Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This web page provides basic information about perinatal mental health conditions and links to a resources for the medical and mental health workforce, including practice guidelines, online trainings, and educational material for patients.

Contact: Mental Health Technology Transfer Center Network , Telephone: (650)721-8692 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://mhttcnetwork.org/

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Maternal mental health, Mental disorders, Perinatal services, Professional education, Screening

Annotation: This website explains how Perinatal Quality Collaboratives (PQCs) work to improve the quality of healthcare for mothers and babies. PCQs are networks of perinatal health care providers that include hospitals, clinicians, and public health professionals working to improve pregnancy outcomes through quality improvement initiatives and use of best available evidence-based strategies. The site includes a video introduction to PQCs; a webinar series; a guide to help states developed PQCs, success stories, journal articles, and links to additional resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Infant health, Maternal health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Quality assurance, Regional programs, State initiatives

Annotation: This brief highlights goal 1 of the White House blueprint for addressing the maternal health crisis, which is to increase access to and coverage of comprehensive high-quality maternal health services, including behavioral health services. The brief outlines the need to strengthen risk-appropriate care in rural and urban areas; improve quality of care provided to pregnant and postpartum women with or at risk for hypertensive disorders of pregnancy; expand capacity to screen, assess, treat, and refer for maternal depression and related behavioral disorders; and Integrate behavioral health supports in community settings. Evidence-informed strategies for improvement, criteria for states to consider when developing strategies, and additional resources are included. Statistics on the percentage of women ages 15-49 with health insurance (by source of coverage); percent of Medicaid coverage by race/ethnicity; and births covered by Medicaid are also provided.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Health insurance, Initiatives, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health services, Perinatal care, Service integration

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates whether participation in the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) is associated with nutrition and health outcomes for women, infants, and children, and whether the associations vary by duration of participation or across subgroups. The review prioritized studies published since 2009 and included studies comparing outcomes before and after the 2009 food package change. Conclusions showed that maternal WIC participation was associated with improved birth outcomes, lower infant mortality, and better child cognitive development, as well as purchasing healthier foods and improved diets for pregnant women and children.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Child nutrition, Infant health, MCH programs, Maternal health, Nutrition, Nutrition policy, Nutrition services, Pregnant women, Preterm delivery, Program evaluation, WIC Program

Annotation: This course is designed to help pediatric primary care health professionals (PPHPs) recognize the role they play in providing oral health care. Topics include the importance of the dental home, caries risk assessment including examination of teeth and gums, oral health anticipatory guidance, and fluoride varnish application. The course also covers steps to handle oral injuries if they occur and how families can prevent them.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available at no charge to AAP members; $199 for individual nonmembers.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Continuing education, Dental care, Fluorides, Infants, Maternal health, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Service integration

Annotation: This systematic review was conducted to support the United States Preventive Services Task Force in updating its 2014 recommendation on daily low dose aspirin use during pregnancy for individuals at increased risk for preeclampsia. The report reviewed updated evidence on the effectiveness and potential harms of daily aspirin use during pregnancy to prevent morbidity and mortality associated with preeclampsia. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, and the Cochrane Collaboration Registry of Controlled Trials; results were limited to studies published between January 2013 and July 2019. The reviewed studies showed that daily aspirin use in pregnancy for individuals at increased risk for preeclampsia consistently led to beneficial effects on perinatal mortality, preterm birth, fetal growth restriction, and preeclampsia diagnosis.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Pregnant women, Drugs, Evidence based medicine, High risk groups, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Preeclampsia, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcomes, Preventive health services

Annotation: This webinar focuses on maternal mental health within a cultural context, highlighting factors to consider when addressing the mental health needs of Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) in underserved communities. Culturally-sensitive approaches to MCH services that address postpartum depression and other mental health concerns are discussed by a variety of panelists during the hour-long video presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Cultural barriers, Cultural factors, Health equity, MCH services, Maternal health, Mental health, Postpartum depression, Racial factors, Risk factors, Service delivery

Annotation: This Orange County, California toolkit contains local resources, evidence-based tools, and recommendations to assist healthcare and service providers in offering perinatal mental health education, preventive interventions, screening, referrals, and treatment for new and expecting parents. Mental health and substance use screening tools, referral pathways, links to online training for professionals , information on mental health insurance coverage, and parent handouts in English, Spanish, Chinese, and Vietnamese are among the tools provided.

