Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website and mobile application provides information and functions to help parents make informed car safety decisions. Features include vehicle crash test ratings, help installing car seats, and safety headlines and alerts including recalls on car seats and tires. Campaign marketing tools are also available. Available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 1200 New Jersey Avenue, S.E., West Building, Washington, DC 20590, Telephone: (888) 327-4236 Secondary Telephone: (800)424-9153 Web Site: http://www.nhtsa.dot.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Apple App

Keywords: Adolescents, Car seats, Children, Infants, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Motor vehicle safety, Multimedia, Parent education, Parents, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This set of resources includes a mobile app for parents, caregivers, and educators and is designed to help start a conversation with children about bullying. The materials describe strategies to prevent bullying and explain how to recognize warning signs that a child is being bullied or is bullying. Flyers, media kits, and posters are among the downloadable materials.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bullying, Children, Communication, Consumer education materials., Mobile applications, Parent child relations, Parents, Violence prevention

Annotation: This curriculum for health professionals and educators comprises eight courses addressing oral health. Courses focus on the relationship between oral health and systemic health; child oral health; adult oral health; acute oral health problems; pregnancy and women’s oral health; caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling; the oral exam; and oral health for older adults. The courses can be taken for continuing education credit or simply to gain knowledge on the topics.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental care, Distance education, Financing, Infants, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: This resource provides information on the care map application, a tool to assist families and the professionals they partner with to coordinate and plan health care for children with special health care needs and for all children. The website includes a how-to guide for families and a guide for professionals supporting families. This resource won the 2020 Care Coordination for Children with Special Health Care Needs Challenge sponsored by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Contact: Boston Children's Hospital , 300 Longwood Avenue, Boston, MA 02115, Telephone: (617) 355-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-7944 Web Site: http://www.childrenshospital.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Children with special health care needs, Mobile applications

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Mobile Application
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinic administration, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Health services delivery, Infection control, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Oral health, Patient care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Safety

Annotation: This mobile app and poster provide information for parents and other caregivers about oral injuries, including how to prevent oral trauma in primary teeth, what to do in case of a fall that affects permanent teeth, and what to do if a permanent tooth is broken or knocked out. The app is available in Arabic, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Indonesian, Italian, Malay, Northern Sami, Norwegian Bokmal, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Simplified Chinese, Spanish, Swedish, and Turkish. The poster is available in Arabic, Bulgarian, Chinese, Dutch, English, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Italian, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Slovenian, Spanish, Tamil, Turkish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: International Association of Dental Traumatology, RES Seminars Inc., 4425 Cass Street, Suite A, San Diego, CA 92019, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://iadt-dentaltrauma.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Critical care, Dental care, Emergency medical services, Falls, First aid, Injuries, Injury prevention, International health, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Posters, Safety, Trauma care

Annotation: This resource provides health tips timed to a woman’s stage of pregnancy or an infant’s age. The service enables pregnant women and new mothers to get health information delivered regularly to their mobile phones by text message. Messages focus on topics such as nutrition, safe sleep, breastfeeding, oral health, and tobacco use. The program also connects women to public clinics and support services for prenatal and infant care. Messages are available in English and Spanish. A mobile application is also available.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education, Health services delivery, Infant health, Mobile applications, Parent education, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Technology

Annotation: This resource provides military and veteran parents ideas for enhancing everyday moments with their infant or toddler. Contents include behavior tips, ideas for creating activities, and information and ideas on self-care. Parents can personalize the app with their infant’s picture and create a photo gallery of their child’s moods. Parents can sort the information by their young child’s age and specify their situation as At Home, Leaving Soon, Deployed, Home Again, a Veteran, or visiting a hospital. The app also allows access to a series of videos on parenting for military and veteran families. The resource is available in English and Spanish. A handout to share with parents and professionals is also available.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• Program Website
• Handout To Share With Parents And Professionals

Keywords: Infants, Military, Mobile applications, Parents, Spanish language materials, Toddlers

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Mobile applications, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This tool is designed to support the day-to-day work of Head Start home visitors and those who work with them. Users can explore the home visitor’s handbook and other resources in a multimedia format. Topics include child development and early learning; family engagement and relationships; health, safety, and nutrition; program management and supervision; and regulations. The tool is accessible via mobile phone and tablet and offers home visitors the opportunity to read, review, rate, save, and organize materials. A video tutorial is included.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Head Start, Home visiting, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report presents findings from an evaluation to assess the implementation and effectiveness of Text4baby, a free text messaging program for pregnant women and new mothers with an infant up to age one. The program is designed to improve maternal and child health among underserved populations in the United States. Topics include awareness, participation, health information knowledge, and behavior among women receiving prenatal care from four community health centers. The evaluation also addressed the role of the public-private partnership and lessons learned about the use of text messaging to provide health information during pregnancy.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Community health centers, Health behavior, Health promotion, Infant health, Knowledge level, Maternal health, Mobile applications, Outreach, Participation, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns

Annotation: This app is designed to empower parents to begin a dialogue with their adolescent or young adult on important health topics, and help manage their own health. Features include a library of health and wellness topics to help parents have discussions with their teen or young adult. The app also provides parents with conversation starters for difficult or sensitive topics; health exams and preventive health information including vaccinations and well-visits; risk-oriented behavior, such as drinking, smoking, or sexual health; social media; and more.

