Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report to Congress describes 1) available federal data and what it reveals about maternal and neonatal outcomes and disparities during the COVID-19 pandemic, and 2) efforts by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) during the pandemic to address maternal health outcomes and disparities. The data is from CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics’ (NCHS) National Vital Statistics System and its Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System, a state-level surveillance system of survey-based data on maternal behaviors, attitudes, and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Ethnic factors, Federal initiatives , Infectious diseases, Low birthweight, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Neonatal morbidity, Prenancy complications, Preterm birth, Racial factors, Statistics, Virus diseases

Annotation: This resource is designed to assist states and communities in developing a coordinated response to the immediate and long term needs of infants and children affected by Zika virus (ZIKV), and their families. Contents include an overview of ZIKV, infection, and outcomes; systems of care as a public health approach for comprehensive care for infants and children exposed to ZIKV; and an overview of federal and state programs serving children affected by ZIKV. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Child health, Community coordination, Comprehensive health care, Emergency medical services for children, Federal programs, Health care systems, Infant health, Infection control, Neonatal screening, Policy development, Population surveillance, Program coordination, Program planning, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Service coordination, Service integration, Special health care needs, State programs, Systems development, Virus diseases, Work force

Annotation: This book is written for expecting or new parents of premature babies. It is divided into the following sections: before birth, in the hospital, a life together, and other considerations. Before birth outlines some known causes of premature labor and birth and how to prevent them. Topics discussed in the second part include the premature delivery, the neonatal intensive care unit at the hospital, testing and possible complications that occur in the first week, settling down in the hospital, and if baby needs surgery. Part three covers decisions and preparations for taking baby home, what to expect and watch for during early development and possible consequences of prematurity. Part four talks about losing a premature baby and ways of coping with grief and what special arrangements should be expected. Also discussed are examples of famous premature babies that thrived. The appendices include conversion charts, growth charts, a schedule for multiples, cardiopulmonary resuscitation - birth to one year, and resources. A glossary and an index conclude the text.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-671-03491-X.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant death, Infant development, Infant health, Low birthweight, Neonatal intensive care units, Neonatal screening, Parent education, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Premature infant diseases, Premature infants, Premature labor, Preterm birth

Annotation: This brief summarizes effective and efficient interventions provided by state maternal and child health (MCH) programs to improve the lives of mothers, children, and families, and that merit increased national investment. Topics include the Title V MCH Block Grant program; improving birth outcomes and maternal health; breastfeeding promotion; smoking cessation for pregnant women and mothers; newborn screening; ensuring childhood immunizations; Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) for all children; early childhood programs; children's access to a medical home; preventing childhood injury; promoting adolescent health; adolescent pregnancy prevention and family planning services; and screening and treatment of sexually transmitted infections.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Breastfeeding promotion, Child health, Cost effectiveness, EPSDT, Families, Immunization, Injury prevention, Maternal health, Medical home, Neonatal screening, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Preventive health services, Sexually transmitted diseases, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This guide describes the metabolic and genetic newborn screening program in Tennessee. Topics covered include (1) Tennessee law; (2) excerpts taken from rules and regulations; (3) hospital responsibility; (4) state laboratory and maternal and child newborn screening follow-up section responsibilities; (5) weekend and holiday calls; (6) primary care provider responsibilities and follow-up; (7) list of endocrinologists, genetic, and sickle cell centers; and (8) metabolic and genetic disorders.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section , Fifth Floor, Cordell Hull Building, 425 Fifth Avenue, North, Nashville, TN 37247, Telephone: (615) 741-7353 Fax: (615) 741-1063 E-mail: Theodora. [email protected] Web Site: http://www.state.tn.us/health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Hospitals, Legislation, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening, Primary care, Screening tests, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This final report describes a project to develop an optimal model of care for children with metabolic disorders, incorporating newborn screening in conjunction with follow-up in a community-based medical home that is linked to a metabolic center and community services. Report sections include the project identification; an abstract including the purpose of the program, goals and objectives, methodology, methods of enrollment, and data analysis; evaluation; results and outcomes; discussion; a list of publications and products generated by the project; future plans and follow-up; and type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the project. Appendices include examples of screening and treatment protocols, representative published articles, and surveys and questionnaires. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Final reports, MCH research, Medical home, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Program development

