Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (46 total).

Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice. 2019. The OHNEP undergraduate interprofessional oral health faculty tool kit: Resources & stragies for oral health integration. New York, NY: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 30 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit for undergraduate faculty provides curricula templates and resources that can be used when integrating oral health into an undergraduate nursing program. Topics include microbiology, anatomy and physiology, pathophysiology, research methods, pharmacology, health assessment and promotion, fundamentals, nursing care of adults and older adults, nursing care of children, maternity and women’s health, community, psychiatric-mental health, leadership in nursing, and professional nursing. Smiles for Life: A National Oral Health Curriculum is integrated throughout the toolkit.

Contact: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 433 First Avenue, Sixth Floor, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (212) 992-7023 E-mail: OHNEP@nyu.edu Web Site: https://ohnep.org Available from the website.

Keywords: College students, Curricula, Health promotion, Nursing education, Oral health, Service integration

Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice. 2019. Nurse practitioner and midwifery tool kit. New York, NY: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 7 items.

Annotation: This series of seven toolkits are intended for oral health faculty to download and integrate into their course curricula: (1) Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Program, (2) Family Nurse Practitioner Program, (3) Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioners Program, (4) Nurse Midwifery Program, (5) Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner Program, (6) Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioners Program, and (7) Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Program. The toolkits offer classroom, simulation, and clinical teaching-learning strategies that address population health issues that are relevant to promoting the health of women, children, families, and communities.

Contact: Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice, 433 First Avenue, Sixth Floor, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (212) 992-7023 E-mail: OHNEP@nyu.edu Web Site: https://ohnep.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health promotion, Mental health, Midwifery, Nursing education, Older adults, Oral health, Service integration

Martinez A. 2016. School attendance, chronic health conditions and leveraging data for improvement: Recommendations for state education and health departments to address student absenteeism. Atlanta, GA: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 23 pp.

Annotation: This document for state education and health departments focuses on ways state school nurse consultants and other state school health personnel can support schools in reducing absences for students with chronic health conditions. Topics include the context and definitions of attendance as a measure, national efforts aimed at improving school attendance, challenges and opportunities related to collecting and using data on school attendance and chronic health conditions, collecting causes of school absence including chronic conditions, and recommendations for connecting school attendance and chronic health conditions to address absenteeism. Examples from Connecticut, Kentucky, and Massachusetts are included.

Contact: National Association of Chronic Disease Directors, 2200 Century Parkway, Suite 250, Atlanta, GA 30345, Telephone: (770) 458-7400 Web Site: https://chronicdisease.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community action, Data analysis, Data collection, Leadership, Management information systems, Measures, Nursing, Program improvement, School attendance, School health services, School nurses, Schools, State departments of education, State health agencies, Students

National Association of Neonatal Nurses. 2014. Baby steps to home. Glenview, IL: National Association of Neonatal Nurses, 234 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance for nurses and parents preparing for an infant's discharge from the neonatal intensive care unit. Contents include information and references for nurses and modifiable documents that can be printed and handed to parents following discussion about their infant's condition. The parent-focused content is available in English and Spanish. Topics include common issues and diagnoses that parents may encounter while their infant is in the NICU, questions to ask their infant's health professional, and after-discharge tips.

Contact: National Association of Neonatal Nurses, 4700 West Lake Ave., Glenview, IL 60025, Telephone: (800) 451-3795 Secondary Telephone: (847) 375-3660 Fax: (888) 477-6266 E-mail: info@nann.org Web Site: http://www.nann.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Infants, Neonatal intensive care units, Nursing, Parent education, Patient discharge

Robinson LA, Krol DM. 2014. Interprofessional education and practice: Moving toward collaborative patient-centered care–Part one. Journal of the California Dental Association 42(1):1–70,

Annotation: This issue addresses challenges and opportunities related to interprofessional education and practice for the dentistry profession. Topics include the roles of federal legislation and evolving health care systems in promoting medical-dental collaboration, integrating oral health care and overall health care, and efforts to develop infrastructure for medical-dental integration. Other topics include the impact of the marketplace and emerging concepts on dental practice, and an interprofessional model for dental and nursing education. This is the first of three issues dedicated to interprofessional education and practice.

Contact: California Dental Association, 1201 K Street, 14th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (800) 232-7645 E-mail: contactcda@cda.org Web Site: http://www.cda.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Dentistry, Health care delivery, Health care systems, Interdisciplinary approach, Models, Nursing, Professional education, Service integration, Trends

Institute of Medicine, Committee on the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Initiative on the Future of Nursing. 2011. The future of nursing: Leading change, advancing health. Washington, DC: National Academy of Sciences, 671 pp.

