Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This tip sheet provides information about the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant 5-year needs assessment and state action plan and about how oral health program directors and staff and community partners can contribute to the needs-assessment process. The tip sheet explains what the 5-year needs assessment is, how the needs-assessment process works, why oral health should be included in the needs assessment and how to help ensure that it is included, what national and state performance measures are, and where to obtain more information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Needs assessment, Oral health, Performance measurement, Title V programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about value-based payment (VBP), a set of performance-based strategies that link financial incentives to a health professional’s performance on a set of defined quality measures, summarizes VBP models, examines challenges and opportunities for VBP in the oral health environment, and provides considerations for the expansion of VBP focused on oral health. The brief also highlights insights from interviews with stakeholders across the country.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Costs, Measures, Oral health, Performance measurement, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report is a review of the Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) needs assessments, including selected priority needs and performance measures that states submitted to the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) for two block grant cycles (FY2016-FY2020 and FY2021-FY2025). The analysis conducted by Altarum identified changes in priority needs and assessed the usefulness of measurement strategies used by states.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact

• Link

Keywords: Measures, Performance measurement, Program evaluation, Standards, State programs

Annotation: This issue brief describes an environmental scan of states and jurisdictions that adopted state performance measures related to newborn screening in their application for a federal Title V Block Grant. Included is an overview of newborn screening long-term follow-up activities documented in the fiscal year 2018 block grant applications entered in the Title V Information System.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Measures, Neonatal screening, Performance measurement, State Initiatives

Annotation: This toolkit provides state oral health programs with an orientation to performance management as well as resources to further learning and competency related to performance management. The toolkit includes the following sections: Background, Prerequisites to Creating a Performance Management System, Performance Management Models, Performance Management Elements, and Creating and Supporting a Performance Management System. Each section provides an overview of the topic with definitions, guides, questions for reflection, and additional resources. The toolkit provides examples from state public health agencies, including state oral health programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau[

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Performance measurement, Program management, Resources for professionals, State programs

Annotation: This glossary organizes a selection of key terms and definitions related to improvement research and networked communities. The terms are grouped together according to the following topics: networked improvement communities, improvement science and quality improvement, standard work and processes, systems, driver diagrams and working theories of practice improvement, doing improvement research, measurement, and evidence for improvement. In some cases the terms have been modified slightly for the education context.

Contact: Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, 51 Vista Lane, Stanford, CA 94305, Telephone: (650) 566-5100 Fax: (650) 326-0278 Web Site: http://www.carnegiefoundation.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Education, Networking, Outcome and process assessment, Performance measurement, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Research, Systems development, Teaching

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from focus group discussions about improving the oral health of farmworker children and their families. Topics include integration models of care in community settings, key components of and barriers to integrated primary care and oral health care models, strategies to address key barriers, resources to support integration of primary care and oral health care, measuring success, and conclusions.

Contact: National Association of Community Health Centers, 7501 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1100W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 347-0400 Web Site: http://nachc.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Community based services, Farm workers, Focus groups, Measurement, Migrant health, Model programs, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This report shares the successes and challenges that state teams experienced as they worked to streamline eligibility and enrollment systems for children and those eligible for coverage within the context of a recession, elections, and the enactment of major federal laws including the Children's Health Insurance Program Reauthorization Act of 2009 (CHIPRA) and the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. Contents include background, key areas of state work, lessons for other states, future directions, and conclusion. Topics include providing leadership to achieve culture change, analyzing and using information and data, and coordinating across programs and agencies.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care reform, Leadership, Management, Measurement, Organizational change, Program coordination, Service delivery systems, State programs, s health insurance program

Annotation: This brief provides examples of initiatives and strategies implemented by state Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) and Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs (CYSHCN) programs to ensure strong family participation (FP) within their programs. The brief summarizes how Colorado, Missouri, New Hampshire, New York, Oregon, and Washington approach FP, including insights, successes, and challenges. Topics include the history of FP, partnerships, strategies to involve and compensate families, training and technical assistance, the value of the CYSHCN performance measure, FP in MCH, pressures on Title V MCH programs, barriers to FP, lessons learned, and future plans. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Community participation, Employment, Families, Measurement, Parent participation, Parent professional relations, Public private partnerships, Recruitment, Special health care services, State MCH programs, Technical assistance, Title V programs, Training, Work force

Annotation: This book documents the development of standardized outcomes for the evaluation of nursing care. Part One provides background information for the standardized outcomes, describes outcome development in health care with an emphasis on nursing, and describes the need for a standardized outcome language. It also describes the research process used to develop the outcomes and the testing and implementation of the outcomes. Part Two describes each outcome, providing a label name, a definition, a set of indicators, a Likert-type measurement scale, and selected references.

Keywords: Classification, Diagnosis, Nursing, Nursing services, Outcome evaluation, Performance measurement, Systems development

Annotation: This book reports the findings of an expert panel established to develop a research agenda for future studies of child and adolescent maltreatment. The panel was to examine the quality of existing research, determine areas of strength and weakness, and offer guidance regarding ways in which current and future research resources might be directed to improve the development of the field. Topics include identification and definitions of child maltreatment, scope of the problem, etiology of maltreatment, prevention, consequences of abuse and neglect, intervention and treatment, human resources, instrumentation, and research infrastructure, ethical and legal issues in maltreatment research, and research priorities.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Contact Phone: (800) 624-6242 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHG088.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Family violence, Injury prevention, Measurement tools, Population surveillance, Program development, Psychology, Research

Annotation: This paper discusses the relation between regulatory compliance and quality child care services. It notes trends in evaluation research that had been used previously in this subject and suggests using a measurement tool similar to the "Generic Checklist of Monitoring Day Care" which employs an indicator checklist statistical model. The checklist approach notes that three main factors affect the quality of child care programs: the curriculum, parental participation, and overall administrative organization. The paper suggests ways that states can modify the methodology to generate their own indicator checklists and indicates thirteen items that should be included in a generic checklist. The paper also indicates that states should use the indicator checklist in combination with other evaluation methods to assure the quality of child care services.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ERIC ED 322 998.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Family child care, Measurement tools, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report considers the effectiveness of using the Child Care Indicator Checklist Statistical Model developed by the Children's Services Monitoring Transfer Consortium. The model is a regulatory, monitoring, and evaluation systems model. It relies upon identifying predictors that correlate regulatory compliance and the quality of programs in a child care center to positive impacts in a child's development. The implications of previous research in compliance and quality studies based on the Child Development Program Evaluation Licensing Scale (CDPE) and the Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale (ECERS) are compared to this model. Possible policy implications for state child care regulatory agencies and for child care centers if this model were to be used are noted.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ERIC ED 322 997.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Family child care, Guideline adherence, Health and safety, Measurement tools, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report provides a checklist of generic predictor items based on research on day care monitoring methods conducted by the Children's Services Monitoring Transfer Consortium. The checklist can be used to determine the compliance of child care centers with standards in the following areas: administration, staff qualifications, environmental safety, health, and nutrition. The report discusses the generic indicators and then suggests ways of using them to monitor a day care program. Related research that is being done on this subject is noted in an appendix.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Document Number: ERIC ED 255 291.

Keywords: Guideline adherence, Child care, Child care workers, Family child care, Health and safety, Measurement tools, Nutrition, Quality assurance, Standards

Annotation: [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Anthropometric measurements, Assessment, Children, Development, Dietitians, Infants, Nutrition, Nutrition personnel