Contact: First 5 Orange County , Children & Families Commission of Orange County , 1505 E 17th Street, Suite 230, Santa Ana, CA 92705, Telephone: (714) 834-5310 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://first5oc.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Maternal mental health, Mental health services, Parent support services, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This issue brief reviews the evidence for new maternity care models and discusses how policy makers, payers, providers, and health care systems can help to advance effective models that will improve maternal health outcomes and promote health equity.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Community programs, Community services, Health equity, Maternal health, Minority health, Models, Perinatal care

Annotation: This report explores how community-based maternal support services provided by community-based doulas and maternity community health workers can improve maternal health outcomes. It also highlights the results of a national environmental scan of organizations that are actively working toward eliminating maternal health disparities and building community connections through the community-based maternal support model. Common barriers to implementing this model are identified, and opportunities for Medicaid stakeholders to provide support and increased access to these services are highlighted.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1150 18th Street, N.W., Suite 1010, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Childbirth, Community based services, Community health workers, Doulas , Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Public health, Risk factors, Social support, initiatives

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the oral health quality indicators for the maternal and child health (MCH) population created by the Centers for Oral Health Systems Integration and Improvement, Quality Advisory Team (QIAT). The overview explains what the indicators are and their purpose. It also describes the framework QIAT created to support quality measurement and improvement, an environmental scan of existing quality indicators, pilot implementation, and challenges and opportunities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Maternal and child health services, Pregnant women, Quality assurance, Quality improvement

Annotation: This toolkit was created to help practitioners, public health departments, academia, and others to update content and educational materials to reflect the revised 10 Essential Public Health Services. It includes downloadable graphics, a glossary, videos, comparisons to other frameworks, PowerPoint presentations, an environmental scan, task force and liaisons, downloadable social media tools, and other resources. A fact sheet is available in Spanish and Arabic, in addition to English.

Contact: Public Health National Center for Innovations, 1600 Duke Street, Suite 200, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 778-4549 Web Site: http://phnci.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Program descriptions, Adolescent health, Child health, Federal MCH programs, Foreign language materials, Health programs, Health services, Local MCH programs, Maternal health, Program development, Program development, Public health, Spanish language materials, State MCH programs

Annotation: This report presents key perspectives, lessons learned, and policy recommendations for state- and federal-level initiatives that center around the work of doulas and midwives in addressing the nation’s maternal health crisis.The report discusses racial disparities in maternal and infant morbidity and mortality and describes how birth workers can help reduce health risks, particularly among black and indigenous individuals giving birth. Information and perspectives shared by doulas and midwives interviewed for the report fall into three major categories: 1) the role and importance of community-based birth workers and the re-centering of the community in pregnancy-related care; 2) guidelines for health care system integration and the role of government; and 3) the creation of a progressive vision for pregnancy-related care in the United States.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 Fax: (202) 682-1867 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives , American Indians, Barriers, Blacks, Childbirth, Community health services, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Midwives, Pregnancy, Prevention services, Racial factors, Racism, Risk factors, Social support

Annotation: The report summarizes proceedings from the public health event that took place in Washington, DC. in June 2019 that focused on improving material health care in rural communities. The "interactive conversation" was hosted by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services in collaboration with other agencies and nonprofit organizations. Included are summaries of forum speeches, panel discussions, and feedback from attendees and key stakeholders. The expert panel discussions focused on the current state of rural maternal healthcare in the United States; the advancement of systems of maternal healthcare in rural America; and the improvement of policies that impact rural maternal health. The objectives of the event were to (1) present an overview of the state of maternal healthcare in rural communities, with a focus on access to maternal health services before, during, and after pregnancy; (2) address disparities in maternal health outcomes and opportunities to achieve health equity; (3) share existing promising practices and areas of opportunity to improve access to maternal health services; and (4) develop priorities and next steps for a plan of action to inform options to reduce disparities and improve access to maternal health services, the quality of care provided, and maternal health outcomes in rural communities.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Interagency cooperation, Maternal health, Maternal health services, Meetings, Proceedings, Public health, Rural health, Service coordination

