Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These forms are a follow up survey of the former participants in the University Affiliated Cincinnati Center for Developmental Disorders training programs. Theyprovide space to record information about the participants and their comments and assessment of the program. One version is for former trainees with 300+ contact hours; the other is a modified version for trainees with 300+ contact hours who participated in the Interdisciplinary Leadership Core Curriculum since 1987-1988.

• Link

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Evaluation, MCH training, Surveys

Annotation: This document announces the availability of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau grant for pediatric pulmonary centers. It explains how the grant is a maternal and child health block grant authorized by Title V of the Social Security Act and describes program requirements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Block grants, Federal grants, Leadership, MCH training programs, Pediatric pulmonary care centers, Pediatric pulmonology, Program descriptions, Title V programs

Annotation: This unpublished document contains a set of 4 teaching modules: (1) Ethnicity and Healthy Birth Outcomes; (2) Ethnicity and Genetic Disease; (3) Culture and AIDS Prevention in Adolescents; and (4) Using the Internet in Maternal and Child Health. Each of the modules contains lesson objectives; a suggested reading list followed by a section of summaries; and suggested assignments and class presentations geared towards the objectives discussed at the beginning of each module. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Maryland School of Social Work, Center for Maternal and Child Health Social Work Education, 525 West Redwood Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 706-7533 Fax: (410) 706-6046 Web Site: http://cmchswe.umaryland.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Ethnic factors, Internet, MCH training, Maternal health

Annotation: This document for recipients of the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Discretionary Grant Program contains instructions and forms for submitting performance measure data. Contents include information about the goals, definitions, benchmark and grantee data sources, and significance for each measure by domain; instructions and forms for collecting budget and expenditure data and project abstract and summary data; and forms for tracking project performance and outcome measures.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Data collection, Federal grants, Forms, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH training, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Progress reports

Annotation: This 30-minute quick learn course, "Shifting Power in Practice: Strategies for Centering People with Lived Experience When Making Evidence-Based Decisions," was developed by AMCHP staff member Laura Powis as part of her CDC E-Learning Institute Fellowship. Grounded in best practices of e-learning, adult learning theory, and instructional design, the course helps participants understand the integration of contextual, experiential, and research evidence when evaluating practice effectiveness and appropriateness for specific populations. While primarily designed for Title V professionals, the content is equally valuable for local MCH professionals and advocates working to improve maternal and child health outcomes. The course strengthens critical thinking skills for comprehensive evidence consideration through an equity lens and introduces a practical Six Considerations Planning Tool that participants apply to a case study, ensuring people with lived experience remain central to evidence-based decision-making processes. The course is accessible through a free CDC TRAIN account, reflecting AMCHP's commitment to developing capacity among MCH professionals to implement more inclusive and equitable approaches to program planning and evaluation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Title V programs, Decision making skills, MCH training programs, Training materials

Annotation: This 20-minute course, "How to Plan an Accessible Virtual Event," was developed by AMCHP's Maura Leahy as part of her CDC E-Learning Institute Fellowship, employing evidence-based approaches in e-learning, adult learning theory, and instructional design. While created for Maternal & Child Health professionals, the course offers valuable insights for all public health practitioners seeking to enhance virtual event accessibility. Participants require a free CDC TRAIN account and will learn to: identify and replace complex terminology with plain language in promotional materials; master three key components of effective alternative text for images; and understand the process for securing live captioning services for virtual events.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Title V programs, Decision making skills, MCH training programs, Training materials

Annotation: This resource presents learning opportunities to assist MCH professionals in developing strategic steps to advance health equity in their health departments. It includes an introduction, 10 individual strategies, and a wrap up. Strategies include (1) expand understanding of diversity; (2) reflect on your organization; (3) explore within the community (4) partner with communities; (5) foster agency and collective action; (6) develop a holistic understanding; (7) identify and collect data; (8) work with stakeholders; )9) be accountable to outcomes; and (10) celebrate success. Examples from the field are included.

