Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (62 total).

New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services, Special Child, Adult, and Early Intervention Services. n.d.. Sickle cell disease: Information for school personnel (3rd ed.). Trenton, NJ: New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services, Special Child Health and Early Intervention Services, 29 pp.

Annotation: This guide is meant to serve as a resource for school nurses and other school personnel to alert them to the signs and symptoms of complications of the sickle cell diseases and to educate them about what to do if they encounter a child with such signs and symptoms. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) introduction, (2) what is sickle cell disease?, (3) warning signs, (4) what is sickle cell trait? (5) complications related to sickle cell disease, (6) medical management, (7) psychosocial issues, (8) the teacher, and (9) the social workers. The guide also includes the following appendices: (1) glossary, (2) bibliography, (3) New Jersey sickle cell/hemoglobinopathies treatment centers, and (4) New Jersey genetic centers for testing and family counseling.

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Genetic disorders, Genetic services, New Jersey, Patient care management, Psychosocial factors, School health services, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell trait, Social workers, Teachers

New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services, Special Child Health and Early Intervention Services. n.d.. Sickle cell disease: A family guide (3rd ed.). Trenton, NJ: New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services, Special Child Health and Early Intervention Services, 28 pp.

Annotation: This guide, intended primarily for parents of children with sickle cell disease, includes information on how to manage this disease. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) acknowledgements, (2) dedication, (3) how to use this guide, (4) introduction, (5) emergency telephone numbers, (6) warning signs, (7) common questions, (8) medical care, (9) new approaches to treatment, (10) daily living, (11) medical words, (12) sickle cell disease on the Internet, (13) sickle cell treatment centers, (14) directory of sickle cell treatment centers in New Jersey, and (15) directory of genetic counseling centers in New Jersey.

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Internet, Medical terminology, New Jersey, Patient care management, Patient education materials, Sickle cell disease, Therapeutics

Rutgers Occupational Training and Education Consortium. n.d.. Trauma training: Child development, trauma and the brain—The DYFS mental health screening program. Buhl, ID: National Family Preservation Network,

Annotation: This website links to a training guide and participant workbook that provide activities that focus on trauma as a way of understanding how children and adolescents in the child welfare system are especially vulnerable to mental health challenges. The training materials were developed to help providers think about the physical effects of trauma on children, adolescents and young adults; understand the biological underpinnings of their challenges; and identify children with a suspected mental health need. Included are activities to help providers administer the New Jersey Mental Health Screening Tool (MHST) to assist with identifying children who may have mental health need and require further assessment.

Contact: National Family Preservation Network, 3971 North 1400 East, Buhl, Idaho 83316, Telephone: (888) 498-9047 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nfpn.org/ Available from the website.

Program Web Site

Keywords: Child welfare, Children', Interventions, New Jersey, Screening, State programs, Training, Trauma, s mental health

National Governors Association . 2021. Promising practices to reduce maternal mortality in New Jersey . , 7 pp.

Annotation: This paper describes Nurture NJ-- a statewide initiative to help make New Jersey the safest and most equitable place in the nation to give birth and raise a baby. It describes the initiative's strategic plan and the evidence-based maternal mortality reduction programs that Nurture NJ supports. Practices endorsed and described include group prenatal care, improved access to birth attendants (doulas), the development of a statewide maternal care quality collaborative, improvement in data collection, and enhanced community engagement.

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Maternal mortality, Model programs, New Jersey , Prevention, State initiatives

Simons D, Hendricks T, Lipper J, Pires SA. 2014. Intensive care coordination using high-quality wraparound for children with serious behavioral health needs: State and community profiles. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 61 pp.

