Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about oral-health-related behaviors among students in middle and high school in North Dakota and offers suggestions for how they can maintain or improve their oral health. Suggestions are divided into things to do and things not to do. Examples of things to do include wearing a mouth guard while playing sports, brushing and flossing teeth daily, and visiting the dentist regularly. Examples of things not to do include regularly drinking sugary beverages, getting lip or tongue piercings, and smoking or chewing tobacco.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Chewing tobacco, Health care utilization, High school students, Middle schools, Mouth guards, North Dakota, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Smoking, State information

Annotation: This report from the CDC analyzed reporting data from 1994 - 2018 on school violence. Tables of statistics illustrate incidents of school violence and gun violence in particular. It provides information on the effectiveness of evidence-based youth violence prevention programs, including strategies that promote connections between youths and caring adults, enhance problem-solving and coping skills, and reduce risk among youths who have been violent.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Elementary schools, High schools, Homicide, Middle schools, School Age Children, School violence

Annotation: This electronic resource provides information on bullying actions that target gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender youth and the affect on their mental health and education. Advice and resources are provided for mental health, school counseling, human rights, advocacy, and for families and friends of lesbians and gays.

Contact: Mental Health America, 2000 North Beauregard Street, Sixth Floor , Alexandria, VA 22311, Telephone: (703) 684-7722 Secondary Telephone: (800) 969-6MHA Fax: (703) 684-5968 Web Site: http://www.mentalhealthamerica.net Available from the website.

• Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, High schools, Homosexuality, Mental health, Middle schools, Resources for professionals, School counseling, Students, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report describes a project to build a dental clinic and provide comprehensive oral health services to students attending a combined elementary and middle school (kindergarten through eighth grade) in Lemon Grove, CA. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include an announcement about the clinic opening, sample forms in English and Spanish, a needs-assessment cover letter and survey, a program brochure, and a memorandum of under- standing between the university and the school district. The process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Elementary schools, Facility design and construction, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Middle schools, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, School based clinics, Service integration, Spanish language materials, Systems development

Annotation: This fact sheet describes Building Healthy Communities, a school-based prevention program in Michigan to help children adopt healthy habits at a young age by providing access to healthy food, health education, physical education, and physical activity. Contents include a description of the program's development and implementation process, outcomes, and next steps. Topics include partnering organization efforts to pool funding, resources, and expertise to engage elementary schools and expand to middle and high schools throughout the state.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior modification, Children, Collaboration, Curriculum, Elementary schools, Health behavior, Health promotion, High schools, Michigan, Middle schools, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Obesity, Outcome and process assessment, Physical activity, Physical education, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships, School health education, School health programs, State programs, Statewide planning

Annotation: This kit of 10 manuals provides lesson plans on sexuality topics for students in grades 3–12. Contents include the following titles: Changes, Changes, Changes: Great Methods for Puberty Education; Game On! The Ultimate Sexuality Education Gaming Guide; Great Mentoring: Positive Conversations with Young People about Sexual Decisions; Let's Erase Bullying; Making Sense of Abstinence; Positive Images: Teaching About Contraception and Sexual Health; Sex Ed 101; Sex Ed in the Digital Age; Teaching Safer Sex; and Unequal Partners: Teaching about Power, Consent, and Healthy Relationships.

Contact: Planned Parenthood of Greater Northern New Jersey, Center for Sex Education, 196 Speedwell Avenue, Morristown, NJ 07960, Telephone: (973) 387-5161 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sexedcenter.org $499 (full set); manuals also available individually.

• Online Order Form

Keywords: Curricula, Elementary education, Elementary schools, High schools, Middle schools, Sexual health, Sexuality education, Students, Teaching

Annotation: This website provides information about a comprehensive dating violence prevention initiative focused on adolescents ages 11 to 14 in high-risk, urban communities. Contents include a video that describes the initiative and information about funding for implementation in middle schools and neighborhoods. The website also provides information about online training and profiles of grantees in Baltimore, MD; Chicago, IL; Ft. Lauderdale, FL: and Oakland, CA.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html Available from the website.

