Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report looks at the philosophy of Pennsylvania's "Strong Families/Strong Communities" campaign, which stresses the importance of local governance and community strategies to state initiatives designed to preserve families and strengthen communities. It provides descriptions of state strategies and programs that involve community action designed to improve child and family outcomes.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child advocacy, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Family preservation programs, Local initiatives, Outreach

Annotation: This videotape describes the Caring Program for Children and the Children's Health Insurance Program (Blue Cross/Blue Shield's BlueCHIP program) in Pennsylvania. It depicts the health care needs of children living in poverty and children of the uninsured working poor who do not qualify for Medicaid assistance, and explains the unique funding of this collaborative program. Appearances by Fred Rogers of "Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood" and by local medical and government officials underscore the need for this type of program, the reasons for its success, and the ways that public and private resources can join together to help ensure access to primary health care for children. The videotape concludes with a television clip describing the program on NBC's "America Close Up." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Access to health care, Audiovisual materials, Child health, Corporate programs, Insurance, Local MCH programs, Medical assistance, Pennsylvania, Primary care, Public private partnerships, Videotapes

Annotation: This website provides tobacco cessation and education resources to help young people quit using tobacco and nicotine products. The American Lung Association's comprehensive approach to end youth vaping; tips to help parents talk to their children about quitting; and links to national, state, and local prevention programs and tools are included. The website also

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Local initiatives, National programs, Nictone, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Youth

Annotation: This report describes programmatic efforts of the Integrating Oral Health Care and Primary Care Learning Collaborative: A State and Local Partnership project to integrate oral health care and prenatal care with both a state and a local component. The report discusses project team selection, the state-level approach, the local-level approach, use of stipend funds and in-kind support, and integration of interprofessional oral health core clinical competencies into prenatal care at the participating clinic site. The report’s executive summary is also available separately.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Clinics, Local programs, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care care, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: The guide provides an overview of oral health equity and is organized into two sections. The first section describes selected materials published from 2016 through 2022 that reflect current science and practice, as well as seminal materials published before 2016. The second section lists federal agencies, national professional associations, resource centers, and national coalitions that work to promote oral health equity and may serve as resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health education, Health equity, Local programs, Oral health, Public policy, Resource materials, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys, Training

Annotation: This toolkit was created to help practitioners, public health departments, academia, and others to update content and educational materials to reflect the revised 10 Essential Public Health Services. It includes downloadable graphics, a glossary, videos, comparisons to other frameworks, PowerPoint presentations, an environmental scan, task force and liaisons, downloadable social media tools, and other resources. A fact sheet is available in Spanish and Arabic, in addition to English.

Contact: Public Health National Center for Innovations, 1600 Duke Street, Suite 200, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 778-4549 Web Site: http://phnci.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Program descriptions, Adolescent health, Child health, Federal MCH programs, Foreign language materials, Health programs, Health services, Local MCH programs, Maternal health, Program development, Program development, Public health, Spanish language materials, State MCH programs

Annotation: This plan provides background about oral health and oral disease in California, the need for action, the state’s commitment to improving oral health, and the process of developing the plan. It discusses strategic frameworks and public health concepts that shaped the plan; state and local oral health programs and services; next steps; and goals, objectives, and strategies. A conceptual model of the plan process is included.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, MS Code 8305, P.O. Box 997377, MS 0500, Sacramento, CA 95899-7377, Telephone: (916) 558-1784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CDCB/Pages/OralHealthProgram/OralHealthProgram.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF
• Key Messages

Keywords: California, Communities, Local programs, Oral health, Prevention, State programs

Annotation: This report presents findings of a 1-year evaluation of the Center for Oral Health’s Early Smiles Sacramento program, a community-based effort that provides oral health care to children from families with low incomes in Sacramento County, CA. Findings are based on program data collected during the period September 2016 to October 2017. The report provides background about oral health in Sacramento County and a description of the program and its objectives, reach, and impact. The program’s plans for future work are also discussed.

Contact: Center for Oral Health, 309 East Second Street, Pomona, CA 91766-1854, Telephone: (909) 469-8300 Fax: (510) 380-6637 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.centerfororalhealth.org

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Community programs, Local programs, Low income groups, Oral health, Prevention

Annotation: This document provides case studies on how communities are using their early childhood data to tailor more effective interventions and yield better results. The case studies include: (1) Indianola, MS: organizing the community around the collective goal of having children ready to learn when entering kindergarten; (2) Ventura, CA: improving the quality of early childhood services, focusing on the overall family experience and engaging a consultant to help work with neighborhood partners to achieve data-driven change; and (3) Philadelphia, PA: informing critical public policy decisions by using data to decide which neighborhoods would get new pre-kindergarten slots under a new funding stream.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Data, Early childhood education, Local programs, Mississippi, Pennsylvania, Program improvement, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about age 1 oral health services in Michigan. It includes background about the importance of good oral health in early childhood and offers statistics, by county, on infants and children under age 2 who participate in Medicaid who had at least one dental visit in 2017. Factors contributing to lack of access to oral health care are presented. Information about Michigan Perinatal Oral Health Guidelines and a dental periodicity chart are included.

