Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This issue brief provides analysis of racial and ethnic disparities across selected measures of maternal and infant health, discusses the factors that drive these disparities, and provides an overview of recent efforts to address them. Statistics from federal data sets are included.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Access to health care, Alaska natives, Blacks, Data, Ethnic factors, Health equity, Native Americans, Racial factors, Statistical analysis

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health care for tribes in Oklahoma and steps that are being taken to improve access to care for this population. It explains what the Indian Health Service is and how services are reimbursed. It also discusses Oklahoma Medicaid’s addition of a dental benefit, its plans to transition to managed care, and its tribal consultation policy.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Community health, Medicaid, Native Americans, Oklahoma, Oral health, State information

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health care for tribes in Arizona and steps that are being taken to improve access to care for this population. It explains what the Indian Health Service is and how services are reimbursed. It also discusses Arizona Medicaid’s tribal consultation policy and community engagement with oral health in the state.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Community health, Medicaid, Native Americans, Oral health, State information

Annotation: This report discusses how the Departments of Health of three states (Alaska, New Mexico, and Montana) are strengthening access to risk-appropriate care for American Indian / Alaska Native (AI/AN) communities. Initiatives and recommendations include increased data collection, promoting people-centered and culturally approtriate care, and collaborating with community organizations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives, High risk pregnancy, Native Americans, Perinatal care, Racism, Reproductive health, Risk appropriate care, Social bias

Annotation: This data brief provides information from the Oregon Smiles Survey. Topic include trends in the percentage of children in the state with treated, untreated, or rampant tooth decay between 2012 and 2017; the percentage of children needing oral health care; cavity rates among children, by region; and percentages of American Indian and Alaska native and black children with tooth decay.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: African Americans, Alaska natives, American Indians, Data, Dental caries, Oral health, Oregon, School age children, State information, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This chartbook on Asians and Native Hawaiians/Pacific Islanders (NHPIs) is part of a family of documents and tools that support the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (QDR), which was published in 2018. This chartbook includes a summary of trends across measures of healthcare for Asians and NHPIs from the QDR and figures illustrating select measures of healthcare access and quality. A PowerPoint version is also available that users can download for presentations.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 20-0043..

• Chartbook And PowerPoint
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Asian Americans, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Measures, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Trends

Annotation: This fact sheet from the CDC is geared to parents and caregivers in tribal communities. It alerts them to the problem of non-use or improper use of car seats, booster seats, and seatbelts. It provides illustrations on the proper placement of booster seats and statistics on the numbers of native children who are injured. It includes references and the 800 number and web link for further information from the CDC.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska natives, Booster seats, Car seats, Child safety, Native Americans, Seat belts, Young children

Annotation: This webinar highlights two innovative telehealth programs developed to address mental health and substance use disorders during the COVID-19 pandemic. The first presentation by Dr. Rachel Whitman describes Rhode Island's 24/7 buprenorphine hotline, which provides telephone-based treatment for opioid use disorder without requiring video capability, making it accessible to vulnerable populations with limited technology access. The second presentation by Dr. Gwen Latendresse showcases Utah's project to implement universal electronic screening for perinatal depression in rural public health districts and provide telehealth group therapy sessions for women with mild to moderate symptoms. Both speakers emphasize how the pandemic accelerated telehealth adoption while simultaneously creating greater barriers to care access. They address equity concerns, highlighting the importance of audio-only options to reach marginalized populations, and discuss program outcomes, future goals, and lessons learned about expanding telehealth for behavioral health treatment.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Rhode Island, Utah, Telemedicine, Pregnant women, Postpartum women, Mental health, Substance abuse, Covid-19 (suggested keyword), Case studies, Infant health, Washington, New Mexico, Iowa, Arkansas, South Carolina, Northern Mariana Islands, Native Americans

Annotation: This data brief focuses on the oral health of American Indian and Alaska Native children ages 1–5. The brief presents information on the prevalence of early childhood caries, untreated tooth decay, and dental sealants in the primary teeth of this population in 2018–2019 and assesses trends since the 2010 survey was conducted. The results of the 2018–2019 survey are presented as five key findings. For each finding, statistical data are included. Implications of the results are also discussed.

Contact: U.S. Indian Health Service, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: https://www.ihs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Alaska natives, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Early Childhood caries, Native Americans, Oral health, Statistical data, Surveys

Annotation: This data brief focuses on the oral health of American Indian and Alaska Native children ages 6–9. Using data from an ongoing oral health surveillance system the Indian Health Service established in 2010, the brief presents information on the prevalence of dental sealants, untreated tooth decay, and dental sealants in the primary teeth of this population in 2018–2019 and assesses trends since the 2010 survey was conducted. The results of the 2016–2017 survey are presented as five key findings and one overall recommendation. For each finding, statistical data are included.

Contact: U.S. Indian Health Service, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: https://www.ihs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska natives, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Native Americans, Oral health, School age children, Statistical data, Surveys

Annotation: This document outlines the steps and strategies for creating a successful Champions for Change (CFC) program within a community. It emphasizes the importance of developing a clear message, engaging youth, identifying partners, budgeting, and spreading the word about the initiative.The CFC program was created to share ideas on how communities can recognize young Native American leaders who are driving positive change, and the toolkit highlights positive stories from Indian Country and the Native American community. It can be used to recommend a peer or young role model for recognition, organize a small, low-budget community program, or educate others on how Native American youth are stepping up as community leaders.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Native Americans, American Indians, Community role

Annotation: This consensus statement resulted from the summit, Integrated Care for Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Communities: A Blueprint for Action, held in August 15-16, 2011, in San Francisco, California. The document includes information about the summit; the consensus statement itself; a discussion of Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) health and behavioral health and of AANHPI populations in general; and recommendations from the summit.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska natives, Asian Americans, Hawaiians, Health, Health behavior, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Service integration

Annotation: This website provides information and resources from an interagency initiative to address childhood obesity and related conditions in American Indians and Alaska Natives. Topics include increasing physical activity and access to affordable, healthy, and traditional foods; supporting and leveraging Indian Country's help, expertise, and commitment; and public private partnerships to further support and expand upon the work happening throughout Indian Country. Resources include fact sheets, a newsletter, a call to action for tribal leaders, and a toolkit and resource guide.

