Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program's school dental sealant programs. Topics include the total number of students in the programs who received an oral health screening, who received sealants, who received fluoride varnish. who had untreated tooth decay, and who had urgent oral health needs. The number of potential school days saved is also presented, along with an explanation of how this number was calculated.

Contact: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 29 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301-3852, Telephone: (603) 271-4535 Secondary Telephone: (800) 852-3345, ext. 4535 Fax: (603) 271-4506 E-mail: http://business.nh.gov/EmailContact/EmailContact.aspx?a=cdpc&b=Chronic%20Disease%20Prevention%20and%20Control Web Site: https://www.dhhs.nh.gov/programs-services/disease-prevention/oral-health-program

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health screenings, New Hampshire, Oral health, State information, State information, State programs

Annotation: This data summary provides information about women who gave birth in 2018 in New Hampshire. The data is from the New Hampshire Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The summary offers statistical information about women’s receipt of oral health care, their oral health knowledge, and their dental insurance status. Oral health indicators by dental insurance status and by medical insurance status are also presented. An accompanying brochure is available.

Contact: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health Services, 29 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301-6527, Telephone: (800) 852-3345, ext. 4501 Secondary Telephone: (603) 271-4501 Fax: 603-271-4827 Web Site: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/index.htm

• PDF
• Brochure

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, New Hampshire, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This report presents the results of a survey to identify community-based oral health programs that take place outside traditional dental offices in New Hampshire. It discusses models, including child-focused programs; voucher programs; and programs in dental operatories, medical offices, senior centers, and institutional facilities. The report also provides cross-model comparisons and discusses networks for follow-up care and referral, alignment of reimbursement and services, opportunities for increasing integration between oral health care and overall health care, and lessons learned.

Contact: New Hampshire Oral Health Coalition, 4 Park Street, Concord, NH 03301, Telephone: (603) 415-5550 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nhoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, Health care delivery, New Hampshire, Oral health, Service integration, Surveys

Annotation: This brief describes a pilot project to integrate preventive oral health care for women with low incomes and children from families with low incomes through local sites of the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) in New Hampshire. The brief also explores alternative channels for bringing oral health care and education to populations with low incomes. Topics include administrative procedures, technology, capacity, funding, lessons learned, and next steps.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Consumer education, Dental care, Health education, Infants, Low income groups, New Hampshire, Oral health, Pilot projects, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program development, Service integration, State initiatives, WIC Program, Women

Annotation: This assessment tool consists of a series of questions to ask that relate to the accessibility and friendliness of clinics that receive adolescents and youth. Included are questions related to routine visits, the physical environment, patient/provider communication, and patient empowerment. The tool is desrubed as an assessment "tour," with space for comments and recommendations after each Y/N question. [Adapted from the Vermont Child Health Improvement the physical environment, Program’s Adolescent and Youth Friendly Service Tour Clinic Environmental Assessment Tool]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Assessment, Clinics, Health facilities, New Hampshire , Prevention, Quality assurance, Youth

Annotation: This document provides a framework for achieving optimal oral health and is intended to be a roadmap for everyone who has a stake in New Hampshire's oral health. Contents include information about the plan's purpose, the plan's relationship to other guiding documents, evaluation of the 2003 plan, oral health challenges in New Hampshire, the development process, priority areas, implementation, and a sustainability plan. Topics include access to oral health care, oral disease, injury prevention, intervention, and integration of oral health care into primary care.

Contact: New Hampshire Oral Health Coalition, 4 Park Street, Concord, NH 03301, Telephone: (603) 415-5550 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nhoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community action, Disease prevention, Healthy People 2020, Intervention, New Hampshire, Oral health, Service integration, Statewide planning

Annotation: This series of reports describe federal funding for chronic disease prevention programs in six states (Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, New Hampshire, South Carolina, and Washington) and the potential impact on the individuals served by these programs if federal funds are reduced or eliminated. The report addresses programs and impacts in the following areas: breast, cervical, and colon cancer; diabetes; domestic violence and sexual assault; heart disease and stroke; oral health; and tobacco.

Contact: Coalition of National Health Education Organizations, Normal, IL 61790-5220, Telephone: (309) 438-2324 Fax: (309) 438-2450 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cnheo.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accountability, Alaska, Block grants, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Colorado, Idaho, New Hampshire, Program budgeting, Public health services, South Carolina, State programs, Washington

Annotation: This final report describes the activites of the program Get in Shape, which provided direct services with an intensive structured program to overweight and obese children and their parents at Weeks Medical Center in northern rural New Hampshire. The project period was March 1, 2007 through February 29, 2012. The report includes goals and objectives, program activities and evaluation methods, accomplishments and barriers, and future plans and sustainability. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Child nutrition, Local programs, New Hampshire, Obesity, Physical activity, State programs

Annotation: This report, which covers calendar years 2009 and 2010, describes the work of the New Hampshire Child Fatality Review Committee, which reviews fatalities of New Hampshire children. The report includes a statement of accountability and discusses activities related to the child fatality review committee, a review and analysis of data, and responses to recommendations from child fatality committee case reviews conducted in 2009 and 2010.

