Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide, intended primarily for parents of children with sickle cell disease, includes information on how to manage this disease. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) acknowledgements, (2) dedication, (3) how to use this guide, (4) introduction, (5) emergency telephone numbers, (6) warning signs, (7) common questions, (8) medical care, (9) new approaches to treatment, (10) daily living, (11) medical words, (12) sickle cell disease on the Internet, (13) sickle cell treatment centers, (14) directory of sickle cell treatment centers in New Jersey, and (15) directory of genetic counseling centers in New Jersey.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Internet, Medical terminology, New Jersey, Patient care management, Patient education materials, Sickle cell disease, Therapeutics

Annotation: This lexicon is a set of concepts and definitions developed by expert consensus for what is meant by behavioral health and primary care integration—a functional definition—what things look like in practice. This lexicon aims to enables effective communication and concerted action among clinicians, care systems, health plans, payers, researchers, policymakers, business modelers and patients working for effective, widespread implementation on a meaningful scale.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Medical terminology, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This guide is designed to enhance communication between health care professionals and their Spanish-speaking patients. The guide is a quick reference to help identify and explore medical problems in the setting of well-child care, sick visits, and the emergency room until more formal interpretation services can be arranged. The guide assumes some familiarity with Spanish. Most Spanish questions in the book are phrased using the verb form appropriate both to boys or girls. The questions as they are written can be posed equally to parents about their children and to the children themselves. Because Spanish varies considerably by region, selected vocabulary was selected to be broad enough for recognition across the Americas. The guide is designed to be used with the AAP publication Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision, 3rd ed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $44.95, non-members; $39.95 members, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-302-1.

• 3rd Edition

Keywords: Communication, Health personnel, Health supervision, Medical terminology, Pediatrics, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report discusses changes in terms, metric, and cut-off values use to describe and assess overweight and obesity in children. The report provides background on the issue, provides tables illustrating terminology changes, and discusses terminology to be used in future NCHS publications.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS Pub No. (PHS) 2010-1250.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Medical terminology, Obesity

Annotation: This resource handbook is designed for librarians and others who help the general public locate consumer health information. It covers standard resources for answering health-related questions, discusses the art of the health-reference interview, and touches on such related matters as the legal implications of providing health information to consumers. The handbook provides librarians with resources in consumer health in three parts. Part one discusses consumer health essentials such as decoding medical terminology, understanding health concerns of a variety of diseases, and exploring complementary and alternative medicine. The second part provides recommended resources in both electronic and print formats, and includes a section focused on children's health. Part three gives specific tips for librarians on providing consumer healthcare information including the creation of services, evaluating resources, creating publications, and building successful consumer health Web sites. This handbook also contains a CD-ROM which includes a Web-ready HTML list of recommended health Web sites and a template of the Hathaway Medical Center Library Consumer Health Web Site for use in Web design.

Contact: Neal-Schuman Publishers, 50 East Huron, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (866) 672-6657 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.neal-schuman.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-5570-418-2.

Keywords: Alternative medicine, Audiovisual materials, CD-ROMs, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diseases, Information services, Information sources, Library services, Medical terminology, Reference materials, Resource materials, World Wide Web

Annotation: This hierarchical listing of the medical terminology used to index, catalog, and search the National Library of Medicine's database and collection shows the relationships between and among the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) terms. It is published on a yearly basis.

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 Contact Phone: (703) 487-4650 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov $56.00 plus shipping and handling. Document Number: PB2002-964901 (2002 ed.), PB2001-964901 (2001 ed.).

Keywords: Medical terminology, Reference materials, Thesauri

Annotation: This rotated term index is a computer-generated display of all terms, i.e., descriptors and cross references, in the alphabetic listing of the National Library of Medicines' Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), as well as all check tag and geographic descriptors in the Annotated Alphabetic MeSH. The Permuted MeSH takes each significant word that appears in each MeSH term and then lists all the MeSH terms in which that word appears. It is published on a yearly basis.

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 Contact Phone: (800) 553-6847 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov $40.95 plus shipping and handling. Document Number: PB2003-964801 (2003 ed.), PB2002-965101 (2002 ed.).

Keywords: Medical terminology, Reference materials, Thesauri

Annotation: This dictionary defines terminology used by professionals working within the health care system in the United States. The entries include nonclinical terms which have been derived from the fields of medicine, public health, health law, economics, and government. Cross-references between terms build relationships between topics; some terms are clarified by the inclusion of statistical graphs. The dictionary includes a bibliography and index.

Contact: Facts on File, Inc., 132 West 31st Street, 17th Floor , New York, NY 10001, Telephone: (800) 322-8755 Fax: (800) 678-3633 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.factsonfile.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8160-3210-6.

Keywords: Dictionaries, Economics, Government, Health services, Medical terminology, Public health services, Statistics

Annotation: This dictionary provides definitions for medical abbreviations and symbols and the full version of acronyms. They are listed alphabetically in three sections: abbreviations and acronyms, prefixes and suffixes, and symbols. It ends with a section on the Greek alphabet and an appendix with an addendum including abbreviations and acronyms discovered after the book went to press, many related to managed health care. A section on amino acid notation and a list of Roman numerals are included.

Keywords: Acronyms, Dictionaries, Medical terminology

Annotation: This manual is designed to lead authors of medical writings to clarity and precision in their writing and to assist editors in preparing publications. Its five sections cover the following topics: 1) Preparing an article for publication: types of articles, manuscript preparation, legal and ethical considerations, and editorial assessment and processing; 2) Style: grammar, punctuation, plurals, capitalization, correct and preferred usage, foreign language words and phrases, and accents; 3) Terminology: abbreviations, nomenclature, eponyms and Greek letters; 4) Measurement and quantitation: units of measure, numbers and percentages, statistics, and mathematical composition; and 5) Technical information and bibliography: printing and production terms, copy editing and proofreading marks, and resource bibliography. An appendix lists virus names.

Contact: American Medical Association, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (800) 621-8335 Fax: Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org Latest edition available online for a subscription. Document Number: ISBN 0683402064.

• 10th Edition

Keywords: Medical terminology, Style manuals, Writing

Annotation: This database provides access to medical terminology used to index, catalog, and search the National Library of Medicine's databases and collection.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Contact Phone: (800) 553-6847 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISSN 0565-811X.

• Link

Keywords: Medical terminology, Reference materials, Thesauri