Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper is a proposal for a study to make recommendations for improvement of delivery of nutritional services in programs supported by the Maternal and Child Health Service, as well as in the development of future programs. The need for such studies, the relationship of the Children and Youth Project, the purpose and design of the proposed study, development of the observation instrument, a pilot study, and summary of study modifications are presented. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child health programs, Child nutrition, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Research, Title V programs

Annotation: This document for recipients of the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau's Discretionary Grant Program contains instructions and forms for submitting performance measure data. Contents include information about the goals, definitions, benchmark and grantee data sources, and significance for each measure by domain; instructions and forms for collecting budget and expenditure data and project abstract and summary data; and forms for tracking project performance and outcome measures.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Data collection, Federal grants, Forms, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH training, Measures, Outcome and process assessment, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Program planning, Progress reports

Annotation: This document provides an overview of the Home Visiting Evidence of Effectiveness (HomVEE) review process and a summary of the review results. Contents include a summary of evidence of effectiveness by model and outcome domain, a summary of implementation guidelines for program models with evidence of effectiveness, and a discussion of gaps in the home visiting research literature. The appendix contains a list of the program models reviewed.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Home visiting, MCH research, Model programs, Outcome and process assessment, Treatment effectiveness evaluation

Annotation: This resource presents recommendations for interventions during pregnancy and after birth to promote and support breastfeeding. Contents include the recommendation statement, evidence review and summary, a clinical summary, and related information for health professionals.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Counseling, Literature reviews, MCH research, Perinatal care, Pregnant women

Annotation: This report summarizes the successes of the federal home visiting program's state grantees in serving high-risk populations and substantially expanding home visiting services nationwide. Topics include the extent to which state grantees demonstrated improvements in each of the benchmark areas, technical assistance provided to grantees including the type of assistance provided, and recommendations for legislative or administrative action.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Home Visiting and Early Childhood Systems, Health Resources and Services Administration , 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8590 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/home-visiting Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal legislation, Health care reform, Health services delivery, High risk groups, Home visiting, MCH research, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State MCH programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: This paper examines the social determinants experienced over the life course and their influence on adverse birth outcomes for black women in Maryland. Contents include background on Maryland and data on maternal and child health (MCH) outcomes in Baltimore City, Montgomery County, Prince Georges County, and on the Eastern Shore; vital statistics data on the health of mothers and infants in Maryland; and a set of proposals to strengthen Maryland's policies and programs around MCH.

Contact: Health Policy Research Consortium, CTIS, 6401 Golden Triangle Drive, Suite 310, Greenbelt, MD 20770, Telephone: (301) 375-2021 Fax: (240) 582-7846 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://hprc.info Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse effects, Blacks, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Infants, Life course, MCH programs, MCH research, MCH services, Maryland, Mothers, Outcome and process assessment, Policy development, Pregnant women, Program development, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Racism, Sociocultural factors, Socioeconomic factors, State programs, Statistical data, Women

Annotation: This web site provides the current recommendation, evidence reports, clinical summaries, consumer fact sheet, and comparative effectiveness review for screening asymptomatic pregnant women after 24 weeks for gestational diabetes mellitus.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Consumer Fact Sheet

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Literature reviews, MCH research, Pregnant women, Screening

Annotation: This research brief describes local health department (LHDs) readiness and workforce capacity and identifies opportunities and challenges related to supporting and implementing parenting education and skills-building programs, specifically Legacy for Children. Contents include information about the 2012 Maternal, Child, and Adolescent Health Survey, focus groups, and results. Topics include community needs assessment and intervention fit, stakeholder engagement, planning and assessment, workforce development and support, monitoring and evaluation, and sustainability. Discussion, implications, and recommendations are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website. Document Number: NA581PDF.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, MCH research, Model programs, National surveys, Parenting education, State programs

Annotation: This report presents findings from a Congressionally-mandated review of the design of the National Children's Main Study. Topics include the national probability sample's overall sample size and design, the use of hospitals and birthing centers as the primary sampling unit, relative size of the prenatal and birth strata in the probability sample, the size of the supplemental convenience sample, optimal use of sibling births, use of health care providers to refer prospective participants, proposed study visit schedule with emphasis on more frequent data collection in pregnancy and early childhood, proposed approach to assess health and developmental phenotypes, and proposed approach to define and characterize health disparities. Conclusions and recommendations, including information on logistical and resource constraints, are also provided.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Longitudinal studies, MCH research, National initiatives, Research methodology, Research reviews

Annotation: This statement updates the November 2013 report published by the U.S. Government Accountabilty Office on federal autism activities. Topics include the extent to which federal agencies fund potentially duplicative autism research and the extent to which the Interagency Autism Coordinating Committee and agencies coordinate and monitor federal autism activities. The report presents an analysis of agencies' data and documents, and interviews with federal agency officials. Recommendations are included.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO-14-613T.

