Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This research brief describes state options and actions that can be taken to extend Medicaid-related pregnancy coverage beyond 60 days postpartum. Included are examples of state legislation and federally-approved waiver requests.

Contact: Prenatal-to-3 Policy Impact Center , Vanderbilt University , Peabody College of Education and Human Development, Nashville, TN 37203, E-mail: https://pn3policy.org/contact/ Web Site: https://pn3policy.org/

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Barriers, Expanded eligibility, Medicaid, Model legislation, Postpartum care, State legislation

Annotation: This report discusses difficulties related to accessing oral health care in Arizona and how licensing mid-level oral health practitioners (dental therapists) to perform routine oral health procedures could make care more accessible and affordable. Topics include the importance of oral health, crossing the border for care, reimbursement rates, dental therapy, dental therapy supervision, and the safety of dental therapy.

Contact: Goldwater Institute , 500 East Coronado Road, Phoenix, AZ 85004, Telephone: (602) 462-5000 Fax: (602) 256-7045 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.goldwaterinstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Arizona, Dental care, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Models, Oral health, Policy development, State legislation, Underserved communities, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This brief provides information about the role of dental therapists in effectively expanding access to oral health care in underserved communities. The brief describes barriers to care, how programs in Alaska and Minnesota approached setting their scope of practice, policy recommendations for legislation, and advocacy strategies.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Costs, Dental care, Equal opportunities, Health care disparities, Models, Oral health, State legislation, Underserved communities, Work force

Annotation: This report for policy makers, agency officials, non-governmental organizations and associations, and others who work to promote quality child care and advance children's health provides information about laws, regulations, and programs to address indoor environmental contaminants in child care facilities. Contents include an overview of how policies address indoor environmental quality issues in licensed child care facilities and, for each issue, examples of policy strategies for states to consider including notable non-regulatory initiatives that are being implemented by state agencies. Topics include carbon monoxide alarms; mold and dampness; building ventilation and temperature; pesticides, lead-based paint; asbestos; other chemical exposures (cleaning, renovation, and consumer products); facility site/location; and state non-regulatory activities (education, assistance and incentives to advance best practices). The appendix provides information about where to find state statutes and regulations online.

Contact: Environmental Law Institute, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 939-3800 Web Site: http://www.eli.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care centers, Child health, Environmental exposure, Facility design and construction, Hazardous materials, Health education, Model programs, Policy development, Regulations, State initiatives, State legislation

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Health insurance programs, Model legislation, Policy

Annotation: This report presents an assessment of oral health needs and policy recommendations for North Dakota. Contents include an assessment of the oral health work force and service capacity, potential unmet need for oral health care, and stakeholder group perspectives. Descriptions of existing oral health programs and initiatives in the state and proposed models to improve oral health status are included.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Financing, Health status, Models, Needs assessment, North Dakota, Oral health, Policy development, Professional education, Program development, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Research, State legislation, State programs, Training, Work force

Annotation: This issue brief examines the components of the essential health insurance benefit package for children that will be a requirement of all healthcare insurers offering plans for purchase through the Exchanges. The Exchanges are the mechanism created as part of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) for individuals and small businesses to compare different health insurance packages and purchase coverage within their own states. The brief explains how the Exchanges will operate (states will receive federal funding to assist with establishing the Exchanges and will have flexibility in operating them.) It proposes that Medicaid serve as a model for these essential services and addresses the following questions: (1) which children will get coverage through the exchanges? and (2) what should the benefit package look like?

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Health care reform, Health insurance programs, Legislation, Medicaid, Models, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Annotation: This policy brief examines the affordability of coverage options that will become available as states implement the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA). It describes what is meant by the term affordability and examines the concept of affordability within the context of healthcare reform. Drawing on lessons learned from successful children's health insurance programs (CHIP) in various states, the brief also provides guidance intended to help inform state policymakers.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Federal legislation, Models, National health care reform, Policy development, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report examines the legal and regulatory authority for public health activities, identifies past efforts to develop model public health legislation, and describes the implications of the changing social and policy context for public health laws and regulations. Topics include the law and public health infrastructure, law as a tool for improving population health, and intersectoral action on health.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $39.00 plus shipping and handling; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-18691-9.

