Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is designed to serve as a nutrition care resource for students, dietetics professionals, physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals. The goal is to represent the broad scope of pediatric practice with nutrition care guidelines that could be used in a variety of practice settings nationwide. The purpose, use, modifications, and adequacy of each specific therapeutic diet or nutrition management guidelines are included. For those topics requiring greater clarification of rationale for nutrition management, the related physiology is presented. Sample menus are included in appropriate chapters to illustrate an example of a daily meal plan.

Contact: Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, 120 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 2000, Chicago, IL 60606-6995, Telephone: (800) 877-1600 Secondary Telephone: (312) 899-0400 Web Site: http://www.eatright.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-88091-160-3.

Keywords: Guidelines, Manuals, Menu planning, Nutrition, Pediatric nutritionists, Pediatrics, Therapeutic programs

Annotation: This guide is intended primarily for use by those who care for and feed infants under 12 months of age and participate in the Child and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) and also for participants in other U. S. Department of Agriculture child nutrition programs serving infants. These topics are covered: (1) infant development and feeding skills; (2) feeding the breastfed baby; (3) feeding infant formula and how to use a bottle; (4) preventing tooth decay; (5) feeding solid foods, drinking from a cup, and choking prevention; (6) sanitary food preparation and safe food handling; and (7) commercially prepared and home-prepared baby food.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Educational materials, Family child care, Food handling, Infant nutrition, Infants, Manuals, Menu planning, Sanitation

Annotation: This poster and flyer illustrates the food pyramid with the nutritional requirements for two- to six-year-olds. The poster is in color. The flyer is available in color or black and white and includes a weekly food planning chart on the reverse side.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Children, Dietary guidelines, Educational materials, Food habits, Menu planning, Nutrition education, Nutritional requirements, Posters

Annotation: The goals of this book are to help parents plan quick and healthful meals, provide fun and interesting recipes, help organize and simplify menu planning and food shopping, and give information on healthful eating. Most of the recipes can be prepared in less than 30 minutes. The first section includes nutrition information, including the food pyramid, nutrient labeling, and a discussion of fat in the diet. In the second section, each recipe includes an extensive nutrient analysis.

Contact: John Wiley and Sons, Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wiley.com/WileyCDA $12.95 plus $4.00 or 7 percent shipping and handling.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Fats, Food labeling, Food pyramid, Menu planning, Nutrients, Nutrition, Parents, Recipes

Annotation: This book is aimed at women who want to learn the role that nutrition plays in producing healthy babies. The book begins by discussing the basics of nutrition and why good nutrition gives infants an advantage. It also provides specific information on planning meals, how much weight to gain, and staying physically fit, and includes diet and weight gain worksheets.

Contact: University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Campus, Telephone: (612) 625-5000 Contact Phone: (612) 624-0005 Web Site: http://www1.umn.edu/twincities/index.php

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition, Menu planning, Nutrition, Pregnancy

Annotation: This booklet is directed at health professionals in providing nutritional guidance for pregnant and lactating women. Among topics included are nutritional recommendations, a daily food guide, counseling aspects, ethnic and social influences on diet patterns, and case studies.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Price unknown.

Keywords: Lactation, Menu planning, Nutritional requirements, Nutritive value, Prenatal nutrition

Annotation: This pamphlet provides the pregnant adolescent with tips on meal planning, nutrient content of foods, and emphasizes the importance of good prenatal nutrition.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GPO 1976-O-551-982.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Menu planning, Nutritional requirements, Nutritive value, Prenatal nutrition

Annotation: This booklet discusses the selection and serving of food to children in child care settings. The development of good eating habits is also stressed. The booklet provides tips on planning, a food plan for one meal and two snacks, a meal planning form, a daily food plan, suggestions on food purchasing and storage, food preparation, food costs, and safe food service. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

• PDF

Keywords: Child care centers, Child nutrition, Dietary guidelines, Food handling, Food safety, Group feeding, Menu planning, Snacks

Annotation: In this report, the Joint Committee on Child Nutrition, created by the International Children' Emergency Fund of the United Nations, deals with the following issues: (1) the basic principles of nutrition in planning the purchase and distribution of foodstuffs in the development of feeding programs for pregnant women and nursing mothers, infants, preschool- and school-age children, and adolescents; (2) the use of dried whole milk, dried skim milk, and cheese in the fund's operations, and the relative cost of equivalent nutrients in those various forms of milk and milk products, (3) the value, in the fund's operations, of the provision of vitamin-containing foods compared with that of multi-vitamin and mineral preparations alone, (4) recommendations about meals for preschool- and school-age children, and (5) the relative value of a hot cooked meal vs. a cold meal. Th report includes the following main sections: (1) the general condition of children in war-stricken countries of Europe and China, (2) principles of child nutrition, (3) recommendations, and (4) concluding statement. One appendix contains recommendations on calories and specific nutrients. The report concludes with a list of committee members.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Breastfeeding, Calories, Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Costs, Infant nutrition, Infant nutrition programs, International health, Maternal nutrition, Menu planning, Nutrients, Nutrition, Nutritional requirements, Pregnancy, Vitamin deficiencies, Vitamin supplements, Vitamins, War