Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (119 total).

California Dental Association. n.d.. Oral health fact sheets. Sacramento, CA: California Dental Association, multiple items (1 p. each).

Annotation: These fact sheets for consumers provide information on a variety of oral health topics. Topics include amalgam, bad breath, cosmetic dentistry, dental benefit coverage, dental decay, dental implants, dental team, dental tourism, dentures, dry mouth, early childhood caries, emergencies, fluoride, general anesthesia and oral sedation, grills, grinding of teeth, gum disease, meth mouth, mouthguards, new moms, nitrous oxide, nutrition, oral cancer, oral health, oral piercing, orthodontics, patient records, peer review, pregnancy, preventive care, receding gums, sealants, seniors, smokeless tobacco, whitening, wisdom teeth, X-rays, and xylitol. The fact sheets are available in English, Chinese, Hmong, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: California Dental Association, 1201 K Street, 14th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (800) 232-7645 E-mail: contactcda@cda.org Web Site: http://www.cda.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Educational materials, Non English language materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials

Philadelphia Department of Public Health. n.d.. Why breastfeed? Just listen to what mothers say!. Philadelphia, PA: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This flyer provides quotes from mothers who breastfeed and summarizes why breastfeeding is good for babies, mothers, and families. It is available in Albanian, Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Indonesian, Khmer, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Philadelphia Department of Public Health, Division of Maternal, Child, and Family Health, 1101 Market Street, Ninth Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 685-5225 Fax: (215) 685-5257 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.phila.gov/health/mcfh/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

SIDS and Kids Australia. n.d.. Make up your baby's cot using safe sleep messaging. [Hawthorne, Victoria, Australia]: SIDS and Kids Australia, 1 p.

Annotation: This illustrated flyer describes the proper sleeping environment for babies in cribs. It is available in Arabian, Assyrian, Bosnian, Chinese, Khmer, Lao, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: SIDS and Kids Australia, 98 Morang Road. Suite 1, Hawthorne, Victoria, Australia 3122, Telephone: +61 3 9819 4595 Fax: +61 3 9818 4596 E-mail: yvonne@sidsandkids.org Web Site: http://www.sidsandkids.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant equipment, Infants, Injury prevention, Non English language materials, Sleep position, Spanish language materials

International Association of Dental Traumatology. n.d.. Save your tooth. San Diego, CA: International Association of Dental Traumatology,

Annotation: This poster for parents and other caregivers describes steps for saving a permanent tooth after a blow to the mouth. Topics include what to do if a tooth is broken or knocked out. The poster is available in Arabic, Bulgarian, Chinese, Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Italian, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Slovenian, Spanish, Tamil, Turkish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: International Association of Dental Traumatology, RES Seminars Inc., 4425 Cass Street, Suite A, San Diego, CA 92019, E-mail: IADT@iadt-dentaltrauma.org Web Site: https://www.iadt-dentaltrauma.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Injury prevention, Non English language materials, Oral health, Posters, Spanish language materials

Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin. n.d.. Dental sealant permission slip—template. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 5 pp.

Annotation: This dental sealant permission slip template, for use by school-based dental sealant programs, can be used to obtain consent from parents or guardians for students to receive dental sealants as well as other related preventive oral health services. The template can be customized with the program name and other information. Space to provide additional information that parents or guardians would like the program to know is included. The form is written in Arabic, Burmese, English, Hmong, and Spanish.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 620 South 76th Street, Suite 120, Milwaukee, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: http://www.chawisconsin.org/oral-health.php?pg=13

Keywords: Consent, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, School health services, Spanish language materials

American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health. 2019. How fluoride works [How community water fluoridation prevents tooth decay]. [Elk Grove Village, IL]: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 8 items.

Annotation: These resources provide information on ways that community water fluoridation helps to prevent tooth decay from early childhood through adulthood. Contents include a video, an infographic, and a poster. The video, which is undated, is called How Fluoride Works, and the other items are called How Community Water Fluoridation Prevents Tooth Decay and were updated in 2019. The infographic and poster are available in English and Spanish. The video is available in English, and separately in English with Haitian Creole, Portuguese, or Spanish subtitles.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: fluoride@aap.org Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Fluorides, Life course, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Oral health, Public health, Spanish language materials, Water

Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health. 2018. Oral health care during pregnancy: Practice guidance for Maryland's prenatal and dental providers. Baltimore, MD: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health,

Annotation: This document provides guidance on oral health care during pregnancy for prenatal health professionals and oral health professionals in Maryland. The document also discusses myths and facts about oral health during pregnancy and oral conditions that can affect pregnant women. A table listing dental pharmacological considerations for pregnant women, a referral form, tips for good oral health during infancy (available in English and Spanish), and an infographic are also included and are available in stand-alone format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Maryland, Non English language materials, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Resources for Professionals, State programs