Annotation: This document profiles the various ways that U.S. states and communities are structuring, implementing, and evaluating intensive care coordination (ICC) using the wraparound approach for children and youth with significant mental health conditions. The document defines wraparound as a structured approach to service planning and care coordination for individuals with complex needs that is built on a system of care and adheres to specified procedures. Contents include the evidence base for wraparound and information on established, evolving, and emerging ICC/wraparound programs.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Colorado, Community programs, Coordination planning, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mental health, Michigan, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma, Patient care, Pennsylvania, Program coordination, Rhode Island, Service coordination, State programs, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Youth

Currie J, Zivin JSG, Meckel K, Neidell MJ, Schlenker W. 2013. Something in the water: Contaminated drinking water and infant health. Cambridge, Ma: National Bureau of Economic Research, 30 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 18876)

Annotation: This paper provides estimates of the effects of in utero exposure to contaminated drinking water on fetal health. The study examined birth records and drinking water testing results for the state of New Jersey from 1997 to 2007 to compare outcomes across siblings who were potentially exposed to differing levels of harmful contaminants from drinking water while in utero. Topics include an overview of research on air and water pollution on fetal development; study methodology and its difficulties; a discussion of maternal characteristics of mobility and education during the study; exposure to water contamination and its effects on low birth weight, prematurity, and other birth outcomes; and conclusions on further research.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Fetal development, Infant health, New Jersey, State surveys, Water pollution

Pires SA, Stroul BA, and Hendricks T, ed. 2013. Making Medicaid work for children in child welfare: Examples from the field. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 63 pp.

Annotation: This document discusses Medicaid strategies that emerged from a project conducted by the Center for Health Care Strategies to explore strategies used in selected states to improve Medicaid for children in child welfare. The document also presents case studies highlighting the experiences of Arizona, Massachusetts, Michigan, and New Jersey and concludes with a discussion of cross-state observations and lessons learned.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Arizona, Child health, Child welfare, High risk children, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Michigan, New Jersey, State programs

Zero to Three. 2013. State policy action team meeting: Moving an infant-toddler policy agenda. Washington, DC: Zero to Three, 24 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the proceedings from a May 2013 meeting of teams from five states to discuss strategies for developing and moving forward on an infant-toddler policy agenda. Participants explored innovative state models and strategies for developing and moving an infant policy agenda; assist other states in their efforts to establish an infant-toddler policy agenda; and promote relationships and continued collaborative work among participants. Topics explored during the meeting included policy development, outreach to families, professional development systems integration, coordinated screening and referral systems, effective communication, data systems, and quality improvement,

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Family support services, Illinois, Infant health, Infants, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Model programs, New Jersey, Outreach, Pennsylvania, Policy development, Quality assurance, Screening, Service integration, State initiatives, Young children

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2013. State newborn screening and birth defects program roles in screening for critical congenital heart defects (CCHD). Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 11 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief provides recommendations for planning, developing, implementing, and evaluating comprehensive critical congenital heart disease (CCHD) programs. The brief highlights efforts in Indiana, Michigan, New Jersey, and Utah to establish collaboration between programs, particularly newborn screening and birth defects programs, to effectively implement CCHD screening and follow-up. Topics include key elements of the state approaches, data considerations, and program challenges and successes. The role of the Title V MCH Services Block Grant is discussed.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Congenital abnormalities, Congenital heart defects, Indiana, Michigan, Neonatal screening, New Jersey, State programs, Title V programs, Utah

Courtot B, Coughlin TA, Lawton E. 2013. Medicaid and CHIP managed care payment methods and spending in 20 states: Final report to the Office of Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 51 pp.

