Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report presents the results of a 1989 survey of state Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs and children with special health needs (CSHN) programs with respect to their roles in serving adolescents. The publication brings together the results of adolescent health initiatives from both MCH and CSHN perspectives in order to examine how these programs might be better coordinated and strengthened. The survey revealed that most Title V-supported programs routinely bill Medicaid (and, to a lesser extent, private insurance) for some services. Limited revenues are received from insurance due to inadequate billing capacity, the type of services offered by Title V programs, and low reimbursement from Medicaid. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Child health, Insurance, Maternal health, Medicaid, Social Security Act, Special health care needs, Title V

Annotation: This directory lists federal maternal and child health information centers arranged by topic. Each entry includes annotations.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org

Keywords: Child health, Federal government, Information centers, Maternal health

Annotation: This unpublished document contains a set of 4 teaching modules: (1) Ethnicity and Healthy Birth Outcomes; (2) Ethnicity and Genetic Disease; (3) Culture and AIDS Prevention in Adolescents; and (4) Using the Internet in Maternal and Child Health. Each of the modules contains lesson objectives; a suggested reading list followed by a section of summaries; and suggested assignments and class presentations geared towards the objectives discussed at the beginning of each module. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Maryland School of Social Work, Center for Maternal and Child Health Social Work Education, 525 West Redwood Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 706-7533 Fax: (410) 706-6046 Web Site: http://cmchswe.umaryland.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Ethnic factors, Internet, MCH training, Maternal health

Annotation: This glossary explains terms used in the Title V Information System, an online service that electronically captures and makes available applications and reports submitted by U.S. states, territories, and jurisdictions on state programs funded under Title V of the Social Security Act.

Contact: Title V Information System, HRSA Call Center, 12530 Parklawn Drive, Suite 350, Germantown, MD 20850, Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 998-7377 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://mchb.tvisdata.hrsa.gov

Keywords: Child health, Dictionaries, Federal MCH programs, Maternal health, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This document contains the approved list of keywords used in the Health Resources and Services Administration eHandbook in Form 6, Project Abstract.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Child health, Federal programs, Maternal health, Thesauri, Title V programs

Annotation: This Trainee Toolkit is designed to provide current and former trainees, training programs, and MCH stakeholders with online and downloadable resources in one convenient location. It contains links to comprehensive, easy-to-use web pages; downloadable resources to orient the reader to the Training Program; and a list of frequently used acronyms relevant to trainees.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Maternal health, Resources for professionals, Training programs

Annotation: This issue brief provides background information on rural healthcare access and focuses attention on the need for national, state, and community-based organizations to collaborate on developing an action plan to improve access to maternal health care and improve outcomes for rural women and their babies. It addresses the challenges that rural women face before, during, and after pregnancy and highlights promising approaches and opportunities to improve maternal health care in rural communities. Six case studies address several factors contributing to problems accessing maternal health care in rural communities, including workforce shortages and access to care challenges associated with social determinants of health. They illustrate efforts to stabilize rural hospital obstetrical services, regionalization and coordination of care, quality improvement initiatives, training and guideline development, provider recruitment and retention strategies, and expansion of care models

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Health care access, Health equity, Maternal health, Rural health, Rural population, Statistics

Annotation: This web page provides basic information about perinatal mental health conditions and links to a resources for the medical and mental health workforce, including practice guidelines, online trainings, and educational material for patients.

Contact: Mental Health Technology Transfer Center Network , Telephone: (650)721-8692 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://mhttcnetwork.org/

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Maternal mental health, Mental disorders, Perinatal services, Professional education, Screening

Annotation: This report highlights the common threads between housing and reproductive justice, emphasizing the importance of policy solutions that de-silo maternal health and address social and structural barriers. The first section describes how structural racism and structural disinvestment—including residential segregation, poor housing access and conditions, residential instability and gentrification, and the carceral apparatus—contribute to deleterious health outcomes among Black women and birthing people. The second section outlines how Black pregnancy is policed across the reproductive lifespan through forced evictions and displacement during pregnancy, double jeopardy of racism and discrimination in health care settings, and threatened Child Protective Services (CPS) involvement after birth. The third section highlights the status of housing reform in Washington, D.C. and potential opportunities for change. The report ends with Mamatoto Village’s housing justice framework, a summary of federal housing programs and policies, and links to annotated bibliography of key articles.

