Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This resource provides individuals with special health care needs and their families with tools and strategies to advocate for whatever they may need. Topics include access to health care, accessible communities, advocacy and leadership skills, communicating about health, education services and support, insurance and financial assistance, legislation and political action, steps to employment success, transition to adulthood, and youth leadership.

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Communication, Family support services, Leadership, Life course, Special health care needs, Transitions

Annotation: This online multimedia report provides an overview of the progress made between the World Health Assembly Resolution on the Health of Youth in 1989 and the 2011 World Health Assembly Resolution on Youth and Health Risks. It includes World Health Organization recommendations on policies and programs that respond to priority health problems during adolescence, and reflects achievements in developing the evidence base for action. Topics include access to information, opportunities to develop life skills, health services, safe and supportive environments, and participation in programming.

Contact: World Health Organization, Department of Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health, 20 Avenue Appia, 1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland Telephone: +4122 791 3281 Fax: +4122 791 4853 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/maternal_child_adolescent Available from the website.

• Online Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescents, Health services, Information sources, International health, International programs, International services, Life skills, Multimedia, Participation, Safety, Social support

Annotation: This resource outlines a plan for improving access to comprehensive, coordinated health care and related services for children, youth, and adults with autism spectrum disorder and related developmental disabilities in Georgia. The plan addresses the following ten areas of activity: early identification and screening; referral and diagnosis; medical, behavioral health, and dental services; family support; early intervention and preschool services; elementary and secondary education; community services and supports; transition from youth to adult systems; adult services and supports; and emergency preparedness and first responders. For each area, the report provides a definition, quality indicators (problem statements and data drivers), and recommendations (objectives). The report also describes foundational supports considered in developing the recommendations including work force, awareness, informational resources, finances, and policy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Center for Leadership in Disability, 75 Piedmont Avenue, Suite 514, Atlanta, GA 30303, Telephone: (404) 413-1281 Fax: (404) 413-1012 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://disability.publichealth.gsu.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Autism, Community based services, Comprehensive health care, Diagnosis, Disaster planning, Early intervention, Educational objectives, Family centered care, Family support services, Financial planning, Georgia, Health care delivery, Life course, Policy development, Program coordination, Referrals, Screening, Special health care needs, State programs, Systems development, Transition planning, Work force

Annotation: This tool kit is designed to help hospitals adhere to the Advanced Trauma Life Support protocol by creating a checklist that can be used during pediatric trauma resuscitation. Contents include information on the benefits of checklists and guidance on how to modify, use, and implement the checklist. Additional content includes information on barriers to using the checklist, a flowchart, answers to frequently asked questions, a list of resources and references, a glossary, and acronyms. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center, 801 Roeder Road, Suite 600, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 244-6300 Fax: (301) 244-6301 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.emscnrc.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Advanced pediatric life support, Guidelines, Hospitals, Protocols, Trauma care

Annotation: This manual contains policies and procedures important to Healthy Start and Empowerment programs case managers in providing visiting nurse services to pregnant women and families with children to age five. The manual was developed for use in the Des Moines Healthy Start visiting nurse services program. The first section of the manual includes statements on participant rights, resources for case management agencies and a task force directory, program descriptions, a key to terms used, and qualifications and expectations for case managers. Part two details the case management model including key program features, guidelines, components, home visiting, facilitating services, and risk assessment criteria. The third part of the manual provides resource sheets for case managers to refer to when dealing with a variety of situations. Some of these topics include child abuse and neglect, domestic violence, emergency and basic needs, family planning, immunizations, infant home safety, lead poisoning, perinatal depression, preterm labor, subsequent pregnancies, sudden infant death syndrome, and others. The resource sheets provide information and additional print and organizational resources on each topic. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Case management, Child care, Child health, Child safety, Family life education, Family support services, Health promotion, Healthy Start, Home care services, Home visiting, Infant care, Iowa, Manuals

Annotation: This manual describes procedures for implementing the child component of a 15-month program designed to enhance the quality of life for families with school-aged children with selected chronic physical health conditions. The program, a research project, was operational from March 1997 to June 1999. The child component is referred to as Kids Involved in Discovery and Sharing (KIDS). The child component was developed to enhance children's self-esteem, increase participating childrens' perception of social support, and to problem solve with the children for ways of managing family and social issues that they identified as challenging. The manual is divided into three sections that cover the following: (1) the programs goals and objectives; (2) general procedures for carrying out a visit and for maintaining contact with the children and their mothers between visits; and (3) descriptions of activities, procedures for their implementation, and examples of specific interactions. References are provided. Appendices include a Child Life Specialist (CLS) job description, copies of documentation forms, guidelines for interactions with children that enhance self-esteem, and guidelines for establishing the relationships between the CLS and the parents. A sample K.I.D.S. brochure is attached. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asthma, Child life workers, Children with special health care needs, Cystic fibrosis, Diabetes mellitus, Families, Family support services, Intervention, MCH research, Mental health, Sickle cell disease

Annotation: This manual, which is part of the workshop entitled "Office Preparedness for Pediatric Emergencies, " is intended to educate pediatric primary care providers so they are prepared to provide emergency medical services for children (EMSC) in their offices if the need arises. The first chapter explains how office staff including receptionists can identify an emergency. The second chapter discusses contacting regular EMSC services. The third chapter has some mock codes to run in the office. The fourth chapter is protocols for office emergencies. The fifth chapter discusses teaching families to handle emergencies at home until help arrives. The last sections of the manual have an office equipment list, an office medications list, a mock code log form, emergency drug doses, and a mock code evaluation form. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Codes, Drug dosages, Emergency medical services for children, Families, Life support care, Manuals, Medicine, North Carolina, Physicians', Planning, Primary care facilities, Protocols, offices

Annotation: The New Hampshire emergency medical services (EMS) community concentrated its efforts on adult trauma and medical emergencies and has devoted less attention to the specific needs of pediatric patients. To reduce the incidence of preventable pediatric emergencies and to improve the outcome of acutely ill and injured children, this project focused on four areas: (1) Education programs for emergency room physicians, nurses, and prehospital personnel; (2) public information, education, and prevention programs; (3) prehospital pediatric emergency treatment protocols, facility assessment, pediatric triage, and interhospital transfer guidelines; and (4) quality assurance and data collection. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121966.

Keywords: Continuing Education, Data Analysis, Emergency Medical Services for Children, Pediatric Advanced Life Support Programs, Preventive Health Care Education, Professional Education in EMSC, Quality Assurance

Annotation: This publication presents the text of a hearing before the Subcommittee on Children, Family, Drugs and Alcoholism of the Committee on Labor and Human Resources, U.S. Senate, 101st Congress, on September 27, 1990. The hearing examined proposed legislation to authorize funds for certain child abuse and neglect programs, and contains the testimony and prepared statements of both experts and those who have personal experience of abuse and neglect.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov $4.25.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child care, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Congressional hearings, Family life education, Family preservation, Family support programs, Family violence, Parent education, Prevention, Proposed legislation, Substance abuse