Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website links to a training guide and participant workbook that provide activities that focus on trauma as a way of understanding how children and adolescents in the child welfare system are especially vulnerable to mental health challenges. The training materials were developed to help providers think about the physical effects of trauma on children, adolescents and young adults; understand the biological underpinnings of their challenges; and identify children with a suspected mental health need. Included are activities to help providers administer the New Jersey Mental Health Screening Tool (MHST) to assist with identifying children who may have mental health need and require further assessment.

Contact: National Family Preservation Network, 3971 North 1400 East, Buhl, Idaho 83316, Telephone: (888) 498-9047 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nfpn.org/ Available from the website.

• Program Web Site

Keywords: Child welfare, Children', Interventions, New Jersey, Screening, State programs, Training, Trauma, s mental health

Annotation: This tip sheet for Title V agencies outlines five essential elements for implementing developmental and behavioral health screening programs within health supervision visits. It provides guidance on promoting equity in screening, planning responses to results, communicating with families, handling confidentiality, and using appropriate screening tools and schedules based on Bright Futures guidelines. The document includes state program examples and emphasizes the importance of establishing clear protocols for referrals, particularly for non-clinical staff working in community settings. [Funded by the Health Resources and Services Administration]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Developmental screening, Guidelines, Mental health screening

Annotation: This issue brief highlights Action 1.14 from the White House Blueprint for Addressing the Maternal Health Crisis, focused on expanding capacity to screen, assess, treat, and refer for maternal depression and related behavioral disorders. The document examines evidence-supported interventions for addressing perinatal depression, including universal screening protocols, psychiatric consultation services, and care coordination support. It presents current data on the prevalence and disparities in maternal mental health screening and treatment across different populations and geographic areas, with particular attention to racial, ethnic, and socioeconomic factors. The brief outlines specific state-level innovations being implemented to improve maternal mental health care, such as Illinois's DocAssist program and Montana's PRISM consultation line, and provides evidence-based measures for tracking progress in expanding behavioral health support services.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Coordination, Depression, Health care disparities, Maternal health, Mental health, Model programs, Postpartum depression, Referrals, Screening, State initiatives

Annotation: This review examines the research evidence on the benefits and harms of screening, accuracy of screening, and benefits and harms of treatment for suicide risk, anxiety, and depression in children and adolescents. Intended to help healthcare decision makers (patients and clinicians, health system leaders, policy makers, and others) make well-informed decisions, the review is based on research conducted by the RTI International--University of North Carolina Evidence-based Practice Center under contract by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality AHRQ).

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Anxiety, Children, Depression, Mental health, Quality assurance , Research reviews, Screening, Suicide

Annotation: This tool can be used when conducting screenings in behavioral health settings to identify oral health problems. The tool explains what to do in an oral health emergency and includes questions to ask about access to and use of oral health care. Instructions for how the person conducting the screening should proceed, depending on how questions are answered, are included.

Contact: National Council for Mental Wellbeing, 1400 K Strteet, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 684-7457 Web Site: http://thenationalcouncil.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Emergencies, Health care utilization, Health screening, Mental health, Oral health, Substance abuse, Trauma

Annotation: This Orange County, California toolkit contains local resources, evidence-based tools, and recommendations to assist healthcare and service providers in offering perinatal mental health education, preventive interventions, screening, referrals, and treatment for new and expecting parents. Mental health and substance use screening tools, referral pathways, links to online training for professionals , information on mental health insurance coverage, and parent handouts in English, Spanish, Chinese, and Vietnamese are among the tools provided.

Contact: First 5 Orange County , Children & Families Commission of Orange County , 1505 E 17th Street, Suite 230, Santa Ana, CA 92705, Telephone: (714) 834-5310 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://first5oc.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Maternal mental health, Mental health services, Parent support services, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This tip sheet describes how women with maternal depression can be identified and supported by states, health care providers, families, and friends. It defines and describes the symptoms of postpartum depression (vs. the "baby blues"); includes a map comparing rates of reported symptoms of depression after birth; and a link to additional resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Maternal mental health, Postpartum depression, Screening, Social support, Statistics

Annotation: This webinar reviews new clinical content in the Bright Futures Guidelines and the associated Periodicity Schedule, and discusses how to use evidence to decide on content for your practice's health supervision visits and how to identify strategies, tools, and resources to maximize efficiency for health promotion and preventive services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Only
• Bright Futures 4th Edition Webinars And Slide Decks

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Evidence based medicine, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Videos, Weight management

Annotation: This systematic review examines the benefits and harms of primary care-relevant interventions to prevent perinatal depression (i.e., depression during pregnancy and postpartum depression). Sources consulted for the review include MEDLINE, PubMED, PsyINFO, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; references of relevant publications and government web sites were also searched. The review looked at publications published in English between January 1, 2012, and February 6, 2018. The evidence review concluded that counseling interventions can be effective in preventing perinatal depression; a variety of other intervention approaches provided some evidence of effectiveness, but lacked a robust evidence base and need further research.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Intervention, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health screening, Postpartum depression, Pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This virtual learning session explores the logistical, legislative, and legal issues surrounding universal screening for substance use in pregnant and parenting women and their newborns. Examples of screening tests for substance abuse, state initiatives in support of universal screening, the legal aspects of substance use, and legislative measures that address universal screening are among the topics discussed by various panelists during this 50-minute presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Fetal alcohol symptom, Infants, MCH Programs , Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Screening tests, State initiatives, Substance abuse, Substance use screening

