Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This website showcases the IMPROVE initiative, launched by the National Institutes of Health in 2019, to support research to reduce preventable causes of maternal deaths and improve health for women before, during, and after pregnancy. The site describes the multi-pronged research initiative, emphasizing its focus on those disproportionately affected by maternal morbidity and mortality, including African American/Black, American Indian/Alaska Native populations, people of advanced maternal age, and people with disabilities. Links to research and funding opportunities, webinars and virtual workshops, funded projects, and resources for the public and for researchers are included.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx

• Link
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Grants , Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs, Research, Research programs

Annotation: This is a systematic review of risk factors associated with maternal morbidity and mortality in the U.S. during the prenatal and postpartum periods, including social and structural determinants of health. The focus is primarily on research that examines factors to which pregnant and birthing people have been exposed and that may underlie poor perinatal health outcomes. The U.S. Office of Disease Prevention requested the review to inform the November 29 – December 1, 2022 Pathways to Prevention workshop cosponsored by the National Institutes of Health’s Office of Research on Women’s Health, the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute, the National Institute of Minority Health and Health Disparities, and the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Racism, Risk factors, Social determinants of health

Annotation: This issue brief highlights the increased risk of maternal morbidity and mortality among Black women; explores the drivers that contribute to the Black maternal health crisis, and recommends strategies to transform the delivery of Black maternal health care to improve health outcomes. Providing culturally-centered care by diverse health teams; destigmatizing and treating Black maternal mental health; protect and expand access to reproductive health care; eliminating economic inequities; and collecting and using intersectional data are among the approaches highlighted. The brief also discusses the importance of community, describing how shared resistance, resilience, and joy help define Black maternal health.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20009, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childbirthconnection.org

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, Health care disparities, Health equity, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Prevention

Annotation: This report explores the maternal health crisis in the United States and offers real-world examples and solutions designed to eliminate disparities in maternal health and reduce maternal mortality rates. The areas of focus include: dynamics in maternal care that lead to disparities; policies that facilitate change; utilizing technology to increase health equity; and recommendations for the future.

Contact: Executives for Health Innovation, One Thomas Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington , DC 20005, Telephone: 202-624-3270 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ehidc.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care disparities, Health equity, Health status disparities, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Telehealth, Telemedecine

Annotation: This report to Congress describes 1) available federal data and what it reveals about maternal and neonatal outcomes and disparities during the COVID-19 pandemic, and 2) efforts by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) during the pandemic to address maternal health outcomes and disparities. The data is from CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics’ (NCHS) National Vital Statistics System and its Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System, a state-level surveillance system of survey-based data on maternal behaviors, attitudes, and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Ethnic factors, Federal initiatives , Infectious diseases, Low birthweight, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Neonatal morbidity, Prenancy complications, Preterm birth, Racial factors, Statistics, Virus diseases

Annotation: This panel discussion on birth justice was hosted by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP) during Black Maternal Health Week and features Aftershock filmmakers Paula Eiselt and Tonya Lewis and maternal health advocate Shawnee Benton-Gibson. Health equity and antiracism in maternal and infant health are the focus on the discussion.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Community role, Families, Fatherhood, Health equity, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Minority health, Racism, Social support, maternal mortality

Annotation: This issue brief identifies nine maternal morbidity conditions, such as hypertensive disorders, and 24 maternal and child outcomes, such as cesarean section delivery and preterm birth, and uses an economic model to calculate the financial costs of maternal morbidity in the United States. The authors advocate for affordable, continuous health insurance coverage, including extending postpartum Medicaid coverage to ensure that key physical and mental health needs following birth are identified and met.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcomes, Pregnant women

Annotation: This annual report addresses maternal morbidity and mortality in the United States and presents five big ideas on how to tackle the problem. The recommendations are based on white papers prepared by subject matter experts that provide background information and data on maternal mortality in the U.S.; analyze the current maternity care system; explore racism and racial inequity in maternal and health outcomes; and assess the role of Medicaid in understanding and potentially helping to solve the problem. The five big ideas are as follows: (1) Make a national commitment to improvement; (2) Build and support community care models; (3) Redesign insurance around women’s needs; (4) Tackle the racism that undermines women-centered maternity care; and 5) Invest in research, data, and analysis.

Contact: Aspen Institute, One Dupont Circle, NW, Suite 700, Washington, DC 20036-1133, Telephone: (202) 736-5800 Fax: (202) 467-0790 Web Site: http://www.aspeninstitute.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health, Health insurance, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Prevention, Public health, Racial factors, Racism, Women', s health

Annotation: The report evaluates the federal government’s role in addressing racial disparities in maternal health. It includes an overview of maternal disparity data; a description of factors influencing racial disparities in maternal health, morbidity, and mortality; and a review of innovative maternal health programs in Georgia, North Carolina, and New Jersey.