Annotation: This report, which is a companion to the Medicaid and CHIP Risk-Based Managed Care in 20 States report, focuses on 20 states' Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) managed care payment methods and spending. The states are Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The report addresses two research questions: (1) how do the 20 states establish capitation rates in their Medicaid and CHIP managed care programs, and how have their approaches to and policies for rate setting changed over the past decade and (2) how does monthly Medicaid spending for four distinct managed care enrollee populations (adults and children, with and without disabilities) vary among the 20 states? The report introduces the issues and presents the study approach, methods, findings, and a discussion.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adults, Arizona, California, Children, Children', Connecticut, Costs, Delaware, Disabilities, Florida, Managed care, Maryland, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, State programs, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Wisconsin, s Health Insurance Program

New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services, Children's Oral Health Program. 2011. Save our Smiles fluoride mouth rinse program for New Jersey schools: Program manual. [Trenton, NJ]: New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services, Children's Oral Health Program, 31 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides instructions for implementing a school-based fluoride mouth rinse program for students in first through sixth grades in New Jersey schools. The manual contains information on program administration and procedures, including coordinator responsibilities and record keeping. Background information, parent permission slips in English and Spanish, a training documentation form, and other resources are included.

Contact: New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services, P.O. Box 360, Trenton, NJ 08625-0360, Telephone: (609) 292-7837 Secondary Telephone: (800) 367-6543 Web Site: http://www.state.nj.us/health Available from the website.

Keywords: Elementary schools, Fluorides, New Jersey, Oral health, Prevention programs, School age children, School health services, State initiatives

Rutgers Center for State Health Policy. 2011. New Jersey children without dental services in 2001 and 2009. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers Center for State Health Policy, 4 pp. (2009 New Jersey family health survey: Facts and findings)

Annotation: This brief uses data from the 2001 and 2009 New Jersey Family Health Surveys to describe the characteristics of children and adolescents ages 3 to 18 who received no oral health services within a year. Graphs present data on race and ethnicity, health insurance status, federal poverty status, and nativity. A chart provides relative odds of receiving no oral health care in 2009.

Contact: Rutgers Center for State Health Policy, 112 Paterson Street, Fifth Floor, New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1913, Telephone: (848) 932-3105 Fax: (732) 932-0069 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cshp.rutgers.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Health care utilization, New Jersey, Oral health, State surveys, Statistical data

Neese-Todd S, Stanley B, Marino L. 2010. A guide to improving children's oral health care: Tools for the Head Start community. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 40 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help Head Start program staff work with New Jersey Family Care/Medicaid, health maintenance organizations, and community oral health professionals to ensure continuous and comprehensive oral health care for children from families with low incomes. Contents include an overview of oral health in children, establishing dental homes for children, strategies for engaging families in care, and classroom activities.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Family centered services, Head Start, Low income groups, Managed care, Medicaid, New Jersey, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, State initiatives, Young children

Center for Health Care Strategies. 2010. A "high-touch" approach to improving oral health for Newark children. [Hamilton, NJ]: Center for Health Care Strategies, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief describes New Jersey’s Medicaid managed care program, NJ FamilyCare/Medicaid, which provides children from families with low incomes with oral health care as a covered benefit. Topics include program efforts to increase the number of preschool-age children who complete an annual dental visit in six cities (Atlantic City, Camden, Lakewood, New Brunswick, Newark, and Paterson) and to create a dental home for children enrolled in Head Start in Newark. Information on the program's successes and future challenges is also included.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Financing, Head Start, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid managed care, New Jersey, Oral health, Program descriptions, State programs, Young children

National Governors Association, Center for Best Practices. 2010. Children and mental health webcast. [Washington, DC]: National Governors Association, Center for Best Practices,

Annotation: This archived webcast from January 27, 2010 offers a broad perspective on the landscape and issues relating to children and mental health. It also provides examples of states' efforts to innovate and reform the children's mental health delivery system. The vision of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is presented along with experiences from New Mexico, New Hampshire, and New Jersey. Presentations from four panelists are made available on the website. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Governors Association, Center for Best Practices, Hall of the States, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org/cms/center Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Child mental health, Children, Health care reform, Mental health services, Multimedia, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, State initiatives

Walker KE, Daly RM, McMaken J, Pouncy H, with Billings J. 2010. Early outcomes for programs and families in Children's Futures. Philadelphia, PA: Public/Private Ventures, 71 pp.

