Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide provides information for policymakers, state agencies, licensing boards and agencies, oral health and other nonprofit organizations, state governments, and other interested parties in states that have enacted dental therapy legislation and are planning licensing and regulatory efforts. The guide explains what an administrative rule is and offers background information on dental therapy and rulemaking. Also discussed are best practices in dental therapy administrative rulemaking, tribal regulation of dental therapists, and the Model Dental Therapist Rule.

Contact: National Partnership for Dental Therapy, Web Site: https://www.dentaltherapy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Administrative policy, Best practices, Licensing, Oral health, Public policy, State legislation, Work force

Annotation: This resource provides information on states with laws on e-cigarettes about these topics: definitions, taxation, product packaging, youth access, and licensing for retail sales. An interactive state map is included.

Contact: Tobacco Control Legal Consortium, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105-3076, Telephone: (651) 290-7506 Web Site: http://www.publichealthlawcenter.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Air pollution, Licensing, Marketing, Regulations, Smoking, State legislation, Taxes, Tobacco

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This report summarizes an assessment of obesity prevention content in states' child care licensing regulations for child care centers, large or group family child care homes, and small family child care homes. Regulations were assessed for text consistent with best practices drawn from selected standards in Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards: Guidelines for Early Care and Education (3rd ed.). Topics include national results, changes specific to states that made changes in the current year, states' results, and conclusion. A supplement to include supporting information and additional results related to the assessment is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website.

• Current Edition
• Previous Editions

Keywords: Assessment, Child care, Family child care, Licensing, Obesity, Policy development, Program improvement, Regulations, Standards

Annotation: This report provides information about state efforts to address childhood obesity in the early care and education (ECE) setting. The report also describes a spectrum of opportunities for obesity prevention in the ECE setting and provides guidance on achieving recommended obesity prevention standards and best practices in the ECE setting. Contents include avenues by which states or communities have successfully changed ECE facilities to improve nutrition, physical activity, breastfeeding support, and reduced screen time among children from birth to age 5 and key accomplishments in licensing, quality rating and improvement systems, professional development.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity and Obesity, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/dnpao/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavior change, Breastfeeding, Child care, Disease prevention, Early childhood education, Health behavior, Health promotion, Licensing, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical Activity, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State initiatives, Training, Trends, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This annual report provides federal and national data and information from state child care resource and referral agencies (CCR&Rs) and other state agencies to look at family characteristics, the child care pattern and supply, the cost of child care, the child care work force, and the quality of child care. The report documents the need for and use of child care as a nation, and lists facts about individual states and the District of Columbia.

Contact: Child Care Aware of America, 1515 North Courthouse Road, 11th Floor, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 424-2246 Secondary Telephone: (866) 278-9428 E-mail: http://childcareaware.org/contact-us Web Site: http://childcareaware.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child care centers, Children, Costs, Family characteristics, Licensing, Quality assurance, State programs, Statistical data, Work force

Annotation: This document describes a series of reports designed to help state licensing agencies strengthen their child care program, meet Office of Child Care policy reforms, and better protect children in out-of-home care. Topics include child care licensing inspection policies; enforcement strategies with licensed child care providers; monitoring strategies for determining compliance; enforcement and approaches to illegally operating providers; reporting, tracking, and responding to serious injuries and fatalities in child care; building and physical premises safety in child care; quality assurance in child care licensing; and elements of a licensing statute.

Contact: U.S. Office of Child Care, Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Fifth Floor East, Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 690-6782 Fax: (202) 690-5600 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/occ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child safety, Injury prevention, Licensing, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State agencies

Annotation: These fact sheets for public health professionals, policymakers, and others provide data on oral health in the 50 states and the District of Columbia and describe laws governing the respective services provided by members of the oral health work force. Each state fact sheet, titled Pathways to Improved Access to Dental Health Services, describes indicators of oral and dental health and how the state compares with the nation on these indicators. The fact sheets also describe the scope of practice for allied dental personnel in the state such as what the practice includes, what services cannot be performed, supervision requirements, and the body responsible for oversight.