Contact: Georgetown University , Health Justice Alliance , 600 New Jersey Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 662-9000 Web Site: https://www.law.georgetown.edu/health-justice-alliance/

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Blacks, Civil rights, Federal programs , Housing, Housing programs, Maternal health, Policy development, Pregnancy, Racism, Social factors, Underserved communities

Annotation: This website showcases the IMPROVE initiative, launched by the National Institutes of Health in 2019, to support research to reduce preventable causes of maternal deaths and improve health for women before, during, and after pregnancy. The site describes the multi-pronged research initiative, emphasizing its focus on those disproportionately affected by maternal morbidity and mortality, including African American/Black, American Indian/Alaska Native populations, people of advanced maternal age, and people with disabilities. Links to research and funding opportunities, webinars and virtual workshops, funded projects, and resources for the public and for researchers are included.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx

• Link
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Grants , Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs, Research, Research programs

Annotation: This online resource outlines the “Plan for Appropriate Tailored Healthcare in Pregnancy (PATH)" recommendations developed by an independent panel of maternal care experts convened by the University of Michigan and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG). Based on a review of existing evidence, the site provides how-to guidance on prenatal care delivery and links to related resources for providers. An embedded 90-minute webinar presents an overview of ACOG's Redesigning Prenatal Care initiative and a roadmap to engage communities in the process.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• Link

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Maternal health, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Professional education

Annotation: This resource for professionals provides actionable guidance that encourages collaboration across diverse sectors to address and improve inequities and maternal health outcomes. It provides examples of partnerships that leverage new ideas and resources, including innovative approaches to gathering and using data; highlights policies and practices that are improving the health and well-being of birthing people and children across the United States; and includes stories from birthing people and women about their pregnancy and childbirth experiences. Graphics and sample text for social media posts are also provided.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Prenatal care, Advocacy, Childbirth, Colllaboration, Community action, Data, Health equity, Maternal health, Models, Policy, Pregnancy, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This website explains how Perinatal Quality Collaboratives (PQCs) work to improve the quality of healthcare for mothers and babies. PCQs are networks of perinatal health care providers that include hospitals, clinicians, and public health professionals working to improve pregnancy outcomes through quality improvement initiatives and use of best available evidence-based strategies. The site includes a video introduction to PQCs; a webinar series; a guide to help states developed PQCs, success stories, journal articles, and links to additional resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Infant health, Maternal health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Quality assurance, Regional programs, State initiatives

Annotation: This report examines international maternal mortality data from 2022, comparing rates across high-income countries with particular focus on racial and ethnic disparities in the United States. It presents data on the timing of pregnancy-related deaths, showing that 65% occur during the postpartum period, and analyzes healthcare workforce capacity by comparing the number of obstetrician-gynecologists and midwives per 1,000 live births across countries. The report also compares federally mandated paid maternity, parental, and home care leave policies among high-income nations, highlighting significant disparities in access to care and support services.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Data, International health, Maternal mortality, Public policy, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This issue brief describes the role of the doula; explains how doula support can reduce maternal health disparities and improve birthing outcomes; and provides examples of state Medicaid programs that cover doula care. The brief also addresses policy considerations; funding challenges, barriers to doula coverage, and considerations for states seeking to expand doula care.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Access to care, Doulas, Financing, Health care disparities, Labor companions, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy, State initiatives

Annotation: This report describes efforts to engage selected state and national technical experts and leaders in developing standard methodology and procedures for linking and accessing Medicaid and birth certificate data. It also describes a research agenda of maternal health topics discussed and selected by state and federal participants in the project.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org

• PDF

Keywords: Data linkage, Federal Initiatives, Maternal health, Research, State initiatives, data collection

Annotation: This action brief discusses the importance of prioritizing respectful maternity care, calling attention to the need to support dignity, autonomy, and companionship in pregnancy, birth, and postpartum care. The brief highlights five anti-discriminatory action steps highlighted in the White House blueprint for addressing the maternal crisis and links to a wide variety of programs and resources aimed at improving maternal health outcomes. Statistical data related to maternal maltreatment and a description of factors affecting progress are included

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• PDF

Keywords: , Barriers, Federal programs, Health care disparities, Health equity, Initiatives, Maternal health, Models, Perinatal care, Quality improvement, Racial discrimination

Annotation: This website provides tools for framing and understanding racial and ethnic health disparities; conversation starters and hidden bias tests; free online trainings; information databases; reports on health disparities in North Carolina; and examples of promising interventions aimed at closing the gap in health disparities.

Contact: University of North Carolina , Collaborative for Maternal and Infant Health , Room 216 MacNider, Campus Box 7181, Charep Hill, NC 27599-7181, E-mail: [email protected].

• Link

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Health care disparities, Health equity, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Racial factors

Annotation: This online tracker contains an updated map of the U.S. and accompanying chart highlighting each state's policy in response to the 2016 federal guidance allowing states to provide Medicaid coverage of maternal and/or caregiver depression screening during a well-child visit under the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit. The map indicates which states either require, recommend, or allow maternal depression screening using the two-generational approach and, where applicable, provides the reimbursement rate for this fee-for-service.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nashp.org

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Financing, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum depression, Screening, State legislation

Annotation: This is a systematic review of risk factors associated with maternal morbidity and mortality in the U.S. during the prenatal and postpartum periods, including social and structural determinants of health. The focus is primarily on research that examines factors to which pregnant and birthing people have been exposed and that may underlie poor perinatal health outcomes. The U.S. Office of Disease Prevention requested the review to inform the November 29 – December 1, 2022 Pathways to Prevention workshop cosponsored by the National Institutes of Health’s Office of Research on Women’s Health, the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute, the National Institute of Minority Health and Health Disparities, and the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Racism, Risk factors, Social determinants of health