Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information from the North Dakota Oral Health Program school-based dental sealant program indicating that American Indian and Alaska Native (AIAN) students had more untreated tooth decay and rampant tooth decay than their non-AIAN counterparts. The fact sheet also includes information on North Dakota’s school-based sealant program (SEALIND) and offers strategies to improve the oral health of AIAN students in the state.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Dental caries, Health status disparities, North Dakota, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, School health, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet provide tips for indigenous adolescents about how to maintain or improve their oral health. Tips include avoiding tobacco, wearing a mouthguard when playing sports, brushing and flossing daily, visiting the dentist at least once a year, having wisdom teeth checked by an oral health professional, consuming healthy foods and drinks, drinking fluoridated water, and not getting tongue or lip piercings.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, American Indians, Alaska Natives, Mouth guards, Fluoride, North Dakota, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Smoking cessation, State information

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about students' oral hygiene practices and consumption of sugar-containing beverages. It discusses third-grade students' access to toothbrushes, toothbrushing and flossing practices, and consumption of sugar-containing beverages, as well as whether they have visited a dentist; middle school students’ toothbrushing practices and consumption of sugar-containing beverages; and high school students’ consumption of soda.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, American Indians, Children, Dental caries, Health behavior, Low income groups, Minority groups, North Dakota, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevalence, Rural population, Social factors, State surveys, Statistical data, Sugar

Annotation: This brief describes programs and initiatives working to improve the health status of underserved populations in North Dakota. The brief provides the program’s or initiative's name, managing agency, mission, population served, and dates of operation. The brief also discusses state, professional, and work force supports needed to increase access to oral health care and use of oral health services and improve oral health literacy.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Financing, Health literacy, Local initiatives, Low income groups, North Dakota, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, Reimbursement, Rural population, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about oral health disparities among students in third grade, middle school, and high school in North Dakota. Charts present data on tooth decay rates by race and National School Lunch Program status, dental visits in the past 12 months by race, and number of cavities by race. Recommendations for preventing tooth decay and improving oral health among children and adolescents from minority groups and among those from families with low incomes are included.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, American Indians, Children, Dental care, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health status, Low income groups, Minority groups, North Dakota, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data, Students

Annotation: This report summarizes a workshop held on June 11, 2010, in Bismarck, North Dakota, to discuss oral health issues and policy. Topics included priorities in committing funds to train dentists to treat clients with special health care needs, serving state and tribal entities, creating an awareness program on oral health and general health for legislators and the public, expanding tobacco-education efforts, expanding the role of dental hygienists and assistants, and expanding loan-repayment programs for dental students. Sample worksheets provided to attendees are included.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Conferences, North Dakota, Oral health, Special health care services, State programs, Work force

Annotation: This two-volume set reports on health conditions throughout the Americas generally, and specifically in the 46 countries and territories within the Americas, and it describes and analyzes the progress, constraints, and challenges of member states in their efforts to improve the health of the peoples of the region. Volume one covers the region as a whole and discusses health in the context of development, health conditions and trends, sustainable development and environmental health, public policies and health systems and services, health and international cooperation, and prospects for regional health. Volume two provides maps of each country and territory, and discusses the general context and health determinants, the health of different population groups, health conditions and problems, and the response of the health sector. It also includes a section on the United States-Mexico border area. Charts and figures provide statistical data throughout each volume. A lis of acronyms used is at the end of each volume. This publication is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Pan American Health Organization, 525 23rd Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 974-3000 Fax: (202) 974-3663 Web Site: http://new.paho.org $95.00, plus shipping and handling; CD ROM also available for $75.00, plus shipping and handling.

• Volume 1
• Volume 2

Keywords: Central America, Health surveys, National surveys, North America, Population surveillance, South America, Spanish language materials, Statistical data

Annotation: This report describes the Healthy Start CORPS program implementation of a Healthy Start program based in North Carolina serving a large, rural county characterized by diversity; high rates of low birthweight, preterm births, adolescent pregnancy, and infant mortality; poverty; low educational attainment; and other problems. The project period was 2001-2004. Topics include an overview of racial and ethnic disparities focused on by the project, project implementation, project management and governance, project accomplishments, project impact, local evaluation, fetal and infant mortality review, products, and project data (by year). The report includes three appendices: (1) U.S. low birthweight since 1950: distribution, impacts, causes; (2) infant mortality models and infant mortality trends; and (3) prevalence of postpartum depression in a Native American population. A CD-ROM is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, American Indians, Blacks, Educational factors, Final reports, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, North Carolina, Poverty, Racial factors, Rural populations