• Link
• Report Brief

Keywords: Health policy, Model legislation, Public health infrastructure, Regulations

Annotation: This report summarizes current approaches to address bullying in the 46 states with anti-bullying laws and the 41 states that have created anti-bullying policies as models for schools. The report shows the prevalence of state efforts to combat bullying over the last several years and looks at legislation enacted between 1999 and 2010 to introduce or amend statues that address bullying and related behaviors in schools. The report also examines the extent to which states' bullying laws and policies contain the common key components of state anti-bulling laws identified in the December 2011 guidance document compiled by the U.S. Department of Education titled Anti-Bullying Policies: Examples of Provisions in State Laws. The appendices include state-by-state comparisons of anti-bulling legislation, policy, and definitions of bullying and cyber-bullying,

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Abstract (Word)

Keywords: Bullying, Comparative analysis, Models, Policy, Prevention, School linked programs, State legislation, Studies

Annotation: This toolkit contains resources to help women's health physicians advocate for maternal mortality review (MMR) and standardized reporting to improve pregnancy outcomes in their states and communities. Contents include a sample legislative position statement, instructions for drafting a bill, a list of state MMR rates and committees, the U.S. standard certificate of death and sample certificate, and a model bill on the Standardized Vital Statistics Reporting Act.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Legislation, Maternal mortality, Model programs, Pregnancy outcome, Professional standards review, Program improvement

Annotation: This brief describes a partnership between a school district and a children's hospital to increase compliance with state law requiring all students in kindergarten and first grade entering public school for the first time to receive an oral health assessment. Contents include information about the district's contract with the hospital to provide the health team for its 10 elementary schools and preschool program, the standardized format and forms for data collection and reporting, and coordination and implementation of the oral-health-assessment plan (screening by volunteers and referral to the school nurse for follow-up care). Topics include the percentage of children identified with urgent, possible, and no oral concerns by school and compliance rates for select schools and the district as a whole.

Contact: Rady Children's Hospital-San Diego, 3020 Children's Way, San Diego, CA 92123, Telephone: (858) 576-1700 Web Site: https://www.rchsd.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: California, Contract services, Dental caries, Elementary schools, Legal responsibility, Legislation, Local initiatives, Model programs, Nurses, Oral health, Pediatric hospitals, Referrals, Risk assessment, School age children, School districts, School health services, Screening, Statistical data

Annotation: This policy brief reviews the key provisions of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA) that advance the concept of the medical home in public and private health insurance and recommends ways the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services can use the medical home model to advance the management and treatment of childhood asthma. The brief focuses on how the medical home model facilitates comprehensive care by fostering partnerships between patients, primary care doctors, and other health providers and highlights the potential role of community health centers (CHCs) -- one of the providers PPACA designates as a health home -- in treating children with asthma. The report demonstrates how medical home performance can be measured using evidence based on the treatment and management of childhood asthma.

Contact: RCHN Community Health Foundation, 1633 Boradway, 18th Floor, New York, NY 10019, Telephone: (212) 246-1122 x700 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rchnfoundation.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Child health, Federal legislation, Health care reform, Medical home, Model programs

Annotation: This white paper highlights the strengths and competencies of the federal Healthy Start Initiative. It was produced in response to the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act designed to strengthen and approve home visiting programs, improve service coordination for at-risk communities, and identify and provide comprehensive evidence-based home visiting services to families that reside in at-risk communities. The paper provides a brief history of the Healthy Start Initiative, an overview of the Healthy Start network and core services, key attributes of the Healthy Start home visitation model, Healthy Start model programs, and implications for health reform. A map indicating Healthy Start locations in the United States and a logic model for national evaluation of Healthy Start programs are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Healthy Start Association, 1325 G Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 296-2195 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nationalhealthystart.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal legislation, Federal programs, Health care reform, Healthy Start, Home visiting, Infant mortality, Model programs, Prevention programs

Annotation: This mandatory document is the first step in the state of Kansas' multi-step process to identify high risk communities for home visiting services and assess the state's capacity to provide services in high risk communities. The document contains information that is supplemental to the Kansas grant under the Affordable Care Act (ACA) Maternal, Infant and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program. Included are community and state data reports; a report on the quality and capacity of existing home visiting programs; a report on the state capacity to provide substance use disorder treatment services; and a summary of results and plans to address unmet needs. The document describes the Kansas program as one that envisions child development within socio-ecological and life course development frameworks.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Bureau for Children, Youth, and Families, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 220, Topeka, KS 66612-1274, Telephone: (785) 291-3368 Secondary Telephone: (800) 332-6262 Web Site: http://www.kdheks.gov/bfh/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: High risk groups, Home visiting, Kansas, Legislation, Life course, Models, Needs assessment, State MCH programs

