Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates family-based interventions to prevent substance use among youth ages 10-14 years. Based on evidence from 60 U.S. studies, it demonstrates effectiveness in reducing initiation and use of cannabis, alcohol, tobacco, illicit substances, and prescription drug misuse. The review examines intervention components including parent-child communication, rule setting, and monitoring, delivered through individual or group sessions, web-based modules, and printed materials. It includes detailed economic analyses showing cost-benefit ratios ranging from 3.9 to 8.9 across multiple programs and provides implementation guidance for various community settings and populations.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Alcohol abuse, Literature reviews, Parent child relations, Substance abuse prevention, Tobacco, Youth

Annotation: This resource provides a summary of the literature on housing instability as a social determinant of health. It provides background information on the federal Healthy People 2030 framework and describes how housing instability as a social determinant is organized according to the following five domains: Economic stability, education access and quality, health care access and quality, neighborhood and built environment, and social and community context. Data methods and sources, related objectives, links to evidence-based resources, and tools for action are also provided.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov

• Link

Keywords: Federal Initiatives , Health disparities, Housing, Literature reviews, Measures, Socioeconomic factors, Statistical data

Annotation: This is a systematic review of risk factors associated with maternal morbidity and mortality in the U.S. during the prenatal and postpartum periods, including social and structural determinants of health. The focus is primarily on research that examines factors to which pregnant and birthing people have been exposed and that may underlie poor perinatal health outcomes. The U.S. Office of Disease Prevention requested the review to inform the November 29 – December 1, 2022 Pathways to Prevention workshop cosponsored by the National Institutes of Health’s Office of Research on Women’s Health, the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute, the National Institute of Minority Health and Health Disparities, and the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Racism, Risk factors, Social determinants of health

Annotation: This systematic review provides the results of an analysis of the evidence base for care interventions, implementation strategies, and between-provider communication tools among children with special health care needs who are making the transition from pediatric to adult medical care services. Several databases were searched to identify studies published through September 2021; gray literature searches were also conducted in order to identify additional resources relevant to the topic. The publication is divided into 12 chapters and includes tables, figures, and appendixes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Literature reviews, Research reviews, Special health care needs, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Transitions, Young adults

Annotation: This systematic review presents evidence on the benefits and harms of screening for eating disorders in adults and adolescents; the accuracy of screening tools; and the benefits and harms of interventions for eating disorders that were screen detected or not previously treated for populations and settings relevant to primary care in the United States. PubMed/MEDLINE, the Cochrane Library, PsyINFO, and other sources were searched through December 18, 2020; additional literature, outside experts, and reviewers, were consulted through January 1, 2022.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Anorexia nervosa, Behavior disorders, Bulimia, Eating disorders, Evidence based medicine, Feeding disorders, Literature reviews, Screening, Treatment

Annotation: This literature review finds that the access to green spaces has proven to improve physical health in populations, but that other health benefits (emotional, etc.) need further study and are not easiy disentangled from issues of race and socioeconomic status. [Funding provided by the National Recreation and Park Foundation; Urban Institute; JBP Foundation.]

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Green spaces, Literature reviews, Outdoor physical activity, Parks, Physical activity, Public health

Annotation: This evidence report emphasizes the importance of having a usual source of primary care and lays out strategies for public and private payers to support such patient/provider relationships. In its review of the literature, the report summarizes the types of usual source of care and trends over time across ages, races/ethnicities, income level, region, and insurance type. Potential solutions to increase the percent of children and adults who have a usual source of primary care include payment reform, changes in benefit design, and workforce diversity.

Contact: Primary Care Collaborative, 601 Thirteenth Street, NW, Suite 430 North, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 417-2074 Fax: (202) 417-2082 E-mail: Web Site: https://thepcc.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Age factors, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Geographic regions, Health insurance, Literature reviews, Primary care, Racial factors, Statistics, Trends.

Annotation: This resource provides clinical preventive services recommendations related to tobacco smoking cessation in adults including pregnant women. Topics include behavioral and pharmacotherapy interventions. Contents include the full recommendation statement; supporting documents including the final research plan, evidence review, and evidence summary; a clinical summary; and related information for consumers and health professionals.

Contact: U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, 540 Gaither Road, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1584 Web Site: http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Evidence based medicine, Literature reviews, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This systematic review assesses the benefits and potential harms of pharmacologic interventions for pregnant, postpartum, and reproductive-age women with a new or preexisting diagnosis of a mental health disorder. Based on data extracted from 164 studies that met the eligibility criteria, the review explores whether the benefits for the mother outweigh the potential risks that pharmacologic interventions pose to the fetus, including the risk of congenital anomalies. The document was prepared by the RTI International--University of Northat Carolina at Chapel Hill Evidence-based Practice Center for the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Congenital abnormalities, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental disorders, Mental health, Outcome evaluation, Perinatal care, Pharmacology, Risk factors, Women', s health

