Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website provides resources from a national initiative to engage health care purchasers, payers, and providers in collaborating with the public health community to improve health and control health care costs. Topics include high-burden health conditions and associated interventions that prevent chronic and infectious diseases by increasing coverage, access, use, and quality; and how to align evidence-based preventive practices with emerging value-based payment and delivery models. Contents include a fact sheet and evidence summaries on reducing tobacco use, controlling high blood pressure, preventing health care-associated infections, controlling asthma, preventing unintended pregnancy, and controlling and preventing diabetes.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coalitions, Collaboration, Consumers, Disease prevention, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Infectious diseases, Intervention, Models, National initiatives, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Relationships, Third party payers

Annotation: This paper describes a national initiative to engage health care purchasers, payers, and providers in collaborating with the public health community to rapidly accelerate implementation of 18 evidence-based interventions targeting six high-burden conditions. Topics include the conceptual framework of prevention, the criteria and process for selecting the six conditions and 18 interventions, and how the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is building new relationships with health care purchasers, payers, and providers to support implementation efforts. The paper concludes with recommendations for assessing the initiative's success and for building on the relationships that are being created.

Contact: National Academy of Medicine, 500 5th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nam.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Coalitions, Collaboration, Disease prevention, Health care reform, Intervention, Models, National initiatives, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Relationships

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of local health departments (LHDs) to assess the impact of forces that are affecting change in LHDs including health reform and billing for services. Topics include background and survey methods, budget cuts and job losses, changes in services, billing for clinical services, collaboration with non-profit hospitals, collaboration with primary care providers, and workforce skills.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: City health agencies, Collaboration, County health agencies, Educational change, Health care reform, National surveys, Organizational change, Primary care, Reimbursement, Work force

Annotation: This research brief analyzes the early outreach and enrollment experiences of 606 community health centers across the country under the Affordable Care Act (ACA). Using data from a nationwide survey (conducted in partnership with the National Association of Community Health Centers), the authors discuss their findings on states' ACA-related activities, comparing differences between states that have fully embraced health reform and states that have resisted or rejected key parts of the ACA. Figures and tables present Medicaid expansion and navigator laws by state and provide descriptive comparisons and statistics on the outreach and enrollment activities of survey participants. An analysis of the anticipated impact of ACA is also provided.

Contact: George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, Department of Health Policy, 950 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W., Sixth Floor, Washington, DC 20052, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/departments/health-policy Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Comparative analysis, Health care reform, National surveys, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Research

Annotation: This issue brief provides a history and overview of Bright Futures, a national program to promote children's current and future health through a set of guidelines that aim to improve the quality of health promotion and preventive services for children. The brief discusses the role of Bright Futures in the Affordable Care Act, and provides past and present examples of state health agencies' efforts to implement Bright Futures. Topics include initiation and funding, activities, and lessons learned in Illinois, New York, Virginia, and Washington. Brief descriptions of efforts in Maine, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, and Oregon are also included, as well as recommendations for states.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Health care reform, Health promotion, Illinois, Infants, National programs, New York, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, State agencies, Virginia, Washington

Annotation: This report presents findings from a national survey of women (ages 18-64) about their health and health care experiences. The survey was conducted in fall and early winter 2013, just before the Affordable Care Act's major coverage expansion began. Topics include coverage, access, and affordability; connections to care; and use of preventive care including differences for women who are uninsured, those who have low incomes, and women from minority groups. The report also examines the use of reproductive and sexual health services among women (ages 15-44) and discusses implications.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care reform, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Low income groups, Minority groups, National surveys, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Women', s health

Annotation: This research brief presents findings from a survey to determine local health department (LHD) best practices for preserving services and programs to meet the needs of pregnant women, infants, children, and adolescents in light of economic downturn and changing health care system landscape. The brief focuses on the constellation of programs and services provided by LHDs and the overlap of those programs and services with health care services covered as essential benefits under the Affordable Care Act. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, Health care reform, Health services delivery, MCH research, Model programs, National surveys, Organizational change, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Annotation: This annual report focuses on Medicaid eligibility and enrollment policies and procedures. It also outlines changes states will need to make in the coming year to implement the Medicaid provisions of the Affordable Care Act. Topics include Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program eligibility for families and individuals, harnessing technology to simplify processes and enhance systems, enhancing consumer assistance and simplifying enrollment and renewal processes, and keeping coverage affordable with nominal cost-sharing requirements. Trend and state-by-state tables are included. Video and materials from the January 23, 2013, public briefing, are also available from the website.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Briefing

