Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (59 total).

Websters International. n.d.. The Bowdoin Method of parenting education. Brentwood, TN: Websters International, 14 pp., 1 videotape.

Annotation: This packet includes a brochure and informational videotape describing the Bowdoin Method of Parent Education, an education program for high-risk children. The Bowdoin Method contains three separate curricula that teach parents of children from birth through age 13 the attitudes and skills they need to prepare their children for school and life. The materials are geared toward parents with low literacy levels. Descriptions of packages of materials available for purchase, as well as order forms, are included. The packages include parenting books, games, teachers' manuals, parent prizes, posters, pre- and posttest, and videotapes. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Audiovisual materials, Children, High risk children, Infants, Life skills, Low literacy materials, Parent education programs, Parenting skills, Parents, School readiness, Spanish language materials

Virginia Department of Health. 2018. A healthy mouth for people with special health care needs. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brochure for people with special health care needs (SHCN) provides information to promote good oral health. It offers tips for promoting oral health, including maintaining good oral hygiene practices, finding a dentist who will treat people with SHCN, and planning dental visits. The brochure is written in simple language.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: questions@vdh.virginia.gov Web Site: http://www.vdh.state.va.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Children with special health care needs, Access to health care, Prevention

MainHealth. [2017]. Dental care during pregnancy. Portland, ME: Before the First Tooth, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides information about how pregnant women can care for their own and their infant’s mouths and teeth during pregnancy and after birth. The brochure explains why it is safe and important to get oral health care during pregnancy and offers tips on how to care for an infant’s first teeth. The brochure is written in simple language. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: info@fromthefirsttooth.org Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Pregnant women

Before the First Tooth. [2017]. Pregnancy and dental health: What you need to know. Portland, ME: Before the First Tooth, 2 pp.

Annotation: This postcard provides information about what pregnant women need to know about oral health during pregnancy. Topics include cavities during pregnancy, morning sickness, changes in the mouth, and the importance of diet. The postcard is written in simple language. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: info@fromthefirsttooth.org Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Low literacy materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnant women

Smiles for Children. 2017. Smoking and pregnancy. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: of smoking during pregnancy. It lists health problems for both pregnant women and their infants that smoking during pregnancy are linked to. The brochure also discusses the link between smoking and gum disease and provides information about the benefits of quitting smoking either before or during pregnancy. In addition, the brochure explains the importance of receiving regular oral health care and how to find a dental home. The brochure is written in simple language, with English on one side and Spanish on the other.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: questions@vdh.virginia.gov Web Site: http://www.vdh.state.va.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Oral health, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Virginia Department of Health. 2017. Baby teeth care: Birth to 2 years of age. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This tip sheet for parents and other caregivers provides information about how to care for primary teeth in infants and young children from birth through age 2. The tip sheet, which is written in simple language, discusses why primary teeth are important, what causes decay in primary teeth, how to clean an infant’s or young child’s primary teeth, and when to wean an infant from a bottle. Other topics addressed are how to keep primary teeth healthy and what to avoid. The tip sheet is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: questions@vdh.virginia.gov Web Site: http://www.vdh.state.va.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Infants, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Weaning, Young children

Virginia Department of Health. 2017. Brushing your child's teeth: Children six months and older. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This tip sheet for parents and other caregivers provides information about how to care for primary teeth in infants and children ages 6 months and older. The tip sheet discusses when to start brushing a child’s teeth, how to teach a child to brush his or her teeth, the proper way to brush a child’s teeth, how many times a day to brush a child’s teeth, and how often a child’s toothbrush should be replaced. The tip sheet is written in simple language and is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: questions@vdh.virginia.gov Web Site: http://www.vdh.state.va.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Young children, Consumer education materials

Virginia Department of Health. 2017. Fluoride varnish: For children age six months and older. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about fluoride varnish for children ages 6 months and older. The brochure discusses what fluoride varnish is and what it does, whether it is safe, how it is applied, and how long its effects last. A photograph showing fluoride being applied to an infant’s teeth is included. The brochure is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: questions@vdh.virginia.gov Web Site: http://www.vdh.state.va.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Non English language materials, Fluoride, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Prevention, Young children

Dallavalle M, Sellers C. 2016. Help me be healthy: WIC education series. Falls Church, VA: Crabtree + Company, help me be healthy, multiple items.

Annotation: This series of 12 educational brochures sequentially focus on the needs of new and expectant mothers and infants and children from birth through age five. Topics are based on national Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) standards and include reading readiness, childhood obesity prevention, food and nutrition, behavior and developmental skills, and communication and language acquisition.