Contact: MCH Navigator, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchnavigator.org/

• Link

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health equity. MCH training, Health status disparities, Training materials

Annotation: This video provides information about the Healthy Texas Smiles for Moms and Babies project. The project trains home visitors on how to help pregnant women understand the importance of taking care of their oral health. The project also trains home visitors on how to teach mothers to take care of their infant’s mouth after birth. The video shows home visitors in various settings interacting with pregnant women and their families and providing them with oral health education in their homes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Texas Department of State Health Services, 1100 West 49th Street, Austin, TX 78756, Telephone: (512) 458-7111 Secondary Telephone: (512) 458-7708 Fax: (512) 458-7750 Web Site: http://www.dshs.state.tx.us

• Link

Keywords: Home visits, Infant health, MCH training, Oral health, Pregnant women, State programs, Texas, Videotapes

Annotation: This document is intended for MCH interdisciplinary training programs, national, state, and local health agencies, and other MCH organizations. It is designed to support new and practicing MCH professionals by: (1) defining MCH leadership; (2) describing how the MCH Leadership Competencies can be used by a variety of audiences; (3) providing a conceptual framework for the development of an MCH leader;(4) outlining the knowledge and skill areas required of MCH leaders; and (5) linking to tools for implementation. The website includes the competencies document and links to related resources.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Competency based education, Leadership, MCH programs, MCH training, Professional education, Public health, Standards

Annotation: In this podcast leaders from two (Tulane University and University of Minnesota) of eight programs who participated in the 2017 diversity and health equity learning collaborative explore how to meaningfully engage trainees and how to institutionalize and sustain their efforts. A transcript, an overview and case studies are also available.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, MCH training programs, Video recordings, Work force

Annotation: This document describes Rhode Island's public health data integration systems as part of the Title V Data Integration Toolkit. It details two main systems: the RI DataHUB, a statewide longitudinal data system managed by the University of Rhode Island that integrates public health data with education and other social services data; and KIDSNET, a universal database for young children managed by the Rhode Island Department of Health that assigns unique identifiers at birth and tracks health services. The document explains how these systems facilitate data sharing across programs, manage privacy concerns through appropriate agreements and HIPAA compliance, and generate both individual-level reports for service providers and aggregate data for public use.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Rhode Island, MCH training, Children', s health

Annotation: This report describes North Carolina's Early Childhood Integrated Data System (NC ECIDS) as part of the Title V Data Integration Toolkit. It details how the state built this advanced data system with Race to the Top - Early Learning Challenge funding in 2012 and later secured ongoing state funding. The system integrates data from multiple public programs including early childhood education, social services, and public health sources such as SNAP and Child Protective Services, with plans to add WIC data in the future. The report explains the governance structure, which includes an Executive Committee and Program Management Committee with representation from contributing agencies, and outlines the data request and approval process. NC ECIDS generates standard and customizable reports that show unduplicated counts of children receiving services, allowing users to analyze program participation patterns and demographic data.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, North Carolina, MCH training, Children', s health.

Annotation: This report discusses the Title V Data Integration Toolkit, focusing on Kentucky's experience with integrating early childhood and public health data into their state's longitudinal data system. In 2015, KCEWS (Kentucky Center for Education and Workforce Statistics) collaborated with GOEC (Governor’s Office of Early Childhood) and the Early Childhood Advisory Council to develop a county-level "Early Childhood Profile" using KLDS (Kentucky’s Longitudinal Data System) data. This profile combines integrated data with data planned for future integration, covering areas such as kindergarten readiness, child care capacity, and early childhood indicators on family, health, and social services. It includes public health data from programs like HANDS home visitation, WIC, and First Steps early intervention. Key takeaways from Kentucky's experience include demonstrating the value of integrated data early, prioritizing privacy and confidentiality, ensuring data sources understand how their data will be used, and learning from other states' experiences with public health data integration.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Kentucky, MCH training, Children', s health

