Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (44 total).

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. n.d.. Nebraska oral health survey of young children 2021-2022. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, 12 pp.

Annotation: This survey provides information about the oral health of young children in Nebraska during the period 2021–2022. Topics include the statewide Head Start survey, the statewide third grade survey, the Lancaster county third grade survey, oral health disparities, and trends. The oral health status of young children in Nebraska compared with the oral health status of young children in the United States as a whole is discussed.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Health care disparities, Nebraska, Oral health, State information, Surveys, Trends

Khattak A and Kang Y. 2020. Research on school zone safety. University of Nebraska; Nebraska Department of Transportation, 70 pp. (Nebraska Department of Transportation Research Reports)

Annotation: This study from the Nebraska and US departments of transportation used Nebraska traffic accident data to analyze the effect of active and passive school zones on accident rates. The authors (from the University of Nebraska) used crash data from eighteen schools in Nebraska gathered from 2014-2018 in order to make recommendations on how transportation agencies can establish school zones in ways that will lower accident rates near schools.

Contact: Nebraska Transportation Center, Whittier School, 262 Prem S. , 2200 Vine Street, Lincoln, NE 68583-0851, Telephone: (402) 472-1993

Link

Keywords: Nebraska, School zones, Speed, Traffic safety

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. 2020. Early dental health starter kit educational program. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, 3 items.

Annotation: This kit provides information for people in Nebraska about how to promote oral health in infants and children. Topics include oral hygiene for infants, the importance of primary teeth, and tooth eruption. Also discussed are oral hygiene tools (e.g., oral finger swabs, toothbrushes, timers) to use for infants and children of varying ages.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Nebraska, State information, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Young children

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2019. Learn the signs. Act early. AMCHP's state systems grant: Eight years (2011-2019) in review. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 17 pp. (Issue Brief)

Annotation: This issue brief highlights the successes, challenges, and lessons learned from the CDC's Learn the Signs. Act Early. (LTSAE) state systems grant program spanning eight years (2011-2019). Administered by the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs in partnership with the Association of University Centers on Disabilities, the program funded 34 states to strengthen early identification and coordination of services for children with autism spectrum disorder and developmental disabilities. The document outlines three key impact areas: formalizing developmental monitoring as a priority, activating stakeholders and strengthening partnerships, and increasing awareness among caregivers and providers. Through state-specific case studies and survey data from grantees, the brief demonstrates how even modest funding ($10,000-$20,000 per state) led to sustainable system improvements, innovative cross-sector collaborations, and enhanced capacity to monitor development and connect families to early intervention services. The brief also addresses implementation challenges and emphasizes the critical role of relationship-building and family engagement in sustaining these efforts beyond the grant period.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Autism, State CHSCN programs, Grants, Case studies, Nebraska, Mississippi, Virginia, Montana, Oklahoma, California, New Mexico, Massachusetts

Wani RJ. 2018. Nebraska state oral health system surveillance report, 2011-2017. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 9 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the Nebraska Oral Health Surveillance System (NE-OHSS) from 2011 to 2017. The report includes background about NE-OHSS indicators and tabular information on the following topics: priority, recommended, and optional oral health indicators by data sources; statistics by indicator, including descriptions of each indicator; and findings, including results of Nebraska oral health objectives compared to national estimates, significant trends of other NE-OHSS indicators, and overall recommendations.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 Web Site: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Dental-Health.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Nebraska, Oral health, State programs, Statistical data, Surveillance, Trends

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry. 2018. Nebraska state oral health surveillance plan. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 15 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the Nebraska Oral Health Surveillance Plan, which establishes the oral health indicators to be measured in the Nebraska Oral Health Surveillance System (NE-OHSS). The plan also describes data sources and establishes the frequency with which data on indicators will be collected and measured. The report discusses the NE-OHSS purpose, surveillance definitions, goals and objectives, surveillance framework, oral health indicators, and prioritization of NE-OHSS indicators. Also discussed are data-collection timelines and data dissemination and use.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 Web Site: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Dental-Health.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Nebraska, Oral health, State programs, Statistical data, Surveillance

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry. 2017. Nebraska oral health fact sheet. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about oral health in Nebraska. Topic include the importance of oral health and oral health challenges in the state, the magnitude of the problem, trends, national comparisons, and key disparities. Also discussed are providing oral health date to the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors and why oral health should be a priority for Nebraska.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 Web Site: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Dental-Health.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: , Economic factors, Nebraska, Oral health, State programs, Statistical data, Trends

