Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 7 (7 total).

Early Head Start National Resource Center. 2011. Little voices for healthy choices: Nurturing bodies and minds from Birth to Three webcast. Washington, DC: Early Head Start National Resource Center, 1 DVD-ROM.

Annotation: This webcast focuses on Little Voices Healthy Choices, a national initiative to provide Early Head Start and migrant and seasonal Head Start programs with knowledge and strategies to positively influence families in their care. The initiative encompasses motor and brain development, nutrition, music and movement, and sleep. Arts experiences are also included in the initiative. The webinar includes a video that provides an overview of the initiative.

Contact: Early Head Start National Resource Center, Office of Head Start, Eighth Floor Portals Building, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (844) 261-3752 E-mail: ecdtl@ecetta.info Web Site: http://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/hslc/tta-system/ehsnrc

Keywords: Art, Child health, Cognitive development, Community programs, Early Head Start, Early childhood development, Families, Infant development, Infant health, Infants, Initiatives, Low income groups, Motor development, Motor skills, National initiatives, Nutrition, Relationships, Sleep, Young children

Pastor PN, Reuben CA, Loeb M. 2009. Functional difficulties among school-aged children: United States, 2001-2007. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 24 pp. (National health statistics reports; no. 19)

Annotation: This report presents estimates of basic action difficulty, which includes difficulties related to sensory, motor, cognitive, and emotional or behavioral functioning in U.S. children and adolescents ages 5-17 based on questions from the National Health Interview Survey. Selected estimates are shown for the educational and health care service use of children with and without basic actions difficulty. Methods, results, and a discussion are presented.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavior problems, Child health, Cognition disorders, Emotional development, Health care utilization, Motor skills, Research, Sensory impairments, Statistical data

Cawley J, Spiess CK. 2008. Obesity and skill attainment in early childhood. Cambriedge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 40 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 13997)

Annotation: This paper investigates the association between obesity and skill attainment in early childhood (ages 2-4). Data from the German Socio-Economic Panel Study are used to estimate models of developmental functioning in four critical areas (verbal skills, activities of daily living, motor skills, and social skills) as a function of various measures of weight (including body mass index and obesity) controlling for a rich set of child, parent, and family characteristics.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Early childhood development, Life skills, Motor skills, Obesity, Social skills, Verbal ability, Young children

Herbst CM, Tekin E. 2008. Child care subsidies and child development. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 45 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 14474)

Annotation: This paper assesses the impact of child care subsidy receipt on a wide range of child development outcomes (such as reading and math scores, behavior, and psychomotor skills). The paper provides an overview of the child care subsidy policy and previous research on child care, discusses data sources and the conceptual framework and econometric model, and provides results and conclusions.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child behavior, Child care, Child development, Government financing, Low income groups, Motor skills, Public policy

Munson JH, Nordquist CL, Thuma-Rew SL. 1987. Communication systems for persons with severe neuromotor impairment: An Iowa interdisciplinary approach. Iowa City, IA: University Hospital School, Division of Developmental Disabilities, 253 pp.

Annotation: This monograph describes the current approach to nonoral communication at the University Hospital School in Iowa City, a diagnostic/short-term rehabilitation facility, with emphasis on the methods they find most useful in developing functional interaction with nonspeaking individuals. Specific topics include preliminary nonoral communication criteria, neuromotor impairment affecting speech, positioning and communication, evaluation and selection of systems, developing interaction abilities, integrating communication systems into the classroom, and single subject designs. Case studies are also presented. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Assistive devices, Cerebral palsy, Child health, Communication disorders, Disabilities, Motor skills, Special health care needs

Capute AJ, Accardo PJ, Vining EPG, Rubenstein JE, Harryman S. 1978. Primitive reflex profile. Baltimore, MD: University Park Press, 91 pp. (Monographs in developmental pediatrics, v. 1)

Annotation: This book introduces physicians and therapists to the important role played by primitive reflexes in the evolution of motor function. The book contains two major sections. The first presents a historical perspective and reviews how reflexes have been the subject of detailed study by a variety of medical professionals. The second describes a quantitative descriptive profile of selected reflexes that has been developed to provide a clear, structured approach to more sophisticated analyses of reflexes and a more complete understanding of the role reflexes play in inhibiting the development of voluntary motor functioning. The book is extensively illustrated with charts, diagrams, and tables. It includes a bibliography and an index. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Cerebral palsy, Infant development, Infants, Motor development, Motor skills, Pediatric neurology

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1965. The child with central nervous system deficit: Report of two symposiums. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 149 pp. (Children's Bureau publication; no. 432-1965)

Annotation: This report consists of papers delivered at two symposia sponsored the University of Pennsylvania, the Journal of the American Physical Therapy Association, and the Children's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare. The report discusses children with central nervous system deficit, dual sensory role of muscle spindles, basic mechanisms of motor learning, postural integration at spinal levels, predisposing genetic and metabolic factors in developmental defects of the central nervous system, perinatal problems and the central nervous system, attitudinal reflex, normal motor development, variations and abnormalities of motor development, some considerations of muscle activity, plasticity of the nervous system of early childhood, mental retardation and the child with central nervous system deficit, patient evaluation, evaluation in the assessment of motor performance, tests and evaluation tools for the child with central nervous system deficit, cerebral palsy, physiology of sensation, and mechanisms in the control of movement. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Central nervous system diseases, Cerebral palsy, Children, Evaluation, Genetic disorders, Mental retardation, Metabolic diseases, Motor skills, Movement disorders, Neuromuscular diseases, Perinatal influences, Sensory impairments

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.