Contact: U. S. Commission on Civil Rights , 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20425, Telephone: (202) 376-8128 voice Secondary Telephone: 711 Web Site: www.usccr.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Federal programs, Health Status disparities, Health care disparities, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Racial factors, State Initiatives

Annotation: This report provides background information on the Oregon Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review Committee, introduces processes that have been created to operationalize the committee, and presents key findings from case reviews performed in 2020. Based on the data analysis and review, the report includes Committee recommendations on action steps to help eliminate preventable pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths in Oregon.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division , 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland , OR 97232, Telephone: 971-673-0252 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/Pages/index.aspx

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This evidence review addresses racial inequities in the maternal health care and outlines evidence-informed approaches that address gaps in access to care; adopt and incentivize high-value models of care; diversity the perinatal workforce; and invest in community-based organizations.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Health equity, Health status disparities, Maternal Morbidity, Maternal Mortality, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Policy, Prevention

Annotation: This data brief examines severe maternal morbidity in the United States, which affects approximately 50,000-60,000 women annually. It describes the scope and severity of maternal health complications before, during, and after childbirth, highlighting stark racial and socioeconomic disparities. The brief discusses different definitions and measurement approaches for severe maternal morbidity, common indicators and conditions, risk factors, and implications for health care costs and postpartum health. It also provides recommendations for improving maternal health outcomes and measurement, including expanding insurance coverage and adopting more comprehensive, culturally appropriate care models.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Data , Maternal death, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Childbirth

Annotation: This Call to Action is intended to engage and equip individuals, organizations, and communities with actions to improve women’s health prior to, during, and following pregnancy. It describes the current state of maternal mortality and morbidity in the United States, risk factors present prior to pregnancy that may worsen or cause complications during pregnancy, strategies and actions to improve maternal health and reduce maternal mortality and morbidity. It includes a glossary, information on data systems, and government programs and resources.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Federal programs, Maternal morbidity, Maternal morbidity, Postpartum care , Pregnancy, Pregnant women

Annotation: This report describes opportunities for improving maternal and infant health outcomes among Medicaid and CHIP beneficiaries. The document reports on the work of the Expert Workgroup on Maternal and Infant Health, convened in 2019 and 2020. In addition, the report demonstrates the use of three of the Maternal and Perinatal Health Core Set measures: cesarean sections for low-risk pregnancies, attendance at postpartum care visits, and number of well-child visits in the first 15 months of life.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Health equity, Infants, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcomes, Pregnant women

Annotation: This consensus study report reviews and evaluates maternal and newborn care in the United States; the epidemiology of social and clinical risks in pregnancy and childbirth; research on birth settings; and access to and choice of birth settings in America. Maternal and neonatal interventions and health outcomes are compared across birth settings, including hospitals, birthing centers, and home birth environments.

Contact: National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Health and Medicine Division, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-2352 Fax: (202) 334-1412 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Birthing centers, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Health facilities, Home childbirth, Hospitals, Infant care, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternity hospitals, Measures, Midwifery, Policy , Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcome, Risk factors, Social factors, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This report presents key perspectives, lessons learned, and policy recommendations for state- and federal-level initiatives that center around the work of doulas and midwives in addressing the nation’s maternal health crisis.The report discusses racial disparities in maternal and infant morbidity and mortality and describes how birth workers can help reduce health risks, particularly among black and indigenous individuals giving birth. Information and perspectives shared by doulas and midwives interviewed for the report fall into three major categories: 1) the role and importance of community-based birth workers and the re-centering of the community in pregnancy-related care; 2) guidelines for health care system integration and the role of government; and 3) the creation of a progressive vision for pregnancy-related care in the United States.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 Fax: (202) 682-1867 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives , American Indians, Barriers, Blacks, Childbirth, Community health services, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Midwives, Pregnancy, Prevention services, Racial factors, Racism, Risk factors, Social support

Annotation: This chapter examines Medicaid's role in providing maternity care and improving maternal health outcomes in the United States. It describes concerning trends in maternal mortality and morbidity, including racial and ethnic disparities. The chapter provides an overview of Medicaid eligibility and benefits for pregnant women, noting that Medicaid financed over 40% of U.S. births in 2018. It details state and federal efforts to improve maternal care and outcomes through Medicaid, including policies around eligibility, education and outreach, covered benefits, care delivery models, and payment initiatives. The chapter concludes by outlining areas for future Commission work on this topic, such as value-based purchasing and postpartum coverage.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov

• Link

Keywords: Maternal death, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Childbirth, Medicaid

Annotation: This report provides a comprehensive policy framework aimed at eliminating racial disparities in both maternal and infant mortality. Considering solutions that address disparities in both of these areas, the authors outline specific strategies and provide recommendations to (1) improve access to health care and critical services; (2) improve the quality of care provided to pregnant women; (3) address maternal and infant mental health; (4) enhance supports for families before and after birth; and 5) improve data collection and oversight.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 Fax: (202) 682-1867 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Barriers, Blacks, Data collection, Health equity, Infant mortality, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Mental health, Public policy, Quality assurance, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Racism

Annotation: This report describes the Global Strategy for Women's and Children's Health, an international initiative to promote partnership, coordinate, and coherence in efforts to prevent women's and children's deaths and improve lives, advances made over the past five years, and how they have been achieved. Topics include progress in reducing maternal and child mortality and morbidity, catalyzing innovation to improve women's and children's health, accountability for results for women and children, mobilizing essential resources for women's and children's health, lessons learned, and building on gains to date in the post-2015 era.

Contact: Every Woman Every Child, United Nations Foundation, 801 Second Avenue, Suite 900, New York, NY 10017, Web Site: http://www.everywomaneverychild.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, International health, Maternal health, Morbidity, Mortality, Prevention, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Strategic plans

Contact: Partnership for Maternal, Newborn, and Child Health, World Health Organization, 20 avenue Appia, CH-1211, Geneva, Switzerland Telephone: +41 22 791 2595 Fax: +41 22 791 5854 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/pmnch/en Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Child health, Financing, International health, Maternal health, Morbidity, Mortality, Prevention, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Responsibility, Strategic plans