Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These protocols for emergency medical technicians and hospital personnel in North Carolina provide guidelines for triage, transport, and treatment of children who have suffered traumatic injuries or have life threatening conditions. The protocols are grouped in two sections; the first contains prehospital paramedic protocols; and the second contains hospital treatment protocols. The first section also includes guidelines for transport. The individual protocols are presented as flow-charts with the critical procedures indicated for each step in caring for the child. Conditions include: multiple trauma, head trauma, newborn resuscitation, poisoning, and seizures, among others. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Carolinas Medical Center, Department of Emergency Medicine, 1000 Blythe Boulevard , Charlotte, NC 28203, Telephone: (704) 355-3658 Fax: (704) 355-7047 E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Emergency medical technicians, Hospital emergency services, Hospital personnel, Injuries, North Carolina, Protocols, Resources for professionals, Therapeutics

Annotation: This report offers recommendations to support North Carolinians in accessing high-quality and affordable oral health care. The recommendations were developed by the North Carolina Institute of Medicine's Oral Health Transformation Task Force. Strategies for addressing each of the the 14 recommendations are also provided. Also discussed is executing a collaborative implementation plan for oral health transformation in North Carolina.

Contact: North Carolina Institute of Medicine, P.O. Box 4176, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7590, Telephone: (919) 445-6500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nciom.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Health promotion, North Carolina, Oral health, Service integration, State information

Annotation: This report recounts the development of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's (UNC-CH's) dental public health education program from its inception in 1936 through 2016. The report provides an overview of public health education and describes the beginnings of dental public health education at UNC-CH and the launch of the university's Institute of Public Health Dentistry, laying the foundation for a resurgence of training in dental public health, and UNC-CH's short courses in dental public health. Also discussed are the North Carolina Dental Public Health Residency Program, degree programs in public health dentistry at UNC-CH, and oral health research conducted at the Gillings School of Global Public Health.

Contact: University of North Carolina Press, 116 South Boundary Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3808, Telephone: (919) 966-3561 Fax: (919) 966-3829 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://uncpress.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental education, Higher education, History, North Carolina, Oral health, Public health, Research, State materials, Training

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the state of North Carolina kindergarteners’ oral health following the COVID-19 pandemic. The fact sheet includes background on the issue and presents statistical information in figures on the increased incidence of untreated tooth decay and less-treated tooth decay and on the decreased incidence of never experiencing tooth decay in this population. Also included is information on efforts the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Section, is making to reverse these trends.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2001 Mail Service Center, 5505 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001, Telephone: (919) 855-4800 Fax: (919) 870-4805 Web Site: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Dental caries, Kindergarten, North Carolina, Oral health, State information, Trends

Annotation: This report provides results from an assessment conducted to gather information on the status of oral health of children in kindergarten in North Carolina, by region and race/ethnicity. The report comprises charts with information on the percentage of children who received oral health screenings, with treated and untreated tooth decay, who have never had a cavity or filling, who have at least one dental sealant on a permanent molar tooth, and who have urgent oral health care needs.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2001 Mail Service Center, 5505 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001, Telephone: (919) 855-4800 Fax: (919) 870-4805 Web Site: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Geographic factors, Health screenings, North Carolina, Oral health, Racial factors, State information

Annotation: This report presents a plan for improving oral health in North Carolina. It introduces the issues, describes the methodology, and presents a plan-development timeline. Other topics include oral health drivers, the oral health safety net in the state, environmental conditions, and public oral health care in North Carolina. A snapshot of oral health status in North Carolina is presented, along with an introduction to regional oral health plans and a list of partners.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2001 Mail Service Center, 5505 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001, Telephone: (919) 855-4800 Fax: (919) 870-4805 Web Site: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: North Carolina, Oral health, Public health, Regional planning, State planning

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the relationship between social determinants of health (SDOH) and children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) and gives case studies from North Carolina, Kansas and Oregon to describe how these states have used screenings and administrative data to identify and assess SDOH in order to better support CYSHCN.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Kansas, Managed care, Medicare, North Carolina, Oregon, Social factors, State initiatives

Annotation: This policy brief provides information about increasing access to oral health care among vulnerable populations in North Carolina as restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic begin to be lifted. It presents recommendations in the following areas: workforce utilization (including supervision requirements), care delivery (including teledentistry), and payment reform.

Contact: North Carolina Oral Health Collaborative, Foundation for Health Leadership & Innovation, Cary, NC Telephone: 919-589-7524 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthnc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, North Carolina, Oral health, Public policy, Service delivery, State materials, Telehealth, Virus diseases

Annotation: This brief provides information about oral health among pregnant women in North Carolina. The information is based on data from the 2016 Illinois North Carolina Risk Assessment Monitoring System. Topics include background information, methods, and results. A discussion of findings is included.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2001 Mail Service Center, 5505 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001, Telephone: (919) 855-4800 Fax: (919) 870-4805 Web Site: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental caries, Health care delivery, North Carolina, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This document offers strategies for developing an effective oral health system in North Carolina and identifies three strategic priorities: advance systemic change, influence policy, and increase organizational effectiveness. For each priority, goals, sub-goals, and targeted actions are presented. A strategic planning overview and a timeline are included.

