Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (85 total).

Hannan C, Espinoza L. 2024. Statement on the evidence supporting the safety and effectiveness of community water fluoridation. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4 pp.

Annotation: This statement focuses on the safety and benefits of community water fluoridation (CWF). Contents include evidence showing that CWF programs are an effective, cost-saving, and safe intervention for preventing tooth decay and promoting oral health across the lifespan. The effectiveness of CWF compared with other methods of fluoride delivery is discussed, along with the return on investment of CWF, both for families and for the health care system as a whole. Risks that may accompany CWF are addressed.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Community based services, Cost effectiveness, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Life course, Oral health, Safety, Water

Genetic Alliance, Parent to Parent USA, Family Voices. 2023. Advocacy ATLAS: Accessible Tools for Leadership and Advocacy Success. Washington, DC: Genetic Alliance, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource provides individuals with special health care needs and their families with tools and strategies to advocate for whatever they may need. Topics include access to health care, accessible communities, advocacy and leadership skills, communicating about health, education services and support, insurance and financial assistance, legislation and political action, steps to employment success, transition to adulthood, and youth leadership.

Contact: Genetic Alliance, 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Communication, Family support services, Leadership, Life course, Special health care needs, Transitions

Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition. 2019. Check-up on oral health: A call to action. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, Wisconsin Oral Health Coalition, 5 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the life-span, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Halfon,N, Forrest CB, Lerner RM, Faustman EM, eds. 2018. Handbook of life course health development. New York, NY: Springer Publishing Company, 662 pp.

Annotation: This handbook presents a theoretical framework for understanding the development of health and disease from a life course perspective, synthesizes and analyzes evidence from the prenatal period through emerging adulthood, and explores implications for research, practice, and policy. The chapters examine major health concerns such as autism and obesity, important less-studied conditions such as hearing and kidney health, and cross-cutting issues such as health disparities and adversity. There are also several chapters that address methodological approaches and challenges by analyzing existing measures, studies, and surveys. The book concludes with the editors' research agenda that proposes priorities for future research and its application.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

Keywords: Child development, Human development, Life course

Richards J, Pickett OK, Whilhite BC. 2017. Life course and social determinants: Professional resource brief (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion. 2017. SuperTracker: My foods. My fitness. My health.. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, 1 v.

Annotation: This tool incorporates the President's Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition's Presidential Champions program and uses gamification, the application of points and achievements to non-game context, to inspire youth and adults to engage in physical activity and to monitor progress toward their own health goals. Users can determine what and how much to eat; track their food intake, physical activity, and weight; and personalize their experience by setting individual goals, journaling, and receiving virtual coaching.

Contact: U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, U.S. Department of Agriculture, 3101 Park Center Drive, Room 1034, Alexandria, VA 22302-1594, Telephone: (703) 305-7600 Fax: (703) 305-3300 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cnpp.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietary guidelines, Electronic journals, Food consumption, Food habits, Food preferences, Games, Goals, Health promotion, Life course, Motivation, Nutrition, Physical activity, Weight

Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health. 2017. Protect your baby's smile & health before and after birth. Burlington, VT: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women provides information about oral health care during and after pregnancy and throughout life. It also offers information about tooth decay and steps that women can take to protect their infant’s oral health. Topics include the safety and importance of oral health care during pregnancy, obtaining oral examinations early, and taking care of oral health at home. Information about accessing oral health care is also included.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Early childhood, Health behavior, Health promotion, Infants, Life course, Low income groups, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Young children

FDI World Dental Federation. 2016–. World Oral Health Day [campaign materials]. Geneva, Switzerland: FDI World Dental Federation, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources for World Oral Health Day, celebrated globally every year on March 20, focus on ways to maintain and protect oral health throughout life. The messages are intended for use by the general public and health professionals who play a key role in educating clients. Contents include an advocacy guide; a brochure on oral health do's and dont's, with sections devoted to oral health of women during pregnancy, children, and older adults; a game; posters; a toolkit for organizing events and social media campaigns; and a video. The materials are available in multiple languages.

Contact: FDI World Dental Federation, Tour de Cointrin, Avenue Louie Casai 51, Case P.O. Box 3, 1216 Cointrin-Geneve, Switzerland Telephone: (41) 22 560 81 50 Fax: (41) 22 560 81 40 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fdiworldental.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Decision making, Disease prevention, Families, Health behavior, Health promotion, International health, Life course, Multimedia, Networking, Non English language materials, Older adults, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Public awareness campaigns, Risk factors

Washington State Department of Health, Oral Health Program. 2016. Oral health promotion cards. Olympia, WA: Washington State Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 26 items.

Annotation: This series of cards provides oral health messages for health professionals to share with clients and their families. Each card addresses a specific population (pregnant women, infants, children, adolescents, children with special health care needs, adults, and older adults) and is accompanied by a brochure listing messages and resources. The cards and brochures are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Educational materials, Health promotion, Infants, Life course, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Johnson T, Goodwin K. 2016. Improving lifetime oral health: Policy options and innovations. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 11 pp.

Annotation: This brief highlights state policy options for improving oral health for children, adolescents, and adults and system-level reforms to improve oral health care and reduce costs. Topics include oral health screening and assessment in primary care settings, expanding access to school-based care, raising awareness about healthy behaviors, expanding coverage for adults with low incomes, and ensuring an adequate oral health workforce. Additional topics include improving oral health care access for pregnant women, coordinating primary care and oral health, expanding access to health professionals through teledentistry, understanding the state role in community water fluoridation, and maximizing data.

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Costs, Financing, Health care reform, Health care systems, Life course, Low income groups, Oral health, Policy development, Pregnant women, Program improvement, State legislation

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2016. State Medicaid & CHIP profiles. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources highlight changes and improvements in state Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Programs to improve access to and quality of health care for individuals and families with low incomes. Topics include expanded coverage for adults; innovation in eligibility, enrollment, and renewal processes and systems; coordination of application and enrollment processes; and messaging and policies to ensure no wrong door to coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Service coordination, State programs, Systems development, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Holicky A. 2016. Florida's burden of oral disease surveillance report (upd.). Tallahassee, FL: Florida Department of Health, Public Health Dental Program, 62 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes information on the burden of oral disease in Florida, highlights oral health disparities associated with specific populations, and describes resources and programs for improving oral health. Topics include state and national objectives, the societal and economic impact of oral disease, risk and protective factors, work force capacity and diversity, and use of oral health care.

Contact: Florida Department of Health, Public Health Dental Program, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A14, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1724, Telephone: (850) 245-4333 Web Site: http://www.floridahealth.gov/programs-and-services/community-health/dental-health/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: zzz, Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Disease prevention, Florida, Health disparities, Health objectives, Health services delivery, Health status, Infants, Life course, Low income groups, Older adults, Oral health, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Prevalence, Program improvement, Protective factors, Risk factors, Special health care needs, State initiatives, State programs, Statistical data, Work force

Woolf SH, Aron L, Chapman DA, Dubay L, Zimerman E, Snellings LC, Hall L, Haley AD, Holla N, Ayers K, Lowenstein C, Waidmann TA. 2016. The health of the states: How U.S. states compare in health status and the factors that shape health–Summary report. Richmond, VA: Virginia Commonwealth University Center on Society and Health; Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 53 pp.

Annotation: This report, and accompanying supplemental reports, present findings on the status of Americans' health at the state level, along with the diverse factors associated with health. The report examines how state-level variations in health outcomes correlate with variations in factors thought to shape or influence health (health determinants) from five domains including health behaviors, health systems, economic and social factors, physical and social environmental factors, and public policies and social spending. Contents include research and policy priorities emerging from the analysis. Maps and charts are included.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data analysis, Decision making, Economics, Geographic factors, Health behaviors, Health status, Health systems, Life course, Protective factors, Public policy, Risk factors, Social factors

Sinai Urban Health Institute, Rob Paral and Associates, Illinois Children’s Healthcare Foundation, Delta Dental of Illinois Foundation, and Michael Reese Health Trust. 2016. Oral health in Illinois. Oak Brook, IL: Illinois Children’s Healthcare Foundation; Naperville, IL: Delta Dental of Illinois Foundation; Chicago, IL: Michael Reese Health Trust, 44 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a statewide oral health assessment in Illinois and offers a blueprint for moving forward to achieve better health for all residents. Topics include the historical and current context of oral health, the oral health of children and adults in Illinois, the capacity of the oral health system, and oral health policy. A data summary is included.

Contact: Illinois Children's Healthcare Foundation, 1200 Jorie Boulevard, Suite 301, Oak Brook, IL 60523, Telephone: (630) 571-2555 Secondary Telephone: (630) 571-2556 Web Site: http://www.ilchf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Dental care, Health care systems, Health policy, Illinois, Life course, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, Statewide planning, Statistical data, Systems development

Weil AR, ed. 2016. Oral health & more. Health Affairs 35(12):2163–2348,

Annotation: This issue of Health Affairs describes aspects of the divide between oral health care and medical care and the consequences of this divide for patients. Topics include oral health care's education system and work force, financing and delivery, research, and quality measurement.

Contact: Health Affairs, Project HOPE: The People-to-People Foundation, 7500 Old Georgetown Road, Suite 600, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 656-7401 Fax: (301) 654-2854 Web Site: http://www.healthaffairs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Financing, Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health care utilization, Life course, Measures, Medicaid, Oral health, Professional education, Professional training, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Research, Service integration, Systems development, Work force

AcademyHealth. 2016. Which adverse childhood experiences are most predictive of health care costs among adults?. Washington, DC: AcademyHealth, 6 pp. (Rapid evidence review)

Annotation: This document synthesizes peer-reviewed systematic reviews on adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) associated with higher health care costs among adults. Contents include the policy context, supporting evidence, and limitations. Collectively, the studies included in the review report costs for three of 10 major ACEs: physical abuse, sexual abuse, and physical neglect. The appendices contain definitions of terms, search terms and databases used in the review, and a description of systematic reviews and relevant primary research studies included in the review.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adults, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Costs, Evaluation methods, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Public policy, Research reviews, Stress, Trauma, Women

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry. 2016. Nebraska state oral health assessment & dental disease burden report. Lincoln, NE: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 57 pp

Annotation: This report reviews the history of oral health in Nebraska, compares current disease status with national trends, describes needs and existing resources, and identifies areas of focus for overcoming disparities. Topics include public policy and the oral health work force, improving disease surveillance, increasing access to care, enhancing community-based prevention, and elevating public education and oral health promotion.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Oral Health and Dentistry, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 Web Site: http://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Dental-Health.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Community based services, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health disparities, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health status, Life course, Low income groups, Measures, Nebraska, Needs assessment, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Public health education, State programs, Statewide planning, Tobacco use, Vulnerability, Work force

Administration for Community Living and Office of Women's Health. 2016. The community guide to adult oral health program implementation. Washington, DC: Administration for Community Living, 60 pp.

Annotation: This document provides step-by-step guidance for groups working at state and local levels to launch or enhance an oral health program for older adults and people with disabilities. Contents include tips, case studies, interactive tools, and other sources of support for creating cost-effective, sustainable programs. Topics include replicating and expanding an existing program, designing and implementing a new program, recognizing the connection between oral health and overall health, and interprofessional collaboration to serve adults’ oral health needs. A corresponding database of community-based oral health programs is also available.

Contact: Administration for Community Living, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 330 C Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 401-4634 Secondary Telephone: (800) 677-1116 E-mail: https://www.acl.gov/contact Web Site: https://www.acl.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Aging, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Community based services, Financing, Independent living, Interdisciplinary approach, Life course, Needs assessment, Older adults, Online databases, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Sustainability

Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals. 2015–. Well-Ahead Louisiana: Oral health. Baton Rouge, LA: Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources are part of a statewide initiative aimed at improving the health and wellness of Louisiana residents. Topics include preventing and controlling oral disease, partnering with community and professional organizations to improve oral health, providing oral health education, promoting community water fluoridation, promoting school-based and school-linked dental sealant programs, and maintaining an oral-health-surveillance system to monitor the burden of oral disease. Contents include data on dental visits by gender, age, race, income, and education; tools for finding oral health care; and oral-health-education resources for adults and older adults, school nurses and teachers, and oral health professionals and non-oral-health professionals.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, Center for Community and Preventive Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-8093 Web Site: http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/414 Available from the website.

Keywords: Community based services, Dental care, Dental sealants, Disease management, Fluorides, Health care utilization, Health education, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health services delivery, Life course, Louisiana, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Schools, State initiatives, Statistical data, Water

Fine A, Hampton P. 2015. Promoting children's long-term health and functioning: Applying a life course approach to pediatric care for children with special health care needs. Palo Alto, CA: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 25 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to determine the current status and future promise of applying life course theory (LCT) to pediatric care for children with special health care needs (CSHCN). Topics include LCT as a conceptual framework for maternal and child health, the interface between LCT and CSHCN (what's in the literature and findings from key information interviews), the potential application of life course in pediatric care, and a life course implementation framework for pediatric practices. Recommendations for next steps are included.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Life course, Model programs, Pediatric care, Special health care needs, Young adults
    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.