Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report looks at the philosophy of Pennsylvania's "Strong Families/Strong Communities" campaign, which stresses the importance of local governance and community strategies to state initiatives designed to preserve families and strengthen communities. It provides descriptions of state strategies and programs that involve community action designed to improve child and family outcomes.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child advocacy, Community based services, Community programs, Families, Family preservation programs, Local initiatives, Outreach

Annotation: This public awareness campaign provides information and resources for health professionals, families, and other caregivers on how to put infants to sleep safely to reduce the risk of sudden unexpected infant death (including deaths attributed to overlaying, accidental suffocation, wedging, and sudden infant death syndrome). Contents include a tip sheet, brochure, and poster in English and Spanish. Additional resources include a sample safe sleep policy for child care facilities; a safe sleep quiz for parents and other caregivers; a bookmark with tips on comforting a crying infant; and a flyer, poster, insert, and billboard about suffocation.

Contact: Baby Blossoms Collaborative, Douglas County Health Department, 1111 South 41st Street, Omaha, NE 68105, Telephone: (402) 444-7471 E-mail: http://babyblossomsomaha.org/about-bbc/contact-us Web Site: http://babyblossomsomaha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Campaigns, Crying, Infant death, Local initiatives, Primary prevention, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Spanish language materials, Suffocation, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This website provides tobacco cessation and education resources to help young people quit using tobacco and nicotine products. The American Lung Association's comprehensive approach to end youth vaping; tips to help parents talk to their children about quitting; and links to national, state, and local prevention programs and tools are included. The website also

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Local initiatives, National programs, Nictone, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Youth

Annotation: This document provides information about the Oral Health Convening Focusing on Children with Special Health Care Needs held on March 18, 2018, in Washington, DC. The meeting brought together a multidisciplinary group of stakeholders to share expertise and insights related to increasing access to oral health care and improving the oral health of children with special health care needs (CSHCN) in Washington, DC. The document provides information about oral health and CSHCN and includes a description of each session.

Contact: O'Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law, Georgetown University, Hotung Building, Fifth Floor, 600 New Jersey Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 662-9203 Fax: (202) 662-4045 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.law.georgetown.edu/oneillinstitute/

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs: Access to health care: Public policy, Conferences, District of Columbia, Local initiatives, Oral health

Annotation: This report provides information about age 1 oral health services in Michigan. It includes background about the importance of good oral health in early childhood and offers statistics, by county, on infants and children under age 2 who participate in Medicaid who had at least one dental visit in 2017. Factors contributing to lack of access to oral health care are presented. Information about Michigan Perinatal Oral Health Guidelines and a dental periodicity chart are included.

Contact: Michigan Oral Health Coalition, 106 W. Allegan Street, Suite 310, Lansing, MI 48933, Telephone: (517) 827-0466 Fax: (517) 381-8008 Web Site: http://www.mohc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Infants, Local initiatives, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Preventive health visits, State programs

Annotation: This report describes a project to expand preventive school-based oral health services to include restorative care in four high-need rural school districts in New York. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include the project services timeline, a risk-assessment tool, a workflow diagram, enrollment and consent forms, posters, a brochure, video links, promotional materials, a satisfaction survey, and a press release. The process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, New York, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, School based clinics, School districts, Service integration, Systems development

Annotation: This report describes a project to implement comprehensive oral health services in two school-based health centers operating in the Los Angeles Unified School District. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement (CQI), sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include the CQI plan, integration report, operations manual, and spatial analysis. A break-even analysis and process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School based clinics, School districts, Service integration, Systems development, Urban population

Annotation: This report describes a project to integrate comprehensive oral health care into a school-based health center in Minneapolis, MN. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement (CQI), sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. A project brochure; a CQI plan; a memorandum of under- standing template; a permission form; and the process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Minnesota, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School based clinics, Service integration, Systems development, Urban population

Annotation: This report describes a project to expand a school-based health center oral health program in East Hartford, CT. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. The appendices include parent permission forms for screening and treatment in English and Spanish, a program brochure, a referral list and forms, and a sterilization log. The process, out- come, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Connecticut, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School based clinics, Service integration, Spanish language materials, Systems development, Urban population

Annotation: This report describes a project to build a dental clinic and provide comprehensive oral health services to students attending a combined elementary and middle school (kindergarten through eighth grade) in Lemon Grove, CA. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include an announcement about the clinic opening, sample forms in English and Spanish, a needs-assessment cover letter and survey, a program brochure, and a memorandum of under- standing between the university and the school district. The process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Elementary schools, Facility design and construction, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Middle schools, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, School based clinics, Service integration, Spanish language materials, Systems development

Annotation: This report describes a project to improve the oral health of school-age children in an area in New York where there is a health professional shortage and most residents have low incomes. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Links to a cover letter and combined enrollment form; links to video programs; and the process, out- come, and impact indicators/minimal data set are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children', Community health centers, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Medicaid, Model programs, New York, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, Schools, Service integration, Systems development, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes a project to integrate an oral-health-care program into an existing school-based clinic serving students attending a public charter school (kindergarten through grade 8) in Santa Ana, CA. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Meeting agendas and minutes, a student consent form, and a program brochure and other outreach materials are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Outreach, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School based clinics, Service integration, Systems development, Urban population