Contact: Crabtree + Company, help me be healthy, 200 Park Avenue, Falls Church, VA 22046, Telephone: (888) 531-9001, ext. 102 Fax: (703) 241-9060 E-mail: info@helpmebehealthy.net Web Site: http://helpmebehealthy.net $.95 each (mother series), $.40 each (infant series), $.35 each (child series) plus $30 per 1,000 copies for shipping and handling; the brochures are available throughout the year for purchase and can also be purchased at a significantly reduced cost during spring and fall co-ops..

Keywords: Communication skills, Consumer education materials, Developmental stages, Early childhood development, Health promotion, Infants, Language development, Low literacy materials, Mothers, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Reading, Spanish language materials, Young children

Schroeder S, Fix N. 2016. Oral health programs in North Dakota. Grand Forks, ND: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 6 pp.

Annotation: This brief describes programs and initiatives working to improve the health status of underserved populations in North Dakota. The brief provides the program’s or initiative's name, managing agency, mission, population served, and dates of operation. The brief also discusses state, professional, and work force supports needed to increase access to oral health care and use of oral health services and improve oral health literacy.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 501 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: ruralhealth@med.und.edu Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Financing, Health literacy, Local initiatives, Low income groups, North Dakota, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, Reimbursement, Rural populations, Work force

Minnesota Oral Health Project. 2015–. Crush Cavities!. Minneapolis, MN: Minnesota Oral Health Project, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources are designed to help primary care health professionals and others understand the etiology of dental caries and caregivers’ role in preventing caries in infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21. Contents include information and resources on finding a physician or dentist, getting care when the first tooth erupts, applying fluoride varnish as part of well-child care, practicing good oral hygiene, and consuming healthy foods and drinks. Additional contents include a press release and a governor’s proclamation; public service announcements in English, Hmong, Karen, Lao, Portuguese, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese; and frequently asked questions. A video for parents about fluoride varnish is also available.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Project, c/o University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455, E-mail: MNOralHealthProject@gmail.com Web Site: http://www.minnesotaoralhealthproject.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Dental care, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Low literacy materials, Minnesota, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Outreach, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials, Young children

Hilfiker S, Robison S, Petti MA, Miller B, eds. 2015. Health literacy online (2nd ed.). Rockville, MD: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1 v.

Annotation: This resource provides guidance on why and how to design health websites and other digital health-information tools for all users. Topics include what we know about users with limited literacy skills, writing actionable content, displaying content clearly on the page, organizing content and simplifying navigation, engaging users, and testing your site with users with limited literacy skills. A printable checklist of strategies, an overview of user research, and an annotated bibliography are included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: odphpinfo@hhs.gov Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Design, Guidelines, Health education, Information dissemination, Interactive media, Internet, Low literacy, Manuals, Online systems, Oral health

[Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Oral Health]. 2015. Foods for healthy teeth (rev.). [Baltimore, MD: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Office of Oral Health], 6 pp.

Annotation: This brochure focuses on nutrition and oral health. Topics include foods that are good for teeth; the natural sweetener xylitol; the benefits of vitamins B, C, and D; foods to eat in moderation; foods and drinks to avoid; how much juice infants, young children, and adolescents should consume daily; how plaque can cause tooth decay and gum disease; and ways to avoid tooth decay. The brochure is available in English, Amharic, Arabic, Burmese, Dari (Afghan Persian), Karen, Kinyarwanda, Kreyol (Haitian Creole), Pashto, and Spanish.

Contact: HealthReach, National Library of Medicine, Specialized Information Services, Two Democracy Plaza, Suite 510, 6707 Democracy Boulevard, MSC 5467, Bethesda, MD 20892-5467, Telephone: (301) 496-1131 Secondary Telephone: (888) FINDNLM Fax: (301) 480-3537 E-mail: healthreachinfo@mail.nlm.nih.gov Web Site: https://healthreach.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Sweetening agents, Vitamins

Park M, McHugh M. 2014. Immigrant parents and early childhood programs: Addressing barriers of literacy, culture, and systems knowledge. Washington, DC: Migration Policy Institute, 57 pp.

Annotation: This report identifies the unique needs of immigrant parents across the range of expectations for parent skill, engagement, and leadership sought by early childhood education and care programs, as well as strategies for addressing these needs. Contents include selected demographics of children of immigrants and their parents, factors jeopardizing meaningful engagement, the importance of parent engagement specific to children of immigrants, federal programming, family literacy and dual-generation strategies, and adult education. Research findings and recommendations are also presented.

