Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This chart provides information about state-specific legislation that mandates the coverage of medically necessary foods by employer-sponsored health insurance, Medicaid, and coverage and related services funded by other state programs such as the Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); Title V; or relief funds. Contents include descriptions of medical foods products, abbreviations and definitions, a list of coverage types for dietary treatments of disorders identified through newborn screening, and a list of states that provide phenylketonuria (PKU) only coverage. Details about covered services and any benefit limits or age and income restrictions are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Diet therapy, Dietary assessment, Financing, Food supplements, Genetic disorders, Health insurance, Medicaid, Metabolic diseases, Newborn infants, Newborn screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Postnatal care, Regulations, Special health care needs, State legislation, State programs, Title V programs, Unfunded mandates, WIC program

Annotation: This guide describes the metabolic and genetic newborn screening program in Tennessee. Topics covered include (1) Tennessee law; (2) excerpts taken from rules and regulations; (3) hospital responsibility; (4) state laboratory and maternal and child newborn screening follow-up section responsibilities; (5) weekend and holiday calls; (6) primary care provider responsibilities and follow-up; (7) list of endocrinologists, genetic, and sickle cell centers; and (8) metabolic and genetic disorders.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Maternal and Child Health Section , Fifth Floor, Cordell Hull Building, 425 Fifth Avenue, North, Nashville, TN 37247, Telephone: (615) 741-7353 Fax: (615) 741-1063 E-mail: Theodora. [email protected] Web Site: http://www.state.tn.us/health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Genetic disorders, Genetic screening, Hospitals, Legislation, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening, Primary care, Screening tests, State programs, Tennessee

Annotation: This final report describes a prospective, longitudinal cohort study of Hispanic mother-infant pairs to examine the extent and impact of maternal central body obesity, abnormal glucose tolerance, and other metabolic abnormalities among pregnant Hispanic women and their infants. The report includes sections on the nature, purpose, scope, methods, and aims of the study; a literature review; an overview of the statistical analyses; the presentation of findings in narrative and statistical table formats; a discussion of findings including conclusions, explanations of limitations, comparisons with other findings; and a final section listing products of the study. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Body composition, Diabetes mellitus, Fetal development, Final reports, Gestational diabetes, Hispanic Americans, Infant health, MCH research, Maternal health, Metabolic disorders, Michigan, Obesity, Pregnancy outcome, Prenatal care, Research methodology

Annotation: Long-term dietary treatment of patients with phenylketonuria (PKU) is essential for optimal development and maintenance of intellectual ability. Children should be educated and adequately prepared to assume self-management of their treatment as they undergo physiological and psychosocial maturation. This study examined the effects of an experimental program that uses both an educational and a behavioral approach to accomplish dietary self-management by child and adolescent phenylketonuria patients. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB95-209516.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adolescents, Children with Special Health care Needs, Chronic Illnesses and Disabilities, Chronically Ill, MCH Research, Metabolic Disorders, Nutrition, Patient Education, Phenylketonuria, School Age Children, School-Age Children

Annotation: The goal of this study was to evaluate screening for biotinidase deficiency for incorporation into the panel of newborn screening tests in New York State. It was recommended that Biotinidase deficiency demonstrates many of the requisites for inclusion in a newborn screening program for reasons including the assay is suitable for high-volume screening; the rate of false positives is low; no false negatives were identified; the frequency of biotinidase deficiency is within the frequency range of disorders in current screening programs; cases of biotinidase deficiency were identified in the three largest ethnic categories of the population; treatment and followup are simple, inexpensive, and effective; early intervention can prevent irreversible clinical sequelae which would otherwise lead to lifetime disability or early death. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB89-230817.

Keywords: Biotinidase Deficiency, Colorimetric Testing, Hypothyroidism, Metabolic Disorders, Neonatal Screening, Newborns, Phenylketonuria (PKU)

Annotation: This pamphlet reviews new developments in the screening of phenylketonuria since the 1966 publication of "Recommended Guidelines for PKU Programs for the Newborn" by the U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare. The publication is intended primarily for those involved in the organization and regulation of screening as a service. Part 1 covers new developments, including ethical and legal issues, Part 2 contains recommendations for a central organization for screening, laboratory responsibilities, and phenylketonuria screening. Part 3 addresses test for other genetic-metabolic diseases.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHB048.

• Link

Keywords: Genetic disorders, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening, Screening

Annotation: This book describes a wide range of pediatric conditions and other issues related to pediatric care, including respiratory conditions, nutritional and abdominal conditions; skin, contagious, and exanthem conditions; circulatory, metabolic, and glandular conditions; urogenital conditions; bone, joint, and muscle conditions; laboratory tests, feeding, diets, nursing, and therapy; growth and development; history, and physical exam; and chemotherapy and drugs.

Keywords: Bone diseases, Breastfeeding, Cardiovascular diseases, Child development, Child health, Communicable disease, Diet, Drug therapy, Feeding, Growth monitoring, Joint diseases, Medicine, Metabolic diseases, Muscular diseases, Nutrition, Pediatric care, Pediatrics, Physical examination, Respiratory disorders, Skin diseases, Tests, Urogenital diseases

Annotation: This collection of reprints from the journal, Pediatrics, discusses screw caps for baby food jars, vitamin E in human nutrition, nutritional adequacy of infant formulas, vitamin D, lists of readings on feeding and nutrition for physicians and parents, factors affecting food intake, vitamin D intake and the hypercalcemic syndrome, prepared infant formulas, protection of the infant diet, public health nutrition services for children in the United States, a memorial of Robert R. Williams, vitamin B 6 requirements, compulsory testing of newborns for heredity metabolic disorders, national nutritional survey of preschool children, the absence of vitamin D in nonfat dry milk, nutritional management in hereditary metabolic disease, baby food as special dietary foods, proposed changes in Food and Drug Administration regulations concerning formula products and vitamin - mineral dietary supplements for infants, and the relation between infantile hypercalcemia and vitamin D.

Keywords: Child safety, Food and Drug Administration, Genetic screening, Hyperglycemia, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Metabolic disorders, Nutrition surveys, Pediatrics, Public health nutrition, United States, Vitamin B 6, Vitamin D, Vitamin E

Annotation: This report consists of papers delivered at two symposia sponsored the University of Pennsylvania, the Journal of the American Physical Therapy Association, and the Children's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare. The report discusses children with central nervous system deficit, dual sensory role of muscle spindles, basic mechanisms of motor learning, postural integration at spinal levels, predisposing genetic and metabolic factors in developmental defects of the central nervous system, perinatal problems and the central nervous system, attitudinal reflex, normal motor development, variations and abnormalities of motor development, some considerations of muscle activity, plasticity of the nervous system of early childhood, mental retardation and the child with central nervous system deficit, patient evaluation, evaluation in the assessment of motor performance, tests and evaluation tools for the child with central nervous system deficit, cerebral palsy, physiology of sensation, and mechanisms in the control of movement. It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Central nervous system diseases, Cerebral palsy, Children, Evaluation, Genetic disorders, Mental retardation, Metabolic diseases, Motor skills, Movement disorders, Neuromuscular diseases, Perinatal influences, Sensory impairments