• Link
• Training

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Adolescents, Cities, Comprehensive programs, Financing, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Middle schools, National initiatives, Neighborhoods, Relationships, Training, Violence prevention

Annotation: This guide provides step-by-step instructions for creating a school health improvement plan. The guide is designed to help communities identify the strengths and weaknesses of school policies and programs for promoting health and safety; develop an action plan for improving student health and safety; and involve teachers, parents, students, and other community members in improving school policies, programs, and services. Contents include instructions for site coordinators, eight self-assessment modules, and an action plan component. Topics include school health and safety policies and environment; health education; physical education and other physical activity programs; nutrition services; school health services; school counseling, psychological, and social services; health promotion for staff; and family and community involvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Downloadable, Printable Version
• Customizable Online Tool

Keywords: Assessment, Community action, Community participation, Environmental health, Family school relations, Health promotion, High schools, Middle schools, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical education, Policy development, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning, Safety, School age children, School counseling, School health, School health education, School health services, Social services, Students

Annotation: This form for school oral health programs includes information to share with parents about their child’s oral health screening. The form includes space for program staff to insert the child’s school, name, grade, and classroom and whether the child has no obvious oral health problems, problems that should be evaluated by a dentist, or needs for immediate care by a dentist. Space for notes as well as the screener’s name and screening date is included.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Three Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Web Site: http://www.health.state.ri.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Health care utilization, Health status, High schools, Middle schools, Oral health, Rhode Island, School age children, State programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Students

Annotation: This document summarizes physical activity and physical education policies and practices of secondary schools (middle schools, high schools) across 26 jurisdictions (18 states, 6 large urban school districts, 1 territory, and 1 tribe). Topics include requirements, curricula and standards, instruction, student assessment, school-based intramural sports programs or physical activity clubs, teacher qualifications, and professional development.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Population Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/NCCDPHP/dph Available from the website.

• PDF
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Assessment, Curricula, High schools, Inservice training, Middle schools, Physical activity, Physical education, School age children, Sports, Standards, Students, Teachers

Annotation: This website describes a documentary film geared toward middle school and high school students, administrators, teachers, and counselors that chronicles one student's ordeal at the hands of anti-gay bullies and offers a message of hope for those fighting harassment. The film is intended to help create a safer school environment for all students, help students understand the toll bullying takes on victims, and encourage students to stand up for classmates who are being harassed. The film, which is 40 minutes in length, includes closed captioning and Spanish subtitles. Also included is a viewer's guide with lesson plans and activities that can be used in staff development. Additional related resources are available on the website.

Contact: Teaching Tolerance, c/o Southern Poverty Law Center , 400 Washington Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 956-8200 Fax: (334) 956-8488 E-mail: http://www.tolerance.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.tolerance.org/ Available from the website.

• Video
• Viewer's Guide

Keywords: Bullying, Consumer education materials, High schools, Homosexuality, Middle schools, Safety, Sexual harassment, Spanish language materials, Staff development, Tolerance

Annotation: This toolkit provides information and resources for promoting healthy relationships among adolescents ages 11-14. Contents include evaluation findings on healthy relationship development and adolescent dating violence prevention efforts from 11 sites. Topics include elements of success including educating adolescents in and out of school, engaging influencers, social marketing, and policy change. Case studies, lessons learned, videos, and other resources are included.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Middle schools, Model programs, Multimedia, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Relationships, Research, Teaching, Violence prevention

Annotation: This report highlights case studies from middle schools and high schools in eight diverse districts across the country that illustrate ideas and strategies to help district and school-level decisionmakers successfully implement stronger nutrition standards for competitive foods. The report presents findings from a study of policies and practices related primarily to food-service accounts.

Contact: Illinois Public Health Institute, 924 West Washington Boulevard, Suite 405, Mailbox 10, Chicago, IL 60607, Telephone: (312) 850-4744 Fax: (312) 850-4040 Web Site: http://iphionline.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Costs, High schools, Managed competition, Middle schools, Nutrition, Policy analysis, School age children, Snacks, Standards, Students

Annotation: This standards-based, cross-curricular teaching resource is geared for students in grades 5-8. Contents include five sequenced lessons for grades 5-6 and five sequenced lessons for grades 7-8. Each set of lessons acts as a mini-unit, focusing on the same five lesson themes: relating the issue of prescription drug safety to overall health, understanding proper use, understanding misuse, understanding abuse, and conducting an application-based culminating project. The guide includes background information, lesson plans, reproducible student activity sheets, parent information, and national academic standards alignment charts (including National Health Education Standards and Common Core State Standards).