Contact: Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine, 111 Deer Lake Road, Suite 100, Deerfield, IL 60015, Telephone: (847) 753-5226 Fax: (847) 480-9282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.adolescenthealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Communication, Mobile applications, Parents, Self care, Transition planning, Young adults

Annotation: This mobile application for pregnant women provides access to health advice and health care services offered by the Wyoming Department of Health. Features include week-by-week updates, a due date calculator, a weight gain calculator, pregnancy milestones, daily tips and affirmations, symptoms and issues, personalized healthy pregnancy actions, pregnancy programs from major health plans, and the BabyBoost relaxation tool. A version for women enrolled in Medicaid provides access to a nurse-staffed call line and other Medicaid-specific referral services.

Contact: Wyoming Department of Health, 401 Hathaway Building, Fourth Floor, Cheyenne, WY 82002 , Telephone: (307) 777-7656 Secondary Telephone: (866) 571-0944 Fax: (307) 777-7439 Web Site: http://wdh.state.wy.us Available from the website.

• IOS
• Android

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer education materials, Information services, Medicaid, Mobile applications, Pregnant women, Public health services, Referrals, Technology, Wyoming

Annotation: This mobile application for parents provides activities to support infants' and toddlers' early learning. The activities are organized by routine (commuting, chores, bedtime and bathtime, mealtime, and shopping). Parents can search activities by age (from birth to age 18 months, 18 to 36 months, and 3 to 5 years).

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• IOS
• Android

Keywords: Infants, Learning, Mobile applications, Play, Young children

Annotation: This report describes the results of a nationwide telephone survey of Text4baby participants, in the areas of reminders for appointments and immunizations, accessing health information, informing women of health information and medical issues, facilitating communication with medical providers, and helping women access services and make healthy choices for them and their baby. It also describes the perceived usefulness of Tex4baby and linguistic appropriateness for Spanish speakers,

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education, Mobile applications, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, Surveys, Technology

Annotation: This evidence-based care program addresses depression and anxiety with an integrated drug and alcohol program. The program helps users create myChallenges support resources, which are cognitive behavioral therapy-based tools for relapse prevention planning. With the help of motivational interviewing techniques, myStrength meets users where they are. myStrength can enhance care models by providing consumers with 24-hour access to web and mobile self-care tools.

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Mental health, Mobile applications

Annotation: This manual is designed to help school districts improve the health services they provide to students. Contents include a school-health-services assessment tool; injury and illness protocols; sample policies and procedures for emergency nursing services, concussion management, managing and preventing acute reactions to foods in the school setting, and medication administration; and nurse procedures. The manual also contains instructions for unlicensed assistive personnel on hand hygiene, oral care, feeding, transfers, and diapering for students who need such care at school.

Contact: Wisconsin Public Health Association, 563 Carter Court, Suite B, Kimberly, WI 54136, Telephone: (920) 882-3650 Contact Phone: (414) 875-7257 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: teresa@badgerbay,co Web Site: http://www.wpha.org Available from the website.

• School Nurse Procedure Manual (mobile Website)
• WISHeS Project Resources

Keywords: Assessment, Disease management, Disease prevention, Mobile applications, Nursing services, Oral health, Patient care management, Patient care planning, Protocols, School based management, School districts, School health services, School nurses, School personnel, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This database is designed for use by researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public in learning about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States. Contents include fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of sources. Users can search, sort, and view the data and create reports, charts, and maps based on the intent of injury; mechanism (cause) of injury; body region; nature (type) of injury; geographic location where the injury occurred; and the sex, race and ethnicity, and age of the injured person. Mobile applications (for iPhone and iPad) are also available.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• Program Site
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Data, Databases, Economics, Injuries, Integrated information systems, Mobile applications, Public health

Annotation: This website contains tools to help those who play a role in keeping children and adolescents safe from concussion and other serious brain injuries. Included are fact sheets, videos, training courses, and tutorials to assist parents in selecting a safety helmet, recognizing the signs of concussion, and understanding the science behind brain injuries and how to safeguard against them.

Contact: CDC Foundation, 600 Peachtree Street, N.E., Suite 1000, Atanta, GA 30308, Telephone: (404) 653-0790 Secondary Telephone: (888) 880-4CDC Fax: (404) 653-0330 Web Site: http;//www.cdcfoundation.org Available from the website.

• Website
• Fact Sheet For Highschool Parents

Keywords: Brain injuries, Head injuries, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Safety, Sports equipment, Sports injuries

Annotation: This resource is a community-edited guide to accessible playgrounds. Contents include a searchable database containing 2,505 playgrounds in 48 states and the District of Columbia and 996 cities.

Contact: National Public Radio, 1111 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Web Site: http://www.npr.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accessible facilities, Mobile applications, Physical activity, Playgrounds