Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help health professionals address the unique health care needs of adolescents and young adult males (AYAs) ages 10 to 26. Contents include a checklist covering nine health domains; client interview questions and supporting materials for each domain including background information, practice tools, and references; and a video library containing presentations for continuing medical education and client education. Topics include healthy eating and physical activity, sexual and reproductive health, trauma, mental health, developmental disorders, sexual biologic basics, normal pubertal concerns and genital abnormalities, and labs and immunizations. A tutorial is also available.

Contact: Partnership for Male Youth, 900 Second Street, N.E., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20002, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.partnershipformaleyouth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Adolescent males, Comprehensive health care, Continuing medical education, Evidence based health care, Health examinations, Immunizations, Interviews, Medical history taking, Men', Screening, Young adults, s health

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the history of the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) for Children -- the national initiative designed to reduce childhood death and disability due to severe illness or injury. The fact sheet describes the legislation behind the EMS program and the larger emergency system of which it is a part, dating back to the Korean and Vietnam Wars. A timeline dating from 1966 through 2014 lists the events leading up the EMS for Children program that have evolved over time. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Emergency medical services for children, Federal initiatives, History

Annotation: This resource provides information about genetics and health. Topics include how genes work; genes, lifestyle, and environment; collecting family health history; genetic disease information; advocacy and support groups; financial planning; talking to families and health professionals; compensation for genetic testing; whole genome sequencing; screening vs. testing; disease research; patient privacy; clinical trials; and biobanks. Features include Ask the Experts, frequently asked questions, and a blog. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Counseling, Family health, Genetics, Information sources, Medical history, Research, Screening, Testing

Annotation: This series comprises 10 webinars and companion fact sheets designed to increase awareness and improve understanding among health professionals related to the provision of genetic medicine in primary care settings. The series introduces the topic, explains the relevance of genetic medicine to primary care, and provides case examples of how it can be integrated into everyday practice. Topics include building an accurate family history, ordering tests, evaluation and referral, dispelling myths, counseling, technical assistance, resources, genetics across the lifespan, and epigenetics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Genetics in Primary Care Institute , National Center for Medical Home Implementation, c/o American Academy of Pediatrics , 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: http://geneticsinprimarycare.org/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Medical genetics, Medical history, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This brief provides the 40-year history behind the medical home concept, a team-based health care delivery model led by a physician that provides comprehensive, continuous, and coordinated primary and preventive medical care to patients. The brief discusses the development and expansion of the medical home (also referred to as a health home). the role played in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, and how the model is a catalyst for multiple reform efforts related to health care delivery, reimbursement, and primary care.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Health care reform, Health services delivery, History, Medical home, Primary care, Reimbursement

Annotation: This website provides information and resources for a national public health campaign to encourage families to learn more about their family health history. Contents include the My Family Health Portrait tool, a web-enabled program for collecting and sharing family history information with health professionals and other family members. The tool is also available in printable versions in English, Chinese, French, Polish, Portuguese, and Spanish. Additional resources include guidance on planning and conducting conversations with family members, information about National Family History Day (Thanksgiving), and links to related resources from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the National Human Genome Research Institute.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Family health, Federal initiatives, Medical history, Non English language materials, Public awareness campaigns, Public health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: ‘My health record’ was developed with the assistance of parents, carers, child and family health nurses, midwives, social workers, dietitians, paediatricians, neonatologists, Aboriginal health workers and other health professionals. It is designed for parents to use from the time their baby is born through age 4. It covers birth details; tips on helping the child to grow and learn, tips on when to seek help, developmental milestones, and health checks for each year from 0 to 4; and has schedules for teeth eruption, growth charts, and immunization. It

Keywords: Guidelines, Cognitive development, Communicable diseases, Growth charts, Immunization, Infants, Language development, Medical history, Medical records, Motor development, Young children

Annotation: This tool is designed to help programs have a consistent method of screening vision for children in New Mexico. It discusses the importance of the parent interview, a medical history, examination tips, a brief review of behaviors often associated with visual impairment, developmental vision screening, and discussing observations during the exam. A form is provided for recording screening results, as well as a summary form for possible referral.