Annotation: This report, which is the third of several about Children's Futures (a multi-year community-change initiative based in Trenton, New Jersey), examines programmatic achievement and outcomes for Trenton's families at the end of the initiative's first 5 years and addresses issues related to cost, partnership, and development of future sustainability. In particular, the report addresses three types of programs—home visiting, training to improve preventive medical care, and child care quality-improvement efforts.

Contact: Public/Private Ventures, 2000 Market Street, Suite 600, Philadelphia, PA 19103, Telephone: (215) 557-4400 Secondary Telephone: (215) 557-4411 Fax: (215) 557-4469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ppv.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infants, Child care, Child health, Children, Community programs, Costs, Evaluation, Families, Health care, Home visiting, Initiatives, Low income groups, New Jersey, Prevention, Programs

Action for Healthy Kids. 2009. Lessons for engaging diverse communities to create healthy schools and kids. [Skokie, IL]: Action for Healthy Kids, 11 pp. (Field report)

Annotation: This report investigates how Action for Healthy Kids teams are working to help diverse communities communicate with one another and appreciate cultural differences for the ultimate purpose of helping schools help students in the areas of nutrition and physical fitness. The report profiles the progress of Action for Healthy Kids teams in Utah, New York and New Jersey, South Carolina, and Idaho.

Contact: Action for Healthy Kids, 600 W. Van Buren Street, Suite 720, Chicago, IL 60607-3758, Telephone: (800) 416-5136 Fax: (312) 212-0098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.actionforhealthykids.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Blacks, Child health, Community programs, Cultural sensitivity, Families, Hispanic Americans, Idaho:, Low income groups, New Jersey, New York, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Poverty, Prevention, Rural population, Schools, South Carolina, Utah

Walker KE, Feldman A, Campbell M. 2009. Collaboration and community change in the Children's Futures Initiative. Philadelphia, PA: Public/Private Ventures, 43 pp.

Annotation: This report, which is a companion to Early Outcomes in a Community Change Effort to Improve Children's Futures, examines the promise of Children's Future (CF's) strategies. CF is a program of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation that strives to improve the health and well-being of infants and children from birth though age 3 throughout Trenton, New Jersey. The report provides information about the program, discusses the community of Trenton, and discusses the program's three main components: prenatal and parenting education, child-care quality-improvement efforts, and father involvement. The report also discusses CF as a community initiative.

Contact: Public/Private Ventures, 2000 Market Street, Suite 600, Philadelphia, PA 19103, Telephone: (215) 557-4400 Secondary Telephone: (215) 557-4411 Fax: (215) 557-4469 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ppv.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Communities, Early childhood development, Education, Fathers, Infant development, Infant health, Initiatives, Local programs, New Jersey, Parenting skills, Young children

New Jersey Oral Health Coalition, Pediatric Oral Health Committee. 2009. Pediatric oral health action plan for New Jersey's children ages 0-6. [Hamilton, NJ]: Center for Health Care Strategies, 8 pp.

Annotation: This document describes an action plan for improving the oral health of New Jersey’s infants and young children (from birth through age 6) with emphasis on those who are minorities or from families with low incomes. Topics include a review of the status of oral health in infants and young children and a summary of the pediatric oral health forum, held in May 2007, and its goals and recommendations. Action plan contents include addressing challenges and recommendations in (1) access to care, (2) education, (3) preventive services, (4) state leadership and advocacy, and (5) administrative structures to monitor the quality of services.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: New Jersey, Oral health, State programs, Strategic plans, Young children

Center for Health Care Strategies. [2008]. New Jersey Smiles: A Medicaid quality collaborative to improve oral health in kids. [Hamilton, NJ]: Center for Health Care Strategies, 2 pp.

Annotation: This chart outlines different proposed frameworks in New Jersey to increase the number of infants and children from birth through age 5 who have received an annual dental visit. The chart outlines identification, outreach, and intervention steps to take and how outcomes will be measured.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Infants, Local initiatives, New Jersey, Oral health, Young children