Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This web page provides basic information about perinatal mental health conditions and links to a resources for the medical and mental health workforce, including practice guidelines, online trainings, and educational material for patients.

Contact: Mental Health Technology Transfer Center Network , Telephone: (650)721-8692 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://mhttcnetwork.org/

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Maternal mental health, Mental disorders, Perinatal services, Professional education, Screening

Annotation: This brief highlights goal 1 of the White House blueprint for addressing the maternal health crisis, which is to increase access to and coverage of comprehensive high-quality maternal health services, including behavioral health services. The brief outlines the need to strengthen risk-appropriate care in rural and urban areas; improve quality of care provided to pregnant and postpartum women with or at risk for hypertensive disorders of pregnancy; expand capacity to screen, assess, treat, and refer for maternal depression and related behavioral disorders; and Integrate behavioral health supports in community settings. Evidence-informed strategies for improvement, criteria for states to consider when developing strategies, and additional resources are included. Statistics on the percentage of women ages 15-49 with health insurance (by source of coverage); percent of Medicaid coverage by race/ethnicity; and births covered by Medicaid are also provided.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Health insurance, Initiatives, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health services, Perinatal care, Service integration

Annotation: The annual National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report summarizes the status of health and healthcare delivery in the United States. The 2022 version reports on more than 440 measures of quality and examines data in three sections: Portrait of American Healthcare; Special Emphasis Topics (maternal health, child and adolescent mental health, substance use disorders, oral health); Quality and Disparities Tables.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Child health, Child mental health, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Low income groups, Maternal health, Measures, Minority groups, Policy development, Poverty, Racial factors, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors, Socioeconomic status

Annotation: This systematic review assesses the benefits and potential harms of pharmacologic interventions for pregnant, postpartum, and reproductive-age women with a new or preexisting diagnosis of a mental health disorder. Based on data extracted from 164 studies that met the eligibility criteria, the review explores whether the benefits for the mother outweigh the potential risks that pharmacologic interventions pose to the fetus, including the risk of congenital anomalies. The document was prepared by the RTI International--University of Northat Carolina at Chapel Hill Evidence-based Practice Center for the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Congenital abnormalities, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental disorders, Mental health, Outcome evaluation, Perinatal care, Pharmacology, Risk factors, Women', s health

Annotation: In this video presentation, Dr. Nancy Byatt shares information on MCPAP-- the Massachusetts Child Pscychiatry for Moms program--which provides consultation to health care providers regarding behavioral/mental health and safe medications for pregnant or breastfeeding patients. MCPAP also helps to connect people to support groups and community-based services and serves as an example of behavioral and primary care integration that can be replicated.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Depression, Maternal health, Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal health, Primary care, Service integration

Annotation: This webinar focuses on maternal mental health within a cultural context, highlighting factors to consider when addressing the mental health needs of Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) in underserved communities. Culturally-sensitive approaches to MCH services that address postpartum depression and other mental health concerns are discussed by a variety of panelists during the hour-long video presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Cultural barriers, Cultural factors, Health equity, MCH services, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum depression, Racial factors, Risk factors, Service delivery

Annotation: This webinar (1) describes how systems changes in maternal mental health and substance use disorders can lead to increases in diagnosis and treatment rates; (2) identifies opportunities to use the "Medicaid Institutions for Mental Disease (IMD) Exclusion" to improve treatment of mental health and substance use disorders in MCH populations; and (3) discusses the process by which Virginia leveraged a Medicaid IMD waiver to improve access to care and treatment for reproductive age women.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Postpartum depression, Substance abuse, Virginia

Annotation: This Orange County, California toolkit contains local resources, evidence-based tools, and recommendations to assist healthcare and service providers in offering perinatal mental health education, preventive interventions, screening, referrals, and treatment for new and expecting parents. Mental health and substance use screening tools, referral pathways, links to online training for professionals , information on mental health insurance coverage, and parent handouts in English, Spanish, Chinese, and Vietnamese are among the tools provided.

Contact: First 5 Orange County , Children & Families Commission of Orange County , 1505 E 17th Street, Suite 230, Santa Ana, CA 92705, Telephone: (714) 834-5310 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://first5oc.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Maternal mental health, Mental health services, Parent support services, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This issue brief provides an overview of factors influencing prenatal care access and utilization, recommended models of care, and state-level solutions and policy options. Maternal depression, disparities in prenatal care, and federal policy are among the topics addressed. A description of federal resources is also provided.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health disparities, Maternal health, Maternal mental health, Prenatal care, Public policy , State initiatives

Annotation: This tip sheet describes how women with maternal depression can be identified and supported by states, health care providers, families, and friends. It defines and describes the symptoms of postpartum depression (vs. the "baby blues"); includes a map comparing rates of reported symptoms of depression after birth; and a link to additional resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Maternal mental health, Postpartum depression, Screening, Social support, Statistics