Contact: Network for Public Health Law, 875 Summit Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55105, Telephone: (651) 695-7749 Fax: (651) 695-7749 Web Site: https://www.networkforphl.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Allied health personnel, Dental care, Dental hygienists, Health status, Licensing, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Regulations, Reimbursement, State legislation, Work force

Annotation: This paper presents data from a recent state survey of child care subsidy, licensing, and quality-enhancement policies. The paper provides a national picture of infant and toddler child care, including information on both center-based and home-based child care. Topics include the state of infants and toddlers, methodology, key findings, and detailed findings.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Financing, Infants, Licensing, Public policy, Quality assurance, Research, Young children

Annotation: This document is designed to help federally-qualified health centers in Louisiana implement school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include applying for a license to operate portable and mobile dental equipment, infection control recommendations and standards, and information required in the consent form for student participation in the program. Information about Medicaid reimbursement is also provided.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, Center for Community and Preventive Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-8093 Web Site: http://dhh.louisiana.gov/index.cfm/page/414 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Dental care, Dental sealants, Infection control, Licensing, Louisiana, Mobile health units, Oral health, Parent consent, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, School age children, School based clinics, Screening, Standards, State programs

Annotation: This research brief reports on two aspects of child care licensing for all 50 states and the District of Columbia: state child care licensing regulations and child care center licensing policies. The brief discusses methodology, presents a summary of key findings, and discusses trends in child care center licensing regulations.

Contact: U.S. Office of Child Care, Administration for Children and Families, 370 L'Enfant Promenade, S.W., Fifth Floor East, Washington, DC 20447, Telephone: (202) 690-6782 Fax: (202) 690-5600 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/occ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Licensing, Regulations, Research, Trends

Annotation: This guide is designed to help states and communities explore key issues and decision points during the planning and implementation of a quality rating and improvement system (QRIS) for child care and early childhood education programs. Topics include the initial design process, approaches to implementation, standards and criteria, quality assurance and monitoring, providing incentives and support, data collection and evaluation, cost projections and financing, and consumer education. A tool containing national early childhood program standards is also available for searching, comparing, developing, and aligning program standards for QRIS.

Contact: National Center on Child Care Quality Improvement, 9300 Lee Highway, Fairfax, VA 22031-6050, Telephone: (877) 296-2250 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.qrisnetwork.org/category/author/national-center-child-care-quality-improvement Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Accreditation, Child care, Community programs, Early childhood education, Licensing, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Standards, State programs, Systems development

Annotation: This document sets forth four key principles that establish the foundation of supports that all infants and young children in child care need, as well as 15 recommendations that state child care licensing, quality, and subsidy policies should address. It is part of a multi-year effort to identify state policies that support the healthy development of infants and young children in child care settings and to build an online resource to help states implement these policies.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Child care centers, Infants, Licensing, Out of home care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, State legislation, Young children

Annotation: This paper addresses principles and practices that can help guide the formulation, revision, and enforcement of child care program requirements. Topics include what licensed child care is and who is licensed, what are the issues in improving child care licensing programs, other approaches to strengthening quality, and policy analysis and strategies related to preliminary child care licensing principles.

Contact: National Association for Regulatory Administration, 403 Marquis Avenue, Suite 200, Lexington, KY 40502, Telephone: (859) 514-1921 Secondary Telephone: (302) 234-4152 Fax: (859) 231-1943 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://naralicensing.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child care centers, Licensing, Programs, Public policy, Quality assurance

Annotation: This document presents research supporting a recommendation from CLASP (the Center for Law and Social Policy) on how states can support the health and safety of babies and toddlers (birth to age 3) in childcare settings. Included are answers to the following questions: (1) what does the research say about ensuring the health and safety of babies and toddlers in child care? and (2) how can state child care licensing, subsidy, and quality enhancement policies ensure the health and safety of babies and toddlers? Links to related materials include examples from states; online resources for state policy makers; and ideas for how state child care licensing, subsidy, and quality enhancement policies can move toward CLASP's recommendation.