Contact: New Hampshire Department of Justice, Child Fatality Review Committee, 33 Capitol Street, Concord, NH 03301, Telephone: (603) 271-3658 Web Site: http://www.doj.nh.gov/criminal/victim-assistance/child-fatality-review-committee.htm Available from the website.

• 2011 Report
• Archive From 1998

Keywords: Bereavement, Child death, Child death review, New Hampshire, Public policy, SIDS, Statistical data, Training

Annotation: This archived webcast from January 27, 2010 offers a broad perspective on the landscape and issues relating to children and mental health. It also provides examples of states' efforts to innovate and reform the children's mental health delivery system. The vision of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is presented along with experiences from New Mexico, New Hampshire, and New Jersey. Presentations from four panelists are made available on the website. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Governors Association, Center for Best Practices, Hall of the States, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Fax: (202) 624-5313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org/cms/center Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child mental health, Children, Health care reform, Mental health services, Multimedia, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, State initiatives

Annotation: This needs assessment provides a data analysis and capacity assessment of home visiting services in the state of New Hampshire. It includes an overview of current home visiting programs, indicating where there are disparities and gaps and identifying populations in need of additional services. The data analysis is based on the Social Determinants in Health construct, where indicators used to assess risk included the following: premature births, low birth weight, infant mortality, poverty, crime, domestic violence, child maltreatment, school dropout rates, substance abuse, and employment, to determine communities at higher risk. The report concludes with a narrative summary of the needs assessment results, including how the state will address unmet needs.

Contact: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Maternal and Child Health, 29 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301, Telephone: (603) 271-4517 Secondary Telephone: (800) 852-3345, x4517 Fax: (603) 271-4519 Web Site: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/bchs/mch/index.htm Available from the website.

Keywords: Home visiting, Needs assessment, New Hampshire, Reports, State MCH programs

Annotation: This policy brief analyzes the effectiveness of the New Hampshire Healthy Kids program, the state's State Children's Health Insurance Program. The brief includes an introduction, discusses indicators of success in providing insurance converage for children in New Hampshire, and reviews the role of a nonprofit corporation (also called New Hampshire Healthy Kids) established in 1993 in the program's success. References are included.

Contact: Carsey Institute, University of New Hampshire, 73 Main Street, Huddleston Hall G05B, Durham, NH 03824, Telephone: (603) 862-2821 Fax: (603) 862-3878 Web Site: http://www.carseyinstitute.unh.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Low income groups, New Hampshire, State Children', State programs, Uninsured persons, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This brief, which is intended to inform policy discussion on the challenges facing families with low incomes in New Hampshire, identifies individual and structural characteristics that heighten families' risk of low income. The brief profiles families with low incomes in the state, documents recent trends in the economic status of families with low incomes in the state, and identifies characteristics of families that experience particular obstacles to economic stability. The report concludes with a discussion of policies that impact these families. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Carsey Institute, University of New Hampshire, 73 Main Street, Huddleston Hall G05B, Durham, NH 03824, Telephone: (603) 862-2821 Fax: (603) 862-3878 Web Site: http://www.carseyinstitute.unh.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Low income groups, New Hampshire, Risk factors, Trends

Annotation: This report outlines an oral health plan to better address the oral health needs of children enrolled in Head Start (HS). The report consists primarily of a chart that presents activities, anticipated outputs, and other information for goals and objectives in the following areas: improving the oral health status of children and their families enrolled in HS in New Hampshire, increasing provider participation in medical and dental disciplines, utilizing HS's program strengths to expand the reach of oral health education, and building coalitions among HS partner agencies to create a unified oral health message. A monitoring and evaluation plan is presented in a second chart.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Conferences, Early childhood caries, Families, Head Start, New Hampshire, Oral health, Parents, Prevention programs, State initiatives, Statewide planning

Annotation: This final report discusses New Hampshire's Task Force on Abstinence Education, which was convened in 2003 for the purpose of examining the Abstinence Education Program of the Social Security Act in New Hampshire. The report, which includes an executive summary, also provides subgroup findings for the measurement, education programs, target audience, marketing, program location, and issues addressed by DHHS subgroups of the task force. Recommendations are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes two appendices: federal and state criteria for abstinence only programs and a text of a proposed marketing letter.