Keywords: Children', Comparative analysis, Data, Health care reform, Medicaid, National surveys, Reports, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report provides a plan to reduce infant mortality in the United States. The report includes an outline of strategic directions and recommendations, background on the problem of infant mortality in the United States, principles for a national strategy, and details related to six strategic directions for reducing infant mortality. Also discussed is information on services to improve women's health, birth outcomes, infant health, and infant survival; opportunities to decrease infant mortality through implementation of the Affordable Care Act; a crosswalk between an action plan to reduce racial and ethnic health disparities and recommendations to reduce infant mortality; and specific actions to increase breastfeeding.

Contact: Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/InfantMortality/index.html Available from the website.

• Report

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Ethnic factors, Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Infant health, Infant mortality, National programs, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prevention services, Program development, Racial factors, Statistical data, Strategic plans, Women', s health

Annotation: This report summarizes key findings from the 2013 Commonwealth Fund Health Insurance Tracking Survey of young adults to help determine the extent to which men and women ages 19-29 are concerned about their own health coverage and are aware of the insurance options available to them. Topics include: awareness and enrollment on parents' health plans; percentages of uninsured young adults; health insurance marketplaces; incomes and eligibility for Medicaid and subsidies; and potential premiums and tax credits. Charts and statistics indicate levels of awareness among young adults related to various aspects of health coverage; trends based on demographics, poverty status, education level, and political affiliation, and the premium amounts and tax credits that young people will receive under ACA 2014, based on their income levels.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• Issue Brief
• Chartpack

Keywords: Health insurance, Health reform, National surveys, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Statistics, Trends, Young adults

Annotation: This research brief presents findings from the Maternal, Child, and Adolescent Health 2012 Survey, which was conducted as part of a larger research project to determine local health department best practices for implementing services and programs that meet the needs of pregnant women, infants, children, and adolescents in light of the economic downturn and a changing health care system landscape. The brief presents the landscape of existing and potential maternal, child, and adolescent health (MCAH) partners in local jurisdictions, with the goal of providing insight into the extent to which MCAH staff collaborate with partners and their interest in maintaining or expanding these collaborations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: City health agencies, Collaboration, County health agencies, Health care reform, MCH research, Model programs, National surveys, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This action plan builds on the vision, goals, recommendations, and actions of the National Prevention Strategy (released in 2011 by the National Prevention, Health Promotion, and Public Health Council) which aims to increase the number of Americans who are healthy at every stage of life. The plan includes commitments from all of the 17 federal departments and agencies on the council to increase tobacco free environments; increase access to healthy, affordable foods; and identify additional opportunities to consider health and prevention by their agencies in such areas as preventing drug abuse and excessive alcohol use, active living, injury and violence free living, reproductive and sexual health, and mental and emotional well-being. In addition, the action plan highlights more than 200 specific prevention and wellness actions that federal agencies are already taking or plan to take to implement the National Prevention Strategy.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Disease prevention, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health promotion, National initiatives, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Strategic plans

Annotation: This report provides information about Collaborate for Healthy Weight, a national program that brings together primary care health professionals, public health professionals, and leaders of community organizations to work across traditional professional borders to address obesity at the community level. The report presents examples of how these multi-disciplinary teams are carrying out their work. Topics include forming an effective team and making a clear plan, creating a consistent message, developing a system for assessing weight status and health behaviors, deploying a customized healthy weight plan for all individuals, aligning resources to build community capacity, and influencing policies that enable exercise and healthy eating.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Communities, Health, Health care reform, Health promotion, National programs, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Public policy

Annotation: This annual report focuses on the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' efforts to collaborate with the private sector to develop agency-specific plans, goals, benchmarks, and standardized metrics to measure and improve health and health care quality in the United States. The report describes the initial strategy and plan for implementation. Contents include aims, priorities, and goals for improving quality; policies and infrastructure needed to support priorities; and next steps. The appendix presents goals, opportunities for success, and illustrative measures for each of the following six priorities: safer care, effective care coordination, person- and family-centered care, prevention and treatment of leading causes of mortality, supporting better health in communities, and making care more affordable.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Benchmarking, Federal initiatives, National health care reform, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Strategic planning