Annotation: This report describes the Georgia Newborn Screening Program, a program requiring that every live born infant have a blood test for nine metabolic disorders (phenylketonuria, congenital hypothyroidism, maple syrup urine disease, galactosemia, tyrosinemia, homocystinuria, congenital adrenal hyperplasia, biotinidase deficiency, medium-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase deficiency) and for sickle cell disorders. The report provides an overview of the program; discusses its screening, testing and reporting, and diagnostic activities; and describes its follow-up programs. Education resources are also included.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Undated Edition
• 2004 Edition

Keywords: Biotinidase deficiency, Blood tests, Congenital adrenal hyperplasia, Congenital hypothyroidism, Diagnosis, Galactosemia, Georgia, Homocystinuria, Maple syrup urine disease, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Phenylketonuria, Resource materials, Sickle cell disease, State programs, Tyrosinemia

Annotation: This manual provides information about the diagnosis of sickle cell disease, an overview of comprehensive care, and clinical paths and protocols for the management of some of the more common acute and chronic complications. The manual includes the following main sections: (1) principles of care for children and adolescents with sickle cell disease, (2) diagnostic testing for the common sickle cell syndromes, (3) newborn screening follow-up guidelines, (4) sickle cell disease -- comprehensive care, (5) acute illness in sickle cell disease: illness requiring urgent medical care, (6) transfusion therapy for acute complications, (7) clinical care paths, (8) general anesthesia and surgery, (9) chronic transfusion protocol, (10) hydroxyurea protocol, (11) hematopoietic stem cell transplantation, (12) transcranial doppler ultrasonography, and (13) references. Two appendices include a list of sickle cell disease care consortium members and a list of other contributors. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Sickle Cell Information Center, Grady Memorial Hospital, P. O. Box 109, 80 Jessie Hill Jr. Drive, S. E., Atlanta, GA 30303, Telephone: (404) 616-3572 Fax: (404) 616-5998 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.scinfo.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Acute diseases, Adolescents, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Comprehensive health care, Diagnosis, Disease management, Guidelines, Management, Neonatal screening, Protocols, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell screening

Annotation: This publication provides an overview of the federal Maternal and Child Health (MCH) program's evolution in consultation, technical assistance, policy development and dissemination, and data collection and analysis, from the establishment of the Children's Bureau in 1912 to the present. The publication uses four selected areas—newborn screening, mental retardation, heart disease, and school health/health of school age children—to illustrate how the MCH program development principles have incorporated scientific and technological advances into promoting the health of the nation's children and families. The publication discusses the problems that the MCH program will face in the future, including unresolved problems from the 20th century and new problems. References are included in the document. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Child health, Children, Children', Families, Fathers, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Heart diseases, History, Infants, MCH programs, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Mental retardation, Neonatal screening, Parents, Pregnant women, Program development, School age children, School health, Social Security Act, Title V, Title V programs, s Bureau

Annotation: This report provides information from the NIH Consensus Development Conference on Phenylketonuria (PKU) Screening and Management, including the consensus statement developed by the participants, abstracts of presentations made at the conference, and the report of the consensus development panel. Appendices provide additional information about PKU. [Sponsored in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.]

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, Information Resource Center, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (866) 760-5947 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov

Keywords: Conferences, Genetic screening, Hereditary diseases, Interdisciplinary training, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Research, Therapeutics

Annotation: These proceedings of a March 31–April 1, 1995, conference held in Washington, D.C., address the problems encountered by newborn screening programs when specimens must be taken early in an infant's life because of early hospital discharge policies due to the demands of managed care. Papers discuss the current situation in newborn screening, concerns with specific diseases, and potential strategies. Diseases discussed are PKU, sickle cell disease, homocystinuria, maple syrup urine disease, congenital hypothyroidism, congenital adrenal hyperplasia, and galactosemia. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Length of stay, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening, Patient discharge

Annotation: These proceedings of a symposium held by the Association for Children and Adults with learning Disabilities (ACLD) addressed the question: Is a risk index for learning disabilities in the cradle a valid concept? The symposium reviewed recent research indicating potential for predicting later learning disabilities through new assessment techniques performed with newborns. Topics included: 1) assessment of reproductive and caring variables; 2) minor physical anomalies; 3) electrical activity mapping; 4) auditory evoked responses from newborns; 5) prenatal exposure to teratogenic agents; 6) prenatal and neonatal exposure to lead; 7) acoustic cry analysis; 8) use of a risk index in infancy; 8) neurobehavioral assessment in newborns; and 9) metabolic correlates.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Drug induced congenital disorders, Lead poisoning, Learning disabilities, Neonatal screening, Nervous system diseases, Prenatal screening, Risk assessment, Teratogens