Annotation: This report explores how nurses' roles, responsibilities, and education should change significantly to meet the increased demand for care created by health care reform and to advance improvements in in the health care system. Contents include information about practice, education, and leadership transformation; data collection; and recommendations and research priorities.

Contact: National Academy of Sciences, 500 Fifth Street, N.W. , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-2000 E-mail: webmailbox@nas.edu Web Site: http://www.nasonline.org/site/PageServer $79.95; also available from the website.

Keywords: Data collection, Educational change, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Leadership training, Nurses, Nursing education, Organizational change, Planning, Policy development, Professional training, Trends, Work force

Lewis JA, Freda MC, Williams JK. 2010. Genetic issues for perinatal nurses. (2nd ed.). White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 70 pp. (March of Dimes nursing module)

Annotation: This learning module is designed to increase nurses' knowledge of genetics and to provide a sound baseline on which to build nursing care for pregnant women, their infants, and their families. The module includes an update of genetic discoveries for inherited diseases and birth defects, as well as discussion of genetics-related ethical issues and nursing responsibilities for reproducing families. Introductory materials describe the module format, student evaluation, independent study, facilitated study, cognitive objectives, and expected practice outcomes. Key concepts, a glossary, and pre- and postinstructional measurement sections are also included. Section topics include basic genetic information, principles of inheritance: Mendel's laws, principles of nontraditional inheritance patterns, multifactorial inheritance, the importance of genetic family history, genetic screening, prevention of birth defects, and genetic testing. Additional sections review genetic counseling, nursing and the future of genetics. Additional sections include clinical applications, group discussion items, an independent study test, an independent study application, references, and other supplementary materials. The module has been approved for continuing education credits for registered nurses in New York and California.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com $20.00, plus shipping and handling of $3.40. Document Number: ISBN 9780865251267.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Educational materials, Genetics education, Nurse midwives, Nursing education, Professional education

National League for Nursing Education Advisory Council Competency Work Group. 2010. Outcomes and competencies for graduates of practical/vocational, diploma, associate degree, baccalaureate, master's, practice doctorate, and research doctorate programs in nursing . [New York, NY]: National League for Nursing,

Annotation: This Web resource presents a visual model of nursing education competencies that illustrate core values, integrating concepts, and program outcomes for nurses at a range of educational levels from practical/vocational nursing through nurses with doctorates. For each nursing category, the resource gives brief descriptions of competencies in the areas of human flourishing, nursing judgment, professional identity, and spirit of inquiry. An accompanying monograph that provides more extensive information about outcomes and competencies is available.

Contact: National League for Nursing, 61 Broadway, 33rd Floor, New York, NY 10006-2701, Telephone: (212) 363-5555 Secondary Telephone: (800) 669-1656 Fax: (212) 812-0391 E-mail: generalinfo@nln.org Web Site: http://www.nln.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Competency based education, Educational programs, Nursing, Professional education

Illinois Emergency Medical Services for Children. 2010. Guidelines for the nurse in the school setting: School nurse emergency care course. [Maywood, IL]: Illinois Emergency Medical Services for Children, 108 pp.

Annotation: This document provides nurses working in school settings with a set of emergency care guidelines that they can use when delivering care to ill or injured students. The document discusses pediatric educational recommendations for health professionals, assessment, and triage. Detailed protocols for managing a wide variety or emergencies are presented. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Illinois Emergency Medical Services for Children, Loyola University Medical Center, Building 110 Lower Level, 2160 South First Avenue, Maywood, IL 60153, Telephone: (708) 327-3672 Secondary Telephone: (708) 327-2556 Fax: (708) 327-2548 E-mail: Evelyn.Lyons@illinois.gov Web Site: http:/www.luhs.org/emsc Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Assessment, Child health, Emergencies, Emergency medical services, Nursing education, School health services, School nurses, Training, Triage

Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, Evidence-Based Clinical Practice Guideline Team. 2007. Breastfeeding support: Prenatal care through the first year (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 89 pp., plus 4 pp. Quick Care Guide. (Evidence-based clinical practice guideline)

Annotation: This document contains guidelines outlining evidence-based assessment and intervention parameters designed to assist health care providers who care for breastfeeding mothers and their infants, women who are considering breast-feeding, or those who are planning to breastfeed. The guidelines provide information to support and guide women during the preconception, prenatal, and postpartum periods. Topics include trends in breastfeeding, the benefits to both infant and mother, breastfeeding promotion, and management and research in breastfeeding, and benefits to vulnerable and preterm infants. References are provided along with a continuing nursing education credit application, post test questions, and a participant evaluation form.

Contact: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 740, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8499 Fax: (202) 728-0575 E-mail: customerservice@awhonn.org Web Site: http://www.awhonn.org/awhonn/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Continuing education, Guidelines, Infant health, Maternal health, Nursing education, Resources for professionals, Trends

AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center. 2005. HIV oral health curriculum for nursing professionals. Newark, NJ: AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center, 1 v.