Annotation: The inaugural virtual session of the PRISM (Promoting Innovation in State & Territorial MCH Policymaking) Learning Community focused on the complex challenges surrounding universal substance use screening for pregnant and parenting women and their newborns. This comprehensive session examined the critical intersection of logistical implementation, legislative frameworks, and legal considerations that healthcare providers and policymakers must navigate when developing and implementing screening protocols. By addressing these multifaceted aspects, the session provided participants with essential insights into creating effective, equitable, and legally sound screening programs that serve both maternal and infant health needs while respecting patient rights and privacy concerns. Length: 50 minutes, 8 seconds.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Mental health, Substance abuse, Substance use screening, Substance abusing mothers, Children', s health, Substance exposed infants

Annotation: This companion to the most current edition of the Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children and Adolescents, the national standard for well-child care provides updated forms and materials relate to preventive health supervision and health screening for infants, children, and adolescents. These include pre-visit questionnaires, visit documentation forms, parent and patient handouts, supplemental education handouts, and medical screening reference tables.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Link
• Downloadable Forms And Handouts

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Professional resources, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: This guide explains how medical clinics can integrate maternal mental health care into obstetric and/or pediatric settings using best practices based on the integrated perinatal mental health care model. It includes a summary of the innovations that the California-based Maternal Mental Health NOW program made to build capacity to provide maternal mental health screening, connect patients to resources and services, and offer an array of evidence-based treatment options. Suggestions for screening tools, sample scripts, advice on data collection, and other implementation tools are included.

Contact: Maternal Mental Health NOW, Community Partners, 1000 N. Alameda Street, Suite 240 , Los Angeles, CA Telephone: (213) 346-3200 Web Site: https://www.maternalmentalhealthnow.org/

• Link

Keywords: Maternal mental health, Model programs, Perinatal services, Program development, Screening, Service integration

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help pediatric primary care providers (PPCPs) integrate mental health promotion and screening into their practice. Developed by the DC Collaborative for Mental Health in Pediatric Primary Care, the toolkit provides information and resources to support PPCP’s in screening caregivers for perinatal mood and anxiety disorders, such as postpartum depression, during well child visits. Included is a summary of mood and anxiety disorders during pregnancy and postpartum; the Edinburgh Postnatal Depression Scale screening tool (in English and Spanish), implementation and planning tools, and a detailed list of perinatal mental health resources.

Contact: DC Collaborative for Mental Health in Pediatric Primary Care , Children's National Hospital Foundation , 111 Michigan Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20010, Telephone: (202) 476-5000 Web Site: https://www.childrensnational.org/in-the-community/advocacy-and-outreach/community-initiatives-and-partnerships/dc-collaborative-for-mental-health-in-pediatric-primary-care

• PDF

Keywords: Mental health, Pediatric care, Perinatal care, Postpartum depression, Primary care, Screening, Service integration

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-082-4.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: This brief examines states' use of Medicaid as a key source of funding for early childhood mental health services. Contents include the rationale for Medicaid coverage of key EMCH services, the methods and results of a 50-state survey to gather information from state administrators about Medicaid coverage of the following services for children from birth to age 6: child screening for social-emotional problems, maternal depression screening in pediatric and family medicine settings, mental health services in a pediatric or family medicine setting, mental health services in child care and early education settings, mental health services in the home setting, parent-child treatment, parenting programs to address child mental health needs, and case management / care coordination. Recommendations are also included.

Contact: National Center for Children in Poverty, 215 West 125th Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (646) 284-9600 Fax: (646) 284-9623 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nccp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case management, Financing, Health services, Medicaid, Mental health, Program coordination, Screening, State surveys, Young children

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Ebook

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Depression, Mental health, Research, Screening

Annotation: This document provides guidance for clinics and schools on the roles and responsibilities of medical providers and educational professionals in identifying and treating developmental and social-emotional concerns in young children from birth to age 5. Topics include communicating with families; referring for educational and medical evaluation; sharing evaluation results, including information about confidentiality and consent; and shared care planning. A link to a map of trained mental health professionals and a graphic showing a communication feedback loop are included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Child and Teen Checkups Program, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0882, Telephone: (651) 201-3760 Web Site: https://www.health.state.mn.us/people/childrenyouth/ctc/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Clinics, Communication, Confidentiality, Early childhood, Early intervention, Emotional development, Family support, Legal issues, Mental health, Parent consent, Planning, Psychosocial development, Referrals, Role, School districts, Schools, Screening, Young children

Annotation: This screening protocol for primary care providers discusses mental health screening options and available tools, administration of the screening tool and how it is presented, evaluated, and addressed with the patient; how to respond to a positive screen; and where to refer patients who need additional treatment, support, or services.

Contact: Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies , The Montana Coalition, 318-320 N Last Chance Gulch #2C, Helena, MT 59601, Telephone: (406) 449-8611 E-mail: [email protected]

• PDF

Keywords: Mental health, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Primary care, Protocols, Referrals, Screening