• PDF

Keywords: Autism, Federal agencies, Federal initiatives, Federal programs, Government financing, MCH research, Policy analysis, Program coordination

Annotation: This guide describes resources on child maltreatment prevention including data, reports, toolkits, and programs to help state health departments expand and enhance their own child maltreatment prevention efforts. Topics include data and definitions; policies, laws and legislation; prevention and healthy childhood; outcomes and types of maltreatment; campaigns, programs, and toolkits; and organizations. Descriptions of research articles are excerpted from published abstracts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Injury prevention, MCH research, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This guide describes resources on pedestrian safety including campaigns, guides, initiatives, reports, toolkits, and websites to help state health departments expand and enhance their own efforts. Topics include data; Safe Routes to School; pedestrian safety for preschool age children; other programs and strategies; program planning, implementation, and evaluation; policy; research; and distracted walking. Descriptions of research articles excerpted from published abstracts are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Website

Keywords: Injury prevention, MCH research, Pedestrians, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Safety

Annotation: This white paper presents expert panel recommendations for supporting community-based doula programs to improve maternal and child health in underserved birthing populations. Topics include why community-based doulas matter, history of the work, data, and case studies. Summary recommendations and next steps are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: HealthConnect One, 227 W. Monroe Street, 21st Floor, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 243-4772 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthconnectone.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Childbirth, Community based services, Community health workers, MCH programs, Research, Social support

Annotation: This research brief presents findings from a survey to determine local health department (LHD) best practices for preserving services and programs to meet the needs of pregnant women, infants, children, and adolescents in light of economic downturn and changing health care system landscape. The brief focuses on the constellation of programs and services provided by LHDs and the overlap of those programs and services with health care services covered as essential benefits under the Affordable Care Act. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, Health care reform, Health services delivery, MCH research, Model programs, National surveys, Organizational change, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Annotation: This document describes the systematic process used by the Home Visiting Evidence of Effectiveness (HomVEE) project team to review tribal program models, as well as the team's implementation findings and lessons learned. Topics include rating the studies; examining the impacts in high- and moderate-rated studies on American Indians, Alaska Natives, and indigenous populations; and identifying evidence-based models. Additional topics include target outcomes, service delivery, target populations, location of services and types of implementing agencies, staff qualifications and training, and recommendations for future research.

Contact: U.S. Administration for Children and Families, Office of Planning, Research, and Evaluation, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Seventh Floor West, Washington, DC 20447, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/opre Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Home visiting, MCH research, Models, Service delivery systems, Work force

Annotation: This report describes the results of a 2004-2012 literature search that evaluated the performance of screening instruments for postpartum depression, potential benefits and harms of screening, and impact on appropriate postscreening actions. Report contents include an introduction to postpartum depression and its adverse outcomes, screening, clinical and socioeconomic factors affecting risk; chapters on the study methods and results; a discussion of the findings; and conclusions and references. Appendices provide further detail into how the study was performed.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Publication No. 13-EHC064-EF.

• Link

Keywords: Literature reviews, MCH research, Maternal mental health, Mother child relations, Postpartum depression, Research methodology, Screening

Annotation: This resource provides materials for instructors and students to use in conducting a Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Oral Histories assignment. It is aimed at introductory and special topic MCH courses. It includes an overview with instructor notes, a PowerPoint teaching lecture, assignment instructions and grading rubrics, interview topic suggestions, a sample interview guide, and an interview release form. Sample oral histories may be added. A link to an archived webinar on the project is included.

Contact: Association of Teachers of Maternal and Child Health, 1720 2nd Avenue South, Ryals 310G, Birmingham, AL 35294-0022, Telephone: (205) 975-0531 Fax: (205) 934-3347 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.atmch.org Available from the website.

• Home Page
• Webinar Archive

Keywords: Child health, MCH research, Oral history, Resource materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This text is organized according to fundamental principles of maternal and child health (MCH), covering traditional topics such as family planning; maternal, infant, and child health and development; as well as skills that are applicable across public heath disciplines such as planning, research, monitoring, and advocacy. Additional topics include environmental health, life course, oral health, program monitoring and evaluation, assessment and planning, MCH research, rights and justice, advocacy and policy development. Topics new in this edition include global health and health disparities in MCH and life course theory. Ancillary course materials for instructors are provided.

Contact: Jones and Bartlett Learning, 5 Wall Street, Burlington, MA 01803, Telephone: (800) 832-0034 Secondary Telephone: (978) 443-5000 Fax: (978)443-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jblearning.com $92.95, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-14496-1159-0.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child development, Child health, Environmental health, Family planning, Infant health, Life cycle, MCH programs, MCH research, Maternal health, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Public health, Resource for professionals, Textbooks

Annotation: This report summarizes a workshop convened to update a 1982 report on the assessment of childbirth settings in the United States. Topics include birth and birth setting trends and statistics; assessment of risk in pregnancy; health outcomes associated with birth setting; work force issues related to birth setting; data systems and measurement; and cost, value, and reimbursement issues.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available free from the website; print copies $44.00.

• Link

Keywords: Alternative birth styles, Birthing centers, Childbirth, Delivery rooms, MCH research, Maternal health services, Research methodology, Trends

Annotation: This research brief presents findings from the Maternal, Child, and Adolescent Health 2012 Survey, which was conducted as part of a larger research project to determine local health department best practices for implementing services and programs that meet the needs of pregnant women, infants, children, and adolescents in light of the economic downturn and a changing health care system landscape. The brief presents the landscape of existing and potential maternal, child, and adolescent health (MCAH) partners in local jurisdictions, with the goal of providing insight into the extent to which MCAH staff collaborate with partners and their interest in maintaining or expanding these collaborations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: City health agencies, Collaboration, County health agencies, Health care reform, MCH research, Model programs, National surveys, Public private partnerships