Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This poster shows a young Native American women holding a young child in her arms. The legend reads: Natural bonding: Breastfeed.

Contact: Chickasaw Nation WIC Program, 1007 N. Country Club Rd. , Ada, OK 74820, Telephone: (580) 421-4581 Web Site: http://www.chickasaw.net/site06/services/258_773.htm $4.00.

Keywords: American Indians, Breastfeeding, Materials for parents

Annotation: This poster shows a young Native American woman breastfeeding a baby. The legend reads: Mother, nature's choice: Breastfeed.

Contact: Chickasaw Nation WIC Program, 1007 N. Country Club Rd. , Ada, OK 74820, Telephone: (580) 421-4581 Web Site: http://www.chickasaw.net/site06/services/258_773.htm $4.00.

Keywords: American Indians, Breastfeeding, Materials for parents

Annotation: This study involved 27 hospitals in Connecticut that provided information/instruction to improve safe sleeping environments for newborns to their patients, as required by state legislation passed in 2015. Although the materials provided by 26/27 (96%) of hospitals was consistent with the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Guidelines, the rates of positional asphyxia did not decrease after legislation was passed.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Connecticut, Educational materials for parents, Hospital programs, SIDS, Safe sleep, State legislation, Suffocation

Annotation: This brochure describes the Iowa Family Leadership Training Institute (IFLTI), a program offering leadership training for parents and primary caregivers of children with special health care needs. It outlines the program's four in-person sessions focused on developing leadership and advocacy skills across individual, community, and policy levels, using the Maternal and Child Health Leadership Competencies framework. Key components include training topics such as disability history, servant leadership, storytelling, and policy advocacy, along with mentored Community Service Projects that provide practical application of learned skills (e.g., installing adult changing tables and creating safety presentations for first responders).

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Iowa, Children with special health care needs, Materials for parents, Parent education,

Annotation: This website for adolescents, parents and guardians, educators, policymakers, and resarchers provides evidence-based information and resources to reduce adolescent driver crashes and improve adolescent driver safety. Contents include a driving plan parent guide, goal guide, and logging and rating tool; resources to raise awareness; a training program for work, school, and community educators; and fact sheets to restart a conversation with state policymakers about graduated driver licensing provisions.

Contact: Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, 34th Street and Civic Center Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19104-4399, Telephone: (215) 590-1000 Web Site: http://www.chop.edu/consumer/index.jsp Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Driver education, Goals, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Parents, Planning, Policy development, Resources for professionals, State legislation, Training materials

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist parents and caregivers of children with epilepsy and seizure disorder in keeping health information and their child's health records in a central location. The guide provides answers to questions to help parents better understand epilepsy and seizure disorder; learn about access to care and services; reach out to other parents; and learn about additional resources. The appendixes include forms to help parents keep a log of their child's diagnosis, seizures, visits to the doctor and medications taken, and communication with health professionals and organizations. The guide is available in English, Spanish, and Farsi. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Southern California University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities at Children's Hospital Los Angeles, 46550 Sunset Boulevard, Mailstop #53, Los Angeles, CA 90027-0980, Telephone: (323) 361-2300 Secondary Telephone: (323) 480-4192 Fax: (323) 361-8305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uscucedd.org/ Available from the website.

• Resource Page For English, Spanish, And Farsi Versions

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Consumer education materials, Epilepsy, Forms, Medical records, Non English language materials, Parents, Seizures, Spanish language materials, child care workers

Annotation: This form is designed to assist schools in raising awareness about and participation in a school fluoride tablet program for students in grades K–6 who live in areas without optimum levels of fluoride in the water supply and who are not taking fluoride tablets at home. The form includes information about fluoride and has space for parents to indicate whether they want their child to take part in the fluoride tablet program. The form is available in English, Russian, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Somali.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Form
• Program Website

Keywords: Disease prevention, Fluorides, Forms, Non English language materials, Oregon, Parental consent, Parents, Preventive health services, School age children, School health programs, Schools, State programs

Annotation: This series of fact sheets for children, adults, and health professionals provides information on various oral health conditions for children and adults with special health care needs. Topics include asthma, autism, cleft lip and palate, congenital cardiac disorder, diabetes, Down syndrome, epilepsy, HIV, and traumatic brain injury. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Washington School of Dentistry, Department of Oral Medicine, 1959 N.E. Pacific Street, Campus Box 356370, Seattle, WA 98195-6370, Telephone: (206) 543-6501 Web Site: http://dental.washington.edu/departments/oral-medicine/oral-medicine.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Comprehensive health care, Continuing education, Educational materials, Health supervision, Non English language materials, Oral health, Parents, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Annotation: These training and educational materials are designed for health professionals, teachers, and parents seeking to help young children develop healthy behaviors. Topics include obesity, oral health, nutrition, and physical activity. News; information about events; links to resources by topic and by audience, such as Head Start and the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) programs; and tools for submitting and sharing resources with others are also available on the website.

