Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These protocols for emergency medical technicians and hospital personnel in North Carolina provide guidelines for triage, transport, and treatment of children who have suffered traumatic injuries or have life threatening conditions. The protocols are grouped in two sections; the first contains prehospital paramedic protocols; and the second contains hospital treatment protocols. The first section also includes guidelines for transport. The individual protocols are presented as flow-charts with the critical procedures indicated for each step in caring for the child. Conditions include: multiple trauma, head trauma, newborn resuscitation, poisoning, and seizures, among others. [Partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Carolinas Medical Center, Department of Emergency Medicine, 1000 Blythe Boulevard , Charlotte, NC 28203, Telephone: (704) 355-3658 Fax: (704) 355-7047 E-mail: [email protected] Price unknown.

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Emergency medical technicians, Hospital emergency services, Hospital personnel, Injuries, North Carolina, Protocols, Resources for professionals, Therapeutics

Annotation: This project developed and evaluated a rural emergency medical services for children (EMSC) demonstration program and provided assistance to other rural States in adopting the successful aspects of the program. The focus of the project was the development of a modular training program on care of pediatric emergencies that can be presented in appropriate segments to all levels of prehospital and emergency room personnel. Improved skills and knowledge in emergency care for children resulted in improved medical management of children requiring emergency care and reduced the consequences of the emergency events. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198752.

Keywords: American Indians, Emergency Medical Services, Emergency Room Personnel, Head injuries, Parent Education, Rural Populations

Annotation: The project's major goal was to prevent childhood emergencies and to improve emergency medical services for children in Ohio by building local support and developing effective local emergency medical systems with linkage to referral centers. Specific project goals included establishing local emergency medical service (EMS) advisory councils; developing train-the-trainer programs for local emergency department personnel; developing networks linking local EMS systems with local emergency department personnel and pediatric medical consultants, and linking demonstration areas with regional children's hospitals and pediatric medical centers; and developing public information and education programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-124176.

Keywords: Data Collection, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Room Personnel, Rural Population

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Federal programs, Medical personnel, Volunteers, Work force

Annotation: This guide is designed to enhance communication between health care professionals and their Spanish-speaking patients. The guide is a quick reference to help identify and explore medical problems in the setting of well-child care, sick visits, and the emergency room until more formal interpretation services can be arranged. The guide assumes some familiarity with Spanish. Most Spanish questions in the book are phrased using the verb form appropriate both to boys or girls. The questions as they are written can be posed equally to parents about their children and to the children themselves. Because Spanish varies considerably by region, selected vocabulary was selected to be broad enough for recognition across the Americas. The guide is designed to be used with the AAP publication Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision, 3rd ed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org $44.95, non-members; $39.95 members, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-302-1.

• 3rd Edition

Keywords: Communication, Health personnel, Health supervision, Medical terminology, Pediatrics, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This notebook is an organizing tool designed to help families who have children with special health care needs keep track of important information. The notebook includes sections for family, funding and financial, medical provider, and medical information; other service providers; care summaries; appointments; and miscellaneous.

Contact: University of Maine, Center for Community Inclusion and Disability Studies, 5717 Corbett Hall, Room 114, Orono, ME 04469-5717, Telephone: (207) 581-1084 Secondary Telephone: (800) 203-6957 Fax: (207) 581-1231 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ccids.umaine.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Families, Financing, Health personnel, Health services, Medical records

Annotation: This report provides findings from a survey of telemedicine providers and parents regarding the potential, the pitfalls, the realities and the hopes for telemedicine's role in providing medical care to children and youth with special health care needs. Appendices include a checklist for families to use if telemedicine is offered to them, a family satisfaction questionnaire offered as a working model for programs to use with families experiencing telemedicine visits, a list of contacts of those who responded to the questionnaire, and a list of resources. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Families, Health personnel, Medical technology, Patient satisfaction, Questionnaires, Surveys, Telecommunications, Telemedicine

Annotation: This resource describes a project to educate physicians and dental hygienists about dental caries in infants and children from birth through age 3. Materials include age-specific forms and handouts, such as questionnaires, assessment and recommendation forms, and protocols.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early childhood caries, Educational materials, Infants, Medical personnel, New Hampshire, Oral health, Professional education, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This paramedic version of TRIPP: Teaching Resource for Instructors in Prehospital Pediatrics is a resource that enables instructors of ambulance personnel to provide comprehensive training in the assessment and treatment of critically ill and injured children. It expands the scope of prehospital practice from basic to advanced life support procedures for children. It incorporates the most recent guidelines of the American Heart Association, covers the objectives of the U.S. Department of Transportation National Standard Curriculum for Paramedics, and is consistent with the recommendations outlined in Education of Out-of-Hospital Emergency Medical Personnel in Pediatrics: Report of a National Task Force. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Pediatric Emergency Medicine, New York University Medical Center and Bellevue Hospital Center, 27th Street and First Avenue, Room 1E 9, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 562-4470 Fax: (212) 562-7753 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.med.nyu.edu/pediatrics/emergency/cpem/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, CD-ROMs, Emergency medical services for children, Emergency medical technicians, Health personnel, Injuries, Resource materials, Training, Training materials

Annotation: This report describes the results of the Task Force on Pediatric Education, whose goal was to proactively provide direction for pediatric education for the 21st century. (keep sentence two) These five factors include: (1) new patterns in morbidity and mortality; (2) advances in molecular biology and genetics; (3) changing sociodemographic and education makeup of the available pool of health care providers for children; (4) computer technology advances in data management and communications systems; and (5) paradigms shifts in the financing and delivery of child health services. (keep sentences.) The report concludes with references.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Educational change, Health education, Medical education, Medical personnel, Pediatrics, Professional education, Professional training, Trends

