Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This packet includes a brochure and informational videotape describing the Bowdoin Method of Parent Education, an education program for high-risk children. The Bowdoin Method contains three separate curricula that teach parents of children from birth through age 13 the attitudes and skills they need to prepare their children for school and life. The materials are geared toward parents with low literacy levels. Descriptions of packages of materials available for purchase, as well as order forms, are included. The packages include parenting books, games, teachers' manuals, parent prizes, posters, pre- and posttest, and videotapes. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Audiovisual materials, Children, High risk children, Infants, Life skills, Low literacy materials, Parent education programs, Parenting skills, Parents, School readiness, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This book presents the Voices Reading program, which combines systematic, comprehensive literacy instruction with character development. The program uses multicultural trade books as its basis and leveled books to match individual needs. The program addresses six themes: identity awareness, perspective taking, conflict resolution, social awareness, love and friendship, and freedom and democracy. In addition to explaining these themes, the book presents program components and a literacy overview, addresses the achievement gap, and discusses research and methods and scope and sequence.

Contact: Zaner-Bloser, 1201 Dublin Road, Columbus, OH 43215-3018, Telephone: (800) 421-3018 Secondary Telephone: (614) 486-0221 Web Site: http://zaner-bloser.com

Keywords: Character, Child development, Cultural competence, Educational attainment, Literacy education, Programs, Reading, Research

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This lunch box provides parents with information about oral health and healthy eating choices and practices. The lunch box is illustrated with drawings that promote good oral health and good nutrition and contains a “Dental Care in a Carrot” case made to include a toothbrush, toothpaste, dental floss, and a rinse cup. Ordering information; downloadable files, including a description of the program, a 5-day lesson guide for teachers, and an outline of the lessons; a video about the program; and other supplemental materials are available on the website. The lunch box is also available in Braille.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Institute, 9199 Reisterstown Road, Suige 203A, Owings Mills, MD 21117, Telephone: (866) 508-7400 Fax: (410) 356-8574 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mycohi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Health literacy, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs

Annotation: This resource guide features materials on policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Examples of materials include a report offering guiding principles that can help Head Start staff promote health literacy, a paper discussing challenges in integrating oral health care and primary care for populations with low health literacy, and a guide describing a program that encourages parents to have a nighttime routine that includes helping their young child brush their teeth and reading a book to their child before bed. A list of relevant organizations is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education, Health literacy, Oral health, Professional education, Program development, Resources for professionals, Training

Annotation: This video discusses why health literacy is an overarching goal of Healthy People 2030 and explains what health literacy means. It also considers how organizations and professionals can improve their oral health literacy, why universal-health-literacy approaches benefit everyone, and how health professionals can use health-literacy strategies to encourage people to take part in health care decisions. In addition, it addresses how clear communication between health professionals and patients can improve health literacy and how being health literate can help people make informed decisions to improve their health.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education, Health literacy, Oral health, Videorcordings

Annotation: This report summarizes findings and recommendations for increasing the cultural, linguistic, and health literacy competency of health professionals and health care delivery organizations throughout Maryland. Contents include recommendations for cultural competency standards and tiered reimbursement for medical and behavioral service settings, standards for multicultural health in patient-centered medical homes and other health care settings, and standards for continuing education in cultural competency for health care professionals.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 Secondary Telephone: (877) 463-3464 Web Site: http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov Available from the website.

• 2013-2020 Report
• 2019-2020 Update

Keywords: Access to health care, Continuing education, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Equal opportunities, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health literacy, Language barriers, Maryland, Medical home, Reimbursement, Standards, Work force

Annotation: This plan is a guide for improving the oral health of all Marylanders. The plan focuses on access to oral health care, oral disease and injury prevention, and oral health literacy and education. A discussion of the implementation of the plan, oral health status in Maryland, and accomplishments in 2011–2017 are included. An overview of the Maryland Dental Action Committee is provided.

Contact: Maryland Dental Action Coalition, 10015 Old Columbia Road, Suite B-215, Columbia, MD 21046, Telephone: (410) 312-5456 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mdac.us Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Access to health care, Disease prevention, Education, Health literacy, Injury prevention, Oral health

Annotation: This brochure provides information about how pregnant women can care for their teeth. It explains why it is important and safe to get oral health care during pregnancy and offers tips on how to care for an infant’s mouth and teeth. The brochure is written in simple language. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Pregnant women

Annotation: This postcard provides information about oral health during pregnancy. Topics include morning sickness, changes in the mouth, and the importance of eating healthy foods. The postcard is written in simple language. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Low literacy materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnant women