American Academy of Pediatrics. 2018. Oral health toolkit. Itasca, NY: American Academy of Pediatrics,

Annotation: This toolkit provides oral health resources that health professionals can share with pregnant women and new moms. The print resources, which include the complete toolkit, brochures, posters, and infographics, are available in Arabic, Cambodian, English, French, Korean, Spanish, and Taiwanese. Videos are available in English and Spanish. The resources offer information about where to obtain oral health care by state and about how to care for gums and teeth during pregnancy and infancy.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Asian language materials. Non English language materials, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Infants, Medicaid, Oral health, Posters, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Videos

Smiles for Children. 2017. Smoking and pregnancy. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: of smoking during pregnancy. It lists health problems for both pregnant women and their infants that smoking during pregnancy are linked to. The brochure also discusses the link between smoking and gum disease and provides information about the benefits of quitting smoking either before or during pregnancy. In addition, the brochure explains the importance of receiving regular oral health care and how to find a dental home. The brochure is written in simple language, with English on one side and Spanish on the other.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: questions@vdh.virginia.gov Web Site: http://www.vdh.state.va.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Oral health, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Virginia Department of Health. 2017. Baby teeth care: Birth to 2 years of age. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This tip sheet for parents and other caregivers provides information about how to care for primary teeth in infants and young children from birth through age 2. The tip sheet, which is written in simple language, discusses why primary teeth are important, what causes decay in primary teeth, how to clean an infant’s or young child’s primary teeth, and when to wean an infant from a bottle. Other topics addressed are how to keep primary teeth healthy and what to avoid. The tip sheet is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: questions@vdh.virginia.gov Web Site: http://www.vdh.state.va.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Infants, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Weaning, Young children

Virginia Department of Health. 2017. Fluoride varnish: For children age six months and older. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brochure for parents and other caregivers provides information about fluoride varnish for children ages 6 months and older. The brochure discusses what fluoride varnish is and what it does, whether it is safe, how it is applied, and how long its effects last. A photograph showing fluoride being applied to an infant’s teeth is included. The brochure is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: questions@vdh.virginia.gov Web Site: http://www.vdh.state.va.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Non English language materials, Fluoride, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Prevention, Young children

Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Unit. 2017. Opioid prescribing guidelines for dentists. Portland, OR: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Unit, 1 p.

Annotation: This document for dentists provides guidelines on prescribing opioids. Appropriate dosages, types of medication to prescribe, prescribing refills, using guidelines for pain management, and ensuring that patients know how to secure medication and dispose of leftover medication are discussed. Alternatives to prescribing opioids are presented. Information is included on how to obtain the document in large print, Braille, non- English languages, or other formats.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: oral.health@state.or.us Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx

Keywords: Guidelines, Medications, Opiates, Pain, Non English language materials, Prescription drugs

Connecticut Department of Public Health. 2017. Dental sealants save teeth!. Hartford, CT: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document for parents provides information about how dental sealants can protect teeth from decay. Topics include what dental sealants are, which teeth should be sealed, how sealants are applied, whether decay can occur underneath sealants, how long sealants last, how sealants feel, and how Connecticut residents can get dental sealants. Other tips for preventing tooth decay are included. The document is available in Chinese, Creole, English, French, Italian, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: webmaster.dph@po.state.ct.us Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph Available from the website.

Keywords: , Connecticut, Consumer education materials, Dental decay, Dental hygiene, Dental sealants, Health promotion, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

San Francisco Department of Public Health, Dental Services. [2016]. Informed consent for silver diamine fluoride. San Francisco, CA: San Francisco Department of Public Health, Dental Services, 1 p.

Annotation: This form is designed to assist oral health professionals in obtaining patient consent for use of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) to arrest dental caries. Contents include facts about SDF, including potential risks, and alternatives to using SDF. A photo of how teeth may look after SDF treatment is included. The form is available in Chinese, English, and Spanish.