Annotation: This textbook provides an introduction to the United States health care system and an overview of the professional, political, social, and economic forces that have shaped it and will continue to do so. It is intended to serve as a text for introductory courses on the organization of health care in the United States for students in all fields of health and allied health professional education. Chapter topics are: (1) an overview of health care, (2) benchmark developments in health care, (3) the history of hospitals, (4) the future of hospitals, (5) primary care, (6) medical education, (7) health personnel, (8) financing health care, (9) managed care, (10) long term care, (11) mental health services, (12) public health and the government role, (13) medical research, and (14) the future of health care.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-1167-X.

Keywords: Allied health personnel, Benchmarking, Financing, Government role, Health education, Health personnel, Health services, Hospitals, Long term care, Managed care, Medical education, Mental health services, Primary care, Professional education, Public health, Textbooks, United States

Annotation: This CD-ROM was developed to bridge the knowledge gap that exists in the specialized field of prehospital pediatric care. It is a guide for instructors who teach the pediatrics sections of the revised EMT-Basic: National Standard Curriculum. It provides instructors with fundamental background knowledge about assessing and treating critically ill and injured children. It is an 1999 national award winner as an EMSC innovative product of the year. The CD-ROM is designed to work on both Mac and PC computers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Pediatric Emergency Medicine, New York University Medical Center and Bellevue Hospital Center, 27th Street and First Avenue, Room 1E 9, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 562-4470 Fax: (212) 562-7753 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.med.nyu.edu/pediatrics/emergency/cpem/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, CD-ROMs, Emergency medical services for children, Emergency medical technicians, Health personnel, Injuries, Training, Training materials

Annotation: This book is arranged around three major subject areas: access to health care services, the changing health care system, and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's efforts to improve services for vulnerable groups. The contents discuss physicians' initiative to expand care to underserved Americans, improving the health care workforce, the national access-to-care surveys, efforts to work with states, the media and change in health systems, medical malpractice, unmet community needs, child immunization registries, a homeless families program, and the National Health and Social Life Survey.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Contact Phone: (415) 433-1740 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7879-0909-2.

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Children, Disabilities, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health surveys, Homeless families, Immunization, Mass media, Medical malpractice, Personnel, Uninsured persons, Vulnerability

Annotation: This demonstration project strove to enhance the emergency medical services (EMS) system in North Carolina by improving the system's ability to manage pediatric patients. The project goal was to create a statewide model EMS system that minimizes further injury or deterioration of seriously ill or injured pediatric patients prior to their arrival at a definitive care center. We created a project group and an advisory board to help achieve the project goals through a cooperative statewide effort that included representation from all groups responsible for the care of seriously ill and injured pediatric patients. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB96-181482.

Keywords: Databases, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Emergency Room Personnel, Pediatric Advanced Life Support Programs, Professional Education in EMSC

Annotation: The Alaska Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) project addresses problems associated with pediatric emergencies in Alaska through interventions at various stages in disease and injury affecting children, and the system that is designed to combat these problems. The overall goal of the project is to improve the emergency medical care system in Alaska and its ability to treat and rehabilitate Alaska's acutely ill and injured children, as well as to prevent childhood injuries and deaths. The project addresses problems in the Emergency Medical Services system at all levels—prehospital, hospital, and rehabilitative services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Education of health professionals, Emergency medical services for children, Emergency medical technicians, Emergency room personnel, Rehabilitation, Rural populations, Training, Trauma

Annotation: This book is intended to provide an analysis of laws related to medical genetics for people who work in the medical genetics field and related health care fields, including researchers, clinicians, paraprofessionals, and public health officials. It presents an overview of the laws affecting the following areas: medical genetics and legal responsibility, the social and policy framework, regulations of genetic research in humans, concerns in embryo and fetal research, provision of genetic services, genetic counseling, organ transplantation, confidentiality of genetic information, and mandatory screening, diagnosis, and treatment. Appendices contain the Nuremberg code of ethics in medical research and the National Institutes of Health's points to consider in the design and submission of human somatic-cell gene therapy protocols. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Administrative personnel, Confidentiality, Genetic counseling, Genetics, Legal issues, Legal responsibility, Medical research, Paraprofessional personnel, Public health programs, Reports, Research personnel, Social policy

Annotation: This report provides information on a study to identify and quantify the operating and capital costs of children's hospitals and identify and quantify the cost differences with general hospitals of similar size. The areas discussed are intensity of care and specialized services, occupancy, nurse staffing, support service staffing, interns and residents, education and research, community service costs, administrative and nonpayroll variable costs, payment and uncompensated care, space allocations, and construction costs.

Keywords: Fees and charges, Medical personnel, Operating costs, Pediatric care, Pediatric hospitals, Pediatric nursing, Research

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries. Document Number: LOC 77-075542.

Keywords: Hospitals, Infant health, Infants with special health care needs, Maternity hospitals, Medical personnel, Neonatal diseases, Neonatal intensive care, Neonatal morbidity, Nurses, Nutrition, Standards

Keywords: Child health promotion, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Health care delivery, Medical personnel, Standards

Keywords: Health insurance, Hospitals, Infant mortality, Maternal health services, Medical personnel, Pediatric care, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Perinatal services, Prevention programs