Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper discusses the need for patient-centered and safe care (i.e., care that acknowledges that the values, cultures, choices, and preferences of a woman and her family are relevant within the context of promoting optimal health outcomes) for pregnant and laboring women. The paper discusses communication, shared decision-making, teamwork, and quality measurement.

Contact: American Academy of Family Physicians, P.O. Box 11210, Shawnee Mission, KS 66207-1210, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-2237 Fax: (913) 906-6075 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aafp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Communication, Cultural competence, Cultural factors, Families, Health care, Health promotion, Moral values, Pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about state policies on providing emergency contraception. The fact sheet offers background on the topic and also includes highlights of how state policies on providing emergency-contraception-related services differ.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Emergency contraception, Moral values, Pregnancy, Religion, State legislation

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about state policies on insurance coverage of contraceptives. The fact sheet offers background on the topic, particularly as these policies relate to whether employers or insurers can refuse to cover contraceptives on religious or moral grounds. The fact sheet also includes highlights of how states differ in terms of their contraceptive insurance coverage policies.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Contraception, Ethics, Insurance, Moral values, Religion, State legislation

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about state policies on refusing to provide health services. The fact sheet offers background on policies allowing health professionals, institutions, and pharmacies or pharmacists to refuse to provide health services (particularly abortion, contraception, or sterilization services) owing to religious or moral objections. The fact sheet also includes highlights of how state policies on providing health services differ.

Contact: Guttmacher Institute, 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Access to health care, Contraception, Moral values, Religion, State legislation, Sterilization

Annotation: This manual is intended to help clergy and other religious professionals address the complex pastoral, moral, and ethical issues raised by assisted reproductive technologies. The manual provides an overview of the technologies and how they are used, examines traditional religious perspectives on reproduction and fertility, and outlines a model of pastoral care and counseling to help religious leaders effectively minister to individuals and communities. The manual also suggests ways that congregations and denominations can support, educate, and engage in the ethical issues surrounding assisted reproductive technologies.

Contact: Religious Institute, 21 Charles Street, Suite 140, Westport, CT 06880, Telephone: (203) 222-0055 Web Site: http://www.religiousinstitute.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-893270-58-9.

• PDF

Keywords: Clergy, Communities, Counseling, Education, Ethics, Fertility, Moral values, Pastoral care, Religious organizations, Reproduction, Reproductive technologies

Annotation: This paper synthesizes research addressing questions of how Latino parents' values, parenting practices, and potential experiences of discrimination, poverty, and barriers to accessing resources help shape Latino adolescent sexual behavior. The paper begins by describing the what is known about parenting practices as they relate to adolescent sexual behaviors. Next, the paper focuses on the strengths and challenges of immigrant parents in developing bicultural parenting practices.The paper then presents interventions that have demonstrated improvement in adolescent behavioral outcomes through enhancement of parenting practices. Finally, the paper presents the research, programmatic, and policy implications of the results. Also included are a list of tips for providers who work with Latino families and one appendix: a script for discussion of confidential medical care. The paper includes references and an executive summary, as well.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescent behavior, Adolescent sexuality, Cultural factors, Discrimination, Families, Hispanic Americans, Immigrants, Intervention, Moral values, Parenting, Parents, Poverty, Public policy, Research

Annotation: This report aims to articulate a full range of policies necessary to ensure reproductive freedom and health care, delineate the values associated with support for such policies, and discuss the benefits of a proposed agenda. The report also sets forth a proposed role for government in enabling individuals to make decisions about sexuality, reproduction, and family. The report, which includes an executive summary, discusses the four cornerstones of a progressive reproductive health and rights agenda, progressive values and principles for reproductive health and rights, and the benefits of a comprehensive reproductive health and rights agenda. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 Fax: (202) 682-1867 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Family, Health care, Human rights, Moral values, Public policy, Reproductive health, Reproductive rights, Sexuality, Women', s rights

Annotation: This report is based on a review conducted by the Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States of nine of the most widely available abstinence-only-until-marriage curricula designed for junior and senior high school students that emphasize the negative consequences of premarital sexual activity, portray sexual behavior as universally dangerous, and deny young people information about pregnancy and disease prevention. The report discusses the educational philosophy of these curricula and their scope and context. Topics covered include sexuality and abstinence, religion and morality, fear and shame, sexual pressure, sexual arousal, sexually transmitted diseases, HIV and AIDS, condoms and contraception, marriage and family structure, gender, sexual orientation, pregnancy options and abortion, teaching methods, curricula strong point, and the future of sexuality education. Brief reviews of the curricula are provided. A list of abstinence-education curricula that do not include messages of fear or shame is included. The report includes references.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Abortion, Abstinence, Adolescent sexuality, Condoms, Contraception, Curricula, Families, HIV, Marriage, Moral values, Pregnancy, Prevention, Religion, Sexual identity, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses how parental influence can affect children's decisions about sex, love, and values. The fact sheet discusses what research says about parental influence, the media's role in influencing adolescents, adolescent boys, the role of fathers, and what parents can do.

Contact: National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.thenationalcampaign.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Families, Fathers, Love, Mass media, Moral values, Parent child relations, Parents, Prevention, Research

Annotation: The papers collected in this volume reveal the contribution of African American voices to understanding the relationship between justice and care. The first part of the text provides a psychological perspective on moral formation among African Americans during childhood, adolescence, and adulthood. Part two provides practical, pedagogical perspectives drawn from the past, present, and ongoing challenges of African American educational practices, focusing on what African American voices have to say about promoting care, justice, and moral formation within schools. Appendices include information on chapter-correlated films that illustrate these values and a summary of ways in which each chapter contributes to the understanding of each of the justice-and-care primary dual values. References, information on the contributors, and an index are included.

Contact: Teacher's College Press, 1234 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (800) 575-6566 Secondary Telephone: (212) 678-3929 Fax: (212) 678-4149 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tcpress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8077-4449-2.

Keywords: Blacks, Criminal justice system, Education, Life skills, Moral development, Moral values, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Racism, Social discrimination, Social integration, Social values

Annotation: This pamphlet helps parents of young children use everyday interactions to teach their children the basic skills they need to cooperate, get along with others, and be enthusiastic learners. The brochure provide tips for helping children develop skills in four key areas: language and literacy, thinking, self-control, and self-confidence. Tips are divided by age ranges (0-12 months, 12-24 months, and 24-36 months). Information about television viewing and imparting values and beliefs is also included.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org $30.00 for packet of 20; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-943657-87-3.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Infant development, Language, Learning, Learning activities, Literacy, Moral values, Parent child relations, Parents, School readiness, Self control, Self esteem, Social interaction, Television, Young children

Annotation: This report provides background on youth-led organizations and highlights five youth-led social justice efforts, describing the lessons they have learned and the tools they have developed. The organizations are: (1) Youth Organizations United (HIV education and reproductive health policy), (2) Lummi CEDAR Project (respecting traditional values, building intergenerational bridges, and supporting youth-led community organizing, (3) Kids As Self Advocates (educating about youth with disabilities), (4) About Face Youth Theater (empowering lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth and their allies), and (5) National Conference for Community and Justice (fighting bias, bigotry, and racism).

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Community organizations, Community programs, Education, HIV infection, Leadership, Moral values, Participation, Public policy, Racism, Reproductive health, Social change, Social values, Young adults

Annotation: This videotape and the leader's discussion guide that accompany it suggests ways that parents, community organizations, civic groups, and educators can instill moral values and belief systems in the children and adolescents in their communities. The guide provides scripts that help emphasize various aspects of the video for presentations made for different groups as well as general suggestions for presentations. The assets themselves fall within broader groupings such as emotional support, standards for behavior, structuring the use of time, educational commitment, positive values, and social competencies.

Contact: Search Institute, The Banks Building, 615 First Avenue N.E., Suite 125, Minneapolis, MN 55413, Telephone: (612) 376-8955 Secondary Telephone: (800) 888-7828 Contact Phone: (800) 888-7828 Fax: (612) 376-8956 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.search-institute.org/ $24.95 plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Behavior, Children, Community role, Educational materials, Moral development, Parenting, Social values, Videotapes

Annotation: This book outlines ways that people involved in youth ministries can integrate service and learning into their programs. It develops the idea of service learning and considers the impact of youth service programs. Steps for planning and implementing service-learning programs are provided, and suggestions are offered for evaluating the programs. The book also suggests 135 programs that can be started at the local level.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior, Community service, Moral development, Programs, Religious organizations, Services, Social values, Youth

Annotation: The articles in this book are based on papers presented at seminars on "Children and Health Care: Moral and Social Issues" at East Carolina University School of Medicine in Greenville, North Carolina, in the fall of 1986. The first section examines children's needs for health care and the history of U.S. federal initiatives to provide for those needs. The second section explores children's own views of sickness and death. In the third section, the editors raise questions about what role children should have in health care choices, and what the limits of parental authority should be; they are adressed from moral as well as legal standpoints. The final section reflects on the role of the pediatrician indirectly caring for children.

Contact: Kluwer Academic Publishers, 101 Philip Drive, Norwell, MA 02061, Telephone: (617) 871-6600 Contact Phone: (781) 871-6600 Fax: 617-871-6528 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wkap.nl Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1556080786.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Child health, Conferences, Death, Decision making, Federal MCH programs, Health attitudes, Health policy, Health services, Moral values, Pediatricians, Role, Social factors

Annotation: This report discusses the 23 million American families with children under 13 years of age and how parents are coping with the problems of raising their children in a period of rapid social change. The focus of the study is the family unit: the parents and children. The study is designed to provide understanding, insight and statistically reliable information on aspects of parent-child relationships including discipline, health, money, nutrition, the roles of television and advertising, schools and education, the impact of working mothers, and the transmission of values from parent to child.

Keywords: Advertising, Child rearing, Children, Discipline, Education, Families, Health, Moral values, Nutrition, Parent child relations, Schools, Social values, Television, United States, Working mothers

Annotation: This volume is the last collection of papers from the Golden Anniversary White House Conference on Children and Youth. It contains essays specially prepared for the conference as well as addresses delivered at the various sessions. The book deals with three major areas concerning American adolescents. Part one discusses favorable and unfavorable conditions contributing to the realization of the fullest potential of the individual. Part two examines the significance of the automobile and the growing number of adolescent drivers, minority intergroup relations, pornography, juvenile delinquency, and the problems of children of migratory workers. Part three investigates modern standards and ideals of adolescents and adults, and the lack of commitment to either.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Automobiles, Conferences, Interpersonal relations, Juvenile delinquency, Migrants, Minority groups, Moral values, United States

Annotation: This special issue of the "Journal of Family Issues" is dedicated to the role of family relations within the context of cultural diversity based on racial and ethnic differences. It includes empirical and theoretical articles. Topics covered include family life and racial and ethnic diversity; social support systems for employed African Americans and Anglo-Americans; differences between rural and urban family structures for African Americans; the timing of marriages among Chinese and Japanese Americans; the patterns of care for elderly Mexican Americans; the roles of race, ethnicity, and gender in the perceptions of fairness; and the relationships between the assimilation model, family life, and race and ethnicity and how these relationships affect the care of minority welfare mothers.

Contact: Sage Publications, 2455 Teller Road, Thousand Oaks, CA 91320-2218, Telephone: (805) 499-9774 Secondary Telephone: (800)818-7243 Fax: (805) 499-0871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sagepub.com $15.00; discounts available for bulk orders; prepayment required for orders under $25.00.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Blacks, Cultural diversity, Elder care, Employment, Ethnic factors, Family characteristics, Family life, Family relations, Family relations, Marriage, Mexican Americans, Moral values, Mothers, Racial factors, Rural population, Sex role, Social values, Urban population, Welfare services, Whites, Women