Contact: Migration Policy Institute, 1400 16th Street, NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 266-1940 Fax: (202) 266-1900 E-mail: http://www.migrationpolicy.org/contact/index.php Web Site: http://www.migrationpolicy.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adult education, Child care, Early childhood education, Federal programs, Immigrants, Intergenerational programs, Language barriers, Limited English speakers, Literacy education, Low literacy, Parent professional relations, Parent support services, Parents, Research, Young children

Center for Health Care Strategies. 2013. Health literacy fact sheets. Lawrenceville, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 12 pp.

Annotation: This series of fact sheets help clinicians, patient advocates, and other stakeholders improve care for individuals with low health literacy. The fact sheets define health literacy; describe ways to identify low health literacy; provide strategies to improve print and oral communication for low-literate consumers; provide information about the intersection of health literacy and culture; and highlight key policies relating to health literacy.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer educatio, Cultural factors, Health behavior, Health literacy, Health services delivery, Literacy education, Low literacy, Patient education materials, Resources for professionals

Connecticut Dental Health Partnership. 2013. Pregnant? Is your child age one? Are you on HUSKY Health?. Farmington, CT: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 1 p.

Annotation: This poster, which includes text written in simple language, informs women that they need to visit the dentist during pregnancy and take their child to the dentist by the time the child is age 1. A phone number for help finding a dentist in Connecticut is provided. The poster is printed in English on one side and in Spanish on the other. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infants, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials

Meyer D. 2012. The Health Education and Adult Literacy (HEAL) Program: [Final report]. New York, NY: Columbia University, 14 pp.

Annotation: This final report describes a 2007-2012 project between Community Pediatrics at Columbia University and New York Presbyterian Hospital (NYPH), in partnership with the Community Health Worker Institute (CHWI) at Alianza Dominicana, for low-income families with children in Northern Manhattan. The Health Education and Adult Literacy (HEAL) Program seeks to decrease medication errors and increase compliance with treatment given by pediatricians by improving health literacy in the population served. We developed, implemented, and evaluated a culturally and linguistically appropriate curriculum targeted to community health workers and pediatric providers. Increased parent, physician, and community knowledge of disease and medication management was assessed through “pre” and “post” knowledge surveys. Feedback logs of interactions with patients and clients served, measured the impact of the program developed. Report sections include goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results/outcomes, a list of publications/products created during the project, a summary of the dissemination or utilization of results, and an outline of future plans/sustainability of the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Community programs, Families, Final reports, Health literacy, Health services delivery, Low income groups, New York

The Arc of New Jersey, Mainstreaming Medical Care. 2012. Prevent, understand, and live with diabetes: A guide for individuals with developmental disabilities. North Brunswick, NJ: The Arc of New Jersey, Mainstreaming Medical Care, ca. 65 pp.

Annotation: This guide assists those with intellectual disabilities in preventing and managing Type 2 diabetes by defining the condition and offering advice on prevention. It discusses the importance of getting tested early for diabetes, the role of exercise, healthy weight, and healthy foods in preventing diabetes; understanding the warning signs and blood sugar testing; and how stress, oral health, and visits to the doctor help with the control and monitoring of the disease. This publication is in English and Spanish.

Contact: The Arc of New Jersey, 985 Livingston Avennue, North Brunswick, NJ 08902, Telephone: (732) 246-2525 Fax: (732) 214-1834 E-mail: info@arcnj.org Web Site: http//www.arcnj.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Exercise, Health promotion, Low literacy materials, Nutrition, Physical activity, Spanish language materials, Weight management

Healthy Roads Media. 2012. Concerns and discomforts of pregnancy: Oral health. [Falcon Heights, MN]: Healthy Roads Media, 1 p.

Annotation: This document provides information about oral health and oral health care during pregnancy. Topics include how to protect teeth from stomach acid after vomiting as a result of nausea and oral hygiene and oral health care during pregnancy. The document is available in English, Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian, and Spanish. Video and audio versions are also available.

Contact: HealthReach, National Library of Medicine, Specialized Information Services, Two Democracy Plaza, Suite 510, 6707 Democracy Boulevard, MSC 5467, Bethesda, MD 20892-5467, Telephone: (301) 496-1131 Secondary Telephone: (888) FINDNLM Fax: (301) 480-3537 E-mail: healthreachinfo@mail.nlm.nih.gov Web Site: https://healthreach.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Low literacy materials, Multimedia, Nausea, Non English language materials, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Translations, Women's health

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2011. Your guide to breastfeeding. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 47 pp.

Annotation: This guide, which is written in a way that is easy to understand, provides new mothers with practical information and support to help them breastfeed successfully. The guide explains why breastfeeding is healthy for both mothers and infants and how it can benefit society as a whole and discusses how to support a mother's decision to breastfeed. Illustrations are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding: Breastfeeding promotion, Decision making, Educational materials, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Social support, Women's health

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.