Contact: North Carolina Oral Health Collaborative, Foundation for Health Leadership & Innovation, Cary, NC Telephone: 919-589-7524 Web Site: http://www.oralhealthnc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, North Carolina, Oral health, Public policy, State initiatives, Strategic plans

Annotation: This video provides information about using silver diamine fluoride (SDF) to arrest dental caries in young children. The video provides background on SDF. It discusses the safety, efficacy, and cost of SDF treatment and the advantages and disadvantages of SDF over alternative approaches to treating dental caries in young children. The video also shows how SDF is applied and provides information about insurance coverage for SDF treatment in North Carolina.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Oral Health Section, 2001 Mail Service Center, 5505 Six Forks Road, Raleigh, NC 27699-2001, Telephone: (919) 855-4800 Fax: (919) 870-4805 Web Site: https://www.dph.ncdhhs.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Fluoride, North Carolina, Oral health, Prevention, State programs, Videotapes, Young children

Annotation: These two sets of guidelines, one for infants and children from tooth eruption to age 3 and one for children ages 3–6, provide information about toothbrushing in North Carolina preschool programs. Topics include steps for group toothbrushing in preschool programs, toothbrush and storage-rack care, and general toothbrushing information. Helpful hints for group toothbrushing and information about fluoride toothpaste are also included. The guidelines are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: , Early childhood education, Infant health, North Carolina, Oral health, Spanish language materials, State programs, Young children

Annotation: These guidelines provide information about toothbrushing for children ages 3–7 in North Carolina preschool programs. Topics include steps for group toothbrushing in preschool programs, toothbrush and storage-rack care, and general toothbrushing information. Helpful hints for group toothbrushing and Information about fluoride toothpaste are also included. The guidelines are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: , Early childhood education, Fluoride, Infant health, North Carolina, Oral health, Spanish language materials, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This brief explores the impact of dental caries on children’s health and academic success and how North Carolina can take steps to improve children’s oral health and academic outcomes through the use of school-based dental sealant programs (SBSPs). Topics include the impact of dental caries on children’s health and well-being, evidence-based solutions, SBSPs, and the impact of SBSPs on children’s oral health outcomes.

Contact: NC Child, 3101 Poplarwood Court, Suite 300, Raleigh, NC 27604, Telephone: (919) 834-6623 Web Site: http://www.ncchild.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, North Carolina, Oral health, School age children, School health programs, State programs

Annotation: This brief explores how six states (Colorado, Iowa, New Mexico, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina) have responded to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Oral Health Strategic Framework. For each state, a summary of how the state is improving access to oral health care and advancing oral health interprofessional practice is provided.

Contact: South Carolina Rural Health Research Center, 220 Stoneridge Drive, Suite 204, Columbia, SC 29210, Telephone: (803) 251-6317 Fax: (803) 251-6399 Web Site: http://rhr.sph.sc.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Colorado, Iowa, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oral health, Pennsylvania, Service Integration, South Carolina, State programs

Annotation: This handout provides information about the potentially harmful effects of chewing betel nut, including increased risk for cancer and gum disease. The handout addresses risk associated with combining betel nut and tobacco and risks for chewing betel nut for pregnant women and children. The handout also includes information about the importance of talking with a doctor and dentist about betel nut use and early cancer detection and provides phone numbers for information about oral health care in North Carolina. The handout is available in English, Burmese, and Karen.

Contact: Orange County Health Department, P.O. Box 8181, Hillsborough, NC 27278, Telephone: (919) 732-8181 Contact Phone: (919) 245-2387 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.orangecountync.gov/204/Health-Department Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Cancer, Children, Early intervention, Gingivitis, Non English language materials, North Carolina, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Substance use, Tobacco use

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about preterm birth (PTB) rates and racial disparities in PTB in the United States, the use of 17 alpha-hydroxyprogesterone caproate (17P) to prevent PTB, and the role of state and territorial health agencies in promoting access to 17P. Contents include state examples of 17P interventions in Louisiana, North Carolina, and Ohio. The fact sheet also discusses costs, quality, and other challenges related to the availability of and access to 17P.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Louisiana, North Carolina, Ohio, Pharmaceutical fees, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Preventive medicine, State agencies

Annotation: This report offers guidance and promising practices for implementing the adapted Making Proud Choices (MPCs) curriculum for youth in out-of-home care. Contents include lessons learned from implementation of the program in the following five geographically- and organizationally-diverse teams: Alameda County (California), Hawaii, Minnesota, North Carolina, and Rhode Island. Topics include creating partnerships, identifying gaps and special needs, measuring fidelity, and sustainability.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, California, Hawaii, Measures, Minnesota, Model programs, North Carolina, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, Residential care, Rhode Island, Sustainability

Annotation: This document is the 10th in a series that presents findings from the Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009 (CHIPRA) Quality Demonstration Grant Program. It focuses on the roles of two states -- North Carolina and Pennsylvania --to test the Children's Electronic Health Record (EHR) Format (the Format) to improve the quality of health care for children enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP. Contents include key messages, background, findings, conclusion, and implications. Topics include how well the Format's requirements support the provision of primary care to children and how readily the requirements can be incorporated into existing EHRs.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Children, Children', Demonstration programs, Medicaid, Medical records, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: North Carolina, Obesity, Prevention programs, State initiatives, Young children