Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This brief explains how state Medicaid programs can be used to address social determinants of health, including economic stability, education, neighborhood and physical environments, employment, social support networks, and access to health care. It describes how states have been given flexibility through managed care programs and Section 1115 demonstration waivers to address non-clinical aspects of care such as case management, housing supports, employment supports, and peer support services. Included is a summary of the new guidance issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) in 2023 on the expansion of opportunities to address health related social needs.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org

• Link

Keywords: Managed care, Medicaid, Social determinants of health, State programs

Annotation: This report provides a guide to telehealth-related policies, laws, and regulations for all states and the District of Columbia. The report contains information about Medicaid policy trends, including common telehealth Medicaid policy expansions. Also discussed are professional practice standards, private payer reimbursement, online prescribing, and consent laws and requirements. Information about licensure requirements by state for health professionals providing telehealth is incuded.

Contact: Center for Connected Health Policy, 2520 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 180, Sacramento, CA 95833, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cchpca.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Oral health, Public policy, Regulations, Telemedicine

Annotation: This workbook for Title V program staff focuses on the importance of Medicaid in the system of services for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN). It provides an overview of the Medicaid program, including chapters on Medicaid managed care; the Early and Periodic Screening Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit; and pathways to Medicaid coverage for children who require an institutional level of care. The purpose of the resource is to increase Title V program staff identification and knowledge of finance-related services for CYSHCN, particularly Medicaid. It includes questions to guide users through the process of mapping a Medicaid system and building a strategy for their own state.

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Children', Medicaid, Medicaid managed care, Title V, Youth, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses social determinants of health screening and referrals for children and youth with special health care needs and their families, particularly in reference to Medicaid and Medicaid managed care contracts. The document provides examples of state-level programs.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Managed care, Medicaid, Social factors

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses strategies for implementing medical homes for children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) through Medicaid managed care. The document provides examples of state-level programs that have implemented a range of strategies to support medical homes for CYSHCN. These strategies include developing partnerships to connect children to medical homes, incorporating the medical home model in managed care contract language, and using incentives for providers to use a medical home approach. The fact sheet also provides links to additional resources.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Health care delivery, Managed care, Medicaid, Medical home

Annotation: This fact sheet provides examples of state actions to use the National Standards for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) to strengthen their managed care systems for CYSHCN. Topics include analyzing and enhancing specialized managed care plans, providing a framework to design and strengthen care delivery systems, strengthening contract language to address the needs of CYSHCN, and improving care coordination and transition to adult care. The various state examples outlined here resulted from a 12-month learning collaborative facilitated by NASHP, in partnership with the Association of Maternal & Child Health Programs (AMCHP), with support from the Lucile Packard Foundation for Children’s Health (LPFCH).

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Managed care, Medicaid, Standards, State programs, Title V programs, Young adults

Annotation: Based on a review of the literature and interviews with stakeholders and policy experts, this article provides actionable recommendations for improving care coordination programs for children with special healthcare needs (CSHCN) in Medicaid managed care.

• PDF

Keywords: Care coordination, Children with special health care needs, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of Title V Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs across the United States. Contents include background and history of CYSHCN programs, recent changes affecting CYSHCN programs, and methods and results from an electronic survey of Title V CYSHCN directors to assess key characteristics of each state's CYSHCN program. Topics include program structure and strengths, roles in systems of care, CYSHCN program partnerships, financing of care for CYSHCN populations and emerging issues for CYSHCN programs.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Consultation, Cultural competency, Data, Family centered care, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Leadership, Medicaid managed care, Models, Networking, Pediatric care, Policy development, Program coordination, Program development, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Role, Standards, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This report describes a study that estimated the impact of the Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement Project on oral health services utilization by pregnant women in Connecticut’s HUSKY Program, the state’s health care coverage program that provides low-cost or free comprehensive coverage for families or single adults with low incomes. The report provides background about Medicaid eligibility, the Medicaid dental benefit, managed care, and perinatal outreach in Connecticut. The report also discusses study methods, data, and the analytic approach and presents results. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Dental care, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Managed care, Medicaid, Oral health, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, State programs

Annotation: This report shows the progress made by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and states to systematically measure and report on the quality of care that children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) receive. Contents include information about state-specific findings on quality and access in Medicaid and CHIP and monitoring and improving care for children enrolled in managed care. Topics include primary care access and preventive care, management of acute and chronic conditions, childhood obesity, oral health care, prenatal and postpartum care, and adolescent well care.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Current Report
• Earlier Editions