Contact: New Mexico School for the Blind and Visually Impaired, 1900 White Sands Boulevard, Alamogordo, NM 88310, Telephone: (575) 437-3505 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-3505 Fax: (575) 439-4411 Web Site: http://www.nmsbvi.k12.nm.us/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Forms, Medical history, Medical records, New Mexico, State programs, Vision screening

Annotation: This monograph evaluates the effectiveness of the family health history toolkit titled Does It Run in the Family? developed to help individuals create customized booklets where families can collect health history information to be shared with relatives and health professionals. The monograph focuses on the usability and utility of the toolkit, reporting on the research conducted to assess its effectiveness, the steps taken within various communities to integrate the toolkit, and the key findings from the evaluation process. The monograph reports on the toolkit's accessibility and sustainability (including its ability to be customized and integrated into other programs and services); discusses the collaborative process used as part of the demonstration project; and addresses some of the challenges encountered. A copy of the family health history questionnaire (together with instructions for its use), a healthcare card for providers, and additional resources are included.

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Family health, Collaboration, Communities, Consumer education materials, Demonstration programs, Evaluation, Health promotion, Medical history, Models, Research

Annotation: This brochure provides an overview of sickle cell disease, explaining what it is and how research has led to advances in its treatment during the past century. The brochure also describes how the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute -- part of the National Institutes of Health -- has not only funded sickle cell research but has conducted large clinical trials and sponsored workshops and meetings to guide the research agenda. The back of the brochure is a time line displaying events related to sickle cell disease beginning in 1910 when it was first described by Chicago Physician James B. Herrick.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Blood and lymphatic disease, Genetics, History, Medical research, Sickle cell disease

Annotation: This online family health history tool helps individuals create customizable booklets to help people collect their family health history information and share it with relatives and health professionals. The goal is to have individuals, families, and communities use the knowledge contained in the booklets to improve communication about health and become healthier.

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communities, Consumer education materials, Family health, Health, Health promotion, Medical history

Annotation: This resource brief contains information about federal agency Web sites and other resources that provide information about factors that contribute to an individual's risk for developing diseases. The brief contains information on the genetic, environmental, and lifestyle causes of disease that family members may share. Sample resources include tools and guidelines for compiling a family health history, booklets on genetics and health (in non-English languages), public service announcements, a family health questionnaire, and a public health campaign on the importance of family health history. Additional resources address news, research findings, clinical trials, conferences, and demonstration projects. Information on genetics and genetic services, including newborn screening, is provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Family health, Medical history taking, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This review evaluates (1) key elements of family history (FH) that usefully predict subsequent diseases, (2) the accuracy of reporting FH, (3) the impact of FH-based risk information on the uptake of preventive interventions, (4) the potential for harms associated with collecting cancer FH, (5) factors that facilitate or hinder the collection of FH, and (6) future directions. Methods, results, and conclusions are provided.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 09-E016.

• PDF

Keywords: Cancer, Families, Interventions, Medical history, Prevention, Research, Risk factors

Annotation: This checklist includes questions for future parents that can help them prepare for a healthy pregnancy and birth. Questions are divided into the following categores: (1) family medical history, (2) your medical history, (3) reproductive health, (4) nutrition, (5) home, work, and social hazards, and (6) parenting considerations.