Contact: Center for Law and Social Policy, 1200 18th Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 906-8000 Fax: (202) 842-2885 E-mail: http://www.clasp.org/about/contact Web Site: http://www.clasp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Child care workers, Child safety, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infants, Licensing, Policy development, Research, Standards, State initiatives, Toddlers, Training

Annotation: This report contains the findings and recommendations offered following the conclusion of a focus group study with child care center directors, child care home providers, and parents of children in child care centers across the state of Delaware. The purposes of the study, conducted in partnership with Nemours Health and Prevention Services and Delaware's Office of Child care Licensing and Child and Adult Care Food Program, were (1) to learn how child care providers and parents are responding to Delaware’s comprehensive nutrition and physical activity standards for child care facilities and (2) to understand what child care providers need to do to achieve compliance with nutrition and physical activity standards and to develop a set of recommendations to address these needs. Included in the report are a list of the questions presented to focus group participants; a summary of the focus group study findings; and recommendations related to the state guidelines and their implementation by child care providers.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Child care, Child care centers, Child care workers, Delaware, Focus groups, Guideline adherence, Licensing, Program improvement, Recommendations, Standards, State programs, Studies

Annotation: This paper focuses on the labor market implications of government requirements related to tasks that dental hygienists are allowed to perform and to dentists’ supervision of dental hygienists’ work. Topics include the evolution of licensing for dentists and hygienists, the legal conditions governing permissible tasks for hygienists that impact both occupations, and the conflict that has arisen over the allocation of work and supervision of tasks.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org $5.

• Link

Keywords: Dental hygienists, Dentists, Economics, Licensing, Market research, Oral health, Regulations, Work force

Annotation: This report addresses some policy decisions that states make or could make to support family, friend, and neighbor (FFN) care of children whose parents are working. Such policy decisions include (1) determining which providers are exempt from state licensing or regulation, (2) setting standards for FFN providers receiving public funds, (3) establishing policies for child care assistance programs that help parents pay for FFN care, including provider reimbursement rates and parent co-payments; (4) supporting initiatives to improve the quality of child care, including FFN care, (5) allowing FFN providers to participate in the Child and Adult Care Food Program, (6) facilitating coordination of state prekindergarten initiatives with FFN care, (7) assisting FFN providers caring for children with disabilities and other special needs, (8) making home visiting and family support programs available to FFN providers, and (9) permitting unionization of FFN providers. The report discusses the policy options states have in each of the areas, how these policies can affect families using FFN care as well as FFN providers, and examples of promising approaches states have taken.

Contact: National Women's Law Center, 11 Dupont Circle. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 588-5180 Fax: (202) 588-5185 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwlc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child care, Children with special health care needs, Families, Family support programs, Financing, Home visiting, Licensing, Low income groups, Public policy, State programs, Working parents

Annotation: This fact sheet consists of a table that classifies categories of risk-reduction language in state licensing regulations for each state in the United States. It covers these categories: SIDS training, back to sleep, no soft bedding or bedding materials, physician authorization for a different sleep position, parent authorization for a different sleeping position, no smoking, and other.

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant death, Licensing, Prevention, Regulations, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, State legislation, Training

Annotation: This report discusses legislation on oral health care access by underserved persons as prepared during the 2001–2002 session of the legislature of Wisconsin. The report is divided into three parts: key provisions of the legislation; committee activity; and the legislation, which includes 2001 Senate Bill 166 and 2001 Assembly Bill 366 as well as 2001 Senate Bill 167 and 2001 Assembly Bill 367. Topics presented in the legislation include tuition assistance for dental students, oral health professionals in the public health administration regions, increases in reimbursement rates for medical assistance, reimbursements for topical fluoride treatments and water fluoridation, and licensing dentists and dental hygienists.

Contact: Wisconsin Legislative Council, P.O. Box 2536, Madison, WI 53701-2536, Telephone: (608) 266-1304 Fax: (608) 266-3830 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://lc.legis.wisconsin.gov Available from the website. Document Number: RL 2001-05.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Costs, Dental care, Fluorides, Licensing, Low income groups, Oral health, Reimbursement, State legislation, Underserved communities, Wisconsin