Annotation: This report provides a comprehensive policy framework aimed at eliminating racial disparities in both maternal and infant mortality. Considering solutions that address disparities in both of these areas, the authors outline specific strategies and provide recommendations to (1) improve access to health care and critical services; (2) improve the quality of care provided to pregnant women; (3) address maternal and infant mental health; (4) enhance supports for families before and after birth; and 5) improve data collection and oversight.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 Fax: (202) 682-1867 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Barriers, Blacks, Data collection, Health equity, Infant mortality, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Mental health, Public policy, Quality assurance, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Racism

Annotation: This systematic review examines the benefits and harms of primary care-relevant interventions to prevent perinatal depression (i.e., depression during pregnancy and postpartum depression). Sources consulted for the review include MEDLINE, PubMED, PsyINFO, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; references of relevant publications and government web sites were also searched. The review looked at publications published in English between January 1, 2012, and February 6, 2018. The evidence review concluded that counseling interventions can be effective in preventing perinatal depression; a variety of other intervention approaches provided some evidence of effectiveness, but lacked a robust evidence base and need further research.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Intervention, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health screening, Postpartum depression, Pregnancy, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide explains how medical clinics can integrate maternal mental health care into obstetric and/or pediatric settings using best practices based on the integrated perinatal mental health care model. It includes a summary of the innovations that the California-based Maternal Mental Health NOW program made to build capacity to provide maternal mental health screening, connect patients to resources and services, and offer an array of evidence-based treatment options. Suggestions for screening tools, sample scripts, advice on data collection, and other implementation tools are included.

Contact: Maternal Mental Health NOW, Community Partners, 1000 N. Alameda Street, Suite 240 , Los Angeles, CA Web Site: https://www.maternalmentalhealthnow.org/

• Link

Keywords: Maternal mental health, Model programs, Perinatal services, Program development, Screening, Service integration

Annotation: This brief presents resources for families on finding help and learning more about depression during and after pregnancy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bibliographies, Depression, Electronic publications, Families, Maternal mental health, Postpartum depression, Pregnancy, Pregnant women

Annotation: This short video features an interview with Heather-- a new mother who experienced postpartum depression after giving birth to twins. She describes her health complications, both physical and emotional, including her sadness when she was unable to sustain breastfeeding beyond 5 weeks.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum depression

Annotation: This research brief investigates the relationship between maternal depression and eating habits earlier in childhood, when food preferences are developing. Topics include the prevalence and severity of maternal depression; characteristics of mothers, households, and kindergarten-age children; and associations between mothers' depressive symptoms and their kindergarten-age children's eating practices. Contents include data, measures, analyses, and discussion and conclusions.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Food consumption, Food habits, Maternal mental health, Nutrition, Young children

Annotation: This report provides a guide and benchmark on the current state of rural health priorities and disparities and serves as a roadmap for updating federal and state leaders on rural health priorities identified through the national Rural Healthy People 2020 survey. Volume one addresses each of the ten top-ranked rural health priorities and includes reviews of relevant literature, updated for those topics previously identified as priorities in Rural Healthy People 2010, and models for practice that rural practitioners can use to support community and regional programs. Volume two addresses priorities 11-20.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-4951-5242-9.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child health, Community health services, Diabetes, Health care disparities, Health objectives, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Heart diseases, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health, National initiatives, Nutrition, Physical activity, Rural populations, Strokes, Substance abuse, Tobacco use

Annotation: This website describes a comprehensive, focused, and integrated approach to identifying and treating depression in mothers participating in home visiting programs. The program involves three phases instituted over two years: (1) on-site training of home visitors in identification of maternal depression and role in the program, (2) training of therapists in Cincinnati in in-home cognitive behavioral therapy, and (3) ongoing training and support of therapists. Information about maternal depression, the program's research base, a training calendar, and additional resources about postpartum depression and postpartum support are included.

Contact: Every Child Succeeds, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, 3333 Burnet Avenue, ML 3005, Cincinnati, OH 45229-3039, Telephone: (513) 636-2830 Fax: (513) 636-2460 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everychildsucceeds.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Behavior change, Cognitive therapy, Comprehensive programs, Depression, Home visiting, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum care, Therapeutic programs, Training

Annotation: This brief describes a program that uses in-home cognitive behavioral therapy to treat maternal depression as an added component for home visiting programs. Topics include the impact of maternal depression on women, children, and families; the program's research and results, return on investment, design, and implementation; and opportunities and potential roles for states and home visiting programs.

Contact: Every Child Succeeds, Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, 3333 Burnet Avenue, ML 3005, Cincinnati, OH 45229-3039, Telephone: (513) 636-2830 Fax: (513) 636-2460 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.everychildsucceeds.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavior change, Cognitive therapy, Comprehensive programs, Costs, Depression, Financing, Home visiting, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum care, State programs, Therapeutic programs, Training

Annotation: This toolkit contains information and strategies for family health providers to use in working with mothers who may be depressed. It includes facts about depression; screening tools for more serious depression; and referrals, resources, and handouts for mothers who are depressed.

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Depression, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum care, Screening