Annotation: This report outlines a use case for Title V programs to leverage Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS) to analyze developmental screening data for children from birth through age 5. The document is part of the Title V Data Integration Toolkit and focuses on two key questions: how many children are receiving developmental screenings using parent-completed tools, and how many are achieving five-domain developmental health based on these screenings. The document provides detailed guidance on analytic considerations, including the importance of defining which screening tools to analyze, understanding data sources within the ECIDS, and determining how to handle multiple screenings for individual children. A comprehensive list of recommended data elements is provided, including child identifiers, demographic information, and screening-related data. Examples of data visualization are provided using fictitious data, showing how to present overall screening rates and breakdowns by age categories.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Developmental screening, Data integration, MCH training, Children', s health

Annotation: This report focuses on the Title V Data Integration Toolkit's use case for analyzing community-based services data through Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS). It emphasizes the importance of coordinated and integrated community-based services for children and families, highlighting how data integration can help Title V programs track referrals, monitor progress, and inform decision-making. The report suggests that Title V programs should request a current list of data sources from ECIDS to understand what data can be included in each analysis, and encourages Title V programs to adapt the information to fit their state's specific needs and potentially analyze data by various factors such as time, geographic area, or demographic variables. Overall, this use case aims to help Title V programs leverage ECIDS data to gain insights into community-based services, their utilization, and their impact on children's readiness for kindergarten and overall well-being.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, Public health agencies, Community based services, Children', s health, MCH training

Annotation: This report outlines the Title V Data Integration Toolkit's use case for autism. It highlights the increasing incidence of autism and the importance of early identification, diagnosis, and intervention. The document emphasizes how autism data can help Title V programs improve screening opportunities and services and notes that Title V programs participating in ECIDS can access autism data for strategic planning. It provides guidance on analyzing autism data, highlighting the importance of considering the 2013 DSM V criteria changes and adapting analysis to state-specific needs. Overall, this use case aims to help Title V programs use ECIDS data to gain insights into autism diagnosis, early intervention, and service provision in their states.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Children', s health, Data analysis, MCH training

Annotation: This document from the Title V Data Integration Toolkit explains the development and use of data integration "use cases" for Title V maternal and child health programs working with Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS). It describes how use cases help determine which data elements, timeframes, and geographic boundaries are needed to answer specific program questions. The document outlines key considerations including data element integration requirements, analytic considerations, computed variables, data suppression techniques to protect privacy, and data quality assessment. It also explains the importance of the Common Education Data Standards (CEDS) framework, which provides standardized terminology and tools to facilitate data sharing across different systems.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Children', s health, s health, Data analysis, MCH training, Children'

Annotation: This tip sheet from AMCHP provides guidance on integrating Title V data into the Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS), emphasizing the importance of establishing a return on investment (ROI) for Title V programs. The document recommends early engagement between leadership from both the Title V program and ECIDS to discuss ROI and suggests several ways in which ROI can be measured. The importance of documenting and regularly reviewing the ROI is also stressed. The guide incoporates links to presentations on creating a statewide longitudinal data system (SLDS) for further information.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data collection, Data analysis, MCH training, Children', s health

Annotation: In this tip sheet, AMCHP (Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs) provides guidance on creating a purpose and vision statement for Title V programs integrating their data into Early Childhood Integrated Data Systems (ECIDS). This document is meant to serve as a guide throughout the planning, implementation, and continuous improvement phases. The guide outlines the components of an effective purpose and vision statement and explains how data sharing can improve population health and primary care, support public health professionals and organizations, and ultimately lead to better outcomes for children and families. Included in the guide are references to additional resources and tools for developing purpose and vision statements in the context of early childhood data systems.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data analysis, Children', s health, MCH training

Annotation: This tip sheet on Title V and parental consent outlines essential guidelines for effectively integrating Title V data into an Early Childhood Integrated Data System (ECIDS) while respecting family preferences regarding data sharing. It emphasizes best practice in informing parents of privacy rights and their options concerning decision making. Title V programs are encouraged to thoroughly review relevant federal, state, local, and internal regulations as well as the ECIDS Data Governance Manual to ensure compliance with parental consent requirements. The guide includes a list of resources and tools for dealing with issues of parental consent.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Title V programs, Data analysis, Children', s health, Parental consent, MCH training,