Annotation: These resources for parents provide guidance on helping adolescents make decisions that affect their oral health and overall health. Topics include toothbrushing, flossing, visiting the dentist, eating healthy foods, avoiding tobacco, and drinking water with fluoride. The resources are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Consumer education materials, Decision making, Dental caries, Health behavior, Health literacy, Multimedia, Oral health, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure lists health problems for both pregnant women and their infants caused by smoking during pregnancy. It also discusses the link between smoking and periodontal disease and provides information about the benefits of quitting smoking either before or during pregnancy. In addition, the brochure explains the importance of receiving regular oral health care and how to find a dental home. The brochure is written in simple language,

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.vdh.virginia.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Oral health, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy

Annotation: This tip sheet for parents and other caregivers provides information about how to care for primary teeth in infants and young children from birth through age 2. It discusses why primary teeth are important, what causes tooth decay, how to clean an infant’s or young child’s primary teeth, and when to wean a child from a bottle. The tip sheet is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.vdh.virginia.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Infants, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Weaning, Young children

Annotation: This tip sheet for parents and other caregivers provides information about how to care for primary teeth in infants and children ages 6 months and older. It discusses when to start brushing an infant’s teeth, how to teach a child to brush their teeth, how to brush a child’s teeth and how often to brush, and how often a toothbrush should be replaced. The tip sheet is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.vdh.virginia.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about fluoride varnish for children ages 6 months and older. The brochure discusses what fluoride varnish is and what it does, whether it is safe, how it is applied, and how long its effects last. A photograph showing fluoride being applied to an infant’s teeth is included. The brochure is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, P.O. Box 2448, Richmond, VA 23218, Telephone: (804) 864-7000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.vdh.virginia.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Non English language materials, Fluoride, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Oral health, Prevention, Young children

Annotation: This plan provides information about ensuring the best possible oral health for Kentuckians by collaborating to build oral health equity through access to oral health care, education, workforce readiness, and effective use of resources. Topics include a survey of individuals interested in oral health in the state, data collection and metrics, dentistry as a business, interprofessional collaboration, prevention, oral health literacy, policy, emerging issues, and goals and action items.

Contact: Team Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services, Oral Health Program, 275 East Main Street, Frankfort, KY 40621, Telephone: (502) 564-3246 Web Site: https://www.chfs.ky.gov/agencies/dph/Pages/oralhealth.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Data collection, Health education, Health literacy, Health promotion, Kentucky, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy, State materials, Surveys

Annotation: This guide for primary care health professionals provides four strategies they can adopt to improve patient safety, as well as materials to support adoption. Topics include supporting adoption of teach-back, a technique to ensure health care professionals that they have explained medical information clearly so that patients and their families understand what is communicated to them; helping patients and their families prepare for and become more fully engaged in their medical appointments; engaging with patients and caregivers to create a complete and accurate medical list for addressing medication reconciliation and management issues; and the warm handoff, a transfer of care from one clinician to another, where the handoff occurs in front of the patient and family. Contents include implementation guides, interactive learning modules, posters and handouts, fact sheets, sample processes and procedures, staff checklists, and videos.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Family centered care, Health literacy, Participation, Patient care, Physician patient relations, Prevention programs, Primary care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Role, Safety programs

Annotation: This series of 12 educational brochures sequentially focus on the needs of new and expectant mothers and infants and children from birth through age five. Topics are based on national Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) standards and include reading readiness, childhood obesity prevention, food and nutrition, behavior and developmental skills, and communication and language acquisition.

Contact: Crabtree + Company, help me be healthy, 200 Park Avenue, Falls Church, VA 22046, Telephone: (888) 531-9001, ext. 102 Fax: (703) 241-9060 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://helpmebehealthy.net $.95 each (mother series), $.40 each (infant series), $.35 each (child series) plus $30 per 1,000 copies for shipping and handling; the brochures are available throughout the year for purchase and can also be purchased at a significantly reduced cost during spring and fall co-ops..

• Link

Keywords: Communication skills, Consumer education materials, Developmental stages, Early childhood development, Health promotion, Infants, Language development, Low literacy materials, Mothers, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Reading, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This curriculum, which is designed to help health professionals provide oral health care and education to families of infants and children from birth through age 3, comprises 10 modules. Each module provides background information and a sample agenda. Topics include oral health and infancy, teething, the importance of primary teeth, the age 1 dental visit, oral health screenings, tooth decay, fluoride, toothbrushing and flossing, weaning, nutrition and feeding habits, oral habits, dental first aid, medications and oral health, and special conditions. Additional resources are included. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

• Online Order Form

Keywords: Curricula, Health literacy, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Parent education, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This guide provides information on why and how to design health websites and other digital health-information tools. Topics include what is known about users with limited literacy skills, writing actionable content, displaying content clearly on the page, organizing content and simplifying navigation, engaging users, and testing a site with users with limited literacy skills. A checklist of strategies and an overview of user research are included.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education, Health literacy, Internet:, Web sites