Annotation: This fact sheet presents statistics of childhood, adolescent, and young adult overweight in North Dakota from 1993 through 1999 in three sections: the problem, the effects, and the response. Statistics include the percentage of 3- and 4-year-olds who are overweight, comparing white and American Indian children, and the leading causes of death in the state in 1998. The response section describes steps the state is taking to improve the problem.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health, Division of Maternal and Child Health, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 301, Bismarck, ND 58505-0200, Telephone: (701) 328-2493 Secondary Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Contact Phone: (701) 328-4963 Web Site: http://www.ndmch.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: American Indians, Child health, North Dakota, Obesity, State MCH programs, State initiatives, Women', s health

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of the evaluation of the Northern Plains Healthy Start program during its demonstration phase. This program covers nineteen American Indian tribal organizations in four states (North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa). Chapter two of the report provides an overview of the Northern Plains Indian communities, and the issues and concerns that led to developing the program. Chapter three provides an overview of the program as designed and implemented. Chapter four presents data on client characteristics and service use from the Minimum Data Set (MDS) client data system and the postpartum survey. Chapter five presents trends in infant mortality and other birth outcomes for the Northern Plains and its two comparison areas. The final chapter presents conclusions and lessons learned from the Northern Plains Healthy Start experience.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Contact Phone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: American Indians, Evaluation, Healthy Start, Indian Health Service, Infant mortality, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, Prevention programs, South Dakota

Annotation: This book is a collection of nine essays that examine women's health status and health care delivery in different countries and the assumptions behind the dominant medical model of solving problems without regard to social conditions. The authors are members of the Feminist Health Care Ethics Research Network, an interdisciplinary group of scholars and practitioners whose primary interest is in feminist approaches to women's health. The book is the result of a four-year collaborative research project supported by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. The essays are entitled: A Relational Approach to Autonomy in Health Care; Situating Women in the Politics of Health; The Politics of Health: Geneticization Versus Health Promotion; Contested Bodies, Contested Knowledges: Women, Health, and the Politics of Medicalization; Agency, Diversity, and Constraints: Women and Their Physicians, Canada, 1850-1950; Reflections on the Transfer of "Progress": The Case of Reproduction; Anomalous Women and Political Strategies for Aging Societies; (Re)fashioning Medicine's Response to Wife Abuse; and Reframing Research Involving Humans. Notes are provided at the end of each essay. A list of references and biographies of the authors are included in the book.

Contact: Temple University Press, 1601 North Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19122, Telephone: (800) 621-2736 Fax: (800) 621-8471 Web Site: http://www.temple.edu/tempress/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56639-598-4.

Keywords: Africa, Bioethics, Canada, Ethics, Gender discrimination, Health care delivery, Health promotion, Japan, North America, Research, Women', s health

Annotation: The papers presented in this reprint from the Journal of Adolescent Health Care were commissioned for an invitational conference entitled Social Change and Social Development in Adolescence: A Focus on the Americas, hosted by the Pan American Health Organization, the Society for Adolescent Medicine, and the Society for Research on Adolescence. The papers explore a wide range of issues related to adolescent health and development and include the following titles: Adolescent social development: a global perspective; An epidemiological view of adolescent health in Latin America; Discovery and invention in the history of adolescence; A conceptional framework for understanding "problems" in adolescence and youth; Risk factors and youth: The role of family and community; Resilience: some conceptual considerations; Social changes among youth: the United States experience; and Youth at the threshold of the 21st century: the demographic situation. The conference was cosponsored by the World Health Organization with support from the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the Carnegie Corporation, and the Kellogg Foundation.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescents, North America, Risk factors, Social factors, South America, Youth

Annotation: This book discusses the status of infant mortality around the world; Inter-American investigation of mortality in childhood; patterns of mortality in infancy and early childhood; methods of efforts to reduce infant mortality in World Health Organization Southeast Asia region; infant mortality; methodologic advances in the study of infant mortality; and infant mortality in Sweden.

Keywords: Central America, Child mortality, Infant mortality, North America, South America, Southeast Asia, Sweden, World Health Organization

Annotation: This report discusses the health of American Indians in the Department of Health, Education, and Welfare Region VIII, which consists of Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming. These Indians live in 23 reservations and in cities and towns in the region. The report discusses identifying American Indians, levels of problems relating to health, health services for Indians, health problems of reservation and off-reservation Indians, and suggested solutions for Indian health problems. The report ends with a list of references.

Keywords: American Indians, Colorado, Health facilities, Health policy, Indian Health Service, Montana, North Dakota, Nutrition, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming