Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report summaries of five model programs in violence prevention supported by the New York State Department of Health. Several programs focus on training for youth and parents. Other topics addressed include mentoring, community service, mediation, conflict resolution, and rape crisis services.

Keywords: Model programs, New York, Violence prevention

Annotation: This paper presents a prevention model to reduce problem behavior in adolescents by identifying risk factors and protective factors in an adolescent's environment and targeting gaps between the two at all stages of the adolescent's environmental system—individual, family, peers, school, work, and community. The paper reviews current research on risk and protective factors that influence the well being of youth and suggests implications of this research for developing comprehensive community based prevention programs.

Contact: National 4-H Council, 7100 Connecticut Avenue, Chevy Chase, MD 20815, Telephone: (301) 961-2800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fourhcouncil.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Community programs, Environmental influences, Models, Prevention programs, Protective factors, Risk factors

Annotation: This report examines the use of technology to overcome barriers to learning. Topics include information systems management, multimedia aids to facilitate intervention, in situ and distance learning, and model programs and guides. A list of additional references is also included. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Education, Information systems, Intervention, Learning, Mental health, Model programs, Technology

Annotation: This document describes seven science-based approaches in adolescent pregnancy, HIV, and sexually transmitted infection prevention. Topics include assessment, health education and behavior change theory, logic models, science-based programs, adaptation and fidelity, characteristics of promising programs, and process and outcome evaluation. Additional topics include the benefits of using science-based approaches, ten steps for getting to outcomes, and training and technical assistance.

Contact: Healthy Teen Network, 1501 Saint Paul Street, Suite 124, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 685-0410 Fax: (410) 687-0481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyteennetwork.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy prevention, Assessment, Behavior modification, HIV, Health behavior, Health education, Methods, Models, Outcome evaluation, Prevention programs, Process evaluation, Sexually transmitted diseases

Annotation: This chart lists the highest-rated strategies and change ideas from the first cohort of hospitals on the National Action Partnership to Promote Safe Sleep (NAPPSS-IIN). Categories include active endorsement of American Academy of Pediatric guidelines for infant safe sleep; knowledge, skills and self-efficacy of infant caregivers to practice safe sleep for every sleep; and activated community champions.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• Link

Keywords: Infants, Model programs, Prevention, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This resource highlights practices identified by research NICHQ conducted to inform the Missouri Safe Sleep Coalition’s Strategic Plan to reduce infant unsafe sleep fatalities in Missouri.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org

• Link

Keywords: Infants, Model programs, Safety, Sleep position

Annotation: This report describes the maternal mortality review process in the state of New Mexico, presents key findings on pregnancy-associated deaths in the state for the period 2015-2018, and provides recommendations from the Review Committee aimed at reducing maternal deaths. The data indicates cause of death, race/ethnicity, place of birth, type of insurance, and other factors.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nmhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This website explains how Perinatal Quality Collaboratives (PQCs) work to improve the quality of healthcare for mothers and babies. PCQs are networks of perinatal health care providers that include hospitals, clinicians, and public health professionals working to improve pregnancy outcomes through quality improvement initiatives and use of best available evidence-based strategies. The site includes a video introduction to PQCs; a webinar series; a guide to help states developed PQCs, success stories, journal articles, and links to additional resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Infant health, Maternal health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Quality assurance, Regional programs, State initiatives

Annotation: This action brief discusses the importance of prioritizing respectful maternity care, calling attention to the need to support dignity, autonomy, and companionship in pregnancy, birth, and postpartum care. The brief highlights five anti-discriminatory action steps highlighted in the White House blueprint for addressing the maternal crisis and links to a wide variety of programs and resources aimed at improving maternal health outcomes. Statistical data related to maternal maltreatment and a description of factors affecting progress are included

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• PDF

Keywords: , Barriers, Federal programs, Health care disparities, Health equity, Initiatives, Maternal health, Models, Perinatal care, Quality improvement, Racial discrimination

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist professionals in planning, launching, implementing, and sustaining school-based dental sealant programs. This edition pairs the manual with a training that further prepares professionals to plan and operate programs. In addition to offering a step-wise approach for planning and implementing school-based dental sealant programs, the Seal America manual addresses issues related to referring students with unmet oral health needs to a dental clinic or office. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Seal In A Smile Video

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Model programs, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Program planning, Referrals, School age children, Schools, Sustainability, Training

Annotation: This report offers a description of state-based oral health surveillance systems and provides guidelines and recommendations related to these systems, research evidence, best practice criteria, and state practice examples. A summary of evidence supporting state-based oral health surveillance systems is included. Public health surveillance systems, the National Oral Health Surveillance System, building an oral health surveillance system, collecting and disseminating data, evaluating a public health surveillance system, initiatives and coordinated efforts, and future considerations are discussed.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Model programs, Oral health, Public health, Research, State programs, Surveillance

Annotation: This report presents an overview of important elements to consider when incorporating social determinants of health (SDoH)--defined as the nonmedical factors that influence health outcomes--into a community health strategy. It describes SDoH factors, including education access, quality healthcare, strong neighborhood and built-environment, economic stability, and social and community context, and it explains how data provides an additional layer of valuable information. Principles for the ethical use of SDoH, importance of SDoH in identifying barriers to care, tracking the policy landscape, assessing SDoH programs, and common challenges are among the topics addressed.

Contact: Executives for Health Innovation, One Thomas Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington , DC 20005, Telephone: 202-624-3270 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ehidc.org

• Link

Keywords: Community programs, Health equity, Initiatives, Model programs, Program development, Public health, Social factors

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and resources to help communities build a youth mentoring program. It describes the benefits of mentoring programs, the various types, and the factors to consider when setting up such a program. Individual sections focus on the following: Building youth mentoring programs; recruiting mentors for your programs; training adult mentors; recruiting youth to your mentoring program; building youth/menor relationships; youth goal setting: and soliciting feedback. The toolkit also includes checklists, examples of actionable steps, mentoring applications, and powerpoint slides summarizing key points.

Contact: University of Kansas, Work Group for Community Health and Development, 1000 Sunnyside Avenue, Dole Center, Room 4082, Lawrence, KS 66045-7555, Telephone: (785) 864-0533 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://communityhealth.ku.edu

• Link

Keywords: Aolescents, Mentors, Model programs, Program development, Recruitment, Training, Training materials, Youth

Annotation: This report provides a review of medical-dental integration (MDI) models used to deliver integrated oral health and overall health that have been implemented in the last 10 years. The report introduces the issue and provides information to help increase understanding of MDI model approaches and of the challenges and barriers MDI models face and solutions that have been implemented and to promote the sustainability of MDI models. A discussion of the methodology is included, along with key findings.

Contact: Delta Dental Institute, 301 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 310W, Washington, DC 20001, Web Site: https://www.deltadental.com/institute/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Medical care, Model programs, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This set of national health and safety standards provides information about high-quality health and safety practices and policies for early care and education settings. Topics include staffing; program activities for healthy development; health promotion and protection; nutrition and food service; facilities, supplies, equipment, and environmental health; play areas, playgrounds, and transportation; infectious diseases; children with special health care needs and disabilities; policies; and licensing and community action. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-58110-438-7 (American Academy of Pediatrics).

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Child care centers, Child development centers, Child health, Child safety, Children, Early childhood development, Health promotion, Infant health, Infants, Model programs, Standards, Young children

Annotation: This video series for primary care health professionals and others focuses on partnership and teamwork in pediatric care delivery. Contents include prerequisites of and strategies for implementation and examples of best practice. Topics include implementing team huddles, enhancing care partnership support, and starting and supporting family advisory groups [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Medical home, Model programs, Multimedia, Patient care teams, Pediatric care, Primary care, Teamwork

Annotation: This resource provides information on the importance of breastfeeding and the role of hospitals in breastfeeding success. It describes a program to encourage adoption of five evidence based maternity care practices that have been found to increase breastfeeding rates. Contents include current breastfeeding rates in Kansas, participating hospitals, endorsements, a hospital application agreement and form, and program logos and branding materials.

Contact: United Methodist Health Ministry Fund, P.O. Box 1384, 100 East First, Hutchinson, KS 67504-1384, Telephone: (800) 369-7191 Secondary Telephone: (316) 662-8586 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthfund.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evidence based medicine, Health promotion, Hospital accreditation, Infant health, Kansas, Maternal health, Model programs, State programs

Annotation: This tip sheet for professionals providing transition services in pediatric and adult primary and specialty care settings summarizes innovative transition payment models. Contents include alternative payment methodologies and transition-related CPT codes and corresponding Medicare fees. Enhanced fee-for-service payments, pay-for-performance, capitation, bundled payments, shared savings, and administrative or infrastructure payments are among the topics covered.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• 2022

Keywords: Adolescents, Financing, Model programs, Pediatric care, Primary care, Reimbursement, Transition planning, Young adults

Annotation: This transition payment tip sheet is produced by Got Transition and the American Academy of Pediatrics in order to support the delivery of recommended transition services in pediatric and adult care settings. The tip sheet begins with a listing of transition-related CPT codes and corresponding Medicare fees and relative value units (RVUs), effective as of 2022. The resource also includes a set of clinical vignettes with recommended CPT and ICD coding, as well as detailed coding descriptions for each transition-related code.

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Financing, Model programs, Pediatric care, Primary care, Reimbursement, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Young adults

Annotation: This brief summarizes several initiatives to advance health and/or racial equity in home visiting. Some examples include: Home Visiting Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network 2.0 (HV CoIIN 2.0) Health Equity Collaborative, Michigan Home Visiting Initiative (MHV), and Massachusetts Racial Equity Movement. The brief also highlights the National Leadership Academy for the Public's Health (NLAPH) program.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Early childhood development, Ethnic groups, Family support services, Health equity, Home visiting, Model programs, Race, Social factors