical, emotional, and psychosocial needs of mothers, newborns, and families for the first three months following birth. Topics include an overview of postpartum care in the hospital, discharge planning and health teaching, early home care of the mother and infant, reorganization of the family unit, and breastfeeding. Also featured are the latest research and practice recommendations for postpartum mood and anxiety disorders, including postpartum obsessive-compulsive disorder, panic disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder secondary to birth trauma. References and a glossary are provided along with continuing education forms, questions, a participant evaluation form, patient handouts, and a post-text answer key.

Contact: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 740, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8499 Fax: (202) 728-0575 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.awhonn.org/awhonn/ $46.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Home visiting, Infant care, Maternal mental health, Mental health services, Nursing services, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report examines how women's health and sex/gender-related issues are taught in the academic and clinical course of study for baccalaureate nursing students. The analytical results of a survey of U.S. baccalaureate nursing schools conducted during 1999 by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) are presented with a description of the extent of women's health content in the curriculum and selected recommendations designed to guide educators in strengthening this content. Additional resources are included that describe essentials of baccalaureate nursing education, fundamental features of women's health care, and the significant contribution of nurses in providing comprehensive women's health care. The report contains extensive tables and appendices on women's health from Congress and professional nursing organizations.

• PDF

Keywords: Curriculum development, National surveys, Nursing education, Professional education, Women', Women', s health, s health services

Annotation: This manual contains standards and guidelines for pediatric nursing education. It is the second edition of a manual that was the result of a working conference held in Chicago, Illinois January 27-30, 1994, which was attended by nurse educators from academic and clinical settings. The manual is organized around the concepts of child, family and social factors; clinical problems or areas; and care delivery. The format includes process and outcome criteria for each concept. The new edition provides an integration of materials related to prevention, and pre-hospital and emergent care. There is a strong emphasis on home and community-based care. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHK106.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children, Community based services, Educational objectives, Families, Family centered services, Guidelines, Nursing education, Pediatric nursing, Prevention, Standards

Annotation: This manual is provided to assist in using the Region X Nursing Network Postpartum Care Health Standards for nurses working with maternal and child populations in community settings. It begins with a brief history of the Standards and recommendations for using them. The manual has sections on level I and Level II assessments of eleven functional areas which are (1) nutrition/metabolic, (2) elimination, (3) sleep/rest, (4) activity/exercise, (5) cognitive/perceptual, (6) health perception, (7) self-concept/perception, (8) role/relationships, (9) sexuality/reproductive, (10) coping/stress/tolerance, and (11) value/belief. A case study is included. Appendices cover topics such as the nursing process and the standards, charting by exception, nursing skills useful for using the standards, public health core functions and standards, and information about Region X. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHL093.

• Link

Keywords: Case assessment, Case management, Community health services, Manuals, Maternal health, Nursing services, Postpartum care, Public health nursing, Region X, Standards

Annotation: This manual is provided to assist in using the Region X Nursing Network Adolescent Health Standards for nurses working with maternal and child populations in community settings. It begins with a brief history of the Standards and recommendations for using them. The manual has sections on level I and Level II assessments of eleven functional areas which are (1) nutrition/metabolic, (2) elimination, (3) sleep/rest, (4) activity/exercise, (5) cognitive/perceptual, (6) health perception, (7) self-concept/perception, (8) role/relationships, (9) sexuality/reproductive, (10) coping/stress/tolerance, and (11) value/belief. A case study is included. Appendices cover topics such as the nursing process and the standards, charting by exception, nursing skills useful for using the standards, public health core functions and standards, and information about Region X. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHL091.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent health promotion, Adolescents, Case assessment, Case management, Community health services, Manuals, Nursing services, Public health nursing, Region X, Standards, Youth development

Annotation: This document explains the Leadership Education Excellence in Maternal and Child Health Nursing grant application process. It lists specific requirements and program elements and explains the application and review processes. Appendices include additional instructions and guidelines. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Applications, Continuing education, Federal grants, Leadership, MCH training programs, Manuals, Maternal health services, Nurses, Nursing, Pediatric nursing

Annotation: This book documents the development of standardized outcomes for the evaluation of nursing care. Part One provides background information for the standardized outcomes, describes outcome development in health care with an emphasis on nursing, and describes the need for a standardized outcome language. It also describes the research process used to develop the outcomes and the testing and implementation of the outcomes. Part Two describes each outcome, providing a label name, a definition, a set of indicators, a Likert-type measurement scale, and selected references.

Keywords: Classification, Diagnosis, Nursing, Nursing services, Outcome evaluation, Performance measurement, Systems development

Annotation: This report summarizes a Maternal and Child Health Bureau funded project presented at a seminar May 2, 1997. The project reported on self-management of chronic asthma by children and their families living in rural communities in New Mexico. It focuses on self-management programs teaching children and their parents effective ways to manage asthma with phone followup by nurse educators to reduce reliance on the health care system. The report ends with a discussion of the project and a list of publications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Photocopy available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF
• Series Page

Keywords: Asthma, Children with special health care needs, Evaluation methods, Followup studies, Health care delivery, MCH research, New Mexico, Nursing services, Rural population, Self care, State programs

Annotation: This book provides information and guidance on developing and managing information resources and services for nurses in a variety of settings, including clinical units and centers, laboratories and learning resource centers, and nursing libraries in hospitals, colleges, and universities. It provides resources to answer frequent and recurring queries from nurses and nursing school librarians and provides an overview of issues and practical advice relating to the development, management, and provision of information services. Chapters include information on administration; information and educational services; collection development and evaluation; cataloging and processing; special collections; preservation; learning resource centers, computer laboratories, and clinical simulation laboratories; and a review of the programs and services of the National Library of Medicine. An index concludes the book.

Contact: NLN Press, Jones and Bartlett Publishers, 40 Tall Pine Drive, Sudbury, MA 01776, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbpub.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-88737-729-7.

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Information services, Laboratories, Libraries, Library collection development, Nurses, Nursing education, Reference materials, Resource centers, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This manual contains standards and guidelines for pediatric nursing education. It was the result of a working conference held in Chicago, Illinois between January 27-30, 1994 which was attended by nurse educators from academic and clinical settings. The manual discusses the background for the guidelines, and describes goals that fall into the following categories: child, family, and societal factors; clinical problems or areas; and care delivery. The manual reviews the theoretical bases of the standards, considers the knowledge needed for the nursing care of children and their families including children with special health needs, and examines ways of learning and developing, courses, and ways of evaluating teaching and learning experiences. For each standard, the manual describes the basic concept, provides a definition and goal statement, and suggests process and outcome criteria. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHH112.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children, Community based services, Educational objectives, Families, Family centered services, Guidelines, Nursing education, Pediatric nursing, Standards

Annotation: This book contains a collection of essays that consider the conditions of the nation's health and health care system at the beginning of the 1990s. The three main sections of the book focus on health and health care, health policy, and health care reform. Topics given closer consideration within those sections include: health status and its determinants; shaping the health care system; the politics of health; the role of nurses; initiatives for reform; health care cost containment; inequities in access to health services; quality, effectiveness, and appropriateness of care; and a miscellany of neglected issues. There are several essays within each of those specific categories; for example, the neglected issues section includes essays on long term care, racial factors in health care, women's health, the women's health movement, and living with AIDS.

Contact: Jones and Bartlett Learning, 5 Wall Street, Burlington, MA 01803, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 Secondary Telephone: (978) 443-5000 Fax: (978)443-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jblearning.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-86720-840-6.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Cost containment, Health care systems, Health policy, Health services, Health status, National health care reform, National policy, Nursing, Quality assurance