Contact: Michigan Oral Health Coalition, 106 W. Allegan Street, Suite 310, Lansing, MI 48933, Telephone: (517) 827-0466 Fax: (517) 381-8008 Web Site: http://www.mohc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Infants, Local initiatives, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Preventive health visits, State programs

Annotation: This electronic resources describes school-based gardening interventions in combination with nutrition education to increase children's vegetable consumption. Gardening interventions provide children with hands-on experience planting, growing, and harvesting fruits and vegetables in an effort to increase their willingness to consume fruits and vegetables. Interventions include outside gardens, microfarms, container gardens, and other alternative gardening methods; interventions may also include nutrition education or a parental component. The website offers information gleaned from a systematic review of 14 studies published between January 2005 and October 2015 that examined gardening interventions conducted with children aged two to 18 years. There are links to Dietary Guidelines for Americans 2015-2020 and the CDC's Comprehensive Framework for Addressing the School Nutrition Environment and Services.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Community programs, Families, Fruit, Health promotion, Literature reviews, Local programs, Nutrition, School based programs, Vegetables

Annotation: This report describes a project to expand preventive school-based oral health services to include restorative care in four high-need rural school districts in New York. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include the project services timeline, a risk-assessment tool, a workflow diagram, enrollment and consent forms, posters, a brochure, video links, promotional materials, a satisfaction survey, and a press release. The process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, New York, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, School based clinics, School districts, Service integration, Systems development

Annotation: This report describes a project to implement comprehensive oral health services in two school-based health centers operating in the Los Angeles Unified School District. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement (CQI), sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include the CQI plan, integration report, operations manual, and spatial analysis. A break-even analysis and process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School based clinics, School districts, Service integration, Systems development, Urban population

Annotation: This report describes a project to integrate comprehensive oral health care into a school-based health center in Minneapolis, MN. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement (CQI), sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. A project brochure; a CQI plan; a memorandum of under- standing template; a permission form; and the process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Minnesota, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School based clinics, Service integration, Systems development, Urban population

Annotation: This report describes a project to expand a school-based health center oral health program in East Hartford, CT. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. The appendices include parent permission forms for screening and treatment in English and Spanish, a program brochure, a referral list and forms, and a sterilization log. The process, out- come, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Connecticut, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School based clinics, Service integration, Spanish language materials, Systems development, Urban population

Annotation: This report describes a project to build a dental clinic and provide comprehensive oral health services to students attending a combined elementary and middle school (kindergarten through eighth grade) in Lemon Grove, CA. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include an announcement about the clinic opening, sample forms in English and Spanish, a needs-assessment cover letter and survey, a program brochure, and a memorandum of under- standing between the university and the school district. The process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Elementary schools, Facility design and construction, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Middle schools, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, School based clinics, Service integration, Spanish language materials, Systems development

Annotation: This report describes a project to improve the oral health of school-age children in an area in New York where there is a health professional shortage and most residents have low incomes. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Links to a cover letter and combined enrollment form; links to video programs; and the process, out- come, and impact indicators/minimal data set are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children', Community health centers, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Medicaid, Model programs, New York, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, Schools, Service integration, Systems development, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes a project to integrate an oral-health-care program into an existing school-based clinic serving students attending a public charter school (kindergarten through grade 8) in Santa Ana, CA. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Meeting agendas and minutes, a student consent form, and a program brochure and other outreach materials are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Outreach, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School based clinics, Service integration, Systems development, Urban population

Annotation: This report describes a coalition-led project to integrate comprehensive oral health services into an existing school-based health center in the Vallejo City Unified School District in California. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement (CQI), sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. The project logic model, marketing tools, classroom-education materials, a performance-improvement-committee definition and plan, an appointment agreement and no show-policy, a CQI plan, and process and outcome data elements are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School districts, Service integration, Systems development, Urban population

Annotation: This report describes a project to provide access to preventive and restorative oral health care, demonstrate a decrease in dental caries incidence, show an increase in oral health literacy, and create a financially sustainable oral health program for children in Summit County, CO. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include a memorandum of understanding, enrollment and send-home forms, a permission form in English and Spanish, a screening survey tool, a student quiz, and a list of advisory board members. The process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Colorado, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Financing, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, School districts, Service integration, Spanish language materials, Systems development