Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 15 (15 total).

Burns A, Hinton E, Rudowitz R, Mohamed M. 2025. 10 things to know about Medicaid. Menlo Park, CA: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 16 pp.

Annotation: This brief highlights ten key things about Medicaid. It provides information on the number of Medicaid beneficiaries, coverage, and financing; Medicaid’s share of all health care and long-term care spending and how Medicaid spending is divided among children vs. those who qualify based on age or disability; and the effect of state Medicaid spending on cost per beneficiary across states. Also discussed are the share of beneficiaries who receive care through managed care organizations, how Medicaid coverage impacts beneficiaries, section 1115 demonstration waivers, and public views on Medicaid.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Health insurance, Long term care, Low income groups, Managed care, Medicaid

Alliance for Health Reform. 2013. Covering health issues: A sourcebook for journalists. Washington, DC: Alliance for Health Reform, 180 pp.

Annotation: This Sourcebook provides information and data on health care topics, including the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, health care costs, health information technology, quality of care, health insurance exchanges, Medicare, Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program., dual eligibles, long-term services and support, disparities in health and health care, mental health and substance abuse, and public health and prevention. It also includes the names and contact details for top experts in each subject area and a comprehensive glossary of health care policy terms.

Contact: Alliance for Health Reform, 1444 Eye St., N.W., Suite 910, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 789-2300 Fax: (202) 789-2233 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.allhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Barriers, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Long term care, Mass media, Medicaid, Medicare, Mental health, Prevention, Public health, Quality assurance, Substance abuse, Technology, s Health Insurance Program

Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders and Genetic Diseases in Newborns and Children. 2007. The road map to implement long-term follow-up and treatment in newborn screening: A meeting summary. [Rockville, MD]: Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders and Genetic Diseases in Newborns and Children, 23 pp.

Annotation: This paper for the Subcommittee on Follow-up and Treatment of the AdvisoryCommittee on Heritable Disorders and Genetic Diseases in Newborns and Children summarizes a meeting held on April 18, 2007, to discuss developing and implementing a system for long-term follow-up care for children with health problems identified through newborn screening. The paper discusses the purpose of the meeting, introduces the white paper, and discusses small group breakout and summary plenary discussions, plenary discussions, and next steps and wrap-ups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-1080 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/heritabledisorders/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Infant health, Long term care, Neonatal screening, Treatment

Grantmakers in Health. 2005. Medicaid: Vital to women's health. Washington, DC: Grantmakers in Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the services Medicaid provides to low-income women. Services discussed include reproductive services, medical and supportive services for women with disabilities, breast and cervical cancer treatment, and long-term care. The fact sheet also discusses impending Medicaid reform and opportunities for grantmakers. A list of sources is included.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Disabilities, Health services, Long term care, Low income groups, Medicaid, Reform, Reproductive health, Treatment, Women', s health

Gamm L, Hutchison L, eds. 2004. Rural Healthy People 2010: A companion document to Healthy People 2010—Volume 3. College Station, TX: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, 106 pp.

Annotation: This volume (the third in a three-volume set) presents overviews from research on five new Healthy People 2010 focus areas and accompanying models for practice, as well as detailed literature reviews for these topics. The topics covered include immunizations and infectious diseases; injury and violence prevention; access to quality health services -- access to long-term care; education and community-based programs; and public health infrastructure.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Communicable diseases, Community programs, Education, Health services, Healthy People 2010, Immunization, Injury, Literature reviews, Long term care, Public health, Rural health, Violence prevention

Sultz HA, Young KM. 1999. Health care U.S.A.: Understanding its organization and delivery. (8th ed.). Gaithersburg, MD: Aspen Publishers, 586 pp.

Annotation: This textbook provides an introduction to the United States health care system and an overview of the professional, political, social, and economic forces that have shaped it and will continue to do so. It is intended to serve as a text for introductory courses on the organization of health care in the United States for students in all fields of health and allied health professional education. Chapter topics are: (1) an overview of health care, (2) benchmark developments in health care, (3) the history of hospitals, (4) the future of hospitals, (5) primary care, (6) medical education, (7) health personnel, (8) financing health care, (9) managed care, (10) long term care, (11) mental health services, (12) public health and the government role, (13) medical research, and (14) the future of health care.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-1167-X.

Keywords: Allied health personnel, Benchmarking, Financing, Government role, Health education, Health personnel, Health services, Hospitals, Long term care, Managed care, Medical education, Mental health services, Primary care, Professional education, Public health, Textbooks, United States

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1996. Medicaid: Waiver program for developmentally disabled is promising but poses some risks. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 48 pp.

Annotation: This report examines states' experiences in utilizing the flexibility offered by the Medicaid waiver program to provide care for adults with developmental disabilities in alternative settings. Appendices include scope and methodology; waiver programs in Florida, Michigan, and Rhode Island; and licensure, certification, and other standards for waiver program services.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HEHS-96-120.