Annotation: This report describes a coalition-led project to integrate comprehensive oral health services into an existing school-based health center in the Vallejo City Unified School District in California. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement (CQI), sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. The project logic model, marketing tools, classroom-education materials, a performance-improvement-committee definition and plan, an appointment agreement and no show-policy, a CQI plan, and process and outcome data elements are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, School districts, Service integration, Systems development, Urban population

Annotation: This report describes a project to provide access to preventive and restorative oral health care, demonstrate a decrease in dental caries incidence, show an increase in oral health literacy, and create a financially sustainable oral health program for children in Summit County, CO. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement, sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include a memorandum of understanding, enrollment and send-home forms, a permission form in English and Spanish, a screening survey tool, a student quiz, and a list of advisory board members. The process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Colorado, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Financing, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, School districts, Service integration, Spanish language materials, Systems development

Annotation: This report describes a community health center–university partnership to establish accessible, affordable, high-quality oral health care for students by operationalizing a mobile dental van on school property. Topics include delivery-system design, interdisciplinary care, client/community education, continuous quality improvement (CQI), sustainability, evaluation, and resources and capabilities. Appendices include the CQI plan, a memorandum of understanding, a presentation, informed consent forms, and marketing and outreach materials. The process, outcome, and impact indicators/minimal data set is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Colorado, Community health centers, Comprehensive health care, Dental care, Final reports, Health services delivery, Interdisciplinary approach, Local initiatives, Mobile health units, Model programs, Oral health, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Rural population, Service integration, Systems development, University affiliated programs

Annotation: This report presents findings from a national survey of state and local Fetal and Infant Mortality (FIMR) coordinators about their FIMR team structure, process, and activities. Contents include information about operations at the local level to examine medical, nonmedical, and systems-related factors and circumstances contributing to fetal and infant deaths. Information about FIMR and child death review collaboration is also included. Survey results are provided in a set of tables following the narrative. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention, c/o Michigan Public Health Institute, 1115 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 656-2434 Secondary Telephone: (517) 614-0379 Fax: (517) 324-6009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncfrp.org/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, County programs, Fetal death, Infant death, Infant death review committees, Injury prevention, Local initiatives, Outcome and process assessment, Program coordination, Systems development, Teamwork

Annotation: This brief describes programs and initiatives working to improve the health status of underserved populations in North Dakota. The brief provides the program’s or initiative's name, managing agency, mission, population served, and dates of operation. The brief also discusses state, professional, and work force supports needed to increase access to oral health care and use of oral health services and improve oral health literacy.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Financing, Health literacy, Local initiatives, Low income groups, North Dakota, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, Reimbursement, Rural population, Work force

Annotation: This policy brief describes a project to improve oral health care for young children at 12 federally qualified health center clinic sites with co-located oral health and primary care services in Los Angeles County, California. Contents include program goals to reduce barriers to obtaining oral health care for infants and young children from birth through age 5 and strategies and interventions to meet program goals. Topics include infrastructure, practice-management technical assistance, training, quality-improvement learning collaboratives, community systems development, and policy analysis. Additional topics include the location and characteristics of participating clinics, the number of visits for children by project year and quarter, and policy implications.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Clinics, Community health centers, County programs, Dental care, Infants, Local initiatives, Oral health, Policy development, Primary care, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, Service integration, Systems development, Technical assistance, Training, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from regional dialogues about a renewed approach to public health and presents recommendations for realizing the vision for all communities in the United States. The recommendations are organized in the following five themes: strong leadership and work force; strategic partnerships; flexible and sustainable funding; timely and locally relevant data, metrics, and analytics; and foundational infrastructure. Examples from the following five communities are included: California Accountable Communities for Health; Kansas City, Missouri; Allegheny County, Pennsylvania; Nashville, Tennessee; and Spokane, Washington.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 715-G, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-7694 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hhs.gov/ash Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Data analysis, Data collection, Equal opportunities, Financing, Health status, Leadership, Local initiatives, Measures, Models, Protective factors, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Risk factors, Strategic planning, Sustainability, Work force

Annotation: This website includes resources designed to help primary care health professionals and others understand the etiology of dental caries and caregivers’ role in preventing caries in infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21. Contents include a fluoride-application training course for clinics and supplemental materials, a book for children about toothbrushing, fluoride varnish printed materials, and a fluoride varnish video for caregivers. The resources are available in English and some are available in the following non-English languages: Cambodian, French, Karen, Hmong, Oromo, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Find the list of languages across the top of the landing page.

Contact: Minnesota Oral Health Project, c/o University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 55455, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.minnesotaoralhealthproject.com Available from the website.

• English
• Vietnamese

Keywords: Advocacy, Community based services, Dental care, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Local initiatives, Low income groups, Low literacy materials, Minnesota, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Outreach, Preventive health services, Primary care, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials, Young children