Annotation: This volume contains the program and abstracts of papers given at the National Neonatal Screening Symposiums. These symposiums bring together practitioners, laboratory specialists, program managers, and medical consultants with an interest in this field. Some of the major topics covered by the symposiums include legal issues related to newborn screening, technical advances and automation, hemoglobinopathy screening practices, metabolic screening, endocrine screening disorders, access to care, and molecular biology and newborn screening. The volume also contains summaries of poster presentations made during the symposiums.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Public Health Laboratory Directors, 1211 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 608, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 822-5227 Price unknown.

Keywords: Access to care, Conference proceedings, Endocrine diseases, Hemoglobinopathies, Neonatal screening

Annotation: This book contains a collection of articles about quality assurance in newborn screening programs. The articles aim to answer three main questions: What types of errors are occurring in newborn screening programs that could give rise to lawsuits? What quality control mechanisms would help assure that screening programs would be less likely to make errors? What legal changes would make negligence less likely to occur and would assure that when negligence did occur the legal action proceeded in an equitable manner? [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Legal issues, Liability, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report discusses maternal medical disorders during pregnancy, adolescent pregnancy, environmental risk factors in pregnancy, evaluation of fetal status, normal and premature labor, fetal distress and hypoxic birth injury, respiratory distress syndrome, neonatal infections, erythroblastosis fetalis and bilirubin encephalopathy, extreme prematurity, intracranial hemorrhage, persistent fetal circulation, necrotizing enterocolitis, metabolic disorders in the infant, and neonatal pharmacology. Research recommendations are provided.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Birth injuries, Environmental exposure, Fetal erythroblastosis, Infants, Labor, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal diseases, Persistent fetal circulation syndrome, Pharmacology, Pregnancy, Premature labor, Prematurity, Research, Respiratory distress syndrome

Annotation: This document presents papers from a consensus conference held in Quebec, Canada, in the fall of 1979 to identify and resolve the major problems in neonatal thyroid screening. Topics include considerations in neonatal thyroid screening; population screening of neonatal thyroid function; optimal screening and recall procedures; diagnosis, treatment, and followup of children with congenital hypothyroidism; the role of neonatal thyroid screening in the general health scheme; and guidelines for neonatal thyroid screening.

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Guidelines, Neonatal screening, Thyroid diseases

Annotation: This pamphlet reviews new developments in the screening of phenylketonuria since the 1966 publication of "Recommended Guidelines for PKU Programs for the Newborn" by the U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare. The publication is intended primarily for those involved in the organization and regulation of screening as a service. Part 1 covers new developments, including ethical and legal issues, Part 2 contains recommendations for a central organization for screening, laboratory responsibilities, and phenylketonuria screening. Part 3 addresses test for other genetic-metabolic diseases.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHB048.

• Link

Keywords: Genetic disorders, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening, Screening

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries. Document Number: LOC 77-075542.

Keywords: Hospitals, Infant health, Infants with special health care needs, Maternity hospitals, Medical personnel, Neonatal diseases, Neonatal intensive care, Neonatal morbidity, Nurses, Nutrition, Standards

Annotation: This publication describes genetic screening methods and programs, including an evaluation of current genetic screening, major problems, and the future. It also discusses screening for a wide variety of specific disorders.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening

Annotation: This report discusses various aspect of Phenylketonuria (PKU)--an inherited disorder that increases the levels of a substance called phenylalanine in the blood and can result in severe mental retardation if left untreated. The report describes the biochemical and pediatric aspects of PKU; psychological and nutritional aspects; and family attitudes toward the restrictive low Phenylalanine diet that can minimize or prevent brain damage. Early detection is emphasized, and descriptions of screening tests for PKU snd Phenalyalanine-restricted diets and menus are included.

Contact: Google Books, Web Site: http://www.books.google.com

• Link

Keywords: Child nutrition, Children with special health care needs, Diet therapy, Genetic screening, Hereditary diseases, Neonatal screening, Phenylketonuria