Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The primary purpose and goal of this project was the validation of scales for measuring cognitive and physical or general adaptive morbidity, the Pediatric Cerebral Performance Category Scale (PCPC) and Pediatric Overall provides the means of evaluation needed to reach the EMSC goal to evaluate emergency medical care of children as outlined in the EMSC 5 year plan. A secondary purpose of the study was to obtain supplemental data on the nature and severity of adverse outcomes of psychosocial adjustment for children and families with a broad range of cognitive and functional outcomes following childhood emergencies. This study and other work by the investigator will facilitate the identification of the population of children and families at high risk for emergencies in order to guide the development of a suitable intervention in a future phase of study. A cohort of 200 PICU discharges were accumulated consecutively over a 22 month enrollment period to a maximum of 25 patients in each of the eight cells of the study. The patients were then followed up with the Vineland Adaptive Behavior Scale and a battery of psychological tests. We find that the POPC and PCPC scales differentiate well between children of varying cognitive and general adaptive functional abilities as measured by the StanfordBinet, Bayley, and Vineland instruments. They should provide a useful tool for future studies which require outcome assessment. Maternal assessments may not be suitable substitutes for clinician assessments as mothers tend to rate children lower (less morbidity) than the nurse rater. Additional outcome analyses are still in progress. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB98-128317.

Keywords: Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emotional Health, Mental Health, Morbidity, Research

Annotation: This resource serves as a tool to help states develop and implement impactful policy solutions that strengthen youth mental health. It provides states with actionable solutions that can reduce the risk of mental health conditions, help youth build resistance, increase awareness and reduce mental health stigma, ensure access and affordability of quality treatment and care, and train and support caregivers and educators.

Contact: National Governors Association, 444 North Capitol Street, Suite 267, Washington, DC 20001-1512, Telephone: (202) 624-5300 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nga.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Health promotion, Interventions, Mental health services, Policy development, State initiatives

Annotation: This online resource presents strategies to help connect families to children's mental health care; addresses gaps in the mental health workforce; and investigates how funding issues affect mental health care. It also addresses social determinants of health and how they affect mental health care; offers guidance on identifying children who need more support; and provides tools to help support healthy child development and the well-being of families.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child mental health, Health equity, Policy, Services for families

Annotation: This brief highlights goal 1 of the White House blueprint for addressing the maternal health crisis, which is to increase access to and coverage of comprehensive high-quality maternal health services, including behavioral health services. The brief outlines the need to strengthen risk-appropriate care in rural and urban areas; improve quality of care provided to pregnant and postpartum women with or at risk for hypertensive disorders of pregnancy; expand capacity to screen, assess, treat, and refer for maternal depression and related behavioral disorders; and Integrate behavioral health supports in community settings. Evidence-informed strategies for improvement, criteria for states to consider when developing strategies, and additional resources are included. Statistics on the percentage of women ages 15-49 with health insurance (by source of coverage); percent of Medicaid coverage by race/ethnicity; and births covered by Medicaid are also provided.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Health insurance, Initiatives, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health services, Perinatal care, Service integration

Annotation: This report focuses on aspects of Medicaid's mission to ensure access to high-quality health services and the program's future as a major health care payer driving health system change toward value. The report focuses on topics of interest to Congress, including Medicaid’s responsiveness during economic downturns; concerns about high rates of maternal morbidity and mortality; improving hospital payment policy for the nation's safetynet hospitals, and the integration of care for people who are dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: https://www.macpac.gov/contact-us/ Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

• 2022
• 2021

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Children', Costs, Financing, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Medications, Mental health, Oral health, Organizational change, Pregnant women, Reimbursement, Systems development, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This electronic resources examines ways to promote resilience among all young people and connect those who need help with mental health treatment and other supports. The web feature explores care models tailored to the unique needs of young people, including clinics and youth centers that offer a range of clinical and social supports, and therapeutic tools that can be used by non-specialists or young people themselves. All of the models presented seek to lower barriers to getting help, teach young people about mental health, and empower them to become part of the solution.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Mental health, Mental health services, Young adults