Contact: National Network for Oral Health Access, 181 East 56th Avenue, Suite 501, Denver, CO 80216, Telephone: (866) 316-4995 Fax: (866) 316-4995 E-mail: info@nnoha.org Web Site: http://www.nnoha.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Informed consent, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

MedlinePlus. 2016–. Child dental health. Bethesda, MD: U.S. National Library of Medicine, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources for parents and other caregivers address oral health during infancy, childhood, and adolescence. Topics include news, prevention, screening, diagnosis and symptoms, treatment, nutrition, and specific conditions and related issues. Multimedia tools (tutorials, videos, games); and other resources are presented. The content is available in Chinese (traditional), English, Hmong, Japanese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: MedlinePlus, U.S. National Library of Medicine, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, E-mail: custserv@nlm.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.medlineplus.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Health promotion, Infants, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Research, Statistical data

FDI World Dental Federation. 2016–. World Oral Health Day [campaign materials]. Geneva, Switzerland: FDI World Dental Federation, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources for World Oral Health Day, celebrated globally every year on March 20, focus on ways to maintain and protect oral health throughout life. The messages are intended for use by the general public and health professionals who play a key role in educating clients. Contents include an advocacy guide; a brochure on oral health do's and dont's, with sections devoted to oral health of women during pregnancy, children, and older adults; a game; posters; a toolkit for organizing events and social media campaigns; and a video. The materials are available in multiple languages.

Contact: FDI World Dental Federation, Tour de Cointrin, Avenue Louie Casai 51, Case P.O. Box 3, 1216 Cointrin-Geneve, Switzerland Telephone: (41) 22 560 81 50 Fax: (41) 22 560 81 40 E-mail: info@fdiworldental.org Contact E-mail: wohd@fdiworlddental.org Web Site: http://www.fdiworldental.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Decision making, Disease prevention, Families, Health behavior, Health promotion, International health, Life course, Multimedia, Networking, Non English language materials, Older adults, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors

MedlinePlus. 2016. Dental health. Bethesda, MD: U.S. National Library of Medicine, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources for the public provide information on oral health throughout the life course. Topics include X-rays, prevention and risk factors, treatments and therapies, and related issues. Contents include videos and tutorials, statistics and research, reference sources, and consumer education materials. The resources are available in Chinese (simplified and traditional), English, Hmong, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: MedlinePlus, U.S. National Library of Medicine, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, E-mail: custserv@nlm.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.medlineplus.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Life course, Men, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Older adults, Oral health, Research, Risk factors, Screening, Statistical data, Therapeutics, Women

Minnesota Oral Health Coalition. 2016. Fluoride varnish: A part of a healthy child. Plymouth, MN: Minnesota Oral Health Coalition, 1 video (2 min., 16 sec.).

Annotation: This video for parents and other caregivers describes fluoride varnish and how it is used to prevent tooth decay in infants and young children. Topics include what fluoride varnish is, how it works, and why it is important for infants’ and children’s health. Information about the safety and effectiveness of fluoride varnish and the importance of establishing an oral hygiene routine that includes regular oral health visits is included. The video is available in English, French, Hmong, Karen, Oromo, Russian, Somali, and Spanish.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Coalition, 4190 Vinewood Lane N, #111-416, Plymouth, MN 55442, Telephone: (763) 381-1701 E-mail: info@minnesotaoralhealthcoalition.org Web Site: http://www.minnesotaoralhealthcoalition.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Consumer education materials, Fluorides, Infants, Non English language materials, Oral health, Parents, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Young children

Nooney J, Behm J, Pierce C, Leath B, Williams S. 2016. National standards for culturally and linguistically appropriate services in health and health care: Compendium of state-sponsored national CLAS standards implementation activities. Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of Minority Health, 65 pp.

Annotation: This document presents a compilation of state agency efforts to implement the National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services in Health Care (National CLAS Standards). Contents include a brief introduction to the National CLAS Standards, the methods used to identify implementation activities, the findings, and recommendations for enhancing state/territory-sponsored implementation. Detailed findings for each state serve as a resource on existing models of implementation. The standards are available in Chinese (Mandarin), English, Korean, Spanish, Tagalog (Filipino), and Vietnamese.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: info@minorityhealth.hhs.gov Web Site: http://www.minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Culturally competent services, Language, Model programs, Non English language materials, Standards, State agencies, State initiatives

Massachusetts Act Early. 2016. Considering culture in autism screening. [no place]: Massachusetts Act Early, 8 pp.

Annotation: This document for primary care health professionals provides tips for promoting the identification of autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) and other developmental disabilities for children from immigrant families or from families whose primary language is not English. Contents include tips for culturally- and linguistically-competent autism screening; the Modified Checklist for Autism in Toddlers (M-CHAT) screening tool in English and in four translations (Chinese, Haitian Creole, Spanish, and Vietnamese); an assortment of materials from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Learn the Signs. Act Early campaign for use in practice; and resource and referral information.

Contact: Massachusetts Act Early, MA Web Site: www.maactearly.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Autism, Culturally competent services, Developmental disabilities, Developmental screening, Early identification, Immigrants, Infants, Massachusetts, Non English language materials, Public awareness campaign materials, Referrals, State initiatives, Young children

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.