Contact: Choosy Kids, 3160 Collins Ferry Road, Morgantown, WV 26505, Telephone: (304) 777-4541 Fax: (304) 777-4543 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.choosykids.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Audiovisual materials, Child health, DVDs, Head Start, Health behavior, Health promotion, Nutrition, Oral health, Parents, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, WIC Program, Young children

Annotation: This section of the North Dakota Oral Health Program Web site contains resources on fluoride varnish. Resources for health professionals include a fluoride varnish reference guide, risk-assessment tool, Medicaid reimbursement guidelines, the North Dakota legal authorities to apply fluoride varnish, a sample consent form and standing medical order, and a list of supplies. A research brief on the evidence base for fluoride varnish and a brochure and fact sheet for parents and other caregivers of young children are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Fluorides, Forms, Guidelines, Medicaid, Oral health, Parental consent, Parents, Reference materials, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, State legislation, State programs

Annotation: This report includes the results of an oral health screening of third-grade students in 51 schools in Nevada conducted in 2002. The report describes the development and implementation of the screening program, lists recommendations, and provides a supply list and cost breakdown. The appendices contain sample letters, press releases, and protocols designed to announce and explain the screening program, request consent, and thank participants. Selected forms are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Forms, Nevada, Oral health, Parents, Program evaluation, School age children, Screening, Spanish language materials, State initiatives

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist Head Start staff in meeting their communication goals and enhancing their relationships with the parents they work with. The guide is based on three central ideas about communication in the Head Start program: (1) effective communication is the cornerstone of the parent/staff partnership, (2) whether formal or informal, effective communication is respectful and clear, and (3) to communicate well, one must consciously practice the skills involved and must plan for it, both at the personal and at the program level. The guide is organized into four modules: (1) communication in the Head Start community, (2) speaking and listening effectively, (3) using plain language writing, and (4) planning the communication process. The guide includes a continuing professional development section that lists ideas supervisors can use to help staff apply new skills and extend their learning, as well as a resources section.

Contact: Education Resources Information Center, Institute of Education Sciences, U.S. Department of Education, 555 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20208, Telephone: (202) 219-1385 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GPO 2000-515-032/20513.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Head Start, Health promotion, Parents, Resources for professionals, Training materials

Annotation: This guide, geared toward Head Start staff and families, supports Head Start's efforts to improve long-term school success and continue comprehensive services for children by ensuring their effective transitions to different setting from birth to age 8. The guide is divided into two sections: skill-based training and informational resources. The skill-based training section in is organized into three modules: (1) transition and change, (2) transition and continuity, and (3) partnership for continuity. The information resources section includes documents that can help enhance readers' understanding of the major concepts discussed in the guide. This section contains digests, program profiles, hands-on activities, and resources.

Contact: Office of Head Start, 330 C Street, S.W., #4301, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 205-8347 Secondary Telephone: (866) 763-6481 Fax: (202) 260-9336 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.HeadStart.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ERIC ED 407 143.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Head Start, Health promotion, Parents, Resources for professionals, School adjustment, Training materials, Transition planning

Annotation: This book provides information adolescents who are living together need to make their lives easier; it covers day-to-day survival skills in matters such as cooking, cleaning, working, and relating to one another. It also covers topics related to planning, having, and caring for a baby. It is one of two publications developed for adolescent couples, whether married or unmarried. The other publication, "Teenage Couples: Caring, Commitment, and Change," focuses on interpersonal issues such as communication, fostering relationships, handling jealousy, and issues related to substance abuse and partner abuse. A third volume, "Teenage Couples: Expectations and Reality," presents the results of a 1994 survey on adolescent couples which considered the differences in the problems encountered by couples living singly and those living together.

Contact: Morning Glory Press, 6595 San Haroldo Way, Buena Park, CA 90620-3748, Telephone: (888) 612-8254 Fax: (888) 327-4362 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.morningglorypress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-885356-87-3, paper; 1-885356-86-5, cloth.

