Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This packet includes a brochure and informational videotape describing the Bowdoin Method of Parent Education, an education program for high-risk children. The Bowdoin Method contains three separate curricula that teach parents of children from birth through age 13 the attitudes and skills they need to prepare their children for school and life. The materials are geared toward parents with low literacy levels. Descriptions of packages of materials available for purchase, as well as order forms, are included. The packages include parenting books, games, teachers' manuals, parent prizes, posters, pre- and posttest, and videotapes. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Audiovisual materials, Children, High risk children, Infants, Life skills, Low literacy materials, Parent education programs, Parenting skills, Parents, School readiness, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure provides information about how pregnant women can care for their teeth. It explains why it is important and safe to get oral health care during pregnancy and offers tips on how to care for an infant’s mouth and teeth. The brochure is written in simple language. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Pregnant women

Annotation: This postcard provides information about oral health during pregnancy. Topics include morning sickness, changes in the mouth, and the importance of eating healthy foods. The postcard is written in simple language. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Low literacy materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnant women

Annotation: This brochure lists health problems for both pregnant women and their infants caused by smoking during pregnancy. It also discusses the link between smoking and periodontal disease and provides information about the benefits of quitting smoking either before or during pregnancy. In addition, the brochure explains the importance of receiving regular oral health care and how to find a dental home. The brochure is written in simple language,

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.vdh.virginia.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Oral health, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This tip sheet for parents and other caregivers provides information about how to care for primary teeth in infants and young children from birth through age 2. It discusses why primary teeth are important, what causes tooth decay, how to clean an infant’s or young child’s primary teeth, and when to wean a child from a bottle. The tip sheet is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.vdh.virginia.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Infants, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Weaning, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet for parents and other caregivers provides information about how to care for primary teeth in infants and children ages 6 months and older. It discusses when to start brushing an infant’s teeth, how to teach a child to brush their teeth, how to brush a child’s teeth and how often to brush, and how often a toothbrush should be replaced. The tip sheet is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.vdh.virginia.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about fluoride varnish for children ages 6 months and older. The brochure discusses what fluoride varnish is and what it does, whether it is safe, how it is applied, and how long its effects last. A photograph showing fluoride being applied to an infant’s teeth is included. The brochure is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.vdh.virginia.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Non English language materials, Fluoride, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Prevention, Young children

Annotation: This series of 12 educational brochures sequentially focus on the needs of new and expectant mothers and infants and children from birth through age five. Topics are based on national Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) standards and include reading readiness, childhood obesity prevention, food and nutrition, behavior and developmental skills, and communication and language acquisition.

Contact: Crabtree + Company, help me be healthy, 200 Park Avenue, Falls Church, VA 22046, Telephone: (888) 531-9001, ext. 102 Fax: (703) 241-9060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://helpmebehealthy.net $.95 each (mother series), $.40 each (infant series), $.35 each (child series) plus $30 per 1,000 copies for shipping and handling; the brochures are available throughout the year for purchase and can also be purchased at a significantly reduced cost during spring and fall co-ops..

• Link

Keywords: Communication skills, Consumer education materials, Developmental stages, Early childhood development, Health promotion, Infants, Language development, Low literacy materials, Mothers, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Reading, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This website includes resources designed to help primary care health professionals and others understand the etiology of dental caries and caregivers’ role in preventing caries in infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21. Contents include a fluoride-application training course for clinics and supplemental materials, a book for children about toothbrushing, fluoride varnish printed materials, and a fluoride varnish video for caregivers. The resources are available in English and some are available in the following non-English languages: Cambodian, French, Karen, Hmong, Oromo, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Find the list of languages across the top of the landing page.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Project, c/o University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.minnesotaoralhealthproject.com Available from the website.

• English
• Vietnamese

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Dental care, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Low literacy materials, Minnesota, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Outreach, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This brochure for consumers focuses on nutrition and oral health. Topics include healthy foods, foods and drinks to avoid, juice recommendations, xylitol, and prevention of tooth decay. The brochure is available in Amharic, Arabic, Burmese, Dari (Afghan Persian), English, Haitian Creole, Karen, Kinyarwanda, Levantine (Arabic), Pashto, Spanish, and Sudanese (Arabic).