Annotation: This curriculum for nursing professionals comprises four modules on oral health and HIV infection. The modules address oral health manifestations in all clients and managing clients with HIV infection, performing an oral health history and examination, treating pain, eliminating sources of infection, identifying and diagnosing pathology, facilitating maintenance of adequate nutrition, HIV-associated oral health emergencies, and oral health maintenance and client education.

Contact: AIDS Education and Training Centers National Resource Center, Rutgers School of Nursing, Francois-Xavier Bagnoud Center, 65 Bergen Street, Newark, NJ 07107, Telephone: (973) 972-5141 Fax: (973) 972-0397 E-mail: info@aidsetc.org Web Site: https://aidsetc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Adults, Curricula, Distance education, Emergencies, HIV, Nurses, Nursing, Nursing education, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Training materials

Moore ML, Moos MK, Wieczorek RR, ed. 2003. Cultural competence in the care of childbearing families. White Plains, NY: March of Dimes, 124 pp. (March of Dimes nursing module)

Annotation: This learning module for nurses and nurse-midwives focuses learning about and respecting the cultural beliefs of childbearing women and their families. Introductory materials describe the module format, evaluation, continuing education credit, independent study, facilitated study, cognitive objectives, and expected practice outcomes. Key concepts, pre- and postinstructional measurement sections are also included. Thirteen cultural profiles are profiled including perspectives from African Americans, Amish, Applachian, Catholic, Cherokee, Chinese, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, Filipino, Hmong, Japanese, Jewish, Mexican, and Muslim cultures. Additional sections include clinical applications, group discussion items, an independent study test, an independent study application, references, and other supplementary materials. The module has been approved for continuing education credits for registered nurses in New York and California.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-86525-084-7.

Keywords: Cultural beliefs, Cultural competence, Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Educational materials, Ethnic factors, Nurse midwives, Nursing, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Professional education

Magyary DL. 2003. Nursing Leadership Enhancement for Culturally Competent Care: Children and Adolescents with Special Health Care Needs, Families and Communities. Seattle, WA: Psychosocial and Community Health, University of Washington, 24 pp., plus appendices.

Annotation: This report describes a program to enhance leadership in the graduate preparation of masters' and doctoral nurses who have a specialty emphasis on populations of children with special health care needs (CSHCN). The report covers program objectives, methodology, coordination, evaluation, and experience from July 1998 to June 2003. Topics include an outline of purposes, goals, and objectives; a review of project results in cultural competency, partnership building, recruitment, community outreach, and continuing education; and a description of performance outcomes before, during, and after graduate studies. Addition contents include the project relationship to Title V programs, its regional and national significance, the value added to the School of Nursing and the University of Washington community, and supports of Year 2010 national health objectives. Appendices include lists of courses taught, publications, continuing education presentations and involvement by the faculty; a list of current nursing trainees and scholarship support; examples of leadership enhancement of current students; a list of long-term trainees; graduates' descriptive biographical information; and Healthy People 2010 objectives addressed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural sensitivity, Final reports, Leadership training, MCH research, Nurses, Nursing specialties, Outreach, Postsecondary education, Professional education

Wheeler L. 2002. Nurse-midwifery handbook: A practical guide to prenatal and postpartum care. (2nd ed.). Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott, Williams, and Wilkins, 443 pp.

Annotation: This book addresses care by nurses and midwives in the preconception, prenatal, and postpartum stages and offers suggestions on the addition of holistic care. Topics include health education, nutrition, physical examinations, laboratory and diagnostic tests, the transition to parenthood, breastfeeding, contraception, and general health issues for women. Patient education materials, sample forms and charts, and guidelines for providing culturally competent care are included in the appendices. An index concludes the book.

Contact: Wolters Kluwer Health, Lippincott Williams and Wilkins, P.O. Box 1620, Hagerstown, MD 21741, Telephone: (800) 638-3030 Secondary Telephone: (301) 223-23000 Fax: (301) 223-2400 E-mail: customerservice@lww.com Web Site: http://www.lww.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7817-2929-7.

Keywords: Educational materials, Manuals, Midwifery, Nursing education, Nursing specialties, Obstetrical nursing, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Prenatal care

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, U.S. Bureau of Health Professions, National Institutes of Health, Office of Research on Women's Health, National Institute of Nursing Research, and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2001. Women's health in the baccalaureate nursing curriculum: Report of a survey and recommendations. Rockville, MD: Health Resources and Services Administration, 143 pp.

