Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides information about best practices in therapeutic or treatment foster care (TFC), a clinical intervention for youth from birth to age 18 who have severe mental, emotional, or behavioral health needs. Topics include essential partners; building relationships among provider agencies and child advocates; example practices in Connecticut, Illinois, Michigan, Oklahoma, Nebraska; efforts to expand the focus beyond safety and permanency to well-being for youth in therapeutic foster care; and public policy challenges.

Contact: First Focus, 1400 Eye Street, N.W., Suite 650, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 657-0670 Fax: (202) 657-0671 Web Site: http://www.firstfocus.net Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents with special health care needs, Advocacy, Behavioral medicine, Children with special health care needs, Foster care, Foster parents, Health services delivery, Intervention, Medically fragile children, Mental health, Policy development, Psychological needs, Reimbursement, Relationships, Therapeutics, Training, Trauma care, Youth

Annotation: This document is excerpted from the "Home Care Program Policy Manual" of the University of Illinois at Chicago Division of Specialized Care for Children. It describes some of the differences and difficulties experienced by families and nurses working together in the home care of technology assisted children. It also provides information to help nurses establish and maintain a professional working relationship within a home environment. General guidelines are presented to help nurses prepare mentally for the experience of home care. More specific guidelines are also included that discuss establishing appropriate relationships with the child, the parents, and the siblings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago, Division of Specialized Care for Children, 3135 Old Jacksonville Road, Springfield, IL 62704-6488, Telephone: (217) 558-2350 Secondary Telephone: (800) 322-3722 Fax: (217) 558-0773 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://dscc.uic.edu Price unknown.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Home care services, Medically fragile children, Nurses, Parents, Technology dependence

Annotation: This booklet provides school nurses a listing of resources and training materials to help them care for children with special health needs. It indicates changes in the care of children assisted by medical technology since 1980 including demographic and medical trends, changes in federal legislation which provide for the education of these children, and lists of resource materials and organizations. The booklet organizes the resource materials topically: manuals, universal precautions, nutrition and medication, elimination, respiratory, equipment, training community personnel, financing, and transportation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Medically fragile children, Resources for professionals, School health services, Special education, Technology dependence

Annotation: These proceedings consist of presentations given at the sixth annual U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Region V and VII Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference held April 6-9, 1991. The purpose of the conference was to expand the knowledge and leadership skills of managers in order to improve health-related services to families and children. Major sessions covered diversity and health care partnerships; community based care; family centered care; marketing and outreach; coordinated care; and access to health care and quality assurance. Summaries from focus groups cover expanding family options for the medically fragile child; expanding EPSDT; creative financing and expanding manpower; community based needs assessment and health action plans; expanding Medicaid eligibility; well-women care; how to involve families in shaping service delivery; adolescent health; chemically dependent pregnant women; transitioning the handicapped; and rural health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHG035.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Conference proceedings, EPSDT, Family centered services, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Health services, Medically fragile children, Quality assurance, Rural health, Service coordination, Substance abusing pregnant women

Annotation: This report describes five case management programs that create alternatives to hospitalization and institutionalization for technology dependent children in Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, and Pennsylvania. For each program, the report discusses mission and goals, organization, program eligibility criteria, population served, program services, other activities, financing of services, program budget and personnel resources and costs. Appendices include forms and checklists used by the agencies and patient information handouts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Health Law and Policy Resource Center, University of Iowa, 412 Boyd Law Building, Melrose and Byington Streets, Iowa City, IA 52242-1113, Telephone: (319) 335-9067 Contact Phone: (319) 335-9067 Fax: (319) 335-9098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://blogs.law.uiowa.edu/nhlp Available in libraries.

Keywords: Case management, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Home care, Mechanical ventilators, Medically fragile children, Technology dependence

Annotation: This report contains two sections. Section one describes developmental issues of concern in 1985: Serious viral infection in persons with developmental disabilities, issues of technological intervention for children with disabilities; community based services for chronically ill or disabled children and their families; and fragile-X syndrome. Section two contains examples of linkages between university affiliated programs and state and local programs and the training needs of state programs.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Communicable diseases, Fragile X syndrome, Medically fragile children, Program planning, Technology dependence

Annotation: The Surgeon General's Workshop on Children with Handicaps and Their Families was convened in 1982 in order to develop recommendations for strategies to recognize the special burden and challenges borne by the parents and siblings of children with disabilities and to stimulate the provision of resources to safely support these children in their communities. The workshop concentrated on the specific problems of the ventilator-dependent child, and the findings for this prototype were extrapolated for their implications for all handicapped children. This report contains summaries of the presentations made at the workshop, and the recommendations developed by the workshop participants. This report contains summaries of the presentations made at the workshop, and the recommendations developed by the workshop participants.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Family centered care, Mechanical ventilators, Medically fragile children, Technology dependence

Annotation: This workbook is designed to help families become experts in the roles and responsibilities of the parent as care manager of their child's special needs. It includes an overview of what should be done prior to a child's discharge from the hospital, such as developing a discharge plan and conducting a home needs assessment. The workbook also discusses the many roles families assume in caring for medically fragile children at home. These roles include the medical manager, financial planner, education advocate, resource specialist and employer. The publication provides guidance on how best to manage these roles as well as tips on maintaining medical records. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Families, Home care services, Medically fragile children, Service coordination