Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document is designed to help schools and other nonprofit organizations evaluate their parent engagement efforts and chart a path toward deeper partnerships with parents and other caregivers. Contents include an assessment and planning tool with instructions on how to use it and how to assess its results. Topics include building a culture of respect, inclusion, and equity; coaching parents; forming partnerships with parents; and partnering with others to serve the whole family. Examples of real-world strategies and programs are also included.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Competence, Culturally competent services, Equal opportunities, Family centered services, Leadership, Nonprofit organizations, Parents, Planning, Schools

Contact: Association of University Centers on Disabilities, 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 588-8252 Fax: (301) 588-2842 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aucd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Developmental disabilities, Developmental disabilities programs, Guidelines, Nonprofit organizations, Proposal writing

Annotation: This reference book is for directors and prospective directors of nonprofit corporations, from the smallest corporation that operates principally at a local or even neighborhood level, to the largest nonprofit corporation having operations that extend not only across the United States but internationally as well. Primarily written for the lay reader, it provides a description of general legal principles as they apply to nonprofit corporations and offers useful and practical suggestions and checklists. This book, written and edited by leading lawyers in the nonprofit industry, will assist directors of nonprofit corporations in performing their duties and providing an overall understanding of their role to the corporations they serve. Despite their variety of purposes, nonprofit corporations have many things in common. Although the size of the resources managed by nonprofit boards varies widely, their fundamental responsibilities are the same. This guidebook aims to help directors of all nonprofit corporations, big and small, to use their resources to the greatest effect.

Contact: American Bar Association, 321 North Clark Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (800) 285-2221 Secondary Telephone: (312) 988-5000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.abanet.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Ethics, Leadership training, Nonprofit organizations

Annotation: This book profiles 12 nonprofit organizations that exemplify six practices that can help nonprofits achieve significant results. The practices include (1) working with the government and advocating for change, (2) harnessing market forces, (3) creating meaningful experiences for individual supporters, (4) building and nurturing nonprofit networks, (5) adapting to the changing environment, and (6) sharing leadership. The first chapter provides a detailed overview of findings, and chapters 2-7 focus on each of the practices. Chapter 8 highlights critical elements necessary for nonprofits to sustain their impact, and chapter 9 addresses how the six practices fit together.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-7879-8612-4.

Keywords: Advocacy, Collaboration, Leadership, Marketing, Networking, Nonprofit organizations

Annotation: This issue describes factors involved in effective grantmaking strategies for working in diverse communities including: changing demographics, disparities, and the limitations of traditional grantmaking models. It analyzes the contextual dynamics through which the work of building constituencies in diverse communities takes place through three lenses: structural racism, racial equality, and inclusionary grantmaking. The issue discusses three work arenas in which the work of building constituencies takes place: internal practices, community engagement, and capacity building.

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available for members only.

• Related Publications

Keywords: Foundations, Grants, Guidelines, Minority groups, Nonprofit organizations, Racism, Underserved communities

Annotation: This volume examines the history and experiences of child advocacy organizations in safeguarding and improving the welfare of children. Its objective is to explore how child advocacy organizations can more effectively raise the public's awareness of children's issues and advance public policy at the federal, state, and local levels. The volume is divided into two sections. The first section examines the current infrastructure for child advocacy organizations, the extent to which the organizations can rely on financial support from foundations, and the role of these organizations in the democratic decision-making process. Topics include the roles of nonprofit organizations; Medicaid and SCHIP; and the nonprofit sector. The second section looks at how child advocacy organizations have historically worked at creating and maintaining constituencies and at the prospects for creating a self-sustaining, constituent-based child advocacy movement in the future. Topics include advocacy for families and children, reform issues in Medicaid and SCHIP; preschool advocacy, and mobilizing parents and communities for children. The book concludes with an index.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child advocacy, Child welfare, Child welfare agencies, Children, Fundraising, Insurance, Medicaid, Nonprofit organizations, Policy development, Public policy, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This conference report is about how society is changing in its use of information technology and how the Telecommunications and Information Infrastructure Assistance Program (TIIAP) projects have been at the forefront of the changes. It highlights emerging societal and technology trends. Conference session topics included technology trends; evolving community networks; creating new locations for service delivery; networking and the transmission of sensitive information; workable mechanisms for meeting community needs; networks and accessing services from the home; moving from information access to analysis; network technologies and organizational change; and an update on TIIAP's progress.

• Link

Keywords: Community agencies, Conferences, Information networks, Low income groups, Nonprofit organizations, Telecommunications

Annotation: This manual helps an organization to define its goals, build teamwork and managerial skills, and do its work with fewer resources. Using the seven worksheets to define the organization's needs, and the examples and discussions in the text, an organization can begin to improve its strategy, enlist its members' support for the new plan, and measure the results.

Contact: Amherst H. Wilder Foundation, 451 Lexington Parkway North, Saint Paul, MN 55104, Telephone: (651) 280-2000 Web Site: http://www.wilder.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-940069-07-5.

Keywords: Manuals, Nonprofit organizations, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in October 1997 that focused on the ways service providers can meet the needs of immigrant families in the District of Columbia. The goals of the seminar were to bring different points of view to the table and to discuss tools needed to serve families through information dissemination, education, and outreach. The seminar emphasized the importance of recognizing cultural diversity, the need for a coordinated response to the needs of immigrant families, and the need for appropriate outreach efforts to overcome such barriers to access as language and culture. Also included are a bibliography of works cited, a glossary, a directory of agencies and organizations in the District of Columbia that offer various services to immigrants, and a directory of national resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: Cultural barriers, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, District of Columbia, Immigrants, Nonprofit organizations, Social services, Welfare reform, Welfare services

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in July 1996 that focused on identifying proven and successful practices for local nonprofit organizations to access funds from public and private sources. Volume 1 (written by Helena Wallin, Tobi Printz, and Pamela Coughlan) serves as a resource guide for District of Columbia organizations looking for funding sources and information on applying for and managing the grant/fundraising process. It provides a annotated bibliography on a number of topics that include: 1) federal resources and block grants, 2) resources for managing grants and the grant application process, 3) issue-specific funding resources and technical reports, and 4) private sector resources. Volume 2 provides highlights of the seminar's discussions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Series Archives

Keywords: Community programs, District of Columbia, Family centered care, Family centered services, Financing, Foundations, Fundraising, Grant management, Grants, Nonprofit organizations

Annotation: This case study is an illustrative analysis of the technical assistance efforts of a national nonprofit organization (Zero to Three/National Center for Clinical Infant Programs) to assist states in improving the quality and comprehensiveness of services received by infants and toddlers (and their families) in child care settings. Using an approach of goal directed technical assistance, the organization was able to assist state administrators by conveying research-based best practice information, and reacting to and suggesting policies. The most intensive direct assistance was provided to Florida, Illinois and Utah. A bibliography is included.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Contact Phone: (800) 899-4301 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org $9.00 including postage and handling.

• Link

Keywords: Child care centers, Child care services, Nonprofit organizations, State government, Technical assistance

Annotation: This book provides guidelines to help nonprofit organizations develop a performance-oriented relationship between board members and executive directors. It discusses realities of nonprofit organizations, selecting and evaluating executive directors, leadership, managing staff groups with different values, executive termination, and handling restructuring and downsizing.

Contact: Alliance for Children and Families, 11700 West Lake Park Drive, Milwaukee, WI 53224-3099, Telephone: (414) 359-1040 Fax: (414) 359-1074 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.alliance1.org

Keywords: Assessment, Management, Nonprofit organizations, Organizational change

Annotation: This book presents a corporate model of operation for nonprofit organizations that is designed to strengthen nonprofit boards and improve their productivity by helping them focus on policy development and long-range planning instead of day-to-day activities.

Contact: Alliance for Children and Families, 11700 West Lake Park Drive, Milwaukee, WI 53224-3099, Telephone: (414) 359-1040 Fax: (414) 359-1074 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.alliance1.org

Keywords: Management, Nonprofit organizations