Annotation: This report examines how women's health and sex/gender-related issues are taught in the academic and clinical course of study for baccalaureate nursing students. The analytical results of a survey of U.S. baccalaureate nursing schools conducted during 1999 by the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) are presented with a description of the extent of women's health content in the curriculum and selected recommendations designed to guide educators in strengthening this content. Additional resources are included that describe essentials of baccalaureate nursing education, fundamental features of women's health care, and the significant contribution of nurses in providing comprehensive women's health care. The report contains extensive tables and appendices on women's health from Congress and professional nursing organizations.

Keywords: Curriculum development, National surveys, Nursing education, Professional education, Women's health, Women's health services

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Research, Training and Education. 2000. Maternal and child health training program: [Fact sheets]. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Research, Training and Education, 15 pp.

Annotation: These fact sheets describe the fifteen leadership training programs in maternal and child health. The training programs are in the following areas: continuing education and development, social work, pediatric occupational therapy, pediatric physical therapy, graduate medical education in historically black colleges and universities, adolescent health, maternal and child health leadership education in neurodevelopmental and related disabilities, behavioral pediatrics, nursing, schools of public health, pediatric pulmonary centers, the maternal and child health training program, nutrition, communication disorders, and pediatric dentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavioral sciences, Blacks, Communication disorders, Continuing education, Graduate education, Leadership training, Lung diseases, MCH training programs, Medical education, Neural development, Nursing, Nutrition, Pediatric dentistry, Pediatric occupational therapy, Physical therapy, Public health education, Social work

Expert Panel on Genetics and Nursing: Implications for Education and Practice. 2000. Report of the Expert Panel on Genetics and Nursing: Implications for Education and Practice. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 106 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the topics, principles, and recommendations of the expert panel meeting held September 28-29, 2000 in Washington, DC. Topics include leadership education, workforce, practice, global health, interdisciplinary collaboration, cultural competence, and areas of genetic knowledge and skill competencies. Five principles describe gaps in the genetic education of students in many (if not all) schools of nursing. Eight recommendations address several areas including genetics education programming, dissemination of genetics information and technological advances, interdisciplinary programs, collaborations and partnerships, and workforce issues. This report also includes three invited papers, 21 expert panel members' reports, and selected members' biographies. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Competency based education, Conferences, Genetics education, Nursing education, Personnel needs, Professional education

Nehring WM. 1999. A history of nursing in the field of mental retardation and developmental disabilities. Washington, DC: American Association on Mental Retardation, 205 pp.

Annotation: This book focuses primarily on the history of nursing in mental retardation (MR) since the late 1980s. The book includes the following chapters: (1) early care, terminology, and organized education: 1800-1899; (2) eugenics, community service, and the growth of nursing education: 1900-1929; (3) growth of nursing in institutional and community settings: 1930-1959, (4) federal support for MR and nursing education: 1960-1969; (5) MR in a new light: 1970-1979; (6) setting the standard for education, practice, and research: 1980 forward, and (7) the changing role of nursing in MR and developmental disabilities (DD) in the 21st century. The book includes five appendices: (1) a parallel look at important events in history; (2) Colorado State Home and Training School for Mental Defectives; (3) texts, guides, and pamphlets on MR-DD written by nurses; (4) significant legislation related to MR-DD since 1960, and (5) chronological list of nursing dissertations on topic related to MR-DD. References and legislative references are included.

Contact: The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, 501 Third Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 387-1968 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-3688 Fax: (202) 387-2193 E-mail: dcroser@aaidd.org Web Site: http://www.aamr.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-940898-68-3.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, History, Legislation, Mental retardation, Nurses, Nursing, Nursing education, Research

Woodring B. 1998. Standards and guidelines for pre-licensure and early professional education for the nursing care of children and their families. (Rev. ed.). [Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin, School of Nursing], 42 pp.

Annotation: This manual contains standards and guidelines for pediatric nursing education. It is the second edition of a manual that was the result of a working conference held in Chicago, Illinois January 27-30, 1994, which was attended by nurse educators from academic and clinical settings. The manual is organized around the concepts of child, family and social factors; clinical problems or areas; and care delivery. The format includes process and outcome criteria for each concept. The new edition provides an integration of materials related to prevention, and pre-hospital and emergent care. There is a strong emphasis on home and community-based care. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHK106.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Community based services, Educational objectives, Families, Family centered services, Guidelines, Nursing education, Pediatric nursing, Prevention, Standards

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 1998. Leadership Education Excellence in Maternal and Child Health Nursing: CFDA 93.110TE—Application guidance for form PHS-6025-1. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 31 pp.

Annotation: This document explains the Leadership Education Excellence in Maternal and Child Health Nursing grant application process. It lists specific requirements and program elements and explains the application and review processes. Appendices include additional instructions and guidelines. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Applications, Continuing education, Federal grants, Leadership, MCH training programs, Manuals, Maternal health services, Nurses, Nursing, Pediatric nursing

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.