Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report describes the maternal mortality review process in the state of New Mexico, presents key findings on pregnancy-associated deaths in the state for the period 2015-2018, and provides recommendations from the Review Committee aimed at reducing maternal deaths. The data indicates cause of death, race/ethnicity, place of birth, type of insurance, and other factors.

Contact: New Mexico Department of Health, 1190 South Saint Francis Drive, Santa Fe, NM 87505, Telephone: (505) 827-2613 Fax: (505) 827-2530 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nmhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This joint report presents key findings on cases of pregnancy-related deaths in the state of Texas, including health conditions and factors that disproportionately affect the most at-risk populations. It reports underlying causes of death and disparities in maternal deaths based on race/ethnicity, socioeconomic factors, demographics, and other variables. Descriptions of best practices and programs aimed at reducing pregnancy-related deaths in other states are included.

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Data Statistics, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Trends

Annotation: This report presents findings from a review of statewide maternal deaths for the year 2018, conducted by the Arkansas Maternal Mortality Review Committee. Statistics on the timing, causes, and contributing factors are presented for deaths that occurred during pregnancy, or within one year of the end of pregnancy. Pregnancy-associated deaths according to race/ethnicity, insurance type, and age are also delineated. Background information on the Review Committee's work, definitions of key terms, and recommendations to help lower the rate of maternal mortality in Arkansas are included.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health , Arkansas Maternal Mortality Review Committee, Little Rock , AR E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/arkansas-maternal-mortality-review-committee

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This report provides background information on the Oregon Maternal Mortality and Morbidity Review Committee, introduces processes that have been created to operationalize the committee, and presents key findings from case reviews performed in 2020. Based on the data analysis and review, the report includes Committee recommendations on action steps to help eliminate preventable pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths in Oregon.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division , 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland , OR 97232, Telephone: 971-673-0252 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/Pages/index.aspx

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This data brief examines severe maternal morbidity in the United States, which affects approximately 50,000-60,000 women annually. It describes the scope and severity of maternal health complications before, during, and after childbirth, highlighting stark racial and socioeconomic disparities. The brief discusses different definitions and measurement approaches for severe maternal morbidity, common indicators and conditions, risk factors, and implications for health care costs and postpartum health. It also provides recommendations for improving maternal health outcomes and measurement, including expanding insurance coverage and adopting more comprehensive, culturally appropriate care models.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Data , Maternal death, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Childbirth

Annotation: This report includes the findings of the Minnesota Department of Health’s Maternal Mortality Review Committee (MMRC) on birthing people who died during or within one year after the end of a pregnancy in 2017-2018. The review includes statistics on pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths based on race/ethnicity, cause of death, location of death, and pregnancy timing/status (death before, during, or after birth). Based on the data analysis and review, recommendations on action steps that can help prevent maternal mortality are included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, Women & Infant Health Unit, 625 Robert Street North, P.O. Box 64882, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: 651-201-3650 Fax: (651) 201-3590 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/cfh/program/mch/index.cfm

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This report presents findings from a review of statewide maternal deaths for the years 2015-2017 conducted by the Connecticut Maternal Mortality Review Committee. Background information on the state's population, including income and racial disparities, are provided, together with statistics on pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths. The data is presented by race, insurance type, cause of death, and other variables. Sections on mental health, substance use, and intimate partner violence are included. The report concludes with the Review Committee's recommendations on action that can be taken to help prevent pregnancy-related deaths in Connecticut.