Contact: National Education Association Healthy Futures, 1201 16th Street, N.W., Suite 216, Washington, DC 20036-3290, Telephone: (202) 822-7570 Fax: (202) 822-7775 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neahhealthyfutures.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Injury prevention, Middle schools, Prescription drugs, Safety, School health education, Substance abuse prevention, Teaching

Annotation: This report addresses what is known about the prevalence of school bullying and its effects on victims, approaches that selected states and local school districts are taking to combat school bullying, legal options that federal and selected state governments have in place when bullying leads to allegations of discrimination, and key federal agencies' coordination efforts to combat school bullying. Background, methodology, and findings are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Highlights

Keywords: Adolescents, Bullying, Discrimination, Elementary schools, High schools, Junior high school, Legal issues, Legal processes, Middle schools, Prevention, Research, School age children, School districts, Schools, Service coordination, Statistical data

Annotation: This fact sheet describes Project ACHIEVE, a school effectiveness program for preschool, elementary, and middle schools (students 3 to 14 years old) that is designed to help schools, communities, and families develop, strengthen, and solidify their youth's resilience, protective factors, and self-management skills. The program is included in the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's model programs database. The fact sheet lists protective and risk factors addressed, target population, evaluation design and outcomes, benefits, how it works, implementation essentials, references and contact information. Links are provided to the program's training schedule and program fidelity.

Contact: U.S. Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, Room 4-1057, 1 Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-2420 E-mail: Web Site: http://beta.samhsa.gov/about-us/who-we-are/offices-centers/csap Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bullying, Community programs, Elementary schools, Kindergarten, Middle schools, Psychosocial development, School age children, School safety

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the Teaching Students to be Peacemakers program for grades kindergarten through 9, which teaches conflict resolution procedures and skills to students, faculty, and staff members in schools. The program is included in the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's model programs database. The fact sheet lists protective and risk factors addressed, target population, evaluation design and outcomes, how it works, references and contact information. Links are provided to the program's training schedule and program fidelity.

Contact: U.S. Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, Room 4-1057, 1 Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-2420 E-mail: Web Site: http://beta.samhsa.gov/about-us/who-we-are/offices-centers/csap Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bullying, Community programs, Conflict resolution, Elementary schools, Middle schools, Psychosocial development, School age children, School safety

Annotation: This policy brief offers information about the third School Nutrition Dietary Assessment Study, which provides the most comprehensive and up-to-date information on the overall food environment in public elementary, middle, and high schools. The brief presents key findings of the survey in three categories: competitive foods, school meals, and policy recommendations.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Child nutrition, Elementary schools, High schools, Middle schools, Public policy, School food services

Annotation: This book presents a program designed for use by school personnel to support students exposed to trauma. It consists of a series of ten lessons providing skill building techniques geared toward changing maladaptive thoughts, promoting positive behaviors, and increasing levels of peer and parent support for affected students. It contains a group leader training manual that defines program concepts, provides information on selecting student participants, scheduling lessons, assuring confidentiality, coordinating with clinical backup, managing difficult situations and issues, and conducting group meetings. A lesson plans and worksheets and materials sections supplies preparation material and plans as well as homework assignments, worksheets, letters to parents, forms, and other program materials.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org $40.00, plus shipping and handling; download available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior modification, Curricula, Educational materials, Manuals, Mental health programs, Middle schools, Program descriptions, School age children, School linked programs, School personnel, Trauma, Violence

Annotation: This Web site presents information about the Olweus Bullying Prevention Program, a comprehensive, schoolwide program designed for use in elementary, middle, or junior high schools. Its goals are to reduce and prevent bullying problems among schoolchildren and to improve peer relations at school. The site provides information about elements of the program, program history, fact sheets about the program, evidence of effectiveness, training information, suggested program timeline, program materials, and costs.

Contact: Clemson University, Institute on Family and Neighborhood Life, 158 Poole Agricultural Center, Clemson, SC 29634-0132, Telephone: (864) 656-6271 Fax: (864) 656-6281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.clemson.edu/ifnl Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Bullying, Child behavior, Costs, Elementary schools, Junior high schools, Middle schools, Peer groups, Prevention, Programs, Training