Contact: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Maternal and Child Health, 29 Hazen Drive, Concord, NH 03301, Telephone: (603) 271-4517 Secondary Telephone: (800) 852-3345, x4517 Fax: (603) 271-4519 Web Site: http://www.dhhs.nh.gov/dphs/bchs/mch/index.htm Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Abstinence, Federal programs, New Hampshire, Sexuality education, State programs, Task forces

Annotation: This final report describes the Rural Medical Home Expansion project,a statewide expansion endeavor in New Hampshire and Vermont, during the period April 1, 2001, through March 29, 2004. The purpose of the project was to support statewide development of community-based medical homes for children with special health care needs by (1) surveying and informing pediatric practices in New Hampshire and Vermont about the medical home concept, (2) providing them with access to a continuous improvement process involving partnerships with parents, linkages to community resources, and potentially new Medicaid reimbursement, and (3) creating an environmednt under which eight teams could implement improvement strategies and integrate efforts with state Title V programs, future statewide planning, and payer reimbursement criteria. Report sections include (1) purpose of project and relationship to SSA Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs, (2) goals and objectives, (3) methodology, (4) evaluation, (5) results and outcomes, (6) publications and products, (7) dissemination of results, (8) future plans and follow-up, and (9) type and amount of support needed to replicate. Sixteen appendices include a variety of supplemental materials. A computer diskette is included. Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hood Center for Children and Families, Dartmouth Medical School, One Medical Center Drive, HB 7465, Lebanon, NH 03756, Telephone: (603) 653-0777 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://hoodcenter.dartmouth.edu

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Community programs, Final reports, Medicaid, Medical home, New Hampshire, Parents, Pediatricians, Reimbursement, Rural populations, Vermont

Annotation: This final report describes a project to build the capacity of willing medical homes in rural areas of New Hampshire, Vermont, and Maine using a practice-based, family-centered quality improvement process. Report contents include a description of the purpose of the project, the goals and objectives, the methodology, evaluation of the project, results and outcomes, a list of publications and products produced under the project, a summary of results dissemination and utilization, an outline of future plans and follow-up, and the type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the program. The project annotation, keywords, and abstract are also included. Appendices include the program toolkit, reports, samples, publications, and materials from the expert panel and learning collaborative. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Hood Center for Children and Families, Dartmouth Medical School, One Medical Center Drive, HB 7465, Lebanon, NH 03756, Telephone: (603) 653-0777 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://hoodcenter.dartmouth.edu

Keywords: Family centered services, Final reports, Health services delivery, Maine, Medical homes, New Hampshire, Provider participation, Rural health, Vermont

Annotation: This final report describes a partnership with major private insurers in New Hampshire in two initiatives. The first is a collaboration to identify children with medical, developmental, and emotional chronic conditions and assess their quality of care; and develop improvement initiatives for all children in the plan as well as those with more complex unmet needs. The second initiative is the development and implementation of a new collaborative approach of the subject managed care plans to provide care coordination services in a structured team model implemented in the primary care setting with the goal of helping families to develop practical, creative solutions to the families' medical and psychosocial needs. Report sections include goals and objectives; project methodology, evaluation, and results/outcomes (positive and negative); a list of publications/products; dissemination/utilization of results, a discussion of future plans and follow-up; and support and resources needed to replicate the project. Appendices include assessment questionnaires, the feedback/feedforward process tool, a training manual for care coordinators at participating pediatric practices, and a child health satisfaction survey. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children with special health care needs, Final reports, MCH research, Managed care, Medical home, Needs assessment, New Hampshire, Questionnaires, Surveys

Annotation: This resource describes a project to educate physicians and dental hygienists about dental caries in infants and children from birth through age 3. Materials include age-specific forms and handouts, such as questionnaires, assessment and recommendation forms, and protocols.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early childhood caries, Educational materials, Infants, Medical personnel, New Hampshire, Oral health, Professional education, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes the deliberations of the work groups participating in the New England Regional Oral Health Access Conference held on September 9-10,1999, in Portsmouth, New Hampshire. Key representatives from the public, private, not-for-profit, academic, and elected sectors were chosen by state oral health program staff and Medicaid agency staff to participate. The conference goal was to develop state-specific action plans to promote children's access to oral health services at the state and local levels in the six New England states, Public Health Service Region I: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Children, Conference proceedings, Connecticut, Families, Maine, Massachusetts, Medicaid, New Hampshire, Oral health, Parents, Pregnant women, Rhode Island, Vermont