Contact: Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care, McConnell Hall, 1010 Mound Street, Madison, WI 53715, Telephone: (608) 417-6060 Fax: 608/267-6089 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.perinatalweb.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Medical history, Nutrition, Parenting, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Questionnaires, Reproductive health

Annotation: This prenatal registration form includes space for case managers to help clients supply basic information (name, phone number, and so forth) as well as information about social risk factors, maternal medical history, psycho-neurological history, maternal obstetrical history, previous infant findings, and any other medical or psychological problems or issue that may place the client at risk during pregnancy.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Forms, High risk pregnancy, Medical history, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Risk factors, Women', s health

Annotation: These practice resources for oral health professionals comprise a health history form, a health history interview sheet, a medical consultation form, and a document describing how to use the forms. The health history form is available in Albanian, Arabic, Armenian, Bengali, Bosnian/Serb/Croatian, Burmese, Cambodian, Chinese, Creole, English, Farsi, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Hmong, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Thai, Turkish, Ukranian, Urdu, Vietnamese, Yiddish, and Yoruba.

Contact: University of the Pacific School of Dentistry, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, 155 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, Telephone: (415) 929-6400 Fax: (415) 929-6654 Web Site: http://dental.pacific.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Dental care, Forms, Medical history taking, Non English language materials, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials

Contact: Child Welfare League of America, 1726 M Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 688-4200 Fax: (202) 833-1689 Web Site: http://www.cwla.org Available in libraries. Document Number: 0-87868-775-0.

Keywords: Child welfare, Genetic services, Genetics, Medical history

Annotation: This book describes how the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine changed its curriculum from a traditional, faculty-oriented model to a student-oriented model based on adult learning strategies. It is intended to help the reader gain practical knowledge of the process as well as knowledge of the specific components of the curriculum. It provides a brief history of undergraduate medical education at Johns Hopkins, an overview of the process of change, and descriptions of individual components of the curriculum. Chapters discuss the teaching of basic sciences; interrelated courses based on organ systems; a four-year longitudinal Physician and Society course; a new curriculum for medical informatics and support services for computer-based education; student placements in the offices of community-based private practitioners; curriculum reform in the clinical years; and early evaluations of the general curriculum, specific courses, and the students.

Contact: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2715 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218-4363, Telephone: (410) 516-6900 Secondary Telephone: (800) 537-5487 Fax: (410) 516-6998 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.press.jhu.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-8018-5977-8 (cloth), ISBN 0-8018-6350-3 (paper).

• Link

Keywords: Bioethics, Community based services, Curricula, Evaluation, History, Information systems, Interdisciplinary approach, Learning, Medical education, Medical schools, Models, Primary care, Reform

Annotation: This information package contains materials on America's Youth Passport, a child health and safety booklet with space for recording a child's medical history that was distributed to parents of newborns in Georgia as part of a state-wide program. The passport contents include a place for a child's picture, fingerprints, and medical history; a chart showing the ages a child should be immunized and against which diseases; developmental milestones; and tips on when to introduce solid foods, how to prevent injuries, and how to select child care. The package contains 4 passports, a promotional brochure, and selected news clippings talking about the passport program.

Contact: Securitec Corporation, W175 N11117 Stonewood Drive, Suite 110, Germantown, WI 53022, Telephone: (800) 783-2145 Secondary Telephone: 262-532-4000 Fax: 262-532-4001 Web Site: http://www.securitec.com Price unknown.

Keywords: Child development, Child health programs, Child safety, Georgia, Low income groups, Medical history, Medical records, Recordkeeping, State initiatives

Annotation: This book is a guide to all aspects of the development, adaptation, and use of home-based maternal records as a tool for reducing maternal and perinatal morbidity and mortality. Designed to help program managers and administrators introduce and use home-based maternal records to the greatest effect, the book draws on experiences and lessons learned during the field testing. While a World Health Organization prototype record is presented as a model, emphasis is placed on the best ways to adapt this prototype to local conditions, test its effectiveness, pinpoint problems, and find solutions, even when resources are scarce and populations largely illiterate.

Contact: WHO Press, World Health Organization, 20 Avenue Appia, 1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland, Telephone: +41 22 791 3264 Fax: +41 22 791 4857 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://apps.who.int/bookorders/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 92 4 1544464 3.

Keywords: Guidelines, Maternal mortality, Medical history, Medical records, Perinatal mortality, Prenatal care, World Health Organization