Contact: U.S. Department of the Interior, 1849 C Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20240, Telephone: (202) 208-3100 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.doi.gov Available from the website.

• Website
• Toolkit And Resource Guide

Keywords: American Indians, Child health, Community participation, Food consumption, Health promotion, Native Americans, Obesity, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, Social learning

Annotation: This report provides an overview and examples of key Native Youth priorities, including health promotion, injury prevention, safety, education, and juvenile justice.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, Education, Juvenile justice, Native Americans, Safety, Youth Health promotion

Annotation: This report focuses on the use of community-led interventions to alter risky health behaviors among minority populations who have higher rates of diseases and conditions such as hypertension, high blood cholesterol levels, diabetes, tobacco use, physical inactivity, and obesity than their white counterparts. The report, which includes an executive summary, discusses racial and ethnic health disparities; reducing racial and ethnic health disparities through community interventions; tailored community interventions at work; community interventions in the African-American, American Indian and Alaska Native, Hispanic, and Native Hawaiian and other Pacific Islander populations; budget implications; and policy recommendations. A conclusion and endnotes are included.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Blacks, Community programs, Diabetes mellitus, Ethnic factors, Financing, High risk groups, Hispanic Americans, Hypertension, Intervention, Obesity, Pacific Islanders, Physical activity, Public policy, Racial factors, Risk factors, Smoking

Annotation: This policy brief describes the characteristics of children enrolled in Head Start and their families and the services provided to them during the 2004-2005 program year. The data cover 3- and 4-year olds enrolled in Head Start; pregnant women and infants and children under age 3 enrolled in Early Head Start; infants and children from birth to age 5 enrolled in Migrant and Seasonal Head Start; and children enrolled in American Indian and Alaskan Native Head Start programs. Following an introduction, data figures and discussion are presented on the following topics: (1) Head Start-funded enrollment slots by program type, (2) Head Start disability determination and special services, (3) children's access to health care services before and after Head Start participation, (4) primary child care arrangements during non-Head Start hours, (5) percent change in Head Start families' participation in family services, and (6) teachers with degrees and credentials.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Early Head Start, Enrollment, Family support services, Head Start, Health services delivery, Infants, Native Americans, Pregnant women, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information about suicide among adolescents and young adults (ages 10-24). The fact sheet includes highlights; a pie chart showing suicide's ranking among the leading causes of death in this population; and information about the suicide rates among young adults vs. younger adolescents; suicide rates among young males, young females, and American Indian and Alaska Native males; rates of attempted suicide among female adolescents and female Hispanic adolescents; and trends in suicide rates. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the fact sheet. Data and figure sources and notes are included.

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent females, Adolescent males, Adolescents, Alaska natives, American Indians, Attempted suicide, Hispanic Americans, Suicide, Trends, Young adults

Annotation: Using data from the 2001 California Health Interview Survey, this report examines the important health concerns of nonelderly women in California, including their health status, insurance coverage, and access to care. The report focuses on low-income women and women of color. The report is divided into the following main sections: (1) California's women: a diverse population, (2) health status, (3) health insurance coverage, (4) access to care issues, (5) discussion and policy implications, and (6) data sources and methods. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report. The report includes footnotes.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska natives, American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, California, Data, Health insurance, Health status, Hispanic Americans, Low income groups, Public policy, Racial factors, Surveys, Women', s health

Annotation: This supplement is an outgrowth of the 1999 report by the Surgeon General on mental health and illness. This report undertakes to probe more deeply into mental health disparities affecting racial and ethnic minorities and the role that cultural factors play in mental health. The report is divided into seven chapters including the introduction. Chapter two lays the foundation for understanding the relationships between culture, mental health, mental illness, and mental health services. Chapters three through six provide information about each racial and ethnic minority group: African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans and Pacific islanders, and Hispanic Americans; including historical context and current status; and access to, availability of, and utilization of mental health services. Chapter seven concludes with promising directions and courses of action to reduce disparities and improve the mental health of racial and ethnic minorities. Each chapter concludes with a list of references. The appendices discuss the inclusion of minorities in clinical trials used to development treatment guidelines and a resource directory of relevant federal and private organizations. The report concludes with an index.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS SMA-01-3613; ISBN 0-16-050892-4.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, Cultural diversity, Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Disabilities, Ethnic factors, Hispanic Americans, Mental disorders, Mental health, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Racial factors, Research, Trends

Annotation: This chartbook compares findings from several private surveys and national data sources to demonstrate the state of minority health in the United States. It is intended to serve as a quick reference tool for currently available information on American Indians, Alaskan Natives, Asians, Pacific Islanders, Blacks, and Hispanics. The chartbook is divided into sections including statistical profiles of racial and ethnic composition of the U.S. population, vital statistics, health status and disease, health care access and utilization, health insurance coverage, and minority health professionals. Each section contains statistical data in the form of tables, graphs, and charts. A list of references is included. An appendix with a description of the surveys used in this analysis is provided.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaskan Natives, American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, Data, Demography, Ethnic factors, Health status, Hispanic Americans, Minority health, Pacific Islanders, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, Surveys, Vital statistics