Annotation: This policy brief examines the affordability of coverage options that will become available as states implement the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA). It describes what is meant by the term affordability and examines the concept of affordability within the context of healthcare reform. Drawing on lessons learned from successful children's health insurance programs (CHIP) in various states, the brief also provides guidance intended to help inform state policymakers.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Federal legislation, Models, National health care reform, Policy development, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This loose-leaf binder contains copies of newsletters, reports, policy statements, and fact sheets pertaining to recent federal government activities related to the delivery of maternal and child health services, welfare, and other policy areas affecting them such as block grants, Supplemental Security Income, and HIV and AIDS services. The materials were prepared for the August 24, 1995 meeting of the MCH Partnership for Information and Communication (PIC) Interorganizational Work Group. The briefing book focuses on legislative proposals initiated after the May 1995 PIC Work Group meeting which also centered on this issue in addition to social marketing. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Block grants, Child health, Federal government, Maternal health, National health care reform, Policy development, Proposed legislation, Welfare reform

Annotation: This bill was introduced during the 104th Congress to strengthen the capacity of state or tribal governments to carry out eight of the core functions of the public health block grants. It contains three titles that outline how states would apply for formula grants, how the activities of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention would be correspondingly revised, and how existing provisions of the Public Health Service Act would be repealed as a result of the passage of this bill. A summary and the floor statement of Senator N. Kassenbaum, who introduced the bill, are also available separately.

Contact: U.S. Congress, Senate, Senate Document Room, B-04, Hart Senate Office Building , Washington, DC 20510-7106, Telephone: (202) 224-7701 Fax: (202) 228-2815 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.senate.gov/legislative/common/generic/Doc_Room.htm Price unknown.

• Link

Keywords: Block grants, Federal government, Federal legislation, Government financing, National health care reform, Proposed legislation, Public health, State programs

Annotation: This loose-leaf notebook contains articles and reports on the potential impact of proposed federal legislation on state programs and on social marketing. The materials on the proposed legislation cover issues such as changing the funding mechanism for certain programs to block grants and related policy issues, health care reform, and welfare reform. The materials on social marketing include media relations, coalition building, and developing effective preventive health programs. Each section provides suggestions for further readings and bibliographies. These materials were prepared for a meeting of the MCH Partnership for Information and Communication (PIC) Interorganizational Work Group in May 1995. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Advocacy, Block grants, Coalitions, Federal government, Health promotion, Media campaigns, National health care reform, Prevention programs, Proposed legislation, Public education, Public health, Public policy, Publicity, Welfare reform

Annotation: This book contains a collection of essays that consider the conditions of the nation's health and health care system at the beginning of the 1990s. The three main sections of the book focus on health and health care, health policy, and health care reform. Topics given closer consideration within those sections include: health status and its determinants; shaping the health care system; the politics of health; the role of nurses; initiatives for reform; health care cost containment; inequities in access to health services; quality, effectiveness, and appropriateness of care; and a miscellany of neglected issues. There are several essays within each of those specific categories; for example, the neglected issues section includes essays on long term care, racial factors in health care, women's health, the women's health movement, and living with AIDS.

Contact: Jones and Bartlett Learning, 5 Wall Street, Burlington, MA 01803, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 Secondary Telephone: (978) 443-5000 Fax: (978)443-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jblearning.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-86720-840-6.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Cost containment, Health care systems, Health policy, Health services, Health status, National health care reform, National policy, Nursing, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report considers the assumptions that analysts use to make cost projections for the various proposals that are being considered for reforming the national health care system. It reviews the potential effects of four common provisions that affect the possible reforms: cost containment, managed competition and increasing enrollments in health maintenance organizations, uninsured persons, and administrative changes. The report reviews the analyses that have been made of the proposed reforms to determine how key policies were estimated, and it considers factors that may contribute to the degree of uncertainty that affects the reliability of the estimates. The report includes summaries and indicates possible policy implications.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GPO 052-003-01374-6; ISBN 0-16-045062-4; OTA-H-594.

• PDF

Keywords: Administrative policy, Cost containment, Enrollment, Health care costs, Health maintenance organizations, Managed competition, National health care reform, Policy development, Service delivery, Uninsured persons