Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report is designed to help Migrant and Seasonal Head Start (MSHS) grantees and federally qualified health centers establish partnerships that increase access to oral health services for children in MSHS and their families. The report provides information about MSHS programs, oral health in the programs, and the Health Resources and Services Administration’s Health Center Program. Topics include Head Start, oral health, oral health care, financing oral health care, and planning.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Community health centers, Financing, Head Start, Health care delivery, Migrant health centers, Migrants, Oral health, Public private partnerships, Young children

Annotation: This curriculum for staff (physicians, nurses, outreach workers, promotoras, and health specialists) from migrant and seasonal Head Start programs and migrant and community health centers addresses pediatric environmental health education for farmworker families. The core curriculum comprises six modules on ways that children are uniquely vulnerable to environmental toxins and how to prevent and reduce exposures. Each module begins with a menu of key information for planning lessons and activities. Activities and resources for educating farmworker families are also provided. Spanish language materials are included. A program evaluation of the pilot training-of-trainers conducted in Michigan and Florida in September 2010 is also available from the web site.

Contact: Physicians for Social Responsibility, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1012, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 667-4260 Fax: (202) 667-4201 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.psr.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child safety, Community health centers, Curricula, Environmental exposure, Head Start, Health education, Injury prevention, Interdisciplinary training, Migrant health centers, Spanish language materials, Training materials

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of migrant and seasonal farm workers and the health challenges they face and considers options for improving their health coverage and access to care. The brief, which includes an executive summary, discusses the study approach, provides a profile of farm workers and their families and of health centers that serve them, discusses barriers to Medicaid coverage in this population, and offers conclusions. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the brief. Endnotes are included.

Contact: Kaiser Program on Medicaid and the Uninsured, 1330 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (202) 347-5274 E-mail: http://www.kff.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://kff.org/about-kaiser-commission-on-medicaid-and-the-uninsured/ Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to health care, Families, Farm workers, Medicaid, Migrant health, Migrant health centers, Migrants

Annotation: This publication is designed to help practitioners and policymakers create links between schools serving low-income children and community or migrant health centers by providing lessons learned from case studies. It covers planning for school health programs; the nuts and bolts of program design and implementation; and modification, expansion, and sustainability. Appendices include a glossary, list of reference materials, contact information, and profiles of selected sites.

Keywords: Case studies, Community health centers, Low income groups, Migrant health centers, School based clinics, School health services

Annotation: This report examines the levels of coordination and collaboration between the maternal and child health (Title V MCH) programs authorized under Title V of the Social Security Act and the community and migrant health centers (C/MHC) programs authorized in Title III, sections 330 and 329 of the Public Health Services Act. It explains the background of the study, describes the methodology, summarizes the findings of a literature review, reviews telephone interviews with the directors of state primary care associations on current and future coordination, assesses the state Title V block grant applications for systems development and coordination plans, includes information from a survey taken by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) on Title V MCH and C/MHC coordination, and provides summaries of various C/MHC programs which have developed successful relationships with maternal and child health programs. The report concludes with suggestions for enhancing future coordination efforts. Appendices include selections from the literature review, summaries of the Title V Block Grant application review and the AMCHP survey, and a list of state and regional primary care associations.

Contact: National Association of Community Health Centers, 7501 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1100W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 347-0400 Web Site: http://nachc.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Community health centers, Literature reviews, MCH services, Migrant health centers, Service coordination, Title V programs

Annotation: This report presents the findings of a case study of migrant health centers and coordination of their services at the federal, state, and local level in order to understand the effectiveness of health center coordination and to identify the successful factors for duplication elsewhere. Following the findings is an annotated bibliography on integration of services, case study reports on the health centers, and an appendix which includes profiles of the health centers and progress toward integration and coordination.

Contact: National Migrant Resource Program, 1515 Capitol of Texas Highway South, Suite 220, Austin, TX 78746, Telephone: (512) 328-7682 Contact Phone: (512) 447-0770 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Case studies, Management, Migrant health, Migrant health centers, Migrant health programs, Public health services, Service coordination, Service delivery

Annotation: This project aimed to improve the health and nutrition status of migrant farmworker women and their children under 5 years of age who received services at the Tri-County Community Health Center. The major ethnic groups comprising the clinic population were Hispanic, black, Haitian, and Caucasian. A multicisciplinary staff developed collaborative efforts with other agencies, provided birth coaching and breastfeeding classes, and recruited lay health advisors representing the several ethnic groups within the migrant population. Data collection systems and MCH protocols were also developed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103365.

Keywords: Barriers to Health Care, Bilingual, BlacksHaitians, Breastfeeding, Community Health Centers, Data Collection, Head Start, Health Advisors, High risk groups, Hispanics, Immunization, Infant Mortality, Infections, Lay, Low Birthweight, Low income groups, Migrant Health Centers, Migrant Women, Migrant Women, Mothers, Nutrition, Outreach, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Social Work Services

Annotation: This survey of adolescent pregnancy programs summarizes the histories of four programs: Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, Community Health Centers, Migrant Health, and Indian Health Service.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Community health centers, Federal programs, History, Indian Health Service, MCH programs, Migrant health, Title V programs