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children', Federal programs, High risk children, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Nutrition, Oral health, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report provides state-specific findings on children's use of dental services in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. It includes state-specific performance data for two measures: preventive dental services and dental treatment services. The report also summarizes information on managed care quality-monitoring and qaulity-improvement efforts related to oral health care that were reported in states' external quality review technical reports.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Children’s Health Insurance Program, Health care utilization, Managed care, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report summarizes information on the quality of health care provided to adults covered by Medicaid, including pregnant women. The report discusses the status of quality measurement and reporting efforts using the Medicaid Adult Core Set and summarizes information on managed care performance measures and performance-improvement projects reported in external quality-review technical reports that states submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. Topics include diabetes care, hospital readmissions, emergency department visits, and substance use disorders.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Current Report
• Earlier Editions

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Federal programs, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Reports, State programs

Annotation: This toolkit contains information that details five high impact opportunities for states and local school districts to support communities through collaboration between the education and health sectors, highlighting best practices and key research in both areas. Contents include resources, programs, and services offered by non-governmental organizations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Educational reform, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health education, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Hospitals, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Nutrition, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Role, School districts, State government, Students

Annotation: This policy brief is intended to serve as a resource for managed care entities looking to better understand homelessness, for health professionals seeking to be more aware of managed care and its interests, and for both groups to better understand the common goals each brings to a partnership. The brief includes the health care needs of people who are homeless, describes Health Care for the Homeless projects and the patients receiving care in these venues, a description of managed care, common goals between both entities, and issues that both providers and plans should consider when creating or strengthening partnerships.

Contact: National Health Care for the Homeless Council, P.O. Box 60427, Nashville, TN 37206-0427, Telephone: (615) 226-2292 Fax: (615) 226-1656 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhchc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health insurance, Homeless persons, Homelessness, Managed care, Medicaid managed care, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This brief reviews implementation requirements governing access to reproductive health services in Medicaid managed care. Topics include network adequacy and access to services, travel time and distance standards, timely availability of services, direct access to providers, information requirements, and utilization controls. Recommendations for states are also included.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Medicaid managed care, Provider networks, Regulations, Reproductive health, Standards, Third party payers, Women', s health

Annotation: This report provides state-specific findings on perinatal care in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program. Contents include state-specific performance data on 5 of the 10 perinatal care measures in the Child and Adult Core Sets. The report also summarizes information on managed care quality monitoring and improvement efforts related to prenatal and postpartum care that were reported in states' external quality review technical reports. Topics include timeliness of prenatal care, frequency of ongoing prenatal care, postpartum care rate, live births weighing less than 2,500 grams (low birthweight), and central-line-associated blood stream infections in neonatal intensive care units.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Health care utilization, Measures, Medicaid managed care, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Utilization review, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This fact sheet for Title V programs, clinicians, and family leaders provides information about the potential effect of Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) managed care on children and youth with special health care needs (CYSHCN) and their families. Topics include requirements for managed care organizations in CHIP and opportunities to mitigate potential unintended negative consequences of Medicaid managed care for CYSHCN and their families. Promising practices and strategies from states are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Contract services, Enrollment, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Medicaid managed care, Medical home, Model programs, Primary care, Service delivery systems, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Youth

Annotation: This toolkit describes initiatives developed by Medicaid managed care organizations (MMCOs) to prevent and treat childhood obesity and offers resources and tools to support future efforts. Contents include an environmental scan of childhood obesity efforts led by MMCOs, case studies of childhood obesity initiatives and perspectives from families and children, and a readiness assessment and implementation tools to guide MMCOs seeking to enhance their existing initiative(s) or to launch a new program through the design, implementation, and evaluation process.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1150 18th Street, N.W., Suite 1010, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Child health, Diffusion of innovation, Disease prevention, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Obesity, Pediatric care, Prevention programs, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report provides an overview of managed care implementation in New Hampshire. The report examines early experience with the implementation of managed care for Medicaid acute care services. Contents include background; methods (case study interviews, focus groups, and limitations); a summary of findings; and conclusions. Topics include the evolution of the implementation timeline and managed care plan participation, enrollment, state oversight experience, provider experiences, case management, beneficiary experience, and implications for phase-in of long-term services and supports.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Health services delivery, Medicaid managed care, Program evaluation

Annotation: This manual for state Medicaid agency staff provides guidance on developing and implementing oral-health-performance-improvement projects (PIPs). Topics include selecting the PIP topic, identifying the population, defining the PIP aim, selecting performance measures, establishing the data-collection plan, planning the intervention, implementing the intervention and improvement strategies, analyzing data to interpret PIP results, and planning for sustained improvement. A customizable template and a manual for health plans are also available.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Children, Children', Manuals, Medicaid managed care, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Quality assurance, State programs, s health insurance programs