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry. 2016. Nebraska state oral health assessment & dental disease burden report. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 57 pp

Annotation: This report reviews the history of oral health in Nebraska, compares current disease status with national trends, describes needs and existing resources, and identifies areas of focus for overcoming disparities. Topics include public policy and the oral health work force, improving disease surveillance, increasing access to care, enhancing community-based prevention, and elevating public education and oral health promotion.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 Web Site: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Dental-Health.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community based services, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health status, Life course, Low income groups, Measures, Nebraska, Needs assessment, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Public health education, State programs, Statewide planning, Tobacco use, Vulnerability, Work force

[Onyilofor C]. 2016. Data in Action: Uses of data in maternal and child health to assess, achieve, and communicate. [Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs], 11 pp.

Annotation: This guide contains examples from states' health departments and nonprofits on the active use of data. Examples were selected to represent ways to collect, communicate, and use data to achieve desired outcomes and influence policy. The four main sections discuss: data collection, data analysis, data communication, and data-informed policy. The guide also contains abstracts of example programs from all around the country, with links to the full reports covering topics such as infant mortality, PRAMS (Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System) and families with children with special healthcare needs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

Link

Keywords: Title V programs, State CSHCN programs, Surveys, Evaluation, Assessment, Data collection, Data analysis, Epidemiology, Texas, Wisconsin, Alaska, Mississippi, Massachusetts, Louisiana, Nebraska, Delaware, Florida

Live Well Omaha Kids and the Nebraska Breastfeeding Coalition. 2014. Really? Really.. Omaha, NE: Live Well Omaha Kids, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources for mothers, mothers-to-be, their families, and health professionals provide information on breasteeding initiation in the first hour after birth. Contents include breastfeeding facts and the benefits of skin-to-skin contact. Posters, social media images, and links to organizational websites are also provided.

Contact: Live Well Omaha Kids, 12809 West Dodge Road, Omaha, NE 68154, Telephone: (402) 343-4507 Web Site: http://livewellomahakids.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Childbirth, Infant feeding, Local initiatives, Nebraska, Resources for professionals

Simons D, Hendricks T, Lipper J, Pires SA. 2014. Intensive care coordination using high-quality wraparound for children with serious behavioral health needs: State and community profiles. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 61 pp.

Annotation: This document profiles the various ways that U.S. states and communities are structuring, implementing, and evaluating intensive care coordination (ICC) using the wraparound approach for children and youth with significant mental health conditions. The document defines wraparound as a structured approach to service planning and care coordination for individuals with complex needs that is built on a system of care and adheres to specified procedures. Contents include the evidence base for wraparound and information on established, evolving, and emerging ICC/wraparound programs.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Colorado, Community programs, Coordination planning, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mental health, Michigan, Nebraska, New Jersey, Ohio, Oklahoma, Patient care, Pennsylvania, Program coordination, Rhode Island, Service coordination, State programs, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Youth

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry. 2013. Oral Health Access for Young Children Program: Final report. [Lincoln, NE]: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 36 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from an evaluation of a pilot program to assess the oral health needs of children and families in Nebraska, and provide preventive oral health services. Contents include a program overview and summaries for each of fifteen regional and community partners who helped to administer and implement the program across the state. The summaries include data on the number and distribution of dentists and dental hygienists; the number of children seen, client visits, fluoride varnish treatments, clinic hours, community sites, and staff involved; satisfaction and referral rates; racial ethnic and age distributions; oral health status (unhealthy gums, need further care, early childhood caries); and access to oral health care (dental home, Medicaid, no dental insurance). Lessons learned, recommendations, and opportunities are also discussed. The program model and forms are provided as appendices.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 Web Site: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Dental-Health.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Final reports, Grants, Health status, Local initiatives, Nebraska, Needs assessment, Oral health, Pilot projects, Program evaluation, Public private partnerships, Rural population, State surveys, Statistical data, Urban population, Young children

Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, Brain Injury Association of Virgina. 2013. Virginia collaborative policy summit on brain injury and juvenile justice: Proceedings report. Henrico, VA: Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 31 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings document a national policy summit held on June 13-14, 2012, in Richmond, Virginia, to convene leaders involved in identifying and supporting youth with traumatic brain injury (TBI) in the juvenile justice system. The purpose of the summit was to share information, resources, and effective screening and intervention strategies to improve TBI services within states and move toward achieving a consistent national approach to screening and intervention. Contents include a participant list; background information about brain injury; the summit agenda; state project overviews including current status and identification and screening procedures; information from small group discussions on evaluation and screening, education and outreach, and treatment and intervention; and information from peer group discussions on policy implications. Recommendations for policy and future study are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Henrico, VA 23229-5019, Telephone: (800) 552-5019 Secondary Telephone: (800) 552-9950 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.vadrs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Head injuries, Minnesota, National initiatives, Nebraska, Program improvement, Public development, Screening, Service coordination, State programs, Texas, Utah, Virginia

Barnes-Josiah D. 2012. Using PPOR in an exploration of infant mortality trends Nebraska, 1979-2010. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, 42 slides.