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 201 West Preston Street, Third Floor, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-5300 Secondary Telephone: (800) 735-2258 Fax: (410) 333-7392 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://health.maryland.gov/phpa/oralhealth/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Spanish

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Sweetening agents, Vitamins

Annotation: This series of fact sheets help clinicians, patient advocates, and other stakeholders improve care for individuals with low health literacy. The fact sheets define health literacy; describe ways to identify low health literacy; provide strategies to improve print and oral communication for low-literate consumers; provide information about the intersection of health literacy and culture; and highlight key policies relating to health literacy.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• 6 Fact Sheets In 1 File
• Link

Keywords: Consumer educatio, Cultural factors, Health behavior, Health literacy, Health services delivery, Literacy education, Low literacy, Patient education materials, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This poster, which includes text written in simple language, informs women that they need to visit the dentist during pregnancy and take their child to the dentist by the time the child is age 1. A phone number for help finding a dentist in Connecticut is provided. The poster is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infants, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This guide assists those with intellectual disabilities in preventing and managing Type 2 diabetes by defining the condition and offering advice on prevention. It discusses the importance of getting tested early for diabetes, the role of exercise, healthy weight, and healthy foods in preventing diabetes; understanding the warning signs and blood sugar testing; and how stress, oral health, and visits to the doctor help with the control and monitoring of the disease. This publication is in English and Spanish.

Contact: The Arc of New Jersey, 985 Livingston Avennue, North Brunswick, NJ 08902, Telephone: (732) 246-2525 Fax: (732) 214-1834 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http//www.arcnj.org Available from the website.

• Full Booklet In English And Spanish
• Order Form

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Exercise, Health promotion, Low literacy materials, Nutrition, Physical activity, Spanish language materials, Weight management

Annotation: This guide, which is written in a way that is easy to understand, provides new mothers with practical information and support to help them breastfeed successfully. The guide explains why breastfeeding is healthy for both mothers and infants and how it can benefit society as a whole and discusses how to support a mother's decision to breastfeed. Illustrations are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding: Breastfeeding promotion, Decision making, Educational materials, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Social support, Women', s health

Annotation: This book is written for parents and others caring for adolescents, explaining the body changes occurring at this stage, recognizing signs of trouble, and providing information on when and where to get help. It is written using simple language in an easy-to-read style and is illustrated with drawings that reinforce the information it contains. Section topics include tips on how to deal with emotional and physical changes such as growth and development, self-esteem, friends, school, sports, depression, dating and sex, driving, smoking, alcohol, drugs and safety issues. A glossary and an index are also included.

Contact: Institute for Healthcare Advancement, 501 South Idaho Street, Suite 300, La Habra, CA 90631, Telephone: (562) 690-4001 Secondary Telephone: (800) 434-4633 Fax: (562) 690-8988 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.iha4health.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-9701245-2-X.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent mental health, Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents, Consumer education materials, Family school relations, Low literacy materials, Parent child relations, Parenting, Physical development, Safety

Annotation: This booklet was developed for women who have been diagnosed with diabetes during pregnancy and want to learn how to take care of themselves during and after pregnancy. Topics include what gestational diabetes is, how it can affect the health of mom and baby, and how it can be controlled. A log for monitoring blood sugar and diet is included.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available from the website.

• English

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Gestational diabetes, Low literacy materials, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Self care, Women', s health promotion

Annotation: This booklet was developed for women who have diabetes and are thinking about getting pregnant. Topics include potential health complications in and self-care during and after pregnancy. A log for monitoring blood sugar and diet is included. A Spanish-language booklet is also available.

Contact: National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd Available at no charge (limit 500); also available from the website.

• English

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Diabetes, Low literacy materials, Preconception, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Self care, Spanish language materials, Women, Women', s health promotion

Annotation: This toolkit provides guidance about creating material that is easy for people to read, understand, and use. Contents focus on creating material intended for use by individuals eligible for or enrolled in Medicare, Medicaid, or the Children’s Health Insurance Program and by those who serve or assist them. Topics include a reader-centered approach, writing and graphic design, testing material with readers, readability formulas, and translation.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Graphic design, Guidelines, Health literacy, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Translations, Writing

Annotation: This guide provides fire-prevention educators with information to help them make good decisions about creating and evaluating educational materials. The guide first briefly explains how children develop cognitively and socially. It then provides strategies to create effective fire-prevention educational materials and messages for children and families. Ideas are included for pre-testing materials, addressing the needs of low-literacy audiences, and involving parents. Tips on what to look for in educational materials and messages are also offered. Finally, the guide briefly describes steps in putting together a comprehensive plan than will maximize the effectiveness of educational communication programs.

Contact: Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy, Hampton House, Room 554, 624 North Broadway, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 955-2221 Fax: (410) 614-2797 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/research/centers-and-institutes/johns-hopkins-center-for-injury-research-and-policy/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child development, Children, Community programs, Educational materials, Educational programs, Families, Fire prevention, Low literacy materials, Parents, Safety

Annotation: This tip sheet provides ideas to help those who produce educational oral health materials make the materials easy for everyone to understand. It offers suggestions for how to choose words; set an appropriate tone; and craft sentences, paragraphs, lists, and headings that communicate most effectively with people with limited literacy. Suggestions for how to design documents and how to present unfamiliar terminology are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Resources for professionals, Writing