Annotation: These guidelines offer best practices, implementation strategies, and practical guidance for the design and development of services that meet the needs of children, youth, and their families experiencing a mental health crisis. The document provides strategies for different populations,, including young children, transition-age youth and young adults, youth with intellectual and developmental disabilities, LGBTQI+ youth, and rural and frontier communities. Each section includes a summary of implementation strategies, as well as links to programs and additional information. An appendix provides a table of core crisis principles.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Families, Federal programs, Mental health, Mental health services, Substance abuse treatment, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This paper reviews the need for and components of crisis stabilization services for children, youth, young adults, and their families. Crisis stabilization services focus on de-escalation and stabilization within the home and community. The paper provides recommendations for policy makers, practitioners, and thought leaders. This document can be used in conjunction with the National Guidelines for Child and Youth Behavioral Health Crisis.

Contact: National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors, 66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 302, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 739-9333 Fax: (703) 548-9517 Web Site: http://www.nasmhpd.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Crisis intervention, Families, Mental health, Mental health agencies, Mental health services

Annotation: This tip sheet describes 10 principles developed to form bridges between pediatric primary care and behavioral health care with a focus on adolescent social/emotional well-being. Each of the "Shared Plan of Care" (SPoC) principles apply to Bright Futures health supervision visits for adolescents who have mental health concerns. Relevant considerations, resources, and tools for health professionals are included. The principles were developed by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs in partnership with the Bright Futures National Center.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Guidelines , Health supervision, Preventive health services

Annotation: This issue brief presents five ways in which state policymakers can support equitable school-based telemental health (TMH), with recommendations based on relevant policy context, existing research, and feedback from interviews with five TMH providers who testified to on-the-ground experience with these interventions. The brief expands on the following recommendations: (1) Use Medicaid as a funding source for TMH; (2) maintain COVID-era telehealth flexiblities to increase access to TMH; (3) allow flexibility in TMH program implementation so programs can tailor their offerings for different communities; (4) Make it easier for TMH programs to obtain parental consent; and (5) help schools establish multi-tiered systems of support to best leverage investments in TMH.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Mental health services, Policy development, School age children, School health services, State initiatives, Telemedicine

Annotation: This document compares two national mental health hotlines: the Maternal Mental Health Hotline (1-833-9-HELP4MOMS) and the 988 National Suicide Prevention Lifeline. The Maternal Mental Health Hotline, launched in May 2022 and funded by HRSA, provides non-crisis support specifically for pregnant and postpartum people with 24/7 service in English and Spanish. The 988 hotline, launched in July 2022 and funded by SAMHSA, serves as a crisis line for anyone experiencing suicidal thoughts or mental health crises, operating through a network of over 200 centers with multiple communication channels. Both services offer language translation and provide referrals to local resources.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Maternal mental health, Hotlines, Mental health services

Annotation: In this virtual learning session hosted by AMCHP and ASTHO, attendees explored critical mental health resources designed to support maternal and child health populations, focusing on the National Maternal Mental Health Hotline and the 988 Suicide Prevention Crisis Lifeline. The panel featured prominent experts including Dr. John Draper from Vibrant Emotional Health who oversees the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline, Dawn Levinson representing the Maternal and Child Health Bureau as their Behavioral Health Lead, and Richard McKeon who heads SAMHSA's Suicide Prevention Branch. The session highlighted how these national crisis response systems operate, examined their unique approaches to addressing mental health needs among different populations, and presented strategic opportunities for state and territorial public health agencies to form partnerships that enhance resource promotion, improve service coordination, and ultimately strengthen mental health support systems for mothers, children, and families throughout their communities. Downloadable materials includ slide deck, speaker biographies, and handouts.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Maternal mental health, Hotlines, Mental health services, Children', s mental health, Suicide prevention, Partnerships

Annotation: In this Writing and Publishing Workshop held on July 22, Dr. Timothy Dye, Editor-in-Chief of the Maternal and Child Health Journal, provided comprehensive guidance for authors preparing submissions for the upcoming supplement on "Public Health Approaches to Perinatal Substance Use," a collaborative initiative between AMCHP and ASTHO. The session equipped participants with practical writing strategies and publication guidelines, explored various manuscript formats through examples from previous issues, and detailed the peer review response process essential for successful publication. Dr. Dye emphasized the importance of effective scientific storytelling techniques to enhance manuscript impact, offering participants valuable insights into structuring compelling narratives that effectively communicate research findings while meeting the journal's editorial standards. This workshop served as a critical resource for researchers and practitioners working to contribute to the scholarly discourse on perinatal substance use interventions through public health frameworks.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Suicide prevention, Federal MCH services, Perinatal depression, Perinatal services, Mental health services