Annotation: This action kit is intended to help state advocates and policymakers use policy as a means to help women of color and low-income women access the full range of reproductive care options. The kit identifies a variety of proactive policy initiatives, provides model legislative and regulatory language, and suggests strategies to promote these initiatives. Chapter topics in reproductive health care include reducing racial and ethnic disparities; promoting cultural and linguistic competence; expanding and improving access to family planning services under Medicaid, affordable abortion services, obstetric services; and screening, treatment, and prevention programs for sexually transmitted and HIV programs. The appendix includes a directory of research and advocacy organizations to aid in developing a policy campaign.

Contact: NARAL, Pro-Choice America , 1156 15th Street, N.W., Suite 700, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 973-3000 Fax: (202) 973-3096 Web Site: http://www.naral.org $20.00; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Cultural sensitivity, Family planning, HIV, Health policy, Linguistic competence, Low income groups, Minority groups, Model legislation, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social policy, Women', s health

Annotation: This book uses country experiences and practical examples to explain how to establish comprehensive national tobacco control policies for tobacco control. Addressed to policymakers who have no specialized training in epidemiology, the book aims to demystify the procedures of data collection and analysis that are a component of any long-term comprehensive program for tobacco control. The collection and use of information that is easy to obtain and directly relevant to the establishment and monitoring of national policies are addressed. Part one explains the need for national action to control tobacco use, discusses seven basic principles and corresponding strategies for tobacco control, and describes the steps to implement effective tobacco control programs. Part two offers a guide to the collection and use of data for monitoring the tobacco epidemic and assessing health effects of tobacco use. The appendices include a model law on tobacco control, advice on sampling for a national survey, and several model questionnaires.

Contact: WHO Press, World Health Organization, 20 Avenue Appia, 1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland, Telephone: +41 22 791 3264 Fax: +41 22 791 4857 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://apps.who.int/bookorders/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 92 4 154508 9.

Keywords: Assessment, Data analysis, Data collection, International health, Model legislation, National surveys, Policy development, Prevention, Questionnaires, Tobacco, Tobacco use

Annotation: This manual is a primer on creating comprehensive community-based services for children and families through legislative reform at the state level. It reviews the changes in the provision of public services which has precipitated the need for reform, indicates strategies which will produce a feasible strategy to achieve legislative reform, and provides the tools for doing so. The manual also includes sample legislation, suggests ways to adapt it to individual state criteria, briefly reviews extant federal and state legislation, and lists additional resources.

Contact: Finance Project, 1401 New York Avenue, Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-4200 Fax: (202) 628-1293 E-mail: [email protected] Available in libraries.

Keywords: Children, Community based services, Comprehensive programs, Education, Families, Health services, Model legislation, Public policy, Reform, Social services, State government

Annotation: This report presents a blueprint for improving the health status of Washington state residents through prevention and improved capacity for public health service delivery. Topics include: the requirements of the Health Services Act of 1993; public health capacity; finances and governance; key public health problems; use of urgent need funds; and plans for further development of the program. The report includes a glossary.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Contact Phone: (206) 753-5871 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Access to health care, Accountability, Case studies, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Data, Evaluation, Guidelines, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Health care utilization, Health promotion, Model programs, Outcome evaluation, Prevention programs, Process evaluation, Public health infrastructure, Public health programs, Quality assurance, Standards, State health care reform, State legislation, Statewide planning, Violence prevention, Washington

Annotation: This report describes examples of coordination between school-based health centers and managed care providers in seven localities: Multnomah County, Oregon; St. Paul, Minnesota (RamseyCare); Baltimore, Maryland; Minneapolis, Minnesota; Brooklyn, New York; Hillsborough County, Florida; and San Francisco, California. The level of coordination varies from total reimbursement for all services performed to the provision of a limited number of services based on prior authorization. Appendixes include an example of Oregon legislation mandating coordination, and sample contracts between school-based clinics and managed care providers.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, c/o U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Public Affairs, Cohen Building, Room 5541, 330 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-1343 Contact Phone: (202) 619-1343 Fax: (202) 260-8512 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://oig.hhs.gov Available at no charge. Document Number: OEI-05-92-00681.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, EPSDT, Evaluation, Financing, Health insurance, Legal issues, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid managed care, Model programs, Primary care, Reimbursement, School based clinics, School health services, Service coordination, State health care reform