Annotation: This resource, a presentation at the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists 2012 annual conference, compares data on infant mortality rates in the United States and Nebraska, examines points where the Nebraska rate exceeded the U.S. rate, and describes using Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) categories in an attempt to understand these rates.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Contact author for cost information.

Keywords: Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, Nebraska, State surveys

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, School Health Program. 2012. Nebraska school health guidelines = Guidelines for school health services in Nebraska. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services,

Annotation: This website, which presents guidelines for Nebraska schools, focuses on the activities and practices of school nurses and other non-nurse school personnel who provide health services. The site includes information about school health services; school nursing scope and standards; individualized health care plans; the role of the school nurse in special education; school health screening; emergency guidelines; guidelines related to methicillin-resistant staphylococcus aureus in schools, athletics, and child care; and the Medication Aide Act.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Child care, Emergencies, Guidelines, Individualized health plans, Legislation, Nebraska, School health services, School heath, School nurses, School personnel, Screening, Special education, State programs

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Lifespan Health Services. 2012. PRAMS and ... preconception health. [Lincoln, NE]: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for Nebraska women provides an explanation of preconception health and why it is important across a woman's lifespan, not just during the reproductive years. Topics include why planning pregnancies is important, use of birth control, health insurance, how tobacco and alcohol use influences birth outcomes; how women can reduce their risks for poor birth outcomes. Statistical data is provided throughout the fact sheet.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Fetal development, Fetal viability, Life cycle, Nebraska, Pregnant women, Risk factors, State surveys, Statistical data, Women', s health

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Newborn Screening Program. 2011. Newborn screening in Nebraska: Newborn screening for metabolic and inherited disorders and early hearing detection and intervention. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, 40 pp.

Annotation: This annual report describes the Nebraska program for newborn screening for inborn errors of metabolism and inherited disorders. Contents include sections on major initiatives, process and output data, plans, continuing activities. Additional sections review the newborn hearing screening system and data as well as additional projects and summaries. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

2011 Full Report

Keywords: Genetic screening, Hearing screening, Nebraska, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, State programs

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2011. Innovative state practices for improving the provision of Medicaid dental services: Summary of eight state reports—Alabama, Arizona, Maryland, Nebraska, North Carolina, Rhode Island, Texas, and Virginia. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 10 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes a review of Alabama’s Medicaid dental program conducted on January 4–8, 2010, to discover practices and program innovations leading to a higher level of oral-health-service use among children in Alabama compared to the national average. The report describes the Smile Alabama initiative, the 1st Look program, Student/Resident Rotations in Community Health, the partnership with the University of Alabama School of Dentistry, and the loan-repayment program.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Alabama, Arizona, Children, Collaboration, Health care delivery, Health care utilization, Maryland, Medicaid, Model programs, Nebraska, North Carolina, Oral health, Rhode Island, State programs, Texas, Virginia

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services. 2011. Affordable Care Act Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program: Final supplemental information request for the submission of the updated state plan for a state home visiting program. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, 2 pp.

Annotation: This document constitutes an outline of the final supplemental information request for the submission of the updated state plan for Nebraska's Affordable Care Act Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program. The summary includes the date of submission and steps to be completed.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Financing, Grants, Home visiting, Infants, Nebraska, State programs, Women, Young children

Health Resources and Services Administration. 2011. Regional oral health summit final report: The role of public-private partnerships in improving oral health. Rockville, MD: Health Resources and Services Administration, 52 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a summit held on September 13, 2011, in Kansas City, Kansas, to facilitate a discussion on oral health and to leverage resources to optimally support federal and regional oral health priorities to advance public-private partnerships. Contents include the role of federal agencies in improving access to care and a discussion of issues and potential actions for strengthening public-private partnerships in each of four states (Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska). The report also discusses key challenges, significant populations affected, individual roles in addressing the issue, additional resources that may be needed, and actions that the group can take to ensure that efforts continue.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Conference proceedings, Families, Federal agencies, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oral health, Public private partnerships, State initiatives