Annotation: This Advisory offers recommendations for supporting the mental health of children, adolescents, and young adults. It describes the various factors that can shape the mental health of young people and explains how action can be taken at various levels to improve health outcomes. Separate sections explain how individuals, families and caregivers, educators, health professionals and health organizations, social media, community organizations, funders and foundations, employers, and goverrnments (federal, state, and local) can each address the mental health needs of young people. Included is a discussion of youth mental health before the pandemic, and the ways in which COVID-19 increased risk factors for children and young adults.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Adolescents, Health promotion, Intervention, Mental health, Mental health services, Risk factors, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: [in process]

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health policy, Mental health, National programs, Prevention services, Public policy, Strategic plans, Suicide, Suicide prevention

Annotation: This webinar focuses on maternal mental health within a cultural context, highlighting factors to consider when addressing the mental health needs of Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) in underserved communities. Culturally-sensitive approaches to MCH services that address postpartum depression and other mental health concerns are discussed by a variety of panelists during the hour-long video presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Cultural barriers, Cultural factors, Health equity, MCH services, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum depression, Racial factors, Risk factors, Service delivery

Annotation: This Orange County, California toolkit contains local resources, evidence-based tools, and recommendations to assist healthcare and service providers in offering perinatal mental health education, preventive interventions, screening, referrals, and treatment for new and expecting parents. Mental health and substance use screening tools, referral pathways, links to online training for professionals , information on mental health insurance coverage, and parent handouts in English, Spanish, Chinese, and Vietnamese are among the tools provided.

Contact: First 5 Orange County , Children & Families Commission of Orange County , 1505 E 17th Street, Suite 230, Santa Ana, CA 92705, Telephone: (714) 834-5310 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://first5oc.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Maternal mental health, Mental health services, Parent support services, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This resource guide describes how organizations are using remote services in creative and promising ways to deliver education, training, employment, and mental health services to all young people — regardless of their race, ethnicity, or socioeconomic status. The guide presents six core strategies and identifies key issues, challenges, promising practices and tips for each approach. The strategies are: (1) creating the foundation for success by meeting basic needs first; (2) strengthening organizational and staff capacity to meet new demands; (3) providing services that support mental and emotional health; (4) building community; (5) ensuring instruction is engaging; and (6) adapting experiential and work-based learning to the virtual environment.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent Mental health, Adolescent health, Distance learning, Initiatives, Model programs, Technology, Telecommunications, Telemedicine, Youth services

Annotation: This toolkit provides information about an environmental scan of emerging models of behavioral and oral health integration, as well as organizational or service-delivery barriers that organizations face when attempting to adopt coordinated or integrated care models. Topics include background and rationale for oral health and behavioral health integration, an environmental scan of integrated models, and policy considerations. Examples of models are presented.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Behavioral medicine, Health services delivery, Mental health, Oral health, Service coordination, Service integration

Annotation: This compendium provides information for nurses caring for women, infants, and families in any setting: hospital, birthing center, ambulatory care, or home. This revised reference manual provides evidence-based information and guidelines for postpartum care, and addresses the physical, emotional, and psychosocial needs of mothers, newborns, and families for the first three months following birth. Topics include an overview of postpartum care in the hospital, discharge planning and health teaching, early home care of the mother and infant, reorganization of the family unit, and breastfeeding. Also featured are the latest research and practice recommendations for postpartum mood and anxiety disorders, including postpartum obsessive-compulsive disorder, panic disorder, and post-traumatic stress disorder secondary to birth trauma. References and a glossary are provided along with continuing education forms, questions, a participant evaluation form, patient handouts, and a post-text answer key.

Contact: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 1800 M Street, NW, Suite 740S, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.awhonn.org/

• Preview Of 3rd Edition

Keywords: Home visiting, Infant care, Maternal mental health, Mental health services, Nursing services, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals