Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This packet includes a brochure and informational videotape describing the Bowdoin Method of Parent Education, an education program for high-risk children. The Bowdoin Method contains three separate curricula that teach parents of children from birth through age 13 the attitudes and skills they need to prepare their children for school and life. The materials are geared toward parents with low literacy levels. Descriptions of packages of materials available for purchase, as well as order forms, are included. The packages include parenting books, games, teachers' manuals, parent prizes, posters, pre- and posttest, and videotapes. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Audiovisual materials, Children, High risk children, Infants, Life skills, Low literacy materials, Parent education programs, Parenting skills, Parents, School readiness, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report examines current patterns, circumstances, beliefs, and behaviors leading to childhood drowning. Topics include drownings in and around the home, pool drownings, and natural water drownings; preventing drowning in childhood through supervision, swim lessons and water survival skills, and cardiopulmonary resuscitation; pool safety tips for parents; and water recreation public policy. A fact sheet about children and the danger of drowning with information about the problem, parents' misconceptions, water survival skills, and water safety tips is included. Detailed profiles for drownings in and around the home, in pools, and in natural water are availale in the accompanying report, Dangerous Waters: Profiles of Fatal Childhood Drownings in the U.S. 2005–2014.

Contact: Safe Kids Worldwide, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20004-1707, Telephone: (202) 662-0600 Fax: (202) 393-2072 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safekids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Beliefs, Child safety, Children, Competence, Drowning, Injury prevention, Life skills, Parenting, Policy development, Public policy, Risk taking, Statistical data, Water safety

Annotation: This checklist for youth and young adults, including those with disabilities and chronic health conditions, from ages 12-30, provides information and resources about health insurance coverage, self-care, health care transition, decision-making, and career planning and management. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Decision making, Guidelines, Health insurance, Life skills, School to work transition, Special health care services, Transition planning, Young adults

Annotation: This fact sheet series provides information on emergency preparedness for pregnant women and families with infants. Topics include tips for getting ready before a disaster, planning emergency supplies, during and after a disaster, and knowing the signs of preterm labor. Separate fact sheets provide tips for creating a disaster kit and preparing for earthquakes, hurricanes, tornados, and wildfires. One fact sheet is available in English and Spanish. More information, including guidelines for customizing the fact sheets, is available from the website.

Contact: American Public Health Association, 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-2742 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (202) 777-2534 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apha.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disaster planning, Emergencies, Families, Health planning, Infants, Life planning skills, Multimedia, Parents, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This online multimedia report provides an overview of the progress made between the World Health Assembly Resolution on the Health of Youth in 1989 and the 2011 World Health Assembly Resolution on Youth and Health Risks. It includes World Health Organization recommendations on policies and programs that respond to priority health problems during adolescence, and reflects achievements in developing the evidence base for action. Topics include access to information, opportunities to develop life skills, health services, safe and supportive environments, and participation in programming.

Contact: World Health Organization, Department of Maternal, Newborn, Child and Adolescent Health, 20 Avenue Appia, 1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland Telephone: +4122 791 3281 Fax: +4122 791 4853 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/maternal_child_adolescent Available from the website.

• Online Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescents, Health services, Information sources, International health, International programs, International services, Life skills, Multimedia, Participation, Safety, Social support

Annotation: This paper, which is intended to serve as a resource for policymakers and practitioners concerned with programs and services for children and families, explores the literature on the effects of instability on children's developmental outcomes and academic achievement. The authors review and synthesize research evidence on five identified domains of instability: family income, parental employment, family structure, housing, and school and child care. Also discussed are key pathways through which instability may affect development, including the role of parenting, parental mental health, and the home environment.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Academic achievement, Child care, Child development, Children, Employment, Families, Income factors, Life course, Mental health, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Parents, Programs, Public policy, Research, Schools, Services

Annotation: This report describes a meeting about the health, safety, and well-being of individuals as they transition from adolescence to adulthood. Topics include the developmental characteristics and attributes of this age group and its placement in the life course; how well young adults are functioning across relevant sectors including health and mental health, education, labor, justice, the military, and foster care; and how various sectors that intersect with young adults influence their health and well-being. Videos and slides from the workshop presentations and an infographic are also available.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-28562-9.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Developmental stages, Life skills, Mental health, Social adjustment, Social change, Young adults

Annotation: This online learning module provides tools and training to help parents teach their child with autism or a related neurodevelopmental disorder functional skills using Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) techniques. The learning module includes ten interactive lessons; forms and checklists; notes on accessibility; and a glossary of terms.

Contact: University of California, Davis, MIND Institute, 2825 50th Street, Sacramento, CA 95817, Telephone: (916) 703-0280 E-mail: http://www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/mindinstitute/contactus/ Web Site: http://www.ucdmc.ucdavis.edu/mindinstitute/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Developmental disabilities, Life skills, Parent education, Parenting

Annotation: This document describes the Life Skills Progression, an outcome summary tool that home visitors can use to gather and organize information about family competencies, and outlines appropriate use of the instrument in meeting benchmarks of the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program. Topics include scales, format, scoring, training, psychometrics, and data management. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: MDRC, 16 East 34th Street, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10016-4326, Telephone: (212) 532-3200 Fax: (212) 684-0832 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mdrc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Benchmarking, Guidelines, Home visiting, Life skills, MCH programs, Outcome and process assessment

Annotation: This paper reviews the recent literature on the development of skills in young people that explain their success in various life situations. Using a simple economic model to organize the research findings, the paper examines the formation of both cognitive and noncognitive skills, pointing out how an interplay exits between the two and how there are critical and sensitive periods in a young person's life where these skills are more likely to develop. Included is a discussion of optimal timing of investment in skill-building over the life-cycle.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Life cycle, Life skills, Literature reviews, Outcome evaluation, Research

Annotation: This toolkit for parents, families and child services professionals introduces ways in which parents and caregivers can help their infants build secure attachments, examines challenges encountered in the process, and provides suggestions on how challenges may be overcome. The toolkit includes a 30 minute DVD, a quick-reference guide answering attachment and parenting questions, three informational brochures and tips printed on a magnet and a bookmark. It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Early Moments Matter, Web Site: http://www.earlymomentsmatter.org $10, plus $2.50 shipping and handling.

• Preview Video

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Bonding, DVDs, Family life education, Fathers, Infant health, Maternal mental health, Mothers, Multimedia, Newborn infants, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This paper investigates the association between obesity and skill attainment in early childhood (ages 2-4). Data from the German Socio-Economic Panel Study are used to estimate models of developmental functioning in four critical areas (verbal skills, activities of daily living, motor skills, and social skills) as a function of various measures of weight (including body mass index and obesity) controlling for a rich set of child, parent, and family characteristics.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early childhood development, Life skills, Motor skills, Obesity, Social skills, Verbal ability, Young children

Annotation: The papers collected in this volume reveal the contribution of African American voices to understanding the relationship between justice and care. The first part of the text provides a psychological perspective on moral formation among African Americans during childhood, adolescence, and adulthood. Part two provides practical, pedagogical perspectives drawn from the past, present, and ongoing challenges of African American educational practices, focusing on what African American voices have to say about promoting care, justice, and moral formation within schools. Appendices include information on chapter-correlated films that illustrate these values and a summary of ways in which each chapter contributes to the understanding of each of the justice-and-care primary dual values. References, information on the contributors, and an index are included.

Contact: Teacher's College Press, 1234 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY 10027, Telephone: (800) 575-6566 Secondary Telephone: (212) 678-3929 Fax: (212) 678-4149 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.tcpress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8077-4449-2.

Keywords: Blacks, Criminal justice system, Education, Life skills, Moral development, Moral values, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Racism, Social discrimination, Social integration, Social values

Annotation: This publication guides parents and caregivers, policymakers, public agencies, and educators in locating high-quality programs and information on sexuality education. The first part of the report, authored by Doug Kirby, provides scientific analysis of the available research on the effectiveness of programs designed to increase parent-child communication about sexuality. Part two includes 10 innovative approaches and 45 examples from the field that have been used to increase parent-child communications about sexuality-related issues. Conclusions, recommendations, organizational contact information, and references are also provided for each section. Some content is provided in Spanish.

Contact: Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States, 90 John Street Suite 402, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 819-9770 Fax: (212) 819-9776 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.siecus.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case studies, Communication skills, Community programs, Family life education, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Program descriptions, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This final evaluation report focuses on the Indianapolis Healthy Start Initiative, the purposes of which were to decrease infant mortality and to decrease birth rates among adolescents, as well as to provide health and life skills education and education regarding childbearing and pregnancy. The report introduces the program and the evaluation, discusses the methodology, and provides findings, a discussion, and recommendations. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the report. Endnotes are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Education, Final reports, Health education, Healthy Start, Indiana, Infant mortality, Life skills, Pregnancy, Prevention programs, Program evaluation

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Education, Grants, Health services, Human services, Interviews, Life skills, Policy development, Private sector, Program descriptions, Psychosocial development, Public policy, Urban environment, Urban population

Annotation: This manual was developed as a step-by-step guide for coordinating a Mother-Daughter Choices Program. The program format consists of a group of four to eight adult-adolescent pairs who meet together each week for six weeks to prepare young females for the kinds of decisions they will be making as they move into junior high school, high school, and young adulthood. Topics of the program include the working world, being female in today's society, and learning the skills of decision-making, goal setting, assessing values about work, career-exploration, budgeting, and assertive behavior. It provides questions and answers; an agenda for each session of activity; and includes forms, sample flyers, and written articles and ads for promoting the program.

Contact: Advocacy Press, P.O. Box 236, Santa Barbara, CA 93102, Telephone: (805) 962-2728 Secondary Telephone: (800) 676-1480 Fax: (805) 963-3580 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.advocacypress.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: 0-911655-44-1.

Keywords: Adolescent females, Curricula, Decision making, Life skills

Annotation: This kit contains a variety of information on the Girl Power! campaign, which is a multi-issue national public education campaign to help encourage and empower 9- to 14-year old girls to make the most of their lives. It emphasizes providing opportunities for young women to build skills and self-confidence in academics, arts, sports, and other endeavors, while discouraging risky behaviors such as drug use and sexual behavior. The kit contains campaign fact sheets, press releases, a national endorser list and registration form, a campaign newsletter, and a hometown media kit. The media kit includes public service announcements, media outreach tips, sample editorials, and a resource list.

Contact: U.S. Center for Substance Abuse Treatment, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Rockwall II Building, One Choke Cherry Road , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-1660 Secondary Telephone: Contact Phone: (800) 729-6686 Fax: E-mail: Contact E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent females, Campaigns, Life skills, Public education, Risk behavior, Self esteem

Annotation: This document presents the text of hearings held in July 1996 in Washington DC, and in Pennsylvania by a subcommittee of the Senate's Committee on Appropriations. The hearings focused on sexual abstinence education for school aged children and adolescents. Witnesses were sexuality educators, teachers, clergy, pregnancy prevention project staff, students, and adolescent mothers. This report from the hearings includes the presentations made by the panelists, their subsequent discussion, and previously prepared statements.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Contact Phone: (202) 512-1808 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov $7.50 includes shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-054243-x.

• Link

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Congressional hearings, Life skills, Prevention programs, School age children, Sexual behavior

Annotation: This curriculum guide is intended for high school teachers' use in teaching sexual abstinence to adolescents. The guide includes advice about preparing to teach, sample permission slip, sexuality myths, pressure on adolescents to have sex, risks of early sex, decision making, and role playing. Each chapter includes a section on evaluation and information for teachers. Appendices include information on school health programs, the teacher's roles, teaching strategies, a glossary, a list of references, and reproducible masters for handouts.

Contact: ETR Associates, 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.etr.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56071-525-1.

Keywords: Abstinence, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Curricula, Decision making, Life skills, Peer pressure, Prevention programs, Sexuality