Annotation: [This issue brief describes efforts to improve postpartum care by states participating in the federal Postpartum Care Action Learning Series and/or the Adult Medicaid Quality Grant Program aimed at maternal and infant health quality improvement. Included are summaries of state programs designed to improve the rate of postpartum visits and the quality of care. Project summaries, results, lessons learned, and next steps are provided for projects that took place in Alabama, Arizona, California, Georgia, Iowa, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, and West Virginia.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Maternal health, Maternal health services, Medicaid, Model programs, Postpartum care, State Initiatives, Statistics

Annotation: This issue of the Commonwealth Fund's "Transforming Care" focuses on efforts to support women throughout pregnancy and the postpartum period. It describes persistent racial disparities in maternal morbidity and mortality rates and examines efforts to redress health care shortcomings by providing more supportive services for women who are at heightened risk due to their social or medical needs. Included are examples of promising federal and regional programs.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Health equity, Maternal health services, Minority health, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Annotation: This issue brief highlights four community-based maternal care programs from across the country and describes how these model programs can help reduce maternal health disparities. The brief includeds background information, a description of the care model, and outcome measures for each of the model programs and offers recommendations to support and expand such programs.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20009, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childbirthconnection.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Community programs, Health care disparities, Health equity, Initiatives, Maternal health, Models , Perinatal care

Annotation: This manual was developed for use by the workforce delivering services to women, infants children, youth, and their families. It provides an overview of maternal and child health (MCH) services in Kansas, including standards and the roles of local agency grantees and training requirements and opportunities. Additional chapters cover the MCH background; social determinants and health disparities; MCH administrative grant management; women/maternal and perinatal/infant health; MCH home visiting services; special health care needs satellite office guidance; and MCH definitions. An appendix of MCH resources is included.

Contact: Kansas Department of Health and Environment, Curtis State Office Building, 1000 S.W. Jackson, Suite 540, Topeka, KS 66612-1367, Telephone: (785) 296-0461 Fax: (785) 368-6368 Web Site: http://www.kdheks.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Child health, Children, Families, Health services, Infants, Kansas, Maternal health, State programs, Title V programs, Women

Annotation: This report summarizes qualitative survey data on midwifery practice icollected from a variety of key stakeholders in New York state, including individuals working in public hospital midwifery departments and academic midwifery programs; private practice midwives working in all settings, health service providers; public health professionals; obstetricians and family physicians; hospital administrators; and childbearing women who have given birth in all settings. The report highlights the value of the midwifery model, including the reduced risk of cesarean delivery and other interventions; the improvement in the childbirth experience; and the reduction in cost. The report discusses the historical and current climate of midwifery care in New York, addresses barriers to midwifery practice, and offers recommendations to maximize midwifery to further improve maternal and infant outcomes.

Contact: Choices in Childbirth, 601 W. 26th St, #325-246, New York, NY 10001, Telephone: (212) 983-4122 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://en.choicesinchildbirth.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Maternal health services, Maternal mortality, Midwifery, New York, Prevention, Qualitative evaluation , Social support, Surveys

Annotation: This issue brief provides strategies and examples of how the Title V program's focus on preventative efforts can leat to long-term health benefits and cost-savings. Preconception care, cesarean-section reduction, prenatal care, maternal smoking cessation newborn screening, breastfeeding promotion, healthy early childhood development, access to medical homes, immunization promotion, and childhood injury prevention are among the preventive measures addressed.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Cost containment, Cost effectiveness, Maternal health, Prevention programs, Prevention services, State MCH Programs, Title V programs, Women', s health