Keywords: Activities of daily living, Adolescent parents, Adolescents, Employment, Family income, Family relations, Individual responsibility, Materials for adolescents, Parenting, Relationships, Social behavior

Annotation: This teaching guide helps educators prepare adolescents in grades 7–12 to make decisions about topics that will affect their lives. It covers the skills and information adolescents need to make transitions from school to adulthood. The guide uses exercises and activities that rely on the experiences of the participants to reinforce the lesson. Chapters cover these topics: self perception and self image; personal, family, and community values; communication; relationships; sexuality; community participation; goal setting; decision making; gender roles; parenting; responding to violence; health care; reducing sexual risks, and employment. The guide includes an evaluation form and lists sources of videotapes. An earlier edition of this title was released in 1989 by the Center for Population Options, which was the publisher's name at that time. It is being revised in 2015. It is also available in Polish, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org $44.95 plus 20 percent shipping and handling.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Communication skills, Decision making, Educational materials, Employment, Family planning, HIV, Health, Interpersonal relations, Life skills, Non English language materials, Parenting, Planning, Problem solving, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Self concept, Sex role, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, Social values, Spanish language materials, Violence prevention

Annotation: This book suggests learning activities parents and child care providers can use with children; it is organized to supplement activities seen on the daily episodes of the television program, "Mister Rogers' Neighborhood, " hosted by Fred Rogers. The introduction suggests several ways to effectively use the book, describes the importance of creative learning in children's growth and development, and discusses adapting the activities for children with special health needs. Each activity summarizes the plot of the daily episode, lists the objectives, lists materials needed, and provides instructions for the activity. Other materials available from the publisher include a catalog; a program description of the Mister Rogers' Neighborhood Child Care Partnership; and a sample issue of the newsletter, "Around the Neighborhood." Other products include pamphlets and books from the "Let's Talk About It series;" these include a book on adoption, and pamphlets on topics such as talking with families about discipline, divorce, creativity, pets, child care, moving, dental visits, starting school, children's trips to the hospital, and about talking with young children about death. Another series of books for children is called "First Experiences;" topics include going to day care, the doctor, the dentist, and toilet training.

Contact: Family Communications, 4802 Fifth Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15213, Telephone: (412) 687-2990 Fax: (412) 687-1226 Web Site: http://www.fci.org/ $17.95 plus $5.00 shipping and handling for book; prepayment required for orders under $50.00; make checks payable to Family Communications. Prices and shipping costs for other items vary, contact publisher. Document Number: ISBN 1-885950-004.

Keywords: Catalogs, Child care workers, Child development, Children, Children with special health care needs, Educational materials, Learning activities, Materials for children, Materials for parents, Newsletters, Parents, Play, Program descriptions, Resource materials

Annotation: This information package is for parents, youth leaders, community leaders, educators, health professionals, and others who are interested in setting up alcohol education programs for adolescents. It consists of 7 booklets, postcards, a poster, and a fact sheet. Each booklet targets specific audiences; one summarizes the content of each and identifies the relevant audiences for the others which provide suggestions for community action, law enforcement, event planning, adolescent education, community risk assessment, and communication skills. The fact sheet provides an overview for parents, and the postcards and poster feature a photograph of a group of adolescents with the message "Alcohol: We're not buying it."

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol education, Educational materials, Materials for parents, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This book contains two sections: the first is an illustrated book for adopted children, and the second offers advise for adoptive parents on communicating with their children about their being adopted. The plot of the first section focuses on an adopted child reading a letter from her birth mother which indicates her love for the child and explains some of the factors that led her to give the child up for adoption. The second part of the book was written by Jeanne Warren Lindsay and is called Talking with Your Child About Adoption, and it suggests ways for adoptive parents to discuss adoption with their children.

Contact: Morning Glory Press, 6595 San Haroldo Way, Buena Park, CA 90620-3748, Telephone: (888) 612-8254 Fax: (888) 327-4362 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.morningglorypress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-930934-84-9.

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Educational materials, Materials for children, Materials for parents

Annotation: This book focuses on coping skills and the process of problem solving. The purpose of this book is to provide families with the tools needed to tap inner sources of strength in dealing with difficult circumstances.

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coping, Educational materials, Materials for parents

Annotation: This book was prepared by members of the Planned Parenthood Federation of America to help parents teach their children about sex and sexuality. It is designed to help parents with children from preschool through high school. It reviews ways to talk about sex and sexuality, offers suggestions for how to start the teaching process, and provides steps that reinforce the child's self esteem. It covers the basic facts that children want to know about; and it provides help for special situations such as protecting children from sexual abuse, sex and the single parent, and sex and latchkey children. Appendices include a glossary, facts about methods of contraception and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs), and a bibliography of materials for parents and children.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Materials for parents, Parents, Sexuality education