Keywords: Developmental disabilities, Long term care, Medicaid, Waiver programs

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1994. Medicaid long-term care: Successful state efforts to expand home services while limiting costs. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 68 pp.

Annotation: This report, which discusses states' experiences in expanding government-funded home and community-based services as a way of reducing expenditures for long-term care, focuses on Oregon, Washington, and Wisconsin. Three topics are discussed: how far the three states have gone in shifting their long-term care to home- and community-based settings; what controls the states had in place to manage program growth; and what impact the shifts and controls have had on the ability to deliver long-term care services.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/T-HEHS-94-167.

Keywords: Community based services, Financing, Home care services, Long term care, Medicaid

Newacheck PW, Hughes DC, McManus MM, Perrin JM, Valdez R, Fox HB. 1994. Meeting children's long term care needs under the Health Security Act's home and community-based services program. San Francisco, CA: University of California, Institute for Health Policy Studies, 12 pp.

Annotation: This paper focuses on the Health Security Act's plan to create a state program to improve long term home and community based services and care to disabled children. The program is briefly described, and discusses issues related to eligibility, benefits, cost-sharing, phase-in, and program administration. Recommendations in each of these areas are presented in the final section of the report.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies, 513 Parnassus Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94143-0410, Telephone: (415) 476-5255 Contact Phone: (415) 476-0705 Web Site: http://healthpolicy.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Health Security Act, Health care reform, Home care services, Long term care

Pepper Commission, Bipartisan Commission on Comprehensive Health Care. 1990. Access to health care and long-term care for all Americans: Recommendations to the Congress. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 21 pp.

Annotation: This report lists the Pepper Commission's recommendations to Congress on the subjects of access to health care and long-term care. Proposed phase-in schedules and estimated costs of these recommendations are included in the report.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov $1.00. Document Number: GPO 052-070-06647-4.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health services, Long term care

Kennedy EM. 1990. The health care crisis: A report to the American people. [Washington, DC]: U.S. Government Printing Office, 78 pp.

Annotation: This report of the U. S. Senate's Committee on Labor and Human Resources describes the findings and recommendations of hearings and field investigations in four communities: New York City, Los Angeles, St. Louis, and Sparta, Georgia. Issues addressed in the report include the uninsured and underinsured, long-term care, the rising cost of health care, the failing financial condition of health institutions, drugs and AIDS. Appendices describe proposed legislation to address these problems.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health facilities, Health insurance, Long term care, Older adults, Special health care needs

Pepper Commission, Bipartisan Commission on Comprehensive Health Care. 1990. A call for action: Final report. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 315 pp.

Annotation: This final report of the U.S. Bipartisan Commission on Comprehensive Health Care (The Pepper Commission) provides an analysis of the need for health care reform and recommends specific legislation that would ensure all Americans coverage for health care and for long-term care.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health insurance, Health services, Long term care

Mira M, Tyler J, Tucker B. 1988. Traumatic head injury in children: A guide for schools. Kansas City, KS: University of Kansas Medical Center, 31 pp.

Annotation: This booklet is designed to assist those working with the head injured child who is reentering school. It presents information about traumatic head injury (THI), including causes, severity, incidence, age differences, recovery and rehabilitation, assessment of the THI child, effects and aftereffects of THI, hospital discharge, re-entry planning and returning to school. Resources are listed including a bibliography, national organizations and medical information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Kansas Medical Center, Children's Rehabilitation Unit, 3901Rainbow Boulevard, Kansas City, KS 66103, Telephone: (913) 588-5900 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Anticipatory guidance, Children, Head injuries, Injury prevention, Kansas, Long term care, Post injury care, Rehabilitation, Resources for professionals, Schools, State plans, Trauma care, Treatment

National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine. 1976. Assessing quality in health care: An evaluation–Report of a study. Washington, DC: National Academy of Sciences, Institute of Medicine, 143 pp.

Annotation: This study is an examination of existing health care quality review programs. The primary purpose is to describe the manner in which they function and their reported effectiveness in improving health status or patient satisfaction and conserving resources. Additional issues relating to quality assurance are reviewed in the priority areas of outcome-oriented approaches to quality assurance, quality assurance for ambulatory care, quality assurance for long-term care, methods for changing behavior patterns of health care providers, and patient and consumer involvement in quality assurance programs.

Keywords: Health services, Long term care, Primary care, Quality assurance, Reports

U.S. Children's Bureau. 1915. Mental defectives in the District of Columbia: A brief description of local conditions and the need for custodial care and training. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 39 pp. (Children's Bureau publication; no. 13; Dependent, defective, and delinquent classes series; no. 2)

Annotation: This report provides information on the incidence of, and provision for, individuals with below normal mental development in the District of Columbia. Data is provided by race, sex, and age. The extent, kind, and cost of institutional care is described, as well as the reasons for institutionalization. An appendix provides brief descriptions of 100 cases by type (dependent; morally delinquent; physically defective; etc.). It is a publication of the U.S. Department of Labor, Children's Bureau.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: District of Columbia, Institutionalization, Long term care, Mental retardation
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.