Contact: Connecticut Department of Public Health, 410 Capitol Avenue, Hartford, CT 06134-0308, Telephone: (860) 509-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ct.gov/dph

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, Research, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This annual report from Indiana Maternal Mortality Review Committee describes the state of maternal mortality in Indiana, including the social factors associated with poor maternal health outcomes. Based on a review of all pregnancy-related and pregnancy-associated deaths that occurred in the state in 2018, the report presents maternal mortality statistics based on the cause of death, race/ethnicity, insurance status, and other variables and contributing factors. Based on the data analysis and review, Committee recommendations on ways to help reduce the rate of preventable maternal deaths are included.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh

• PDF

Keywords: Committees, Data, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Models, Prevention, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This chapter examines Medicaid's role in providing maternity care and improving maternal health outcomes in the United States. It describes concerning trends in maternal mortality and morbidity, including racial and ethnic disparities. The chapter provides an overview of Medicaid eligibility and benefits for pregnant women, noting that Medicaid financed over 40% of U.S. births in 2018. It details state and federal efforts to improve maternal care and outcomes through Medicaid, including policies around eligibility, education and outreach, covered benefits, care delivery models, and payment initiatives. The chapter concludes by outlining areas for future Commission work on this topic, such as value-based purchasing and postpartum coverage.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov

• Link

Keywords: Maternal death, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Childbirth, Medicaid

Annotation: This legislative report presents findings from a review of statewide maternal deaths for the years 2014-2016, conducted by the Washington State Maternal Mortality Review Panel. Statistics on the timing, causes, and contributing factors are presented for deaths that occurred during pregnancy, or within one year of the end of pregnancy. The report includes data from a previously published report; however, given the growing understanding of the role that behavioral health issues play in pregnancy, this report also examines maternal deaths from suicide and substance overdose. Based on the data analysis and review, recommendations on action steps that can help reduce the rate of preventable maternal deaths are included.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Prevention and Community Health Division, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Web Site: https://doh.wa.gov/about-us/executive-offices/prevention-safety-and-health/prevention-and-community-health

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Model programs, Prevention, State programs, Statistics

Annotation: This presentation provides information about a U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MHCB) national maternal health initiative. The presentation focuses on maternal morbidity in the United States. Topic include numbers of deaths, causes of death, risk factors; economic burden, MCHB's vision, the initiative's goals and priority areas, and guiding principles for a national health strategy.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Maternal death, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, National initiatives, Prevention, Racial factors, Risk factors, Statistical data

Annotation: This fact sheet provides a brief review of the Centers for Disease Control/Association of Maternal and Child Health Program's assessment of maternal mortality review process. The fact sheet provides background and presents a summary of methods and results.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Financing, Legislation, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Racial factors, Research, Statistical data

Annotation: This report provides information about which countries are doing the best—and the worst—at providing nutrition beginning during pregnancy and continuing through a child's second birthday. The report looks at six low-cost nutritional solutions, including breastfeeding, that have the potential to save lives, and discusses the affordability of these solutions. Also discussed are the global malnutrition crisis and why the first 1,000 days of a child's life are particularly important in terms of nutrition.

Contact: Save the Children, 501 Kings Highway East, Fairfield, CT 06825, Telephone: (203) 221-4000 Web Site: http://www.savethechildren.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child death, Child health, Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Costs, Developing countries, Financing, Infant death, Infant health, Infant nutrition, International health, Maternal nutrition, Maternal nutrition programs, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Prevention, Public policy, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This website describes the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality (SACIM) and its roles and actions in advising the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) on HHS programs that are directed at reducing infant mortality and improving the health status of pregnant women and infants. The site also contains advice from the SACIM on how best to coordinate federal, state, local and private efforts that address the health and social problems that have an impact on infant mortality. Site contents include the latest (2009-2011) charter and a list of current members, information about the SACIM, and an archive of correspondence to the HHS Secretary. In addition an archive of Committee meetings (from 2004-2011) is provided with agenda, minutes, and presentations.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advisory committees, Child health, Infant death, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Prevention

Annotation: This paper presents findings from a meeting convened by the New York Academy of Medicine on June 18, 2010, focused on reducing maternal deaths in New York. The paper also presents priorities for action and recommended action steps.

Contact: New York Academy of Medicine, 1216 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10029, Telephone: (212) 822-7200 Fax: (212) 722-7650 Web Site: http://www.nyam.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Maternal death, Maternal mortality, New York, Prevention, State surveys

Annotation: This report examines data from the National Vital Statistics System for fetal death of 20 weeks gestation or more. Topics include the impact of fetal mortality on families, recent trends, differences among racial and ethnic groups, rates among twins or other multiple pregnancies, relationship between fetal mortality and maternal age, and fetal mortality rates by number of previous pregnancies.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Fetal death, Fetal mortality, Maternal age, Multiple pregnancy, National surveys, Population surveillance, Pregnancy loss, Racial factors, Statistical data, Statistics

Annotation: This dissertation examines the association between shared sleeping arrangements and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) among a diverse population in the United States. The measures of co-sleeping (a term used in this study to include bed sharing and room sharing) account for the type of sleep service, the relation of the co-sleeper to the infant, and last and usual practices. The results indicate (1) the prevalence and correlates of co-sleeping among a population-based sample of cases of SIDS and live control infants in 11 Califoreen infant bed-sharing and SIDS; and (3) the associasharing and SIDS among infants who last slept alone in a crib. Tables provide additional data such as the reasons given for co-sleeping, breastfeeding history, birthweight of infant, smoking habits during pregnancy, and age and race/ethnicity of the mother.

Contact: UMI Dissertation Services, 789 Eisenhower Parkway , Ann Arbor, MI 48106-1346, Telephone: (734) 761-4700 ext 3333 Secondary Telephone: (800) 521-0600 Fax: (313) 997-4652 Web Site: http://www.proquest.com/brand/umi.shtml Document Number: ISBN 9780549977896.

Keywords: Data, Infant death, Maternal behavior, Research, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep position, Studies

Annotation: This report summarizes processing of maternal mortality in the National Vital Statistics System (NVSS) and describes some recent changes affecting NVSS data and their impact upon statistics on deaths of pregnant women. Specifically, the report examines the impact of revision of the death certificate and the International Classification of Diseases. Methods, results, and a discussion are presented.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: PHS 2007-1417; ISBN 8-8046-0612-5.

• PDF

Keywords: Death certificates, Maternal mortality, Pregnant women, Statistical data

Annotation: This brief focuses on the maternal, newborn, child health (MNCH) continuum of care, which is based on the assumption that the health and well-being of women, newborns, and children are closely linked and should be managed in a unified way. The brief discusses solutions to the problem of how to save the lives of mothers, newborns, and children; the necessity of applying an integrated approach; and the global Partnership for Maternal, Newborn, and Child Health, a merger of three existing partnerships for these age groups. Sidebars provide information about the MNCH continuum of care in India and Ethiopia. The brief is available in English, French, and Spanish.

Contact: Population Reference Bureau, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 520, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (800) 877-9881 Fax: (202) 328-3937 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.prb.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Child death, Child health, Infant death, Infant health, International health, Maternal death, Mothers, Neonatal death, Newborn infants, Non English language materials, Prevention, Program coordination, Service coordination, Women', s health

Annotation: This manual describes strategies for conducting pregnancy-related or maternal mortality surveillance in the United States through identification, data collection and analysis, and action. Chapter topics include the structure of pregnancy-related mortality surveillance in the U.S.; definition of terms; classifying a woman's death in relation to pregnancy; death reviews; analyzing and interpreting findings; taking action; evaluating the surveillance system; and special issues. Subtopics discussed include unclear causal relationships; review of death certificates and other records; mortality review committees; legal issues of liability and confidentiality; making, implementing, and disseminating recommendations; funding mortality studies; and monitoring health and morbidity/near misses. An epilogue and references complete the text. Extensive appendices contain instructions for the completion of death certificates; a state-by-state review of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Review Provisions; sample data extraction forms for medical records and questionnaires; extracts from "State Level Expert Review Committees--Are They Protected?"; measures of pregnancy-related mortality; and a sample review committee report from Massachusetts.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data analysis, Data collection, Death certificates, Maternal death, Maternal mortality, Medical records, Population surveillance, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Research, Vital statistics