Annotation: This systematic review was conducted to support the United States Preventive Services Task Force in updating its 2014 recommendation on daily low dose aspirin use during pregnancy for individuals at increased risk for preeclampsia. The report reviewed updated evidence on the effectiveness and potential harms of daily aspirin use during pregnancy to prevent morbidity and mortality associated with preeclampsia. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, and the Cochrane Collaboration Registry of Controlled Trials; results were limited to studies published between January 2013 and July 2019. The reviewed studies showed that daily aspirin use in pregnancy for individuals at increased risk for preeclampsia consistently led to beneficial effects on perinatal mortality, preterm birth, fetal growth restriction, and preeclampsia diagnosis.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Pregnant women, Drugs, Evidence based medicine, High risk groups, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Preeclampsia, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcomes, Preventive health services

Annotation: This systematic review updates the 2012 evidence review used to inform the United States Preventive Services Task Force recommendations on the benefits and harms of screening for gestational diabetes mellitus. Since gestational diabetes mellitus is mostly asymptomatic, screening for it during pregnancy could identify women who could benefit from treatments to reduce the adverse consequences of this condition. Data sources included MEDLINE, Embase, and CINAHL between 2010 and May 2020; other sources included ClinicalTrials.gov, reference lists of primary studies and systematic reviews through June 2021. The results of this review showed that screening tests can identify women with gestational diabetes at or after 24 weeks of gestation and treatment is associated with improvement in various maternal and neonatal outcomes without serious harms.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, Evidence based medicine, Gestational diabetes, Literature reviews, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcomes, Pregnant women, Screening

Annotation: This literature review analyses interventions that target minority (African-American and Hispanic) women, who are less likely to meet their breastfeeding goals. It concludes that policy and community level interventions delivered through WIC, healthcare facilities, and community agencies are likely to improve breastfeeding outcomes among women of color, and that further research is recommended strongly recommended to conduct large scale implementation research studies addressesing how to strengthen the different health and social environments surrounding women of color in the U.S. to improving their BF outcomes.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

• Link

Keywords: Breast feeding promotion programs, Literature reviews, Minority groups

Annotation: This systematic review examines the benefits and harms of pharmacological and nonpharmacological treatments for children and adolescents with a confirmed diagnosis of a depressive disorder. It evaluates the efficacy, comparative effectiveness, and moderators of available treatments and analyzes data from 60 studies that met the review criteria. The report is based on research conducted by the RTI International–University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) under contract to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Comparative analysis , Depression, Disorders, Literature reviews, Mental health, Pharmacology, Psychotherapy, Therapeutics

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for infants and children from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This evidence review describes evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to ensure that hospitalization rates for children and adolescents ages 10 through 19 from unintentional and intentional injury are reduced. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Hospitalizaton, Injury prevention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to support smoking cessation in pregnancy. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Policy development, Pregnant women, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking during pregnancy, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This systematic review examined the benefits and harms of primary care-relevant interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical drug use in children, adolescents, and young adults to inform the United States Preventive Services Task Force. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMED, PsycINFO, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials; in addition, references of relevant publications and government web sites were also searched. The review identified 29 trials that met inclusion criteria; 26 of the trials were general prevention trials that focused on nonpregnant youth covering the ages 10 through 24 years. The review found low strength of evidence on the benefits of behavioral counseling interventions to prevent illicit and nonmedical substance use in young people.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Child health, Drug abuse, Drug addiction, Families, Interventions, Literature reviews, Prevention, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention

Annotation: This report systematically updates the 2013 United States Preventive Services Task Force review on primary care relevant interventions for tobacco use prevention and cessation in children and adolescents. Data sources included the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, and EMBASE, with searches conducted for literature published between September 1, 2012, to June 25, 2019, with additional surveillance of relevant literature through February 7, 2020. The review concluded that behavioral interventions can reduce the likelihood of smoking initiation in nonsmoking youth and young adults. Further research is needed to identify effective interventions for youth who already smoke or use other tobacco products, such as e-cigarettes.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Adverse effects, Child health, Children, Disease prevention, Interventions, Literature reviews, Nicotine, Prevention, Risk factors, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance use behavior, Tobacco

Annotation: This web resource presents the Community Preventive Services Task Force recommendation on providing tenant-based housing voucher programs to improve health and health-related outcomes for adults based on sufficient evidence of effectiveness. Health-related outcomes including housing quality and security, healthcare use, and neighborhood opportunities, such as lower poverty level and better schools. Children under the age of 12 whose households used vouchers show improvements in education, employment, and income later in life. The CPSTF's findings are based on evidence from a systematic review of studies published between January 1999 and July 2019. The web report provides links to supporting materials and relevant publications.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health disparities, Health status, Housing, Literature reviews, Public housing, Social factors, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This literature review focuses on the different types of mentoring models for youth at risk or already involved in the juvenile justice system, including the setting, mode of delivery, and target population. It includes a summary of mentoring programs that have been rigorously evaluated and discusses gaps in research on program implementation.

Contact: U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, 810 Seventh Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20531, Telephone: (202) 307-5911 Web Site: http://www.ojjdp